DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 5/19/2026. Claims 1, 2-3, 5-6, 9-12 and 20 have been amended. Claim(s) 1-20 are presently pending and are examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejection
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 5/19/2026, with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 12 and 20 have been fully considered but are moot because of the amendments. However, in view of the amendments to claim(s) 1, 6, 12 and 20 and to further prosecution, upon further consideration, new ground of rejection is made.
.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 6 currently recites "(d) wherein the moveable solar panels are movably coupled … " This appears to be a minor typographical or syntax error in claim drafting. For purposes of examination, claim 6 has been interpreted to be "(b) wherein the moveable solar panels are movably coupled … " Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1--8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavee Ephrath Yael WO 2023026278 A1 (“Yael”) in view of Yossi Fisher et. al. US20240235462 (“Fisher”), Clayton Jay Allen et. al. US 20210242822 (“Allen”), and Steve R. Tippery et. al. US 20170251589 A1 (“Tippery”)
As per Claim 1,
Yael discloses,
A mobile platform, comprising:
Support structure (see at least Fig. 3, [Page 3, 4th para]] Fig. 1 and 1a depict two views of a side section of an agrivoltaic moving system according to the present invention. The solar panels 20 fitted with a solar tracking axis are mounted on a movable irrigation construction 30 with irrigating distributors 40.)
Yael does not disclose,
a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels and a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels mounted on the top surface of the platform; coupled to the support structure,
wherein at least a portion of the non-photovoltaic shade panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable shade panels
Allen teaches,
a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels and a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels mounted on the top surface of the platform coupled to the support structure, (see at least [0040] The shade may be provided by panels 230, preferably solar panels and/or shade panels laid out in an array supported by a solar array support structure 220, [0045] the size of the solar structure may be reduced accordingly, or shade panels may be used in the place of solar panels, to provide the shade while still covering a large portion of the building roof and/or equipment, and [0106] the solar/shade structure 200 may further comprise one or more non-solar panels, or “shade panels” located in the array.)
wherein at least a portion of the non-photovoltaic shade panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable shade panels (see at least [0075] the solar/shade structure 200 comprises a movable portion of the solar array, [0075] the movable portion holds the solar panels and/or shade panels in their positions in the array of panels. In the open position, the movable portion has moved to create an opening in the solar array sufficient for passing rooftop equipment through, and [0077] the movable portion, comprises a supporting structure (e.g., beams, purlins, associated solar panel supports and some solar panels and/or other shade panels).
Thus, Yael discloses mobile agrivoltaic platform with wheels and solar panels and Allen teaches use of solar panels / shade panels and creating space between panels for equipment to pass through.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with creation of spacing or opening between panels to allow equipment (or sunlight) to pass through as taught by Allen, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the shade and reducing the size of the solar structure accordingly (0045).
Yael does not disclose,
a plurality of mobile self-propelled mobile support towers coupled to the support structure and capable of moving the support structure from one location to another
Tippery teaches,
a plurality of mobile self-propelled mobile support towers coupled to the support structure and capable of moving the support structure from one location to another (see at least [0149] a support assembly 104 of the field engagement unit 102 includes one or more support frames 106, one or more work tool rail assemblies 108 and one or more support structures 110, [0179] the one or more responses may adjust the movement of the field engagement unit 102, and are transmitted to one or more components including, but not limited to, the support structures 110 (e.g., raise or lower the support assembly 104), the propulsion unit 112 (e.g., increase or decrease speed), and [0254] It is further noted embodiments for the propulsion units 112 are directed to a new electric drive solution. For example, the electric drive solution may be configured to be continuously-moving while utilizing variable speeds. By way of another example, the electric drive solution may provide more precise position control than the start and stop technology is self-propelled irrigation systems, and [0448] It is noted herein that one or more components of the field engagement unit 102 such as, but not limited to, the support frame 106, the work tool rail assembly 108, the support structures 110, the propulsion units 112, the steering assemblies 500, the work tool assemblies 114 and any components of the work tools assemblies 114, the material storage containers 120, and the manifold assemblies 122 may be implemented on any lateral-move irrigation system known in the art.)
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile agrivoltaic system with wheels and Tippery a self-propelled farming system with support assembly that further includes one or more support structures [0014].
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the movement mechanism taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the elevation of the support frame 106 as the support assembly 104 traverses a given crop (0204) and to provide to provide omnidirectional functionality when coupled to a steering assembly 500 to the field engagement unit 102 [0268].
Yael does not disclose,
wherein the moveable shade panels are coupled to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable shade panels
Fisher teaches,
wherein the moveable shade panels are coupled to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable shade panels (see at least see at least [0131] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 31, wherein said at least one cable or said at least one rail enables said at least one row of solar panels to slide horizontally above said photosynthetic crop, and [0156] 39. An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 1, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is configured for horizontal movement in a direction perpendicular to trees in said at least one rows of trees, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is further configured to cast its shade onto at least one passage between tree rows in order that the photosynthetic crops will be exposed to direct sun).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Fisher teaches agri-voltaic system that can be controlled to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the shade panels taught by Fisher, with a reasonable expectation of success, to control shading by said at least one solar panel at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop (0017).
As per Claim 2,
Yael discloses,
mobile platform of claim 1, each said support tower further comprising: (a) one or more wheels; and (see at least Fig 1 and Fig. 1a 32 and [Page 3, 4th para] The system moves using a moving construction 32 as used in existing moving irrigation systems).
Yael does not disclose,
(b) an electric motor and a transmission operably coupled to at least one wheel
Tippery teaches,
(b) an electric motor and a transmission operably coupled to at least one wheel. (see at least Fig. 5A, 5B, [0199] he propulsion units 112 are configured to propel the field engagement unit 102 along any direction and are coupled to the field engagement unit 102 via the support structures 110., and [0254] It is further noted embodiments for the propulsion units 112 are directed to a new electric drive solution).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile agrivoltaic system with wheels and Tippery a self-propelled farming system with support assembly that further includes one or more support structures [0014].
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the movement mechanism taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the elevation of the support frame 106 as the support assembly 104 traverses a given crop (0204) and to provide to provide omnidirectional functionality when coupled to a steering assembly 500 to the field engagement unit 102 [0268].
As per Claim 3,
Yael does not disclose,
mobile platform of claim 1, each said support tower further comprising: (a) a continuous track; and (b) an electric motor and a transmission operably coupled to the continuous track.
Tippery teaches,
mobile platform of claim 1, each said support tower further comprising: (a) a continuous track; and (b) an electric motor and a transmission operably coupled to the continuous track (see at least Fig. 1I, Fig. 4A, [0003] Self-propelled irrigation systems, including center-pivot and lateral-move systems, have irrigation towers wheels are driven by drive motors mechanically coupled to gearboxes and/or drivelines, [0143] Embodiments of the present disclosure are also directed to one or more wheel- or track-driven propulsion units, and [0236] In one embodiment, as illustrated in FIGS. 4A and 4B, the propulsion unit 112 includes one or more drive wheels 402. In another embodiment, the propulsion unit 112 includes one or more idler wheels 404. In another embodiment, the propulsion unit 112 includes one or more tracks 406. For example, the tracks 406 may be constructed from rubber. For instance, the tracks 406 may be constructed from vulcanized rubber. By way of another embodiment, the tracks 406 may be constructed from steel. In another embodiment, where the propulsion unit 112 is configured to utilize a positive track belt system, the tracks 406 include one or more protrusions 406a).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Tippery teaches a platform with tracks.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the crawler/track wheels taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have an improved ability to climb hills due to better soil contact (0249).
As per Claim 4,
Yael discloses,
mobile platform of claim 2, each said support tower further comprising: at least one battery configured as a power source for the motor; and a motor controller (see at least [Page 10, 3rd Para] the 'system's movement is powered by the self-producing power. In other embodiments, the power is stored in batteries that could be placed on board).
As per Claim 5,
Yael does not disclose,
mobile platform of claim 1, each said support tower further comprising: a telescoping column configured to increase or decrease in length and thereby increase or decrease the height of the support structure.
Tippery teaches,
mobile platform of claim 1, each said support tower further comprising: a telescoping column configured to increase or decrease in length and thereby increase or decrease the height of the support structure (see at least [0143] Embodiments of the present disclosure are also directed to one or more fixed- or adjustable-height leg assemblies of the support assembly, [0204] the one or more support structures are configured to adjust the elevation of the support frame 106, and [0228] n another embodiment (although not shown), the support structures 110 include one or more nested sections. In this embodiment, the support structures 110 are configured to be telescopic.
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Tippery teaches a telescopic adjustment of the support structure.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the crawler/track wheels taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to raise or lower to keep the sides of the support frame 106 in a pre-determined best position relative to the ground or targeted working surface (0227).
As per Claim 6,
Yael discloses,
a) to permit a controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable solar panels (see at least [Page 2, 2nd para] When mounted high above the crops, it usually relies on the 'earth's orbital movement to distribute the sunlight sharing between power and crop productions. Some variables are taken into consideration in such systems, such as the angle of the solar panels (tilt angle), the crops chosen, the height of the panels, solar irradiance in the area, and the climate of the geographical zone. [Page 6, 2nd para] photovoltaic panels of the moving system could be placed in a manner that shades the area that was just irrigated).
Yael does not disclose,
a) wherein at least a portion of the photovoltaic solar panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit a controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable solar panels
(d) wherein the moveable solar panels are movably coupled to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable solar panels
Fisher teaches,
a) wherein at least a portion of the photovoltaic solar panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit a controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable solar panels (see at least [0023] controlling shading by said rows of solar panels at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop, and).
(d) wherein the moveable solar panels are movably coupled to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable solar panels
(see at least see at least [0131] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 31, wherein said at least one cable or said at least one rail enables said at least one row of solar panels to slide horizontally above said photosynthetic crop, and [0156] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 1, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is configured for horizontal movement in a direction perpendicular to trees in said at least one rows of trees, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is further configured to cast its shade onto at least one passage between tree rows in order that the photosynthetic crops will be exposed to direct sun).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Fisher teaches agri-voltaic system that can be controlled to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the shade panels taught by Fisher, with a reasonable expectation of success, to control shading by said at least one solar panel at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop (0017).
As per Claim 7,
Yael discloses,
mobile platform of claim 6, further comprising: a solar or shade panel support structure configured to allow each solar or shade panel to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection or shade (see at least [Page 8, 2nd para] if the system is designed to perform a 180° movement from dawn to dusk, the panels could be in a position that will always face the sun while the irrigation machine itself serves as tracker, [Page 8, 5th para] the tracking system comprises single or dual-axis mechanism that allows the 'panels' adjustment in a manner that optimizes the power production and the overall shading effect, and [Page 8, 6th para] Such a solar tracking system is well known in the art of photovoltaics and could be fitted according to the specifications of the geographic area and the nature of the irrigation apparatus (central pivot, linear moving, or other)).
Fisher also teaches,
mobile platform of claim 6, further comprising: a solar or shade panel support structure configured to allow each solar or shade panel to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection or shade (see at least [0017] dynamic control of movement of said at least one solar panel to control shading by said at least one solar panel at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop, [0077] the at least one adjustable support is moved at least one of horizontally, vertically and at an angle to the horizontal relative to a static position of said photosynthetic crop, and [0131] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 31, wherein said at least one cable or said at least one rail enables said at least one row of solar panels to slide horizontally above said photosynthetic crop)
As per Claim 8,
Yael discloses,
mobile platform of claim 6, further comprising: a solar or shade panel support structure configured to allow rows of solar or shade panels to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection or shade (see at least [Page 9, 1st full paragraph] In some embodiments of the present invention, the plurality of solar panels is distributed in two, three, or more rows. In a manner allowing for increased energy production. This allows for better panels' adjustments and more accurate shading and angle distribution, and [Page 9, 2nd full paragraph] In some of these embodiments, the rows can be folded to open, closed, or differentiate angle positions. This allows for a larger solar usage area when open while saving space when not used or being transported).
Fisher also teaches,
mobile platform of claim 6, further comprising: a solar or shade panel support structure configured to allow rows of solar or shade panels to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection or shade (see at least [0156] at least one row of solar panels is configured for horizontal movement in a direction perpendicular to trees in said at least one rows of trees, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is further configured to cast its shade onto at least one passage between tree rows in order that the photosynthetic crops will be exposed to direct sun.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yael in view of Fisher, Allen and Tippery as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Timo Bongartz et. al. US20190259108A1 (“Bongartz”).
As per Claim 9,
Yael does not disclose,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: auxiliary growth lights coupled to the support structure to improve crop growth rate and quality
Bongartz teaches,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: auxiliary growth lights coupled to the support structure to improve crop growth rate and quality ( see at least [0010] can manage the entire growth system, applying not only a customized illumination to the plants (light recipes), but even customized environmental conditions (growth recipes) and solutions for maintaining or restoring plant health, and [0116] Beyond mimicking the sunlight, it can be about tailoring the illumination to a specific type of plant, in terms of the intensity and spectral composition. Different illumination setups can stimulate or trigger a difference in growth or the creation of certain ingredients (for instance primary and secondary metabolites).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Bongartz teaches use of auxiliary lights mounted to the bottom surface of the support structure.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the illumination system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004).
As per Claim 10,
Yael does not disclose,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of environmental sensors coupled to the support structure to monitor environmental conditions beneath the support structure
Bongartz teaches,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of environmental sensors coupled to the support structure to monitor environmental conditions beneath the support structure (see at least [0351] The sensors being “of the same type” are adapted for measuring the same physical quantity. In some embodiments/implementations, these sensors are identical in construction. A physical quantity measured can for instance be the temperature, humidity, leaf temperature, VPD (vapor pressure deficit), substrate moisture, substrate temperature, or EC (electrical conductivity), further, the pH-value, wind/air velocity, or PAR (photosynthetically active radiating) can be measured. It is also possible to measure vibrations, or sound, but also camera imaging solutions (including hyperspectral imaging) can be implemented, and [0352] The “plurality” of sensors can for instance be at least 5, 10, 20, 30 or 40 sensors (with possible upper limits of for instance not more than 1000, 500 or 100).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Bongartz teaches use of environmental sensor mounted on the platform.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the environment sensor system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004).
As per Claim 11,
Yael does not disclose,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: one or more auxiliary fans coupled to the support structure to create movement of air beneath the support platform.
Bongartz teaches,
mobile platform of claim 1, further comprising: one or more auxiliary fans coupled to the support structure to create movement of air beneath the support platform (see at least [0136] the LEDs nevertheless produce a significant amount of heat, which is usually taken away from the agricultural light fixture using heat spreaders, heat pipes or other solutions to cool the LEDs and prevent an overheating of the LEDs and the surrounding electronics. The thus removed heat-energy is usually lost for further usage, and [0715] The risk of infestation of the plants by fungi is usually reduced by reducing the population density, using a dry cultivation (i.e. irrigation from below and possibly in the morning or only a few larger water sprayings), introducing a time interval to a subsequent crop cycle, preventing dew formation in the greenhouse (emergency dry heating, use of fans), using hygienic measures, or supplying balanced nutrients (e.g. avoiding nitrogen stress).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Bongartz teaches use of one or more auxiliary fans to create movement of air beneath the platform.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the cooling system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yael, in view of Fisher, Allen, Tippery and Bongartz.
As per Claim 12,
Yael discloses,
mobile, scalable, self-powered agrivoltaic system (see at least [Page 6, 3rd Para] solar panels produce power that could be transferred, used immediately, (e.g., for the system's self-mobility and activity), or be stored in various ways).
comprising:
a support structure (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 1a and [Page 3, 4th para] system moves using a moving construction 32 as used in existing moving irrigation systems).
a plurality of motorized towers attached to the support structure and configured to move the support structure from location to location (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 1a and [Page 3, 4th para] system moves using a moving construction 32 as used in existing moving irrigation systems, and [Page 7, 3rd Para] moving system comprises a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels and is mounted on a moving irrigation apparatus).
a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels attached to the support structure, said solar panels configured to provide shade to crops, said solar panels configured to provide electrical power to the motorized towers (see at least [Page 6, 3rd para] The system has a plurality of solar panels installed above the irrigation distributors).
a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure, said non-photovoltaic shade panels configured to provide limited sunlight to crops, (see at least Page 7, Para 2 The photovoltaic panels of the moving system could be placed in a manner that shades the area that was just irrigated).
an irrigation system attached to the support structure and configured to provide irrigation to crops (see at least [Page. 5, last para] a moving agrivoltaic solar panel system combined with a moving irrigation apparatus).
Yael does not disclose,
a plurality of motorized towers attached to the support structure and configured to move the support structure from location to location;
Tippery teaches,
a plurality of motorized towers attached to the support structure and configured to move the support structure from location to location (see at least [0149] a support assembly 104 of the field engagement unit 102 includes one or more support frames 106, one or more work tool rail assemblies 108 and one or more support structures 110, [0179] the one or more responses may adjust the movement of the field engagement unit 102, and are transmitted to one or more components including, but not limited to, the support structures 110 (e.g., raise or lower the support assembly 104), the propulsion unit 112 (e.g., increase or decrease speed), and [0254] It is further noted embodiments for the propulsion units 112 are directed to a new electric drive solution. For example, the electric drive solution may be configured to be continuously-moving while utilizing variable speeds. By way of another example, the electric drive solution may provide more precise position control than the start and stop technology is self-propelled irrigation systems, and [0448] It is noted herein that one or more components of the field engagement unit 102 such as, but not limited to, the support frame 106, the work tool rail assembly 108, the support structures 110, the propulsion units 112, the steering assemblies 500, the work tool assemblies 114 and any components of the work tools assemblies 114, the material storage containers 120, and the manifold assemblies 122 may be implemented on any lateral-move irrigation system known in the art.)
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile agrivoltaic system with wheels and Tippery a self-propelled farming system with support assembly that further includes one or more support structures [0014].
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the movement mechanism taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the elevation of the support frame 106 as the support assembly 104 traverses a given crop (0204) and to provide to provide omnidirectional functionality when coupled to a steering assembly 500 to the field engagement unit 102 [0268].
Yael does not disclose,
a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure, said non-photovoltaic shade panels configured to provide limited sunlight to crops,
wherein at least a portion of the non-photovoltaic shade panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable shade panels
Allen teaches,
a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure, said non-photovoltaic shade panels configured to provide limited sunlight to crops (see at least [0040] The shade may be provided by panels 230, preferably solar panels and/or shade panels laid out in an array supported by a solar array support structure 220, [0045] the size of the solar structure may be reduced accordingly, or shade panels may be used in the place of solar panels, to provide the shade while still covering a large portion of the building roof and/or equipment, and [0106] the solar/shade structure 200 may further comprise one or more non-solar panels, or “shade panels” located in the array.)
wherein at least a portion of the non-photovoltaic shade panels are positioned adjacent to each other and moveable to define gaps therebetween configured to permit controlled amount of sunlight to pass between the moveable shade panels (see at least [0075] the solar/shade structure 200 comprises a movable portion of the solar array, [0075] the movable portion holds the solar panels and/or shade panels in their positions in the array of panels. In the open position, the movable portion has moved to create an opening in the solar array sufficient for passing rooftop equipment through, and [0077] the movable portion, comprises a supporting structure (e.g., beams, purlins, associated solar panel supports and some solar panels and/or other shade panels).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Allen teaches use of solar panels / shade panels and creating space between panels for equipment to pass through.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with creation of spacing or opening between panels to allow equipment (or sunlight) to pass through as taught by Allen, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the shade and reducing the size of the solar structure accordingly (0045).
Yael does not disclose,
wherein the moveable shade panels are movably attached to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable shade panels
Fisher teaches,
wherein the moveable shade panels are movably attached to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the moveable shade panels (see at least see at least [0131] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 31, wherein said at least one cable or said at least one rail enables said at least one row of solar panels to slide horizontally above said photosynthetic crop, and [0156] 39. An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 1, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is configured for horizontal movement in a direction perpendicular to trees in said at least one rows of trees, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is further configured to cast its shade onto at least one passage between tree rows in order that the photosynthetic crops will be exposed to direct sun).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Fisher teaches agri-voltaic system that can be controlled to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the shade panels taught by Fisher, with a reasonable expectation of success, to control shading by said at least one solar panel at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop (0017).
Yael does not disclose,
a sensor system configured to monitor crop moisture and deploy the irrigation system when crop irrigation is required.
Bongartz teaches,
a sensor system configured to monitor crop moisture and deploy the irrigation system when crop irrigation is required (see at least [00475] the controlled agricultural system is equipped with sensors that are able to acquire the aforementioned abiotic and biotic environmental parameters at adjustable time intervals or else continuously, and [0638] the countermeasures may contain light recipes, which reduce the plant stress (biotic stress). For reducing biotic stress, illumination parameters may be adapted, for example, the illumination duration and/or the illuminance may be changed, e.g. reduced, and/or the light spectrum of the illumination may be changed).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile, self-powered agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches use of sensors and irrigation system in a controlled agricultural system.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the sensor and irrigation system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004) and learn automatically the conditions for detection of the stressors or disease causing conditions (0108).
As per Claim 13,
Yael discloses,
System of claim 12, further comprising: a solar panel support structure configured to allow each solar panel to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection. (see at least [Page 8, 2nd para] if the system is designed to perform a 180° movement from dawn to dusk, the panels could be in a position that will always face the sun while the irrigation machine itself serves as tracker, [Page 8, 5th para] the tracking system comprises single or dual-axis mechanism that allows the 'panels' adjustment in a manner that optimizes the power production and the overall shading effect, and [Page 8, 6th para] Such a solar tracking system is well known in the art of photovoltaics and could be fitted according to the specifications of the geographic area and the nature of the irrigation apparatus (central pivot, linear moving, or other).
As per Claim 14,
Yael discloses,
system of claim 12, further comprising: a solar panel support structure configured to allow rows of solar panels to move around an axis and be dynamically oriented for optimum solar collection (see at least [Page 9, 1st full paragraph] In some embodiments of the present invention, the plurality of solar panels is distributed in two, three, or more rows. In a manner allowing for increased energy production. This allows for better panels' adjustments and more accurate shading and angle distribution, and [Page 9, 2nd full paragraph] In some of these embodiments, the rows can be folded to open, closed, or differentiate angle positions. This allows for a larger solar usage area when open while saving space when not used or being transported).
As per Claim 15,
Yael discloses,
system of claim 12, further comprising: a battery storage system connected to the solar panels and configured to store power for operating the motorized towers and for providing power to auxiliary equipment (see at least [Page 6, 3rd Para] solar panels produce power that could be transferred, used immediately, (e.g., for the system's self-mobility and activity), or be stored in various ways).
As per Claim 16,
Yael does not disclose,
system of claim 15, further comprising: a plurality of light bars attached to the support structure beneath the solar panels and configured to provide light of wavelengths that will promote plant growth at nighttime.
Bongartz teaches,
system of claim 15, further comprising: a plurality of light bars attached to the support structure beneath the solar panels (see at least [0128] Traditional luminaires or lighting fixtures are arranged above a target region, which is to be illuminated. Thus, plants grown in or on such target regions commonly will only be illuminated from the top, mainly with vertical light incidence).
and configured to provide light of wavelengths that will promote plant growth at nighttime (see at least [0010] can manage the entire growth system, applying not only a customized illumination to the plants (light recipes), but even customized environmental conditions (growth recipes) and solutions for maintaining or restoring plant health, [0039] It would also be beneficial to track plant growth data or growth indicators continuously, by day and night, and correlate the data to other external parameters like temperature, nutrients, photon flux, applied spectra, etc., [0116] Beyond mimicking the sunlight, it can be about tailoring the illumination to a specific type of plant, in terms of the intensity and spectral composition. Different illumination setups can stimulate or trigger a difference in growth or the creation of certain ingredients (for instance primary and secondary metabolites, and [0684] controlled agricultural system with a light fixture is proposed that is configured to be able to illuminate plants during the nighttime).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile, self-powered agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches a lighting system that provides lights at different wavelengths for plant growth.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the sensor and irrigation system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004) and learn automatically the conditions for detection of the stressors or disease causing conditions (0108).
As per Claim 17,
Yael does not disclose,
system of claim 12, further comprising: sensors attached to the support structure and configured to monitor plant growth rates and detect plant biotic and abiotic stresses.
Bongartz teaches,
system of claim 12, further comprising: sensors attached to the support structure and configured to monitor plant growth rates and detect plant biotic and abiotic stresses (see at least [00475] the controlled agricultural system is equipped with sensors that are able to acquire the aforementioned abiotic and biotic environmental parameters at adjustable time intervals or else continuously, and [0638] the countermeasures may contain light recipes, which reduce the plant stress (biotic stress). For reducing biotic stress, illumination parameters may be adapted, for example, the illumination duration and/or the illuminance may be changed, e.g. reduced, and/or the light spectrum of the illumination may be changed).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile, self-powered agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches sensors monitoring plant growth and biotic and abiotic stresses.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the sensor taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm learn automatically the conditions for detection of the stressors or disease causing conditions (0108).
As per Claim 18,
Yael does not disclose,
system of claim 12, further comprising one or more sensors attached to the support structure selected from the group of sensors consisting of electrical sensors, motion sensors, proximity sensors, GPS sensors, environmental condition sensors, thermal sensors, irrigation load sensors and LED load sensors.
Bongartz teaches,
system of claim 12, further comprising one or more sensors attached to the support structure selected from the group of sensors consisting of electrical sensors, motion sensors, proximity sensors, GPS sensors, environmental condition sensors, thermal sensors, irrigation load sensors and LED load sensors (see at least Fig. 37, [0351] The sensors being “of the same type” are adapted for measuring the same physical quantity. In some embodiments/implementations, these sensors are identical in construction. A physical quantity measured can for instance be the temperature, humidity, leaf temperature, VPD (vapor pressure deficit), substrate moisture, substrate temperature, or EC (electrical conductivity), further, the pH-value, wind/air velocity, or PAR (photosynthetically active radiating) can be measured. It is also possible to measure vibrations, or sound, but also camera imaging solutions (including hyperspectral imaging) can be implemented, and [0352] The “plurality” of sensors can for instance be at least 5, 10, 20, 30 or 40 sensors (with possible upper limits of for instance not more than 1000, 500 or 100), and [0534] the sensor device comprises one or more of the following sensors or a combination thereof: imaging system, e.g. still or video camera, in some embodiments/implementations TOF camera or stereo camera, LIDAR system, environmental sensor, e.g. for measuring temperature, humidity and/or chemical composition of the air or soil, sensors for detecting color changes of the plant, particularly of the leaves, sensors for detecting specific gases exhaled by the plants, sensors for detecting the fluorescence emitted by the plants after activation with dedicated radiation).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile, self-powered agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches a various sensors attached to the system.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the sensor taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004) and learn automatically the conditions for detection of the stressors or disease causing conditions (0108).
As per Claim 19,
Yael does not disclose,
system of claim 12, further comprising: a main control unit (MCU) with a processor and non-transitory memory storing instructions executable by the processor for controlling a mechanical subsystem, an electrical subsystem and a sensor subsystem.
Bongartz teaches,
system of claim 12, further comprising: a main control unit (MCU) with a processor and non-transitory memory storing instructions executable by the processor for controlling a mechanical subsystem, an electrical subsystem and a sensor subsystem (see at least Fig. 17, 29, [0202] a computing device, [0201] an actuator device, [0203] wherein the actuator device is configured for adjusting a distance between the growth locations and hence a size of the growth area, and [2769] the embodiments may be implemented using hardware, software or a combination thereof. When implemented in software, the software code can be executed on any suitable processor or collection of processors, whether provided in a single computer or distributed among multiple computers).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile, self-powered agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches the system comprises a control unit with processor for controlling various sub-systems.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the implementation using hardware, software or a combination as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004) and to enable optimization of the energy footprint (0022).
As per Claim 20,
Yael discloses,
a support structure with a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels and a plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure, (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 1a and Fig. 3, [Page 6, 3rd para] The system has a plurality of solar panels installed above the irrigation distributors)
said solar panels and said shade panels configured to provide shade to crops, (see at least [Page 6, 2nd para] photovoltaic panels of the moving system could be placed in a manner that shades the area that was just irrigated)
said solar panels configured to produce electrical power (see at least [Claim 1] said at least one photovoltaic solar panel absorbs solar radiation and produces electricity, and wherein said output member transfer said electricity and allow to use or store it)
a plurality of mobile support columns attached to the support structure, said mobile support columns having a motor, transmission, battery power source and wheels configured to move the support structure from location to location (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 1a, [Page 3, 4th para] system moves using a moving construction 32 as used in existing moving irrigation systems, and [Page 7, 3rd Para] moving system comprises a plurality of photovoltaic solar panels and is mounted on a moving irrigation apparatus).
Yael does not disclose,
plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure
Allen teaches,
plurality of non-photovoltaic shade panels attached to the support structure (see at least [0040] The shade may be provided by panels 230, preferably solar panels and/or shade panels laid out in an array supported by a solar array support structure 220, [0045] shade panels may be used in the place of solar panels, to provide the shade while still covering a large portion of the building roof and/or equipment, [0106] Moreover, the solar/shade structure 200 may further comprise one or more non-solar panels, or “shade panels” located in the array, and shade panel 1231 may be any device or apparatus configured to provide shade. Shade panel 1231 may be made of any suitable material, including for example, a textile, wood, metal, plastic, or any other suitable material capable of providing shade)
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Allen teaches shade panels.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the shade panels taught by Allen, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the shade and reducing the size of the solar structure accordingly (0045).
Yael does not disclose,
wherein adjacent shade panels define gaps therebetween configured to provide a controlled amount of shade to crops, and
wherein each of the plurality of shade panels is movably mounted to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the adjacent shade panels
Fisher teaches,
adjacent shade panels define gaps therebetween configured to provide a controlled amount of shade to crops (see at least [0023] controlling shading by said rows of solar panels at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop, [0077] the at least one adjustable support is moved at least one of horizontally, vertically and at an angle to the horizontal relative to a static position of said photosynthetic crop, and [0095] said at least one solar energy apparatus further comprises at least one horizontally movable panel support).
each of the plurality of shade panels is movably mounted to the support structure and configured to slide along at least one of a plurality of channels to increase or decrease the gaps between the adjacent shade panels (see at least [0131] An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 31, wherein said at least one cable or said at least one rail enables said at least one row of solar panels to slide horizontally above said photosynthetic crop, and [0156] 39. An agri-voltaic system according to embodiment 1, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is configured for horizontal movement in a direction perpendicular to trees in said at least one rows of trees, wherein said at least one row of solar panels is further configured to cast its shade onto at least one passage between tree rows in order that the photosynthetic crops will be exposed to direct sun).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile platform with wheels and Fisher teaches agri-voltaic system that can be controlled to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the shade panels taught by Fisher, with a reasonable expectation of success, to control shading by said at least one solar panel at said outdoor location to dynamically change a quantity of solar radiation over time to said photosynthetic crop (0017).
Yael does not disclose,
a plurality of mobile support columns attached to the support structure, said mobile support columns having a motor, transmission, battery power source and wheels configured to move the support structure from location to location;
Tippery teaches,
said mobile support columns having a motor, transmission, battery power source and wheels configured to move the support structure from location to location; (see at least [0149] a support assembly 104 of the field engagement unit 102 includes one or more support frames 106, one or more work tool rail assemblies 108 and one or more support structures 110, [0179] the one or more responses may adjust the movement of the field engagement unit 102, and are transmitted to one or more components including, but not limited to, the support structures 110 (e.g., raise or lower the support assembly 104), the propulsion unit 112 (e.g., increase or decrease speed), and [0254] It is further noted embodiments for the propulsion units 112 are directed to a new electric drive solution. For example, the electric drive solution may be configured to be continuously-moving while utilizing variable speeds. By way of another example, the electric drive solution may provide more precise position control than the start and stop technology is self-propelled irrigation systems, and [0448] It is noted herein that one or more components of the field engagement unit 102 such as, but not limited to, the support frame 106, the work tool rail assembly 108, the support structures 110, the propulsion units 112, the steering assemblies 500, the work tool assemblies 114 and any components of the work tools assemblies 114, the material storage containers 120, and the manifold assemblies 122 may be implemented on any lateral-move irrigation system known in the art.)
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile agrivoltaic system with wheels and Tippery a self-propelled farming system with support assembly that further includes one or more support structures [0014].
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the movement mechanism taught by Tippery, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the elevation of the support frame 106 as the support assembly 104 traverses a given crop (0204) and to provide to provide omnidirectional functionality when coupled to a steering assembly 500 to the field engagement unit 102 [0268].
Yael does not disclose,
an irrigation system attached to the support structure and configured to provide irrigation to crops
a sensor system configured to monitor crop moisture and deploy the irrigation system when crop irrigation is required; and
a control system configured to control the solar panel electricity production, the motor, the irrigation system and the sensor system.
Bongartz teaches,
an irrigation system attached to the support structure and configured to provide irrigation to crops (see at least [2447] The irrigation device 3700 is mounted movable at a ceiling 3705, it hangs at a rod 3706 hanging from the ceiling 3705. Via a rail system (see FIG. 37), the irrigation device 3700 is movable forth and back over the growth area 3704, namely forward out of the drawing plane and backward behind the drawing plane. Such an irrigation device 3700 is known as such. A power supply or data cable line 3710 connects the sensors 3702 with the control box 3711 of the irrigation device 3700. In particular, the irrigation device 3700 and the sensor device 3702 can share a common power supply 3712).
a sensor system configured to monitor crop moisture (see at least [0533] By using data of other sensors (environmental sensors, chemical sensors), the different morphological changes can be linked to other causes (e.g. hanging leafs due to not enough water or due to other environmental parameters such as a too high salt concentration).
deploy the irrigation system when crop irrigation is required (see at least [0531] If the morphological change is due to a certain root cause (e.g. not enough water), the system may optionally initiate a counter-measure (e.g. irrigation). For this purpose, the controlled agricultural system further comprises respective actuators (e.g. irrigation system)
a control system configured to control the solar panel electricity production, the motor, the irrigation system and the sensor system (see at least [0532] computing device is configured to automatically counteract by means of the actuator device, if stress, diseases, pests or any other critical condition is identified).
Thus, Yael discloses a mobile agrivoltaic system and Bongartz teaches the control system for an irrigation and sensor system that comprises a control unit with processor for controlling various sub-systems.
As a result, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Yael with the control system as taught by Bongartz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to customize and adapt the farm to the specific needs of the plants (0004) and to enable optimization of the energy footprint (0022).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art IL285747A in the PTO-892.
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668