DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 14, and 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (US 2005/0153473).
Regarding claim 1, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
A method comprising:
selectively depositing material over a layered structure of a light-emitting device (FIG. 6C); and
defining an emitter size of the light-emitting device by causing the material to disorder regions of a light-emitting layer included in the layered structure (at least [0099] – [0104], [0132]).
Regarding claim 2, Teng teaches intermixing to modify the bandgap in patterned areas through a thermal process, which inherently extracts desired elements, including Group III elements in the heterostructure stack (at least [0099] – [0104], [0132]):
The method of claim 1, wherein causing the material to disorder the regions of the light-emitting layer comprises inducing impurity-free disordering of the material within the light-emitting layer via Group III element extraction at a temperature that exceeds a certain threshold.
Regarding claim 3, Teng teaches heterostructure intermixing through thermal processes, which is inherently a diffusion process:
The method of claim 1, wherein causing the material to disorder the regions of the light-emitting layer comprises causing impurity-induced disordering of the material within the light-emitting layer via at least one of: ion implantation; or atomic diffusion.
Regarding claim 4, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
The method of claim 1, wherein defining the emitter size of the light-emitting device comprises defining the emitter size of the light-emitting device by applying at least one fabrication process to the layered structure outside the light-emitting layer.
Regarding claim 5, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
The method of claim 4, wherein the fabrication process comprises at least one of: etching; band-gap tuning; or impurity diffusion.
Regarding claim 6, Teng teaches intermixing to modify the bandgap in patterned areas through a thermal process, which inherently extracts desired elements (at least [0132]):
The method of claim 4, wherein the fabrication process comprises inducing elemental diffusion in the layered structure to widen a band gap of the light-emitting layer by: increasing a temperature of the material; and extracting an element from at least one layer included in the layered structure as a result of the increased temperature.
Regarding claim 7, Teng teaches ([0085] – [0093]):
The method of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting layer is disposed between semiconductor layers included in the layered structure.
Regarding claim 8, Teng teaches ([0095] – [0097]):
The method of claim 7, wherein defining the emitter size of the light-emitting device comprises tuning a band gap of at least one of the layers included in the layered structure via quantum-well intermixing (QWI).
Regarding claim 9, Teng teaches ([0040], [0124]):
The method of claim 7, wherein the light-emitting layer and the semiconductor layers are collectively sized at 50 microns or less.
Regarding claim 10, Teng teaches intermixing to modify the bandgap in patterned areas through a thermal process, inducing a disordering of the heterostructure (at least [0132]):
The method of claim 1, wherein causing the material to disorder the regions of the light-emitting layer comprises at least one of: inducing vertical disordering of the material within the light-emitting layer to achieve lateral carrier confinement in at least one layer included the layered structure; or inducing lateral disordering of the material within the light-emitting layer to achieve lateral carrier confinement in at least one layer included the layered structure.
Regarding claim 11, Teng teaches ([0018] – [0019]):
The method of claim 1, wherein the material comprises a dielectric.
Regarding claim 12, Teng teaches intermixing to modify the bandgap in patterned areas ([0112] – [0118]):
The method of claim 1, wherein causing the material to disorder the regions of the light-emitting layer comprises sharpening a band-gap profile of an edge of at least one layer included in the layered structure.
Regarding claim 13, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
The method of claim 1, further comprising: removing semiconductor material from an edge of at least one layer included in the layered structure; and causing the material to disorder the edge to reduce non-radiative losses.
Regarding claim 14, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
The method of claim 1, further comprising: causing selective area growth at an edge of at least one layer included in the layered structure; and causing the material to disorder the edge to reduce non-radiative losses.
Regarding claim 16, Teng teaches (FIG. 6A – 6I):
A light-emitting device comprising:
a layered structure comprising a light-emitting layer disposed between semiconductor layers ([0085] – [0093]);
material selectively applied to the layered structure (FIG. 6C); and
an emitter whose size is defined by regions of the light-emitting layer that are disordered by the material (at least [0099] – [0104], [0132]).
Regarding claim 17, Teng teaches intermixing to modify the bandgap in patterned areas through a thermal process, inducing a disordering of the heterostructure, which must be either vertical or lateral (at least [0132]):
The light-emitting device of claim 16, wherein the regions of the light-emitting layer are either vertically disordered or laterally disordered by the material.
Regarding claim 18, Teng teaches ([0085] – [0093]):
The light-emitting device of claim 16, wherein the light-emitting layer is disposed between semiconductor layers included in the layered structure.
Regarding claim 19, Teng teaches ([0095] – [0097]):
The light-emitting device of claim 16, wherein at least one of the layers included in the layered structure has a band gap that is tuned via quantum-well intermixing (QWI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (US 2005/0153473).
Regarding claim 15, Teng teaches light emitting structures, but fails to expressly disclose the intended use of:
The method of claim 1, further comprising implementing the light-emitting device in an artificial-reality device dimensioned to be worn by a user.
However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates." Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although "[s]uch statements often.., appear in the claim's preamble," In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751,754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) art recognized suitability for an intended purpose.
Regarding claim 20, Teng teaches a light emitting structure (FIG. 6A – 6I):
A system comprising:
a light-emitting device incorporated in the artificial-reality device, the light-emitting device comprising:
a layered structure comprising a light-emitting layer disposed between semiconductor layers ([0085] – [0093]);
material selectively applied to the layered structure (FIG. 6C); and
an emitter whose size is defined by regions of the light-emitting layer that are disordered by the material (at least [0099] – [0104], [0132]).
Teng fails to expressly disclose the specific intended use of an artificial-reality device dimensioned to be worn by a user.
However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates." Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although "[s]uch statements often.., appear in the claim's preamble," In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751,754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) art recognized suitability for an intended purpose.
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624