DETAILED ACTION
The response filed 5/4/2026 was received and considered.
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks (pp. 4-5) argues that the instant application claims priority to 12/20/2018 and thus Lu is not eligible prior art. However, the instant application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application)1. The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/782,810, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, ‘810 does not disclose applying the pattern of frozen bit locations to the message word to generate a frozen-modified message word having both message word bit locations and frozen bit locations and multiplication of the frozen-modified message word by a generator matrix G to generate a frozen encoded word (claim 1) or applying a successive cancellation decoder to the received message word to generate a successive-cancellation-decoded message word and applying the pattern of frozen bit locations to remove the frozen bits from the successive-cancellation-decoded message word (claim 10). Accordingly, the disclosure of the invention in the parent application is insufficient to provide support for the subject matter of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-10 of the instant application to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Physical Layer Encryption Algorithm Based on Polar Codes and Chaotic Sequences” by Lu et al. (Lu) (subject matter of the claimed invention disclosed in PCT/US2019/067533, filed 12/19/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a method for a computer (physical layer security provided on a wireless communication channel, p. 4381, ¶1) to provide physical-layer security in data transmission (PLS, p. 4381, ¶1), comprising: obtaining a pattern of frozen bit locations (p. 4384, equation (6),
x
1
N
=
u
1
N
G
N
(
A
)
⊕
u
A
c
G
N
(
A
c
)
, where
u
A
c
represents the location of the frozen bits); obtaining a message word (information bits
u
A
, p. 4384, §III-B); applying the pattern of frozen bit locations to the message word to generate a frozen-modified message word (modify plaintext sequence by chaotic sequences
Q
i
to obtain
P
i
, p. 4385, equation (12) having both message word bit locations and frozen bit locations (chaotic sequences contain frozen and information bits, p. 4385, equation (11)); multiplying the frozen-modified message word by a generator matrix G to generate a frozen-encoded word (ciphertext
C
i
is obtained from
P
i
and codeword
U
i
, p. 4385, equations (13) and (14)); and transmitting the frozen-encoded word on a data transmission medium (transmission on channel , p. 4386, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses sharing, with an intended recipient, the pattern of frozen bit locations (frozen bits are known to the receiver when decoded, p. 4384, §C, ¶1; see also p. 4380, §I, ¶3, showing frozen bits are known to both parties and p. 4385 “the legitimate receiver extracts the same key, so the same chaotic sequence
Q
i
and initial sequence
P
0
are generated”).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses wherein applying the pattern of frozen bit locations comprises assigning a randomly generated value (chaotic sequences are pseudorandom, p. 4382, §II-B, ¶1) to one or more of the frozen bit locations (apply chaotic sequences to frozen bits, p. 4383, §III-A, ¶1 and p. 4383, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses wherein the pattern of frozen bit locations is configured to allow a successive cancellation decoder tuned to a transmission channel (SC decoder decodes
U
i
'
to
P
i
, based on channel, where the error of the channel is represented by
Z
i
, p. 4385, right column; see also p. 4386, Fig. 8) to remove a level of errors from the received word (
Z
i
is within error correction range of the channel, thus errors are removed to apply the chaotic sequence, p. 4385, right column; see also p. 4386, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Lu discloses wherein the generator matrix G is a square matrix (
G
N
denotes a matrix of size (order)
N
×
N
, p. 4383, (4)) with both dimensions equal to the length of the frozen-modified message word (
u
1
N
denotes a code word of size N, p. 4384, (6); see also p. 4384, §C, ¶1 and (10)).2
Regarding claim 10, Lu discloses a method for a computer to provide physical-layer security in data transmission (physical layer security provided on a wireless communication channel, p. 4381, ¶1), comprising: obtaining a pattern of frozen bit locations (frozen bits, represented by chaotic sequences, p. 4385, equation (11)); receiving a received message word (ciphertext
C
i
, p. 4385, equation (15)); applying a successive cancellation decoder to the received message word to generate a successive-cancellation-decoded message word (SC decoder used to obtain sequence
P
i
, p. 4385, paragraph following equation (17)); applying the pattern of frozen bit locations to remove the frozen bits from the successive-cancellation-decoded message word to generate a decoded message word (
M
i
'
=
P
i
⊕
Q
i
⊕
Q
i
, p. 4385, equation (18)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, as applied to claim 1, in view of “Crypto Polar Codes based on Pseudorandom Frozen Bits Values and Indices” to El-Sakka et al. (El-Sakka) and US 2007/0237332 A1 to Lyle.
Regarding claim 8, Lu lacks secretively sharing the pattern of frozen bit locations with a desired recipient. However, El-Sakka teaches increasing security in polar coding (p. 160, §I, ¶1, ¶3; see also p. 162, §IV, ¶2) by generating the frozen bits and locations using a pseudorandom number generator (PRNG, p. 162, ¶1; see also p. 162, Fig. 2), where the PRNG is primed using seeds (secret keys, p. 162, ¶3, Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to share the pattern of frozen bit locations with a desired recipient by establish a shared seed enabling secure shared knowledge of the frozen bit locations, as taught by El-Sakka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to increase security, as taught by El-Sakka. As modified, Lu is silent regarding secretly sharing the pattern. However, Lyle teaches producing the same secret value on both sides of a communication using a PRNG by initializing both sides with the same seed (¶87) and teaches that the seeds can be shared through a key exchange function, such as employing a very secure channel between the source and recipient or delivering the key securely to both sides (exchanging secretively) (¶88). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lu such that the pattern of frozen bit locations is shared secretively with a desired recipient. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize a known method of establishing a common key on either side of the communication, as taught by Lyle.
Regarding claim 9, Lu lacks secretively sharing with a desired recipient a seed for setting bit values or at least one of the frozen bit locations; and using that seed to set bit values at frozen bit locations. However, El-Sakka teaches increasing security in polar coding (p. 160, §I, ¶1, ¶3; see also p. 162, §IV, ¶2) by generating the frozen bits and locations using a pseudorandom number generator (PRNG, p. 162, ¶1; see also p. 162, Fig. 2), where the PRNG is primed using seeds (secret keys, p. 162, ¶3, Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to share a seed for setting bit values or at least one of the frozen bit locations and use that seed to set bit values at frozen bit locations, as taught by El-Sakka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to increase security, as taught by El-Sakka. As modified, Lu is silent regarding secretly sharing the seed. However, Lyle teaches producing the same secret value on both sides of a communication using a PRNG by initializing both sides with the same seed (¶87) and teaches that the seeds can be shared through a key exchange function, such as employing a very secure channel between the source and recipient or delivering the key securely to both sides (exchanging secretively) (¶88). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lu such that the seed is shared secretively with a desired recipient. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize a known method of establishing a common key on either side of the communication, as taught by Lyle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130283128 A1 (LEE; KIJUN et al.) is cited for teaching storing a pattern for frozen bits (¶¶99-100), inserting frozen bits into information bits (¶102) and generating a code word using a generation matrix (¶¶103-104) and performing successive cancellation for decoding (¶109).
US 20170214416 A1 (GE; YIQUN et al.) teaches inserting frozen bits at reliable positions in an input vector (¶56), multiplying the resulting vector by a generator matrix (¶58) and performing successive cancellation for decoding (¶61).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Simitoski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493
May 21, 2026
1 MPEP §211.05
2 US 20190268094 A1 (GE; YIQUN et al.) is also cited for teaching polar encoding, where a polar code having codewords of length
N
=
2
m
and a generator matrix of size (order)
2
m
, denoted by
G
2
⨂
m
, such that, for example, a codeword of size 8 utilizes a generator matrix of order 8 (¶¶31-32).
See also US 20170353193 A1 (Jang; Min et al.), ¶47.