DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1-6 and 9-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and the rejection of claims 7-8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive insofar as US 2022/0003820 to Zhang et al. (Zhang) is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a measurement device “arranged inside a stack of battery cells of the battery module between two adjacent ones of the battery cells” as recited in amended claim 1 and similarly recited in amended claim 10. Therefore, the rejections as set forth in the prior Office action have been withdrawn on this basis. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Zhang, US 2013/0252051 to Hiramura et al. and US 20150125726 to Tzivanopoulos (Tzivanopoulos).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0003820 to Zhang et al. (Zhang) in view of US 2013/0252051 to Hiramura et al. and US 2015/0125726 to Tzivanopoulos (Tzivanopoulos).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for detecting a dielectric breakdown in a battery module, the method comprising:
measuring at least one operation state of the battery module using a measurement device paragraphs 69-87; with reference to Fig. 2A, for example, sensor 221 arranged at the connection point between the battery module 201 and the battery management system BMS 202 measures at least one operation state of the battery module 201; as disclosed in paragraph 70, sensor 221 may include a voltage sensor or a current sensor; in this way, the control apparatus may obtain voltage signals or current signals at a plurality of electrical connection points, and then the control apparatus processes and analyzes the voltage signals or the current signals at the plurality of electrical connection points; also see Fig. 1, step 101);
generating at least one operation signal respectively corresponding to the at least one operation state (see Zhang as applied above; it is implicit that sensor 221 generates at least one operation signal (e.g., a signal representing a current or a signal representing a voltage) respectively corresponding to the at least one operation state, with the operational signal being provided to the control apparatus 24);
checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises a pattern indicating a possible arc-fault within the battery module (Zhang, e.g., Figs. 1 and 2A-2F and paragraphs 69-87; see Figs. 2E-2F paragraphs 76-78 in particular, after the control apparatus obtains the electrical signal, the control apparatus may analyze the frequency domain characteristic of the electrical signal according to a Fourier transform algorithm, to calculate a frequency domain amplitude that is of the electrical signal and that corresponds to each frequency; for example, the control apparatus may perform normalization processing on the electrical signal to obtain a scalar of a relative relationship, and then perform Fourier transform processing to obtain a spectrum graph corresponding to the electrical signal; Fig. 2E is a spectrum graph existing when no arc fault occurs, in which case the frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to all the frequencies are relatively low and relatively balanced; Fig. 2F is a spectrum graph existing when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; it can be learned through comparative analysis between Fig. 2E and Fig. 2F that, when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point, frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to some frequencies increase, and changes of amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be different; the control apparatus may compare the frequency domain amplitude with a preset amplitude; for example, the control apparatus may compare a frequency domain amplitude corresponding to a frequency with a preset amplitude corresponding to the frequency, and when the frequency domain amplitude is greater than the preset amplitude, determine that an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; different preset amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be adjusted by operation and maintenance personnel based on an actual case, to improve accuracy of arc detection; also see Fig. 1, step 102); and
generating a warning signal upon detecting the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern (Zhang, e.g., Figs. 1 and 2A-2F and paragraphs 69-87; see paragraphs 79-87 in particular, when the frequency domain amplitude is greater than the preset amplitude, the control apparatus controls the energy storage system to perform an arc extinguishing operation on the electrical connection point; for example, the control apparatus may control the DC-DC converter to generate a reverse electrical signal, or the control apparatus may control the energy storage system to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; at least the control signals used for controlling the DC-DC converter to generate a reverse electrical signal or controlling the energy storage system to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point constitute warning signals for facilitating an appropriate control action in response to detection of arcing; also see Fig. 1, step 103).
Zhang is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the measurement device is arranged inside a stack of battery cells of the battery module between two adjacent ones of the battery cells. Use of a battery module comprising stacks of battery cells, as well as the arrangement of measurement devices inside a stack of battery cells, is generally well-known and conventional in the field of batteries and battery management. Hiramura, for example, discloses in Fig. 1 a battery system 100 that includes an assembled battery containing stacks of battery cells, with each stack including voltage sensors 7 and a current sensor 10. Note in Fig. 1 of Hiramura that the voltages sensors in each stack are disposed between two adjacent battery cells of the stack. Although Hiramura discloses that each current sensor is disposed at the top of its respective stack, one of ordinary skill would understand that the current sensor is equivalently positionable between adjacent cell of the stack in view of the series connection of the stack cells. Additionally, or in the alternative, positioning of a current sensor between adjacent cells of a cell stack is known from Tzivanopoulos (Tzivanopoulos, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 47, current sensor 10 arranged between adjacent battery cells 2'' and 2'''). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. That is to say, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, for example, that voltage/current measurements obtained by external sensor 221 in Fig. 2A of Zhang are equivalently obtainable in a predictable manner using stack-based measurements arrangements in the manner disclosed by Hiramura and/or Tzivanopoulos. For these reasons, the recitation of a measurement device arranged inside a stack of battery cells of the battery module between two adjacent ones of the battery cells does not patentably define over Zhang when considered in light of well-known and conventional use of stacked battery cell arrangements and the placement of current and voltage sensors between adjacent cells of a battery stack as evidenced by Hiramura and/or Tzivanopoulos.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses wherein the at least one operation state comprises a current generated by, or occurring in, the battery module,
wherein generating the at least one operation signal comprises generating a current signal based on the at least one operation state comprising the current, and
wherein checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern comprises checking whether the current signal comprises the pattern (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 1 recognizing that sensor 221 may include a voltage sensor or a current sensor; in the case of a current sensor, a signal representing a current is provided to the control apparatus 24, which is analyzed in the manner disclosed in Figs. 2E-2F and paragraphs 76-78 to determine the occurrence of arcing).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses:
wherein the at least one operation state comprises a voltage generated by the battery module, or an electrical potential difference inside the battery module, and
wherein checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern indicating the possible arc-fault comprises checking whether a voltage signal, which corresponds to the voltage or the electrical potential difference, comprises the pattern (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 1 recognizing that sensor 221 may include a voltage sensor or a current sensor; in the case of a voltage sensor, a signal representing a voltage is provided to the control apparatus 24, which is analyzed in the manner disclosed in Figs. 2E-2F and paragraphs 76-78 to determine the occurrence of arcing).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses wherein checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern comprises:
generating a frequency spectrum for the at least one operation signal comprising a current signal and/or the voltage signal; and
comparing the frequency spectrum with a reference frequency spectrum (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 3, e.g., Figs. 2E-2F paragraphs 76-78, after the control apparatus obtains the electrical signal, the control apparatus may analyze the frequency domain characteristic of the electrical signal according to a Fourier transform algorithm, to calculate a frequency domain amplitude that is of the electrical signal and that corresponds to each frequency; for example, the control apparatus may perform normalization processing on the electrical signal to obtain a scalar of a relative relationship, and then perform Fourier transform processing to obtain a spectrum graph corresponding to the electrical signal; Fig. 2E is a spectrum graph existing when no arc fault occurs, in which case the frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to all the frequencies are relatively low and relatively balanced; Fig. 2F is a spectrum graph existing when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; it can be learned through comparative analysis between Fig. 2E and Fig. 2F that, when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point, frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to some frequencies increase, and changes of amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be different; the control apparatus may compare the frequency domain amplitude with a preset amplitude; for example, the control apparatus may compare a frequency domain amplitude corresponding to a frequency with a preset amplitude corresponding to the frequency, and when the frequency domain amplitude is greater than the preset amplitude, determine that an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; different preset amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be adjusted by operation and maintenance personnel based on an actual case, to improve accuracy of arc detection; also see Fig. 1, step 102).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses wherein comparing the frequency spectrum with the reference frequency spectrum comprises detecting, for at least one frequency value in the reference frequency spectrum, whether an amplitude of the frequency spectrum exceeds an amplitude of the reference frequency spectrum, and
wherein generating the warning signal is based upon detection that the amplitude of the frequency spectrum exceeds the amplitude of the reference frequency spectrum at the at least one frequency value (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 4, e.g., Figs. 2E-2F paragraphs 76-78, after the control apparatus obtains the electrical signal, the control apparatus may analyze the frequency domain characteristic of the electrical signal according to a Fourier transform algorithm, to calculate a frequency domain amplitude that is of the electrical signal and that corresponds to each frequency; for example, the control apparatus may perform normalization processing on the electrical signal to obtain a scalar of a relative relationship, and then perform Fourier transform processing to obtain a spectrum graph corresponding to the electrical signal; Fig. 2E is a spectrum graph existing when no arc fault occurs, in which case the frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to all the frequencies are relatively low and relatively balanced; Fig. 2F is a spectrum graph existing when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; it can be learned through comparative analysis between Fig. 2E and Fig. 2F that, when an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point, frequency domain amplitudes corresponding to some frequencies increase, and changes of amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be different; the control apparatus may compare the frequency domain amplitude with a preset amplitude; for example, the control apparatus may compare a frequency domain amplitude corresponding to a frequency with a preset amplitude corresponding to the frequency, and when the frequency domain amplitude is greater than the preset amplitude, determine that an arc fault occurs at the electrical connection point; different preset amplitudes corresponding to different frequencies may be adjusted by operation and maintenance personnel based on an actual case, to improve accuracy of arc detection; also see Fig. 1, step 102).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses wherein generating the frequency spectrum comprises performing a Fourier transform of at least a part of the current signal and/or the voltage signal (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 5, e.g., paragraph 78, the control apparatus may perform normalization processing on the electrical signal to obtain a scalar of a relative relationship, and then perform Fourier transform processing to obtain a spectrum graph corresponding to the electrical signal).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses:
storing amplitudes of the at least one operation signal for sample points in time within a time window; and
performing a fast Fourier transform based on the sample points and the stored amplitudes (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 6, Zhang’s control apparatus 24 may be implemented using a processor (see, e.g., paragraphs 21, 65), in which case it is implicit that control apparatus 24 stores amplitudes of the at least one operation signal output by sensor 221 for sample points in time within a time window, and that the Fourier transform (e.g., paragraph 78) is performed based on the sample points and the stored amplitudes). Zhang is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the Fourier transform implemented by control apparatus 24 is a fast Fourier transform. The examiner nonetheless takes Official notice of the fact that use of a fast Fourier transform for generating a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) of a signal was well-known and conventional before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains for obtaining a frequency domain representation of the signal. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang such that the Fourier transform is implemented as a fast Fourier transform in view of the well-known and conventional use of the fast Fourier transform for computing frequency domain signal representations.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses disconnecting the battery module from a load in response to the warning signal (see modified Zhang as applied to claim 1, e.g., paragraphs 79-87, when the frequency domain amplitude is greater than the preset amplitude, the control apparatus controls the energy storage system to perform an arc extinguishing operation on the electrical connection point; for example, the control apparatus may control the DC-DC converter to generate a reverse electrical signal, or the control apparatus may control the energy storage system to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; also see Fig. 1, step 103).
Claim 10 recites a battery system comprising:
a battery module comprising a stack of battery cells;
a measurement device arranged inside the stack of the battery cells of the battery module between two adjacent ones of the battery cells, the measurement device configured to measure at least one operation state of the battery module, and to generate at least one operation signal corresponding to the at least one operation state; and
a control unit configured to receive the at least one operation signal from the measurement device, check whether the at least one operation signal comprises a pattern indicating an occurrence of an arc-fault within the battery module, and generate a warning signal upon detection that the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 1, recognizing that Zhang’s sensor 221 constitutes a measurement device as claimed, and Zhang’s control apparatus 24 constitutes as control unit as claimed.
Claim 11 recites wherein the at least one operation state comprises a current generated by, or occurring in, the battery module,
wherein the measurement device comprises a current sensor configured to measure the current, and configured to generate the at least one operation signal comprising a current signal corresponding to the current, and
wherein the control unit is configured to check whether the current signal comprises the pattern,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 12 recites wherein the at least one operation state comprises a voltage generated by, or an electrical potential difference inside, the battery module,
wherein the measurement device comprises a voltage sensor configured to measure the voltage or the electrical potential difference, and configured to generate the at least one operation signal comprising a voltage signal corresponding to the voltage or the electrical potential difference, and
wherein the control unit is configured to check whether the voltage signal comprises the pattern,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 3.
Claim 13 recites wherein the control unit is configured to generate a frequency spectrum of the at least one operation signal corresponding to a current signal or the voltage signal, and to compare the frequency spectrum with a reference frequency spectrum,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos discloses:
a first terminal connected via a first electrical line to at least one battery cell of the battery cells (Zhang, e.g., Figs. 1 and 2A-2F and paragraphs 69-87; with reference to Fig. 2A, for example, input terminal of load circuit 21 that is connected to battery module 201, with first electrical line being output line of DC-DC converter 203);
a second terminal connected via a second electrical line to the at least one battery cell (Zhang, e.g., Figs. 1 and 2A-2F and paragraphs 69-87; with reference to Fig. 2A, for example, input terminal of DC-DC converter 203 that is connected to battery module 201, with second electrical line being output line of BMS 202);
a first switch configured to interrupt the first electrical line upon receiving a first interruption signal (Zhang, e.g., paragraphs 17, 86, control apparatus 24 controls the BMS to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; or the control apparatus controls the DC-DC converter to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; Zhang’s DC-DC converter 203 necessarily includes a first switch for performing the cut off functionality to interrupt output line of DC-DC converter 203 in response to first interruption signal); and
a second switch configured to interrupt the second electrical line upon receiving a second interruption signal (Zhang, e.g., paragraphs 17, 86, control apparatus 24 controls the BMS to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; or the control apparatus controls the DC-DC converter to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point; Zhang’s BMS 202 necessarily includes a second switch for performing the cut off functionality to interrupt output line of BMS 202 in response to second interruption signal),
wherein the control unit is configured to send the first interruption signal, and/or send the second interruption signal, based upon the warning signal (see Zhang as applied above, Zhang’s control apparatus 24 will at least send second interruption signal to control the BMS to cut off an electrical connection path when arcing is determined based on operation signal output by sensor 221 in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a vehicle comprising the battery system as claimed in claim 10. The examiner takes Official notice of the fact that electric vehicles having battery systems of the type disclosed by Zhang, e.g., Fig. 2A with the load being electric motors for providing wheel rotation were well-known and conventional before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. For these reasons, the recitation of a vehicle comprising the battery system as claimed in claim 10 does not patentably define over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos when considered in light of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos, and further in view of US 2022/0140593 to Wu et al. (Wu).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern comprises:
inputting the at least one operation signal to at least one bandpass filter; measuring an amplitude of a signal outputted from the bandpass filter; and comparing the amplitude of the signal outputted from the bandpass filter with a reference value, and wherein the warning signal is based upon detecting the amplitude exceeds the reference value.
In particular, Zhang measures a frequency domain amplitude of the operation signal (e.g., a signal representing a current or a signal representing a voltage) by applying a Fourier transform directly to the operation signal, and then compares the frequency domain amplitude of the operation signal with a reference value in order to determine whether a warning signal (e.g., control signal used for controlling the energy storage system to cut off an electrical connection path at the electrical connection point) is to be provided (see Zhang as applied to claim 1). Zhang is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing filtering the operation signal prior to applying a Fourier transform to measure the frequency domain amplitude of the operation signal. Wu discloses inputting an operation signal to a least one bandpass filter and then applying a fast Fourier transform to the filtered operation signal to perform spectrum analysis, with the purpose of the bandpass filter being frequency band selection so as to avoid undesired frequency components (Wu, e.g., paragraphs 31, 36). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang in view of Hiramura and Tzivanopoulos such that checking whether the at least one operation signal comprises the pattern includes inputting the at least one operation signal to at least one bandpass filter, measuring an amplitude of a signal outputted from the bandpass filter, and comparing the amplitude of the signal outputted from the bandpass filter with a reference value, with the warning signal being based upon detecting the amplitude exceeds the reference value. In this way, in the manner disclosed by Wu, undesired frequency components can be avoided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858