DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/13/2026. The election filed 7/13/2026 elects the species of the bond pad connection portion as depicted in Fig. 6 and the system top view as depicted in Fig. 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0044432 A1 (Yeh).
Re claim 1, Yeh teaches an electronic device (display 10), comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100), comprising a peripheral region (non-display region);
a first pad (first pad 110/contact layers 142) disposed on the peripheral region of the substrate, wherein the first pad has a first conductive layer (first pad 110) and a second conductive layer (contact layers 142) disposed on the first conductive layer; and
a first insulating layer (second insulating layer 130) disposed on the first conductive layer, the first insulating layer having a plurality of openings arranged along a first direction (Y direction) and exposing a portion of the first conductive layer of the first pad (Figs. 5-6), wherein the second conductive layer of the first pad is disposed on at least a portion of the first insulating layer and electrically connected to the first conductive layer of the first pad through the plurality of openings (Fig. 6), wherein in a top view of the electronic device, in a second direction (X direction) perpendicular to the first direction, a width of the second conductive layer of the first pad is greater than a width of the first conductive layer of the first pad (Fig. 6).
Re claim 2, Yeh teaches wherein the first conductive layer includes a metal layer ([0028]).
Re claim 3, Yeh teaches wherein the first conductive layer includes multiple layers ([0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0044432 A1 (Yeh) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0229446 A1 (Kim).
Re claim 4, Yeh teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, Yeh is silent with regards to the materials used for the second conductive layer. However, Yeh teaches a display device wherein there are contact pads sandwiching nanoparticles in the bond layer.
Kim teaches a display device having contact pads wherein the conductive layer of the contact pads in contact with the conductive particles includes an oxygen-containing conductive layer or an oxide layer ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of filing to add the invention of Kim including forming the conductive layer in contact with the particles being an oxide conductive material.
The motivation to do so is that Yeh is completely silent with regards to the appropriate materials for the conductive layer in contact with the conductive particles therefore the ordinary skilled artisan would look to Kim to find an appropriate material for this same purpose.
Conclusion
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896