DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 7 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/773,654.
Regarding claim 1, all elements recited are substantially included in claim 12 of the conflicting application in the manner shown below:
Instant application 18/765,392
Copending application 18/773,654
Claim 1: An optically pumped magnetometer comprising:
a cell configured to be filled with alkali metal vapor;
a pump light incidence unit configured to cause pump light for pumping alkali metal atoms constituting the alkali metal vapor to be incident on a plurality of sensitivity regions inside the cell in a first direction;
a probe light incidence unit configured to cause probe light for detecting change in electron spins in a pumped state of the alkali metal atoms to be incident on the plurality of sensitivity regions in a direction intersecting the first direction;
bias magnetic field coils configured to apply a bias magnetic field in the first direction to the inside of the cell and determine a resonance frequency of the electron spins;
an electron spin tilting unit configured to tilt a rotation axis direction of the electron spins in a direction perpendicular to the first direction;
an optical sensor configured to detect the probe light having passed through the sensitivity regions; and
a magnetic field measuring unit configured to measure magnetic field strengths related to the sensitivity regions based on an output of the optical sensor,
wherein the bias magnetic field coils respectively apply a plurality of the bias magnetic fields having strengths different from each other to the plurality of corresponding sensitivity regions.
Claim 1: An optically pumped magnetometer comprising:
a cell configured to be filled with alkali metal vapor;
a pump light incidence unit configured to cause pump light for pumping alkali metal atoms constituting the alkali metal vapor to be incident on a sensitivity region inside the cell in a first direction;
a probe light incidence unit configured to cause probe light for detecting change in electron spins in a pumped state of the alkali metal atoms to be incident on the sensitivity region in a direction intersecting the first direction;
a bias magnetic field coil configured to apply a bias magnetic field in the first direction to the inside of the cell and determine a resonance frequency of the electron spins;
a gradient correction coil configured to correct a gradient of the bias magnetic field applied through the bias magnetic field coil;
an electron spin tilting unit configured to tilt a rotation axis direction of the electron spins in a direction perpendicular to the first direction;
an optical sensor configured to detect the probe light having passed through the sensitivity region; and
a magnetic field measuring unit configured to measure a magnetic field strength related to the sensitivity region based on an output of the optical sensor.
Claim 12. The optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1,
wherein there are two or more of the sensitivity regions, and
the magnetic field measuring unit measures the magnetic field strength based on a difference between outputs of the optical sensor corresponding to the two adjacent sensitivity regions.
Conflicting claim 12 includes all elements recited in instant claim 1 except for reciting a plurality of bias magnetic field coils that apply a plurality of the bias magnetic fields having strengths different from each other to the plurality of corresponding sensitivity regions (conflicting claim 12 recites a single bias magnetic field coil). However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the application was effectively filed, to include an additional bias magnetic field coil in order to independently address the two or more sensitivity regions recited in conflicting claim 12. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have provided for the plurality of bias magnetic field to apply unique strength bias to the sensitivity regions, in order to allow the difference in output between the sensitivity regions recited in conflicting claim 12.
As to claims 7 and 8 and 10, the claims are rejected over the same grounds over claims 10, 11 and 13 respectively. See below:
Application 18/765,392
Copending Application 18/773,654
Claim 7: The optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1,
wherein the electron spin tilting unit radiates RF signals having the same frequencies as the resonance frequencies.
Claim 10: The optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1,
wherein the electron spin tilting unit radiates an RF signal having the same frequency as the resonance frequency.
Claim 8: The optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1,
wherein the electron spin tilting unit radiates pulsed light.
Claim 11: The optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1,
wherein the electron spin tilting unit radiates pulsed light.
Claim 10: A magnetoencephalograph comprising:
the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1 configured to be provided in a manner of being able to be disposed around the head of a test object and measure a strength of a magnetic field emitted from the test object.
Claim 13: A magnetoencephalograph comprising:
the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1 configured to be provided in a manner of being able to be disposed around the head of a test object and measure a strength of a magnetic field emitted from the test object.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
- a pump light incidence unit configured to cause pump light for pumping alkali metal atoms constituting the alkali metal vapor to be incident on a plurality of sensitivity regions inside the cell in a first direction (claim 1, line 3)
- a probe light incidence unit configured to cause probe light for detecting change in electron spins in a pumped state of the alkali metal atoms to be incident on the plurality of sensitivity regions in a direction intersecting the first direction (claim 1, line 7)
- an electron spin tilting unit configured to tilt a rotation axis direction of the electron spins in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (claim 1, 14)
- a pump light incidence unit: “The pump laser 4 and the first optical system 6 constitute a pump light incidence unit causing rays of the pump light PLa to PLd to be incident on the sensitivity regions ARa to ARd in the negative y axis direction.” (paragraph 0041, lines 5-8). “As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, the first optical system 6 is constituted to include a lens 21, a ½ wavelength plate 22, polarization beam splitters 23a, 23b, and 23c, ½ wavelength plates 24a and 24b, a total reflection mirror 25, and the ¼ wavelength plates 27a, 27b, 27c, and 27d.” (paragraph 0036, lines 2-6).
Thus, the limitation is being interpreted to cover a pump laser and an optical system that includes a lens, a wavelength plates, polarization beam splitters, and a total reflection mirror, and equivalents thereof.
- a probe light incidence unit: “The probe laser 5 and the second optical system 7 constitute a probe light incidence unit causing rays of the probe light QL to be incident on the sensitivity regions ARa to ARd in the x axis direction” (paragraph 0045, lines 6-9). “The second optical system 7 is constituted to include a lens 35, a ½ wavelength plate 36, a polarization beam splitter 38, and total reflection mirrors 37a to 37c” (paragraph 0044, lines 2-4).
Thus, the limitation is being interpreted to cover a laser probe and an optical system that includes a lens, wavelength plates, a polarization beam splitter, and total reflection mirrors, and equivalents thereof.
- an electron spin tilting unit (claim 1, 14): “a tilting coil (electron spin tilting unit) 14” (paragraph 0030, lines 4-5). Thus, the limitation is being interpreted to cover a tilting coil, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2014/0159718 A1 by Larsen et al., (Larsen hereafter) in view of the US Patent US 7,145,333 by Romalis et al., (Romalis hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Larsen teaches in Figure 3, an optically pumped magnetometer comprising:
a cell configured to be filled with alkali metal vapor (102; “As an example, the alkali metal 14 can be rubidium (Rb) vapor” – paragraph 0013, lines 4-6),
a pump light incidence unit configured to cause pump light for pumping alkali metal atoms constituting the alkali metal vapor to be incident on a plurality of sensitivity regions inside the cell in a first direction (Fig. 3, pump laser: “a pump laser configured to generate an optical pump beam configured to stimulate the alkali metal particles” - paragraph 0005, lines 4-6);
a probe light incidence unit configured to cause probe light for detecting change in electron spins in a pumped state of the alkali metal atoms to be incident on the plurality of sensitivity regions in a direction intersecting the first direction (Fig. 3, probe beam source 122. “The magnetometer system 10 also includes a probe laser 28 configured to generate a probe beam OPRB that is directed through the sensor cell 12, such as approximately orthogonally with respect to the pump beam” – paragraph 0014, lines 4-8);
bias magnetic field unit configured to apply a bias magnetic field in the first direction to the inside of the cell and determine a resonance frequency of the electron spins (x-axis magnetic field generator 114 and y-axis magnetic field generator 116. “X-axis magnetic field generator 114 that generates a magnetic field Bx, a Y-axis magnetic field generator 116 that generates a magnetic field By,” – paragraph 0025, lines 4-8);
an electron spin tilting unit configured to tilt a rotation axis direction of the electron spins in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 3, tilting coil within z-axis magnetic field generator 118, tilting the electron spins in a direction that is perpendicular to the y and x directions);
an optical sensor configured to detect the probe light having passed through the sensitivity regions (Faraday rotation detector 124: “The polarization rotation detector 124 can provide a signal PRE that can be associated with the Faraday rotation of the probe beam O.sub.DET to a signal processor 128.” – paragraph 0027. “the detection system is configured to detect the precession of the alkali metal particles based on a Faraday rotation of the linearly-polarized optical signal in each of the EPR detection and the NMR detection” – see paragraph 3-7); and
a magnetic field measuring unit configured to measure magnetic field strengths related to the sensitivity regions based on an output of the optical sensor (unit 128. “the signal processor 128 includes a magnetic field controller 130 that is configured to provide a feedback signal FDBK to the magnetic field system 112. The feedback signal FDBK includes feedback components FDBK.sub.X and FDBK.sub.Y that command the respective X- and Y-axis magnetic field generators 114 and 116 to adjust the respective magnetic fields B.sub.X and B.sub.Y to substantially mitigate the Faraday rotation of the probe beam O.sub.DET in a feedback manner based on setting the components of the net magnetic field in the X/Y plane to approximately zero to align the net magnetic field to the Z-axis 120” – see paragraph 27, lines 4-15),
wherein the bias magnetic field coils respectively apply a plurality of the bias magnetic fields having strengths different from each other to the plurality of corresponding sensitivity regions (as both bias magnetic field generating units 114 and 116 apply magnetic fields at different regions, the magnetic fields varying depending on feedback from the magnetic field controller 130).
Larsen substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning the bias magnetic field unit comprise coils. The use of coils for the purpose of inducing magnetic fields is well known in the art. For example, Romalis teaches in Figure 1, a magnetometer comprising magnetic inducing means (Fig. 1, unit 120) that comprise coils: “ In many embodiments, the magnetizing means include induction coils through which an electrical current flows” – paragraph 13, lines 35-37)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of coils as magnetic field generating means as taught by Romalis, in the device/system/method of Larsen, in order to gain the advantage of easily control the strength of the magnetic fields via current flow regulation, which is critical for the feedback function in Larsen's system.
As to claim 2, Larsen teaches the plurality of sensitivity regions include at least a first sensitivity region and a second sensitivity region (the cell includes an infinite amount of “regions” including for example, the region adjacent to unit 116 and the unit adjacent to 114), and the bias magnetic field coils include, a first coil corresponding to the first sensitivity region, and a second coil corresponding to the second sensitivity (as mentioned in regards to the rejection of claim 1, Romalis teaches the use of coils. Larsen teaches the magnetic field generators 114 and 116 generate magnetic fields directed towards the entire cell, including the first and second regions).
As to claim 9, Larsen teaches the magnetic field measuring unit (128) measures the magnetic field strengths based on a difference between outputs of the optical sensor corresponding to the two adjacent sensitivity regions (“the signal processor 128 includes a magnetic field controller 130 that is configured to provide a feedback signal FDBK to the magnetic field system 112. The feedback signal FDBK includes feedback components FDBK.sub.X and FDBK.sub.Y that command the respective X- and Y-axis magnetic field generators 114 and 116 to adjust the respective magnetic fields B.sub.X and B.sub.Y to substantially mitigate the Faraday rotation of the probe beam O.sub.DET in a feedback manner based on setting the components of the net magnetic field in the X/Y plane to approximately zero to align the net magnetic field to the Z-axis 120”- see paragraph 27, lines 4-15. That is, the feedback is based on the outputs of the optical sensor which correspond to all of the sensitivity regions within the cell).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 2 comprising a substrate configured to be provided with the first coil and the second coil, wherein a passing hole allowing the pump light to pass therethrough is formed in the substrate, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 2, wherein the first sensitivity region is present in an end portion of the cell, and the bias magnetic field coils include an extra-cell coil disposed away from the cell when viewed in the first direction and adjacent to the first coil, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensitivity regions include a first sensitivity region, a second sensitivity region adjacent to the first sensitivity region, a third sensitivity region adjacent to the second sensitivity region, and a fourth sensitivity region adjacent to the third sensitivity region, and the bias magnetic field coils include a pair of first coils disposed with the first sensitivity region sandwiched therebetween in the first direction and formed with a first number of windings in a first rotation direction, a pair of second coils disposed with the second sensitivity region sandwiched therebetween in the first direction and formed with a second number of windings in the first rotation direction, a pair of third coils disposed with the third sensitivity region sandwiched therebetween in the first direction and formed with the second number of windings in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, and a pair of fourth coils disposed with the fourth sensitivity region sandwiched therebetween in the first direction and formed with the first number of windings in the second rotation direction, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, the optically pumped magnetometer according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensitivity regions include first to Nth sensitivity regions (N is an integer equal to or larger than 2), the bias magnetic field coils respectively apply first to Nth bias magnetic fields to the first to Nth sensitivity regions and have first to Nth resonance frequencies as the resonance frequencies of the first to Nth sensitivity regions, and the magnetic field measuring unit acquires a mixed waveform of free induction decay including components of the first to Nth resonance frequencies based on an output of the optical sensor, filters the mixed waveform through a band pass filter, acquires first to Nth waveforms of free induction decay in respective bands of the first to Nth resonance frequencies, derives respective frequencies of the first to Nth waveforms, and obtains magnetic field strengths related to the first to Nth sensitivity regions on the basis of the respectively derived frequencies of the first to Nth waveforms, in combination with all other elements recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 12,174,020 by Lee et al.
- The US Patent US 11,555,872 by Gerginov.
- The US Patent US 9,869,371 by Hovde.
- The US Patent US 9,726,733 by Smith et al.
- The US Patent US 8,427,146 by Nagasaka.
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 February 20, 2026