DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11-13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 10,868,264 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches,
A display device (300, FIG. 4A as annotated above, Col. 11, ll. 15-20) comprising:
a substrate (320c, Col. 12, l. 54) including a display region (region A-B-C-D covered by flexible display 320) and a non-display region (region D-F not-covered by flexible display 320);
a display layer (320b including light emitting layer, Col. 12, ll. 57-58) disposed on the substrate and overlapping the display region (FIG. 4A);
a cover spacer (311, Col. 11, l. 58) disposed on the substrate and comprising metal (Col. 11, ll. 57-60);
and a first adhesive layer (750, Fig. 7B) disposed between the cover spacer and the substrate (adhesive layer 750, FIG. 7B, which may be disposed between 320a/741 and 330/730 , col. 40, l. 18-20, col. 23, ll. 66-67, hence between 311 and 320a, Fig. 4A),
wherein an edge of the cover spacer and an edge of the first adhesive layer overlap each other(see FIG. 7B above, right edges of 730/330 and 750 overlaps).
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches the display device of claim 1 and further teaches , wherein the substrate comprises: a first region (A-B) where the display layer is disposed ; a second region (B-C) bending and extending from the first region; and a third region (C-D) connected to the second region and overlapping the first region (FIG. 4A above).
Regarding claim 11, Shin teaches the display device of claim 1 and further teaches , further comprising: a support plate (330, FIG. 4A, Col. 11, l. 18) positioned between the substrate (320a) and the cover spacer (311).
Regarding claim 12, Shin teaches,
A display device (300, FIG. 4A as annotated above, Col. 11, ll. 15-20) comprising:
a substrate (320c, Col. 12, l. 54) including a first region (region C-D as marked above), a second region (region B-C as marked above), and a third region (region A-B as marked above);
a display layer (320b including light emitting layer, Col. 12, ll. 57-58) disposed on the first region of the substrate;
a cover spacer (311, Col. 11, l. 58) disposed between the first region and the third region, and comprising metal (Col. 11, ll. 57-60);
and a second adhesive layer disposed between the cover spacer and the third region (adhesive layer 750, FIG. 7B, which may be disposed between 320a/741 and 330/730 , col. 40, l. 18-20, col. 23, ll. 66-67, hence between 311 and third region A-B, Fig. 4A) ,
wherein at least a portion of the second adhesive layer and the cover spacer have a same shape as each other (see FIG. 7B above, 750 and 730 have same rectangular planer shape).
Regarding claim 13, Shin teaches the display device of claim 12 and further teaches , wherein the second region (B-C) extends from the first region (C-D) and is bent (FIG. 4A) , and the third region (A-B) is connected to the second region (C-D) and overlaps a rear surface of the first region (C-D).
Regarding claim 20, Shin teaches the display device of claim 12 and further teaches , wherein the second adhesive layer exposes at least a portion of the cover spacer (750 exposes part of 730/330, FIG. 7B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
further comprising: a second adhesive layer disposed between the third region and the cover spacer, wherein the first adhesive layer is disposed between the first region and the cover spacer (claim 3)
further comprising: a first adhesive layer positioned between the first region and the cover spacer (claim 14)
wherein the second adhesive layer completely covers the cover spacer (claim 19)
Claims 4-10 are objected to being dependent on claim 3.
Claims 15-18 are objected to being dependent claim 14.
Conclusion
/K.A.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818