DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 7, 11, 16 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6209778 to Henrikson et al. (Henrikson).
Regarding claim 1, Henrikson teaches pocket card (slash jacket file 10) comprising: a first sheet (front panel 12) comprising a first peripheral edge; and a second sheet (rear panel 14) comprising a second peripheral edge, the first and second sheets coupled to each other at least at two spaced apart locations along respective lengths of the first and second peripheral edges to form a pocket positioned between the first and second sheets, wherein the pocket is accessible from at least one opening positioned at a location where the first and second sheets (12 and 14) are not coupled together (the front diagonal side 24 and the back top side 16 are substantially free from each other; column 2, lines 55-56), and wherein the first peripheral edge has a different shape than the second peripheral edge (figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Henrikson teaches the first peripheral edge comprises first and second side edges (left side edge 28 and right side edge 30) and first and second end edges (top edge 24 and 32 and bottom edge 26) extending between the first and second side edges (28 and 30), and the second peripheral edge comprises third and fourth side edges (left side edge 20 and right side edge 22) and third and fourth end edges (top edge 16 and bottom edge 18) extending between the third and fourth side edges (20 and 22), wherein the first and second sheets (12 and 14) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the first and third side edges (28 and 20), and the first and second sheets are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth side edges (30 and 22), and wherein the at least one opening is positioned adjacent the first and third end edges (top edge 24 and 32 and top edge 16). See column 29-36.
Regarding claim 3, Henrikson teaches the first end edge (top edge 24 and 32) has a different shape than the third end edge (18) such that at least a portion of the first end edge (top edge 24 and 32) is offset from the third end edge (18) in a direction extending toward the second end edge (26).
Regarding claim 6, Henrikson teaches the first and second sheets (12 and 14) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth end edges (26 and 18).
Regarding claim 12, Henrikson teaches the first peripheral edge is offset from the second peripheral edge adjacent the at least one opening.
Regarding claim 13, Henrikson teaches one of the first sheet (120 or the second sheet (14) is rectangular or square. The second sheet (back panel 14) is rectangular.
Regarding claim 14, Henrikson teaches pocket card (slash jacket file 10) comprising: a first sheet (front panel 12) comprising first and second side edges (left side edge 28 and right side edge 30) and first and second end edges (top edge 24 and 32 and bottom edge 26) extending between the first and second side edges (28 and 30); and a second sheet (back panel 14) comprising third and fourth side edges (left side edge 20 and right side edge 22) and third and fourth end edges (top edge 16 and bottom edge 18) extending between the third and fourth side edges (20 and 22), wherein the first and second sheets (12 and 14) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the first and third side edges (28 and 20), and the first and second sheets (12 and 14) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth side edges (28 and 22) to form a pocket positioned between the first and second sheets, and wherein the pocket is accessible from at least one opening positioned adjacent the first and third end edges (the front diagonal side 24 and the back top side 16 are substantially free from each other; column 2, lines 55-56), and wherein the first end edge (top edge 24 and 32) has a different shape than the third end edge (20) such that at least a portion of the first end edge (top edge 24 and 32) is offset from the third end edge (20) in a direction extending toward the second end edge (26).
Regarding claim 17, Henrikson teaches the first and second sheets are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth end edges.
Regarding claim 20, Henrikson teaches either the first sheet comprises a tab (extension 58) extending outward from the second side edge (30) that is joined to an inner surface of the second sheet (14) adjacent the fourth side edge (18), or the second sheet comprises a tab extending outward from the fourth side edge that is joined to an inner surface of the first sheet adjacent the second side edge.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated US 2480416 to Modes.
Regarding claim 1, Modes teaches a pocket card (record envelope) comprising: a first sheet (face 1) comprising a first peripheral edge; and a second sheet (face 2) comprising a second peripheral edge, the first and second sheets (1-2) coupled to each other at least at two spaced apart locations along respective lengths of the first and second peripheral edges to form a pocket positioned between the first and second sheets (1-2), wherein the pocket is accessible from at least one opening positioned at a location where the first and second sheets are not coupled together (column 2, lines 27-32), and wherein the first peripheral edge has a different shape than the second peripheral edge (column 2, lines 33-60, figure 1 and column 3, lines 18-48, figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Modes teaches the first peripheral edge comprises first and second side edges (3 and 4) and first and second end edges (open edges portion of front face 1 comprises lines 9-13 and bottom edge 5) extending between the first and second side edges (3 and 4), and the second peripheral edge comprises third and fourth side edges (3 and 4) and third and fourth end edges (open edges portion of rear face 2 comprises lines 16-21 and bottom edge 5) extending between the third and fourth side edges (3 and 4), wherein the first and second sheets (1 and 2) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the first and third side edges (3), and the first and second sheets (1 and 2) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth side edges (4), and wherein the at least one opening is positioned adjacent the first and third end edges.
Regarding claim 8, Modes teaches the first sheet (1) is formed integral with the second sheet (2), and the first and third side edges (4) are defined by a fold positioned at the first and third side edges (column 3, lines 16-23).
Regarding claim 8, Modes teaches the first sheet (1) is formed integral with the second sheet (2), and the first and third side edges (4) are defined by a fold positioned at the first and third side edges (column 3, lines 16-23).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 12-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3528602 to Ritchie.
Regarding claim 1, Ritchie teaches pocket sheet comprising: a first sheet (panel 13) comprising a first peripheral edge; and a second sheet (panel 12) comprising a second peripheral edge, the first and second sheets coupled to each other at least at two spaced apart locations along respective lengths of the first and second peripheral edges to form a pocket positioned between the first and second sheets, wherein the pocket is accessible from at least one opening positioned at a location where the first and second sheets (13 and 12) are not coupled together (the access opening to the pocket, along curved edge 19; column 3, lines 15-19), and wherein the first peripheral edge has a different shape than the second peripheral edge (figures 1-2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd end edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st end edge)]
Regarding claim 2, Ritchie teaches the first peripheral edge comprises first and second side edges (14 and 18) and first and second end edges (top edge 19 and bottom edge, see annotated figure above) extending between the first and second side edges (14 and 18), and the second peripheral edge comprises third and fourth side edges (14 and left edge, see annotated figure above) and third and fourth end edges (top edge 12b and bottom edge 16) extending between the third and fourth side edges, wherein the first and second sheets (13 and 12) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the first and third side edges (14), and the first and second sheets are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth side edges (18 and left edge of panel 12, see annotated figure above), and wherein the at least one opening is positioned adjacent the first and third end edges (19 and 12a). column 3, lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 3, Ritchie teaches the first end edge (19) has a different shape than the third end edge (12a) such that at least a portion of the first end edge (19) is offset from the third end edge (12a) in a direction extending toward the second end edge (16).
Regarding claim 6, Ritchie teaches the first and second sheets (13 and 12) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth end edges (14).
Regarding claim 8, Ritchie teaches the first sheet (13) is formed integral with the second sheet (12), and the first and third side edges (14) are defined by a fold positioned at the first and third side edges (14, column 2, lines 17-31).
Regarding claim 9, Ritchie teaches either the first sheet (13) comprises a tab (17) extending outward from the second side edge (18) that is joined to an inner surface of the second sheet (12) adjacent the fourth side edge, or the second sheet comprises a tab extending outward from the fourth side edge that is joined to an inner surface of the first sheet adjacent the second side edge.
Regarding claim 12, Ritchie teaches the first peripheral edge is offset from the second peripheral edge adjacent the at least one opening.
Regarding claim 13, Ritchie teaches one of the first sheet or the second sheet (14) is rectangular or square. The second sheet (panel 12) is rectangular.
Regarding claim 14, Ritchie teaches pocket sheet comprising: a first sheet (13) comprising first and second side edges (14 and 18) and first and second end edges (top edge 19 and bottom edge, see annotated figure above) extending between the first and second side edges (14 and 18); and a second sheet (12) comprising third and fourth side edges (14 and left edge of panel 12, see annotated figure above) and third and fourth end edges (top edge 12b and bottom edge 16) extending between the third and fourth side edges, wherein the first and second sheets (13 and 12) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the first and third side edges (14), and the first and second sheets (13 and 12) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth side edges (18) to form a pocket positioned between the first and second sheets, and wherein the pocket is accessible from at least one opening positioned adjacent the first and third end edges (19 and 12b), and wherein the first end edge (19) has a different shape than the third end edge (12b) such that at least a portion of the first end edge (19) is offset from the third end edge (13b) in a direction extending toward the second end edge (16).
Regarding claim 17, Ritchie teaches the first and second sheets (13 or 12) are coupled to each other along at least a portion of respective lengths of the second and fourth end edges (16).
Regarding claim 19, Ritchie teaches the first sheet (13) is formed integral with the second sheet (12), and the first and third side edges (14) are defined by a fold positioned at the first and third side edges (14, column 2, lines 17-31).
Regarding claim 20, Ritchie teaches either the first sheet (13) comprises a tab (17) extending outward from the second side edge (18) that is joined to an inner surface of the second sheet (12) adjacent the fourth side edge (18), or the second sheet comprises a tab extending outward from the fourth side edge that is joined to an inner surface of the first sheet adjacent the second side edge (figures 2 and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 15, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a pocket in combination with the other limitations of the claim having a second opening adjacent the second and fourth end edges, and further comprising a wafer seal configured to adhere to the first and second sheets to at least partially close the second opening.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following US Patents are cited to show sleeve or pocket type devices: D053024, 3684157, 5110155, D370779, -D558825, D699582, 11897672, 7392608.
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631