DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/765,981 filed on July 8, 2024 in which claims 1 to 20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on July 8, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), filed on July 8, 2024 and March 21, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of paper submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) which has been placed of record in the file.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of [C:L] where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of [xxxx].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0416055 (Maeng) and U.S. 2022/0093603 (Cho).
Regarding claim 19 and referring to annotated Figures 5 and 9B, Maeng discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate, 501 [0119];
a plurality of conductive contacts, 421 [0124], on the substrate, as shown; and
a plurality of capacitors, 600 [0126], on the conductive contacts, as shown,
wherein each of the capacitors includes:
a bottom electrode, 101 [0076];
a dielectric layer, 332 [0081, 84] /320 [0076-77] on the bottom electrode, as shown; and
a top electrode, 102 [0080], on the dielectric layer, as shown, wherein the dielectric layer includes a first sub-dielectric layer, 332 [0081, 84], and a second sub-dielectric layer, 320 [0077], that are sequentially stacked, as shown, wherein the second sub-dielectric layer includes:
a first antiferroelectric layer, 321 [0081], on the first sub-dielectric layer, as shown;
a second antiferroelectric layer, 322 [0081], on the first antiferroelectric layer, as shown; and
a first ferroelectric layer, 323 [0079], between the first antiferroelectric layer and the second antiferroelectric layer, as shown, wherein the first sub-dielectric layer has a first thickness, as shown, wherein the first ferroelectric layer has a second thickness, as shown, wherein each of the first and second antiferroelectric layers has a third thickness, as shown.
At [0081], Meang teaches the thickness of ferroelectric layer 323 is less than the thickness of antiferroelectric layers 321 or 322.
Maeng does not explicitly teach each of the first, second, and third thicknesses is in a range of about 5 Å to about 15 Å.
Cho is directed to ferroelectric capacitors. At [0038-39], Cho teaches a suitable thickness for a ferroelectric layer is 5 to 18 Å
Taken as a whole the prior art is directed to implementation of 1T1C memory cells. Cho teaches that a thickness of a ferroelectric layer in a memory capacitor may be 5-18 Å and Meang teaches that the antiferroelectric layer thicknesses are less than the ferroelectric layer, or less than 5-18 Å. Examiner also notes that the thickness of dielectric layers is a parameter to modulate the ferroelectric or antiferroelectric properties of the film, see U.S. 2021/0359082 (Kang) at [0043].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to configure the device of claim 19 wherein each of the first, second, and third thicknesses is in a range of about 5 Å to about 15 Å because in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20 the prior art fails to disclose the device of claim 19, wherein a first element is doped into the first and second antiferroelectric layers, the first element including at least one element selected from Al, Mg, Be, Y, La, Ca, C, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Gd, and Ti, and wherein the first ferroelectric layer comprises a material other than the first element.
Claims 1-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to disclose a semiconductor device comprising a capacitor, wherein the capacitor includes: a bottom electrode; a first sub-dielectric layer on the bottom electrode; a second sub-dielectric layer on the first sub-dielectric layer; and a top electrode on the second sub-dielectric layer, wherein the second sub-dielectric layer includes: a first antiferroelectric layer on the first sub-dielectric layer; a second antiferroelectric layer above the first antiferroelectric layer; and a first ferroelectric layer between the first antiferroelectric layer and the second antiferroelectric layer, wherein each of the first and second antiferroelectric layers includes zirconium oxide that is doped with a first element, and wherein the first sub-dielectric layer includes zirconium oxide that is not doped with the first element.
Regarding claim 10 the prior art fails to disclose a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate; a plurality of word lines in the substrate; a first impurity region in the substrate on one side of each of the word lines; a second impurity region in the substrate between the word lines; a bit line connected to the second impurity region and on the substrate, the bit line perpendicular to the word lines; a conductive contact connected to the first impurity region and on the substrate; a bottom electrode on the conductive contact; a dielectric layer on the bottom electrode; a top electrode on the dielectric layer; and a support pattern in contact with an upper lateral surface of the bottom electrode, wherein the dielectric layer includes a first sub-dielectric layer and a second sub-dielectric layer that are sequentially stacked, wherein the second sub-dielectric layer includes: a plurality of antiferroelectric layers on the first sub-dielectric layer; and at least one or more ferroelectric layers correspondingly between the antiferroelectric layers, wherein each of the antiferroelectric layers includes zirconium oxide that is doped with a first element, wherein the first sub-dielectric layer includes zirconium oxide that is not doped with the first element, and wherein a sum of thicknesses of the ferroelectric layers is about 0.2 times to about 0.4 times a thickness of the dielectric layer.
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 depend directly or indirectly on claims 1 or 10 and are allowable on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the notice of references cited.
/J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893