DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024, 10/11/2024, 8/18/2025, and 12/10/2025 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (CN 211452728 U, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1, all elements), comprising: a bracket (see Fig. 1, bracket 4); at least two sets of driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, plurality of driving assemblies 7, wherein the Examiner considers that the driving assemblies 7 form sets on each of the arms of the bracket 4), the driving assemblies being mounted on the bracket (see Fig. 1, each of the driving assemblies 7 sets are mounted to bracket 4 as shown); and pressing members, wherein the pressing member is provided on each set of said driving assembly (see Fig. 1, pressing members 711 provided for each driving assembly 7), a pressing face on the pressing member that is away from the bracket being used to abut against a battery to be tested (see Fig. 1, claim 1, and translation page 4, para. 3, each pressing member 711 has a pressing (bottom) face for contacting the battery to be tested as described); and each said pressing member being movable in a direction away from or approaching the bracket under the drive of the driving assembly (see Fig. 1 and translation page 5, para. 2, pressing members 711 movable away and towards the bracket 4 under drive of the driving assemblies 7 as described).
Regarding claim 2, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the driving assembly comprises an axial driving member, the pressing member being connected to the bracket via the axial driving member, and the axial driving member being used to drive the pressing member to move in a direction away from or approaching the bracket (see Fig. 1 and translation page 5, para. 2, axial driving members 71 connect the pressing members 711 to the bracket 4 as described and shown).
Regarding claim 6, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that at least two of the pressing members are arranged in an array (see Fig. 3, pressing members 7 arranged in array as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the battery test tooling further comprises a moving assembly, the moving assembly being provided on a side of the bracket that faces the driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, sliding blocks 91 considered moving assembly between the bracket 4 and the driving assemblies 7), each set of said driving assembly being mounted on the moving assembly and each set of said driving assembly being movable under the drive of the moving assembly (see translation page 4, para. 4, driving assemblies 7 mounted on the moving assemblies 91 and may be moved or driven manually via the moving assemblies 91).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (CN 114798695 B, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claims 3-5, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Huang fails to specifically teach that the driving assembly further comprises a connecting member, the pressing member being connected to the axial driving member via the connecting member; wherein a detachment structure is provided between the pressing member and the connecting member, the pressing member and the connecting member being detachably connected via the detachment structure; OR wherein a movable connection structure is provided between the pressing member and the connecting member, the pressing member being rotatable relative to the connecting member via the movable connection structure.
Yu teaches a driving assembly (see Fig. 3, all elements), wherein the driving assembly includes a connecting member, a pressing member being connected to an axial driving member via the connecting member (see Fig. 1 and 3, driving assembly includes connecting member, considered as the hinge between axial driving member 302 and pressing member 303), wherein the connection member allows the pressing member to rotate (see Fig. 1 and 3, connection member (hinge) between axial driving member 302 and pressing member 303 allows the pressing member 303 to rotate).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang such that additional connecting members that allowed for rotation of the pressing member as suggested by Yu. This would allow for a level application of pressure on a non-level surface as is known in the art.
Furthermore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Huang as modified by Yu to include a detachment structure between the pressing member and the connecting member. This would allow for the pressing member to be easily replaced without replacing additional components of the drive assembly.
Claims 7-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Xia et al. (CN 116296082 B, hereinafter Xia).
Regarding claim 7, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Huang fails to teach that the battery test tooling further comprises first pressure sensors, the first pressure sensor being provided on the pressing face on each of the pressing members, and the first pressure sensor being used to monitor a pressure to which the pressing face is subjected when the pressing member abuts against the battery to be tested.
Xia teaches a battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3 and 4, all elements) including a plurality of pressure sensor for monitoring a pressure to which a pressing face is subjected when a pressing member abuts against a battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 8 through page 5, para. 2, discussion of use of pressure sensors to ensure even pressure across the pressing face during battery testing).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang such that the pressing members were provided with a first pressure sensor to measure the pressure applied to the battery in a way similar to that of Xia. This ensures consistent pressure across the batter under test as suggested by Xia (see translation page 5, para. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified by Xia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the battery test tooling further comprises an airtightness apparatus and a second pressure sensor (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus for leak testing, considered by the Examiner as inherently including a second pressure sensor for leak testing), the airtightness apparatus being used to perform an airtightness test on the battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus for leak testing of various batteries), and each of the first pressure sensors being electrically coupled to the airtightness apparatus (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus and method for leak testing, wherein the pressure sensors of Huang as modified by Xia are considered to be connected and utilized for the airtightness apparatus leak testing); and the second pressure sensor being electrically coupled to the airtightness apparatus for monitoring an air pressure inside the battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus and method for leak testing, wherein the inherent pressure sensor of Huang is considered to be connected and utilized for the airtightness apparatus leak testing described).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified by Xia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 8.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the structure of the second pressure sensor is adapted to the structure at a gas outlet of the battery to be tested, and the second pressure sensor is connectable at the gas outlet of the battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus charging port 631 connected to air pipe for leak testing considered to include the second pressure sensor).
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified by Xia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the battery test tooling further comprises a controller, the first pressure sensors being electrically coupled to the controller, and the controller being configured to receive first pressure data monitored by the first pressure sensors and determine a test state of the battery to be tested according to the first pressure data (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus including controller that implements the method described and thus considered to including monitoring of the relevant pressure sensor data for leak testing).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches a use method for battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1, all elements; see also see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus and method for leak testing), wherein the battery test tooling comprises an airtightness apparatus (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus for leak testing), driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, plurality of driving assemblies 7), and pressing members provided on the driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, pressing members 711 provided for each driving assembly 7), the use method comprising: using a transport member to place a battery to be tested on a test station corresponding to the battery test tooling (see translation page 4, para. 6, transport member 82 places battery in test position on a test station 1); using the driving assemblies to perform a driving action to put the pressing members in motion in a direction approaching the battery to be tested until the pressing members abut against the battery to be tested (see translation page 5, para. 2, driving assemblies 7 drive the pressing members 711 to abut the battery as described); and using the airtightness apparatus to perform an airtightness test on the battery to be tested (see translation page 5, para. 2, discussion of airtightness apparatus testing on a battery described).
Huang fails to teach that an abutting face of the pressing member that is close to the battery to be tested is provided with a first pressure sensor, the first pressure sensor being used to monitor a pressure value to which the pressing member is subjected.
Xia teaches a battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3 and 4, all elements) including a plurality of pressure sensor for monitoring a pressure to which a pressing face is subjected when a pressing member abuts against a battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 8 through page 5, para. 2, discussion of use of pressure sensors to ensure even pressure across the pressing face during battery testing).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang such that the pressing members were provided with a first pressure sensor to measure the pressure applied to the battery in a way similar to that of Xia. This ensures consistent pressure across the batter under test as suggested by Xia (see translation page 5, para. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Huang as modified by Xia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 14.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the battery test tooling comprises at least two sets of said driving assemblies (see Fig. 1 and 3, sets of driving assemblies 7 provided on each arm of the bracket 4), each set of said driving assembly being provided with the pressing member (see Fig. 1, each driving assembly provided with pressing members 711).
Huang as modified by Xia above fails to specifically teach that the use method further comprising: determining, according to the shape of the battery to be tested, target pressing members among the pressing members, wherein the target pressing members are arranged to form a shape adapted to an abutting surface of the battery to be tested; and removing standby pressing members among the pressing members in the battery test tooling, the pressing members comprising the standby pressing members and the target pressing members.
However, Huang does teach that each pressing member is provided with a driving assembly (see Fig. 1, pressing members 711 provided with driving assemblies 7), and wherein a range of electric vehicle batteries may be accommodated (see translation page 5, para. 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang as modified by Xia above such that the pressing members may be designated as target and standby pressing members according to the shape of the battery under test. This would allow for many various battery shapes to be tested in a manner as suggested by Huang (see translation page 5, para. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a control method for battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1, all elements; see also see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus and method for leak testing), which is applied to a controller (see translation page 5, para. 2, discussion of controller), wherein the battery test tooling comprises an airtightness apparatus (see translation page 4, para. 7 through page 5, para. 3, discussion of airtightness apparatus for leak testing), driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, plurality of driving assemblies 7), and pressing members provided on the driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, pressing members 711 provided for each driving assembly 7), the control method comprising: controlling, in response to a delivery request, a transport member to place a battery to be tested on a test station corresponding to the battery test tooling (see translation page 4, para. 6, transport member 82 places battery in test position on a test station 1 as part of the controller method); controlling, in response to a test request, the driving assemblies to perform a driving action to put the pressing members in motion in a direction approaching the battery to be tested until the pressing members abut against the battery to be tested (see translation page 5, para. 2, driving assemblies 7 drive the pressing members 711 to abut the battery as described); controlling the airtightness apparatus to perform an airtightness test on the battery to be tested (see translation page 5, para. 2, discussion of airtightness apparatus testing on a battery described.
Huang fails to teach that that an abutting face of the pressing member that is close to the battery to be tested is provided with a first pressure sensor; and receiving first pressure data monitored by the first pressure sensors and determining a test state of the battery to be tested according to the first pressure data.
Xia teaches a battery test tooling (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3 and 4, all elements) including a plurality of pressure sensor for monitoring a pressure to which a pressing face is subjected when a pressing member abuts against a battery to be tested (see translation page 4, para. 8 through page 5, para. 2, discussion of use of pressure sensors to ensure even pressure across the pressing face during battery testing).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang such that the pressing members were provided with a first pressure sensor to measure the pressure applied to the battery during battery testing in a way similar to that of Xia. This ensures consistent pressure across the batter under test as suggested by Xia (see translation page 5, para. 2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding claim 12, Huang above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that the moving assembly comprises a longitudinal guiding assembly (92), the longitudinal guiding assembly being mounted on the bracket, and the driving assemblies being slidably connected to the longitudinal guiding assembly, and one end of the longitudinal driving member being connected to the bracket, and the other end being connected to the driving assemblies (see Fig. 1, longitudinal guiding assembly 92 mounted on bracket 4 and driving assembly 91 as shown).
Huang fails to teach that the moving assembly comprises a longitudinal driving member such that the driving assemblies being movable in an extension direction of the longitudinal guiding assembly under the drive of the longitudinal driving member.
However, as described above, Huang does teach that each set of said driving assembly being mounted on the moving assembly and each set of said driving assembly being movable under the drive of the moving assembly (see translation page 4, para. 4, driving assemblies 7 mounted on the moving assemblies 91 and may be moved or driven manually via the moving assemblies 91).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huang such that the moving assembly was provided with a longitudinal driving member. This would allows for automated movement of the driving assemblies, thus allowing for precise positioning of the driving assemblies for applying pressure to the battery under test. Furthermore, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 13 and 17-20, Huang in view of Yu and Xia above represents the best art of record. However, Huang in view of Yu and Xia above fails to encompass all of the limitations of currently dependent claims 13, 17, and 19.
Specifically, Huang in view of Yu and Xia above fails to critically teach that the moving assembly further comprises a transverse guiding assembly and a transverse driving member, the transverse guiding assembly being slidably mounted on the longitudinal guiding assembly, the driving assemblies being slidably mounted on the transverse guiding assembly so as to be slidably connected to the longitudinal guiding assembly, and one end of the transverse driving member being connected to the transverse guiding assembly and the other end being connected to the driving assemblies; and the driving assemblies being movable in an extension direction of the transverse guiding assembly under the drive of the transverse driving member; wherein the extension direction of the transverse guiding assembly is at an angle to the extension direction of the longitudinal guiding assembly (claim 13); wherein the determining the test state of the battery to be tested according to the first pressure data comprises: judging that the test state of the battery to be tested is normal when the first pressure data is greater than a test pressure value and a duration in which the first pressure data is greater than the test pressure value is less than or equal to a preset length of time; and performing, when the test state of the battery to be tested is normal, fitting processing on an interfering test value based on the test pressure value, the interfering test value being the first pressure data corresponding to the duration (claim 17); OR wherein the battery test tooling further comprises a bracket and a moving assembly, the driving assemblies being mounted on the bracket, the bracket being mounted at a mounting station via the moving assembly, and the moving assembly being used to put the bracket in motion, the control method further comprising: determining movement position information of the moving assembly based on process parameters of the battery to be tested; and determining, based on the movement position information, detection position information of the battery test tooling with respect to the battery to be tested (claim 19)
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claims 13, 17, and 19 and the examiner can find no teachings for a battery testing tool or control method for battery test tool as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855