DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18766908 application filed July 09, 2024, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on May 28, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10676646. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10676646 recites all limitations of claim 1. It is noted that tetrapropylammonium hydroxide reads on the formula (I) in Claim 1, and the concentration recited in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10676646 overlaps the concentration recited in claim 4. According to MPEP 2112 “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”, Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. In the instant case, since the tetrapropylammonium hydroxide disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 10676646 is the same as a polymer removal enhancer recited in claim 11, it must possess a property of polymer removal enhancing, as taught by Applicant. Similarly,- Claim 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10676646. It is noted that water is considered a solvent. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to add water to the balance of the composition.- Claims 16 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10676646.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18616347, as shown in the amendment filed May 5, 2026. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 18616347 recite all limitations of claim 1. It is noted that quaternary ammonium hydroxide reads on the formula (I) in Claim 1. According to MPEP 2112 “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”, Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. In the instant case, since the quaternary ammonium hydroxide disclosed in copending Application No. 18616347 is the same as the pH adjuster recited in claim 1, it must possess a property of adjusting a pH, as taught by Applicant. Similarly,- Claims 2 and 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20 and 21 of copending Application No. 18616347.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: the term “the polymer removal enhancer” is not clear. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that this term is “the at least one polymer removal enhancer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhao et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20060175298), hereinafter “Zhao”:--Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 13: Zhao teaches a CMP composition, comprisingsilica abrasives, present at a concentration 0.001-5 wt.% ([0131-0132]);an etching inhibitor, including an alkyl ammonium ion, such as tetrabutylammonium hydroxide ([0162-0164]), present at a concentration 0.001-2.0 wt.% ([0167]); Zhao further teaches that the composition comprises a solvent, and has a pH of 3-11 (abstract) or 5-10 ([0174]). It is noted that tetrabutylammonium hydroxide is included as a polymer removal enhancer recited in claim 3, and has a structure as formula (II) in claim 2, where x=3. Alternately, although Zhao does not disclose the exact combination of components recited in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a polishing composition comprising the above components from the list of possible components taught by Zhao in the absence of an unexpected result.
--Claim 7: Zhao further teaches that the silica abrasives having size 1-1000 nm ([0132]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use silica abrasives having a mean particle size of at least 100 nm in the invention of Zhao.--Claim 8, 9, 10, 11: Zhao further teaches that the composition comprises an amino alkyl, such as dodecylamine ([0162-0164]), present at a concentration 0.001-2.0 wt.% ([0167]). It is noted that dodecylamine is a primary fatty amine.--Claim 12: Zhao further teaches that the remainder of the polishing composition is a solvent ([0173]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to add the solvent to a concentration of about 20-99.9 wt.% in the invention of Zhao.--Claims 16, 17: Zhao further teaches that the composition comprises an azole-containing inhibitor at a concentration 0.001-5 wt.% ([0189]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a polishing composition comprising the above components from the list of possible components taught by Zhao in the absence of an unexpected result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20060169597), hereinafter “Liu”.--Claims 14, 15: Zhao teaches the invention as above. Zhao further teaches that the composition comprises one or more surfactants ([0193]), and is used for polishing a barrier layer, such as Ti or TiN (abstract, [0199]) during fabricating an IC device ([0005]). Zhao is silent about a chemical structure of the surfactants. Liu, also directed to chemical mechanical polishing a barrier layer, such as Ti or Tin ([0066, 0070]), teaches that the polishing may be performed by using a polishing composition comprising silica abrasive particles ([0159]) and a surfactant, wherein the surfactant may be an nonionic surfactant presented at a concentration 0.05-2 wt.% ([0165-0166]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use nonionic surfactant as the surfactant in the invention of Zhao because Zhao teaches that the composition comprises one or more surfactants but is silent about a chemical structure of the surfactants, and Liu teaches that such nonionic surfactant would be effective.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713