DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Kudenov discloses an image measurement device comprising:
an optical system (200) that transmits light to an image detection unit (204) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12);
the image detection unit configured to detect the light and generate an image (Col. 6, lines 1-3 and lines 13-25); and
an image processing unit (221) that extracts spectral data from the image (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 6, lines 13-25), wherein the optical system comprises a relay lens (304 or 320) including at least one lens and a self-interference structure (206, 211, 212, 216 in Fig. 2A-B; 314, 315, 318 in Fig. 3) configured to self-interfere the light (Fig. 2A-B, 3; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12; Col. 6, lines 29-43), and
the self-interference structure comprises a polarizer (206, 216) that polarizes the light and a retarder (211, 212) that delays a phase of the light (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 13, Kudenov discloses the image measurement device of claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the polarizer comprises a first polarizer (206) and a second polarizer (216) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the second polarizer is disposed between the first polarizer and the image detection unit (204) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the retarder (211, 212) is disposed between the first polarizer and the second polarizer (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the first polarizer polarizes the light into S-polarized light and P-polarized light (106 – where 45-degree polarization results from the linear combination of parallel and perpendicular polarization components or S-polarized and P-polarized light) (Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62), and
the retarder delays the phases of the S-polarized light and the P-polarized light, respectively (Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-55; Col. 5, lines 46-62 – Fig. 1C shows parallel and perpendicular components passing through prism 211 or 212, interpreted as the retarder, being delayed),
the second polarizer passes the light, the phase of which is delayed by the retarder (Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62; Col. 5, lines 46-55), and
the image detection unit detects self-interfered light passing through the second polarizer, as the image (Col. 6, lines 1-3 and lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 17, Kubenov discloses the image measurement device of claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the retarder comprises a first retarder (211) and a second retarder (212) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), wherein the first retarder and the second retarder are in contact with each other (See Fig. 2B),
a central axis of the first retarder is identical to a central axis of the second retarder (where the central axis is interpreted as the z-axis with the xy-plane referenced in Fig. 2A), and the first retarder is arranged in a first direction and the second retarder is arranged in a second direction different from the first direction (the first and second directions are interpreted as referring to orthogonal orientations of the birefringent crystal prisms – see Col. 6, lines 40-43 in Example 3) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2) in view of Hegyi et al. (US 11490037 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kudenov discloses an image measurement device comprising:
an optical system (200) that transmits light to an image detection unit (204) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12);
the image detection unit configured to detect the light and generate an image (Col. 6, lines 1-3 and lines 13-25); and
an image processing unit (221) that extracts spectral data from the image (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 6, lines 13-25),
wherein the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for a plurality of pixels based on the image (Fig. 6A; Col. 3, lines 27-28; Col. 6, lines 13-25; Col. 8, lines 19-23).
Kudenov does not explicitly disclose wherein the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image.
However, Hegyi, in the same field of endeavor of hyperspectral imaging, discloses an imaging device wherein an image processing unit (24) generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on an image (Fig. 7; Col. 5, line 66 - Col. 6, line 19; Col. 8, lines 14-22; Col. 9, lines 44-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov’s device with an image processing unit which generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image, providing the advantage of higher spatial resolution and improved calibration across the image sensor resulting in a more resolved and uniform image.
Regarding claim 2, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the optical system comprises:
a relay lens (304 or 320) comprising at least one lens (Kudenov: Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 29-43); and
a self-interference structure (206, 211, 212, 216 in Fig. 2A-B; 314, 315, 318 in Fig. 3) configured to self-interfere the light (Kudenov: (Fig. 2A-B, 3; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12; Col. 6, lines 29-43).
Regarding claim 3, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 2, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the self-interference structure comprises a plurality of polarizers (206, 216) and a retarder (211, 212) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), and
the plurality of polarizers comprises a first polarizer (206) and a second polarizer (216) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), and
the second polarizer is disposed between the first polarizer and the image detection unit (204) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), and
the retarder (211, 212) is disposed between the first polarizer and the second polarizer (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 4, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 3, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the second polarizer (216) is disposed between the retarder (211, 212) and the image detection unit (204) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the first polarizer polarizes the light into S-polarized light and P-polarized light (106 – where 45-degree polarization results from the linear combination of parallel and perpendicular polarization components or S-polarized light and P-polarized light) (Kudenov: Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62), and
the retarder delays respective phases of the S-polarized light and the P-polarized light (Kudenov: Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62 – Fig. 1C shows parallel and perpendicular components passing through prism 211 or 212, interpreted as the retarder, being delayed).
Regarding claim 5, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 2, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the self-interference structure comprises a polarizer (216) and a plurality of retarders (211, 212) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the polarizer is disposed between the plurality of retarders and the image detection unit (204) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), and
the plurality of retarders is in contact with each other (Kudenov: see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 5, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of retarders comprise a first retarder (211) and a second retarder (212), and a central axis of the first retarder is aligned with a central axis of the second retarder (where the central axis is interpreted as the z-axis with the xy-plane referenced in Fig. 2A) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12), and the first retarder is arranged in a first direction and the second retarder is arranged in a second direction different from the first direction (the first and second directions are interpreted as referring to orthogonal orientations of the birefringent crystal prisms – see Col. 6, lines 40-43 in Example 3) (Kudenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12).
Regarding claim 7, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the self-interference structure polarizes the light, and self-interferes the light by delaying the phase of the light (Kudenov: Col. 5, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 8, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the self-interference structure comprises a retarder (504, 506, 508), and the retarder comprises any one of a Nomarski prism, a Wollaston prism, and a beam displacer (Kudenov: Fig. 5A-B; Col. 2, lines 14-25; Col. 7, lines 40-51).
Regarding claim 9, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the image detection unit comprises any one of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) and a charged coupled device (CCD).
However, Hegyi discloses wherein an image detection unit comprises any one of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) and a charged coupled device (CCD) (Fig. 3, lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a charged coupled device (CCD) as the image detection unit which is a common focal plane array providing the known advantages of high sensitivity and improved dynamic range.
Regarding claim 12, Kudenove discloses the image measurement device of claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light of a plurality of pixels based on the image (Fig. 6A; Col. 3, lines 27-28; Col. 6, lines 13-25; Col. 8, lines 19-23), and performs a Fourier transform on the profile (Fig. 2B; Col. 6, lines 13-25).
Kudenov does not explicitly disclose wherein the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image.
However, Hegyi, in the same field of endeavor of hyperspectral imaging, discloses an imaging device wherein an image processing unit (24) generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on an image (Fig. 7; Col. 5, line 66 - Col. 6, line 19; Col. 8, lines 14-22; Col. 9, lines 44-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov’s device with an image processing unit which generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image, providing the advantage of higher spatial resolution and improved calibration across the image sensor resulting in a more resolved and uniform image.
Regarding claim 16, Kudenov discloses the image measurement device of claim 11, as outlined above, wherein the image detection unit comprises
the retarder (504, 506, 508) comprises any one of a Nomarski prism, a Wollaston prism, and a beam displacer (Fig. 5A-B; Col. 2, lines 14-25; Col. 7, lines 40-51).
Kudenov discloses an image detection unit (204) (Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the image detection unit comprises any one of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) and a charged coupled device (CCD).
However, Hegyi, in the same field of endeavor of hyperspectral imaging, discloses wherein an image detection unit comprises any one of a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) and a charged coupled device (CCD) (Fig. 3, lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a charged coupled device (CCD) as the image detection unit which is a common focal plane array providing the known advantages of high sensitivity and improved dynamic range.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2) in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0252799 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kubenov disclose the image measurement device of claim 13, as outlined above, but does not disclose a light diffusion plate,
wherein the light diffusion plate diffuses the light and changes the light to an unpolarized state.
However, Lee, which relates to the field of polarizing optical systems, discloses a system (110) wherein a light diffusion plate (not shown) diffuses light and changes the light to an unpolarized state (Fig. 12; [0054]; [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kubenov with a light diffusion plate in order direct uniformly distributed incident light on the self-interference system, improving the signal to noise of the imaging system by reducing noise due to non-uniform optical artifacts.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2) in view of Ho et al. (US 10271821).
Regarding claim 15, Kubenov discloses the image measurement device of claim 11, as outlined above, and further discloses an imaging processing unit (221) Fourier transforming an interference map captures by the image detection unit (204) to extract a spectral image (Fig. 2B; Col. 6, lines 13-25) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the image processing unit separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile,
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections, and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using zoom Fast Fourier transform.
However, Ho, in the field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging using signal processing including Fourier transform methods for extracting spectral images, discloses an imaging method based on Zoom Fast Fourier transforms which
separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile (Fig. 4, 5A-B, 7 – step 702 and 704, 9, 13; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as downsampling and frequency shifting), and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706, Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as an inherent part of the resampling process), and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using a zoom Fast Fourier transform (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706 and 720, 8; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov with a signal processing method utilizing a zoom Fast Fourier transform algorithm for extracting spectral information from interference data, providing a computationally efficient method for extracting spectral information (Ho: Col. 5, lines 63-65).
Claim(s) 10, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2) in view of Hegyi et al. (US 11490037 B2) further in view of Ho et al. (US 10271821 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Kudenov in view of Hegyi discloses the image measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses an imaging processing unit (221) Fourier transforming an interference map captured by the image detection unit (204) to extract a spectral image (Kudenov: Fig. 2B; Col. 6, lines 13-25) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the image processing unit separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile, and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections, and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using a zoom Fast Fourier transform.
However, Ho, in the field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging using signal processing including Fourier transform methods for extracting spectral images, discloses a signal processing method based on Zoom Fast Fourier transforms which
separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile (Fig. 4, 5A-B, 7 – step 702 and 704, 9, 13; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as downsampling and frequency shifting), and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706, Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as an inherent part of the resampling process), and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using a zoom Fast Fourier transform (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706 and 720, 8; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov in view of Hegyi with a signal processing method utilizing a zoom Fast Fourier transform algorithm for extracting spectral information from interference data, providing a computationally efficient method for extracting spectral information (Ho: Col. 5, lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 18, Kudenov discloses an image measurement device comprising:
an optical system (200) that transmits light to an image detection unit (204) (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12);
the image detection unit configured to detect the light and generate an image (Col. 6, lines 1-3 and lines 13-25); and
an image processing unit (221) that extracts spectral data from the image (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 6, lines 13-25),
wherein the optical system comprises a relay lens (304 or 320) including at least one lens (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 29-43) and a self-interference structure (206, 211, 212, 216 in Fig. 2A-B; 314, 315, 318 in Fig. 3) configured to self-interfere the light (Fig. 2A-B, 3; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12; Col. 6, lines 29-43), and
the self-interference structure comprises a polarizer (206, 216) that polarizes the light and a retarder (211, 212) that delays the phase of the light (Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12).
the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for a plurality of pixels based on the image (Fig. 6A; Col. 3, lines 27-28; Col. 6, lines 13-25; Col. 8, lines 19-23) and performs Fourier transform on the profile (Col. 6, lines 13-25),
Kudenov does not explicitly disclose the image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image,
the image processing unit separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile, and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections, and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using zoom Fast Fourier transform.
However, Hegyi, in the same field of endeavor of hyperspectral imaging, discloses an imaging device (24) wherein an image processing unit generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image (Fig. 7; Col. 5, line 66 - Col. 6, line 19; Col. 8, lines 14-22; Col. 9, lines 44-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov’s device with an image processing unit which generates a profile according to an amount of light for each of a plurality of pixels based on the image, providing the advantage of higher spatial resolution and improved calibration across the image sensor and resulting in a more resolved and uniform image.
Kudenov in view of Hegyi does not explicitly disclose that the image processing unit separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile, and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections, and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using zoom Fast Fourier transform.
However, Ho, in the field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging using signal processing including Fourier transform methods for extracting spectral images, discloses a signal processing method that
separates the profile into a high-frequency region and a low-frequency region by performing Fourier transform on the profile (Fig. 4, 5A-B, 7 – step 702 and 704, 9, 13; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as downsampling and frequency shifting), and
divides the high-frequency region into a plurality of sections through windowing, and extracts frequency components by applying preset weights to the plurality of sections (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706, Col. 5, lines 4 – 65 – interpreted as an inherent part of the resampling process), and
extracts spectral data from the frequency components by using zoom Fast Fourier transform (Fig. 6A-C, 7 – step 706 and 720, 8; Col. 5, lines 4 – 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kudenov with a signal processing method utilizing a zoom Fast Fourier transform algorithm for extracting spectral information from interference data, providing a computationally efficient method for extracting spectral information (Ho: Col. 5, lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 20, Kubenov in view of Hegyi and Ho disclose the image measurement device of claim 18, as outlined above, and further disclose wherein the self-interference structure comprises a polarizer (318) and a plurality of retarders (314, 315),
the polarizer is disposed between the relay lens (304) and the image detection unit (322) (Kubenov: Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 29-43),
the plurality of retarders is in contact with each other (Kubenov: Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 29-43),
the plurality of retarders comprise a first retarder (314) and a second retarder (315), and
a central axis of the first retarder is identical to a central axis of the second retarder (where the central axis is interpreted as the z-axis using the coordinate system defined in Fig. 12), and the first retarder is arranged in a first direction and the second retarder is arranged in a second direction different from the first direction (the first and second directions are interpreted as referring to orthogonal orientations of the birefringent crystal prisms) (Kubenov: Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 29-43).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudenov et al. (US 9046422 B2) in view of Hegyi et al. (US 11490037 B2) in view of Ho et al. (US 10271821 B2) further in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0252799 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kubenov in view of Hegyi and Ho disclose the image measurement device of claim 18, as outlined above, and discloses
wherein the polarizer comprises a first polarizer (206) and a second polarizer (216) (Kubenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the retarder (211, 212) is disposed between the first polarizer and the second polarizer (Kubenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12),
the first polarizer polarizes the light into S-polarized light and P-polarized light (106 – where 45-degree polarization results from the linear combination of parallel and perpendicular polarization components or S-polarized light and P-polarized light) (Kubenov: Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62),
the retarder delays the phases of the S-polarized light and the P-polarized light, respectively (Kubenov: Fig. 1A-C; Col. 5, lines 46-62 – Fig. 1C shows parallel and perpendicular components passing through prism 211 or 212, interpreted as the retarder, being delayed),
the second polarizer passes the phase-delayed light (Kubenov: Fig. 1B, 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12; Col. 5, lines 46-55),
the image detection unit (204) detects self-interfered light passing through the second polarizer, as the image (Kubenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 6, lines 1-3 and lines 13-25),
the self-interference structure self-interferences and splits the light (Kubenov: Fig. 1B, 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 12; Col. 5, lines 46-55), and
the image detection unit detects an image of the self-interfered and split light (Kubenov: Fig. 2A-B; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 25).
Kubenov in view of Hegyi and Ho does not disclose
a light diffusion plate,
the first polarizer and the second polarizer are disposed between the light diffusion plate and the image detection unit, wherein the light diffusion plate diffuses the light and changes the light to an unpolarized state.
However, Lee, which relates to the field of polarizing optical systems, discloses
a system (110) comprising a diffusion plate (not shown) (Fig. 12; [0054]; [0055]),
a first polarizer (52) and a second polarizer (53) are disposed between the light diffusion plate and an image detection unit (70) wherein the light diffusion plate diffuses light and changes the light to an unpolarized state (Fig. 12; [0054]; [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kubenov in view of Hegyi and Ho with a light diffusion plate in order direct uniformly distribute incident light on the self-interference system, improving the signal to noise of the imaging system by reducing noise due to non-uniform optical artifacts.
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877