DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are examined on merits herein.
Election/Restriction and Status of Claims
The current application contains species of an image sensor, including at least Species 1 through 4, where:
Species 1 is shown in Figs. 3-18; it comprises a first grid structure 260 over a separation structure disposed between different groups of photoelectric conversion elements.
Species 2 is shown in Fig. 19; it comprises a second grid structure 270 over a separation structure disposed between different groups of photoelectric conversion elements.
Species 3 and 4 are shown in Figs. 20 and 21, accordingly; they differ from Species 1 and 2 at least by comprising color filters of two different shapes, where Species 3 and 4 differ from each other by dispositions of first and second grid structures 260 and 270, accordingly.
Original Claims 1-20 of the application belong to Species 1; as such Species 1 is viewed by being chosen by the original presentation.
Claims 1-20 are examined on merits herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface”, as Claims 1 and 12 recite.
“a third separation structure” and “a third grid structure”, including “M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the third grid structure”, as Claim 2 recites.
“a first (second) single color filter” “on the first (second) group of photoelectric conversion elements”, as Claim 14 recites.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs 0005 and 0006 of the published application state that an image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (e.g., of the substrate). The Examiner has not heard a similar statement in the art, since common image sensors receive incident light either from above the image sensor or from underneath of the image sensor.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 2 recites a third separation structure and a third grid structure, which are not identified by the specification.
Claim 14 recites a “single color filter” over a group of identical photoelectric conversion elements, but the limitation is not supported by the specification of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In re Claims 1 and 12: Independent Claims 1 and 12 have a limitation: “the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface”. The recitation is unclear, since the current application does not teach that the second surface of the substrate, locating in a middle part of the image sensor, generates light that is received by the image sensor.
Appropriate correction is required to clarify the claims language.
For this Office Action, since the specification of the application also has a similar recitation (as shown in the objection to the specification), which the Examiner believes – cannot be correct - the above-cited limitations of Claims 1 and 12 were omitted from consideration.
In re Claim 18: Claim 18 recites (line 7): “the distance from the top surface of the second grid structure”. The recitation is rejected to a lack of antecedent basis in the claim terminology, e.g., by citing: “distance” and “top surface” with article “the”, since Claim 18 depends on Claim 15, which does not teach “a distance from a top surface of the second grid structure”, while Claim 15 depends on Claims 12 and 13 that also do not have corresponding recitation. Appropriate correction is required to clarify the claimed subject matter. One of possibility of correction is changing dependency of Claim 15 on Claim 15 to a dependence from Claim 17.
In re Claims 2-11, 13-17, and 19-20: Claims 2-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to dependency either on Claim 1 or on Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As far as the claims are understood, Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0227455) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0157329).
In re Claim 1, Lee (US 20200227455) teaches an image sensor (Abstract) comprising (Fig. 5 and Annotated Fig. 5):
a substrate 100 (paragraph 0041) comprising a first surface (as a bottom surface) and a second surface (as a top surface) opposing the first surface;
a first photoelectric conversion element PD1 (as in Annotated Fig. 5) in the substrate 100 (paragraph 0033);
a second photoelectric conversion element PD2 (as in Annotated Fig. 5) in the substrate 100;
a first separation structure DTI1-1 (as in Annotated Fig. 5, paragraph 0042) in the substrate 100 and between the first and second photoelectric conversion elements PD1 and PD2, accordingly,
Annotated Fig. 5
a second separation structure DTI1-2 (as in Annotated Fig. 5) in the substrate 100;
a first color filter 540 (paragraph 0057] provided on the first photoelectric conversion element PD1;
a second color filter 530 (paragraph 0049) provided on the second photoelectric conversion element PD2; and
a first grid structure 1GS (as in Annotated Fig. 5) on the first separation structure DTI1-1 and between the first and second color filters – 540 and 530, respectively; and
a second grid structure 2GS (as in Annotated Fig. 5) on the second separation structure DTI1-2; wherein
the second photoelectric conversion element PD2 is disposed between the first separation structure DTI1-1 and the second separation structure DTI1-2, wherein
the first grid structure 1GS is vertically overlapping with the first separation
structure DTI1-1 and the second grid structure 2GS is vertically overlapping with the second separation structure DTI1-2, where
the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (e.g., as interpreted).
Lee does not teach that the first grid structure comprises an air gap and N plurality of layers on an external side surface of the air gap, wherein each of the N plurality of layers extends in a first direction, wherein the second grid structure comprises M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure and extend in the first direction, wherein the N and M are integers, wherein the N is different from the M.
Kim teaches (Figs. 4-5i) a grid structure between color filters of different colors, the grid structure comprises an air gap (AG, paragraph 0042) within a portion of the grid structure between two adjacent color filters.
Lee and Kim teach analogous arts directed to an image sensor comprised a plurality of color filters with a grid disposed between color filters, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Lee sensor in view of the Kim sensor since they are from the same field of endeavor, and Kim created a successfully operated device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Lee image sensor by adding an air gap into each grid pattern between adjacent color filters, in order to reduce a crosstalks within the image sensor (Kim, paragraph 0071). With the above modification, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application that the first grid structure comprises N plurality of layers (N=2) on an external side surface of the air gap, wherein each N layer extends in the first direction (the first direction being a horizontal direction in Fig. 5), while the second grid structure would comprise M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure (M=0) extending in the first direction, where N and M are integers, wherein N is different from the M.
In re Claim 2, Lee/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 1 as cited above and further comprising (Annotated Fig. 5):
a third photoelectric conversion element PD3 in the substrate 100;
a third separation structure DTI1-3 in the substrate 100; and
a third grid structure 3GS on the third separation structure DTI1-3; wherein
the third photoelectric conversion element PD3 is disposed between the second separation structure DTI1-2 and the third separation structure DTI1-3, wherein
the third grid structure 3GS is vertically overlapping with the third separation structure DTI1-3, and wherein the third grid structure 3GS comprises the M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the third grid structure and extend in the first direction (similar to that of 2GS).
In re Claim 3, Lee/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 2 as cited above, including the first, second and third photoelectric conversion elements.
Lee does not teach that the first photoelectric conversion element is configured to detect light of a first wavelength, and the second and third photoelectric conversion elements are configured to detect light of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength.
Kim teaches (Figs. 3-4) a first color filter (230) allowing a light of a red color (of a first wavelength) to pass and second and third color filters (130 and 430) allowing a green color (of a second wavelength) to pass, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to choose photoelectric conversion elements such that first is sensitive to the first wavelength and second and third are sensitive to the second wavelength, in order to create a more sensitive image sensor.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Lee/Kim device of Claim 1 by substituting the first through third Lee’ photoconversion elements with the first through third photoconversion elements, per Kim (with the corresponding change of color filters) – the first configured to detect the first wavelength and the second and third configured to detect the second wavelength when it is desirable for the manufacture using photoelectric conversion elements most sensitive to different light wavelengths.
In re Claim 4, Lee/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 2 as cited above, wherein the first grid structure further comprises (Annotated Fig. 5, with the air gap inserted in the middle of a grid – as shown in Claim 1)
L plurality of layers on the air gap (L=1), wherein
a distance from a top surface of the air gap to the second surface (which is the top surface of 100) is greater than a distance from a bottom surface of the air gap to the second surface, wherein
each of the L plurality of layers on the top surface of the air gap extends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (as is obvious from Fig. 4, since each grid extends at least in the first and second directions), and wherein the L (=1) is different from the N (=2).
In re Claim 5, Lee/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 4, wherein the N (=2) is greater than the L (=1).
In re Claim 6, Lee/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 2 as cited above and wherein (Annotated Fig. 5 with – not shown – the air gap in a middle of each grid)
the N plurality of layers on the external side surface of the air gap comprise a first layer 403 (being organic material, Lee, paragraph 0049) and a second layer 401 (being metal, Lee, paragraph 0049), wherein
the first layer 403 is in contact with the air gap and the second layer 401 is in contact with the first layer 403, and wherein
the first layer includes a first material and the second layer includes a second material different from the first material.
As far as the claims are understood, Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10-11, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0403025) – Kim-1, hereafter, in view of Kim.
In re Claim 1, Kim-1 teaches an image sensor (Abstract) comprising (Figs. 3-5):
a substrate 100 (paragraph 0049) comprising a first surface 100a and a second surface 100b opposing the first surface 100a;
a first photoelectric conversion element 110 (under 345b, Fig. 4B, paragraphs 0049, 0070) in the substrate 100;
a second photoelectric conversion element 110 (under 345a and adjacent to the first photoelectric conversion element) in the substrate 100;
a first separation structure 103 (paragraph 0052) in the substrate 100 and between the first and second photoelectric conversion elements (e.g., under FS2);
a second separation structure 103 in the substrate 100 and under FS1;
a first color filter 345b provided on the first photoelectric conversion element 110;
a second color filter 345a (paragraph 0070) provided on the second photoelectric conversion element 110; and
a first grid structure FS2 (Fig. 4B, paragraph 0075) on the first separation structure and between the first and second color filters, respectively; and
a second grid structure FS1 (Fig. 4B, paragraph 0075) on the second separation structure; wherein
the second photoelectric conversion element PD2 is disposed between the first separation structure DTI1-1 and the second separation structure DTI1-2, wherein
the first grid structure 1GS is vertically overlapping with the first separation
structure DTI1-1 and the second grid structure 2GS is vertically overlapping with the second separation structure DTI1-2, where
the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (e.g., as interpreted).
Kim-1 does not teach that the first grid structure comprises an air gap and N plurality of layers on an external side surface of the air gap, wherein each of the N plurality of layers extends in a first direction, wherein the second grid structure comprises M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure and extend in the first direction, wherein the N and M are integers, wherein the N is different from the M.
Kim teaches (Figs. 4-5i) a grid structure between color filters of different colors, the grid structure comprises an air gap (AG, paragraph 0042) within a portion of the grid structure – with the air gap – is between two adjacent color filters.
Kim-1 and Kim teach analogous arts directed to an image sensor comprised a plurality of color filters with a grid disposed between color filters, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Kim-1 image sensor in view of the Kim image sensor since they are from the same field of endeavor, and Kim created a successfully operated device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Kim-1 image sensor by adding an air gap into the first grid structure disposed between adjacent color filters of different colors, in order to reduce a crosstalks within the image sensor (Kim, paragraph 0071). With the above modification, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application that the first grid structure comprises N plurality of layers (N=2) on an external side surface of the air gap – inserted into a middle of portion 324 of Kim-1 (first layer being 324 and second being 330, the number is shown in Fig. 5), wherein each N layer extends in the first direction (the first direction being a horizontal direction in Fig. 5), while the second grid structure would comprise M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure (M=1 and the layer comprises 330) extending in the first direction, where N and M are integers, wherein N is different from the M.
In re Claim 2, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 1 as cited above and further comprising:
a third photoelectric conversion element 110 (adjacent to the second photoelectric conversion element) in the substrate 100;
a third separation structure 103 (in the middle of 103 of Fig. 4B) in the substrate 100; and
a third grid structure FS1 (that is between portions of 345a of Fig. 4B) on the third separation structure 103; wherein
the third photoelectric conversion element is disposed between the second separation structure 103 and the third separation structure 103, wherein
the third grid structure is vertically overlapping with the third separation structure 103, and wherein the third grid structure comprises the M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the third grid structure and extend in the first direction (similar to that of the second grid structure).
In re Claim 6, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 2 as cited above and wherein:
the N plurality of layers on the external side surface of the air gap comprise a first layer 324 (being organic material, Kim-1, Figs. 4B and 5, paragraph 0069) and a second layer 330 (being aluminum oxide, Kim-1, Figs. 4B- and 5, paragraph 0072), wherein
the first layer 324 is in contact with the air gap (the air gap is created this way, as Claim 1 shows) and the second layer 330 is in contact with the first layer 324, and wherein
the first layer includes a first material and the second layer includes a second material different from the first material (as shown above).
In re Claim 7, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 6 as cited above and further comprising a passivation layer 330 (Kim-1, Figs. 4B-5) on the second surface 100b, and
wherein the N plurality of layers on the external side surface of the first grid structure FS2 include the passivation layer 330 (as shown for Claim 1), and
wherein the M plurality of layers on the external side surface of the second grid structure FS1 include the passivation layer 330 (as shown for Claim 1).
In re Claim 8, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 7 as cited above, including the air gap with the first grid structure – inserted into layer 324 of Kim-1 (Fig. 4B).
Kim-1/Kim further teaches (Fig. 4B of Kim-1 where air gap is in a middle of layer 324, as is shown for Claim 1) that the first grid structure comprises a barrier layer 322 (paragraph 0069) between the second surface 100b and the air gap.
In re Claim 10, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 7 as cited above and wherein
the second grid structure FS1 (Kim-1, Figs. 4B and 5A) has a top surface and a bottom surface opposing the top surface, wherein
a distance from the top surface of the second grid structure to the second surface 100b is greater than a distance from the bottom surface of the second grid structure to the second surface 100b, wherein
the bottom surface of second grid structure has a third width (obviously) in a second direction, and wherein
the third width is substantially the same as a second width of a bottom surface of the first grid structure – obviously since FS1 and FS2 are shown as being identical to each other and Kim-1 does not teach that there are differences between them.
In re Claim 11, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 10 as cited above and wherein the first separation structure 103 (Kim-1, Fig. 4B) penetrates the substrate 100.
In re Claim 12, Kim-1 teaches an image sensor comprising (Figs. 3, 4A, and 4B):
a substrate 100 comprising a first surface 100a and a second surface 100b opposing the first surface (paragraph 0049);
a first group of photoelectric conversion elements 110 (paragraph 0049) including a first photoelectric conversion element in the substrate 100 - the first group of photoelectric conversion elements corresponds to PR sub-pixels of Fig. 4A (paragraph 0045), with the first photoelectric conversion element being adjacent to a photoelement of PG1;
at least four microlenses 353 - as shown in Fig. 4B, paragraph 0068, but - on the first group of photoelectric conversion elements;
a second group of photoelectric conversion elements 110 including a second photoelectric conversion element in the substrate – the second group of photoelectric conversion elements corresponds to PG1 sub-pixel regions of Fig. 4A (paragraph 0045), while the second photoelectric conversion element being adjacent to the first photoelectric conversion element of PR;
at least four microlenses 353 on the second group of photoelectric conversion elements;
a first separation structure 103 (paragraph 0052) between the first photoelectric conversion element and the second photoelectric conversion element;
a second separation structure 103 between the first group of photoelectric conversion elements (corresponding to adjacent PR, as in Fig. 4A);
a first grid structure FS2 (as in Fig. 4B, paragraph 0075) on the first separation structure 103 and vertically overlapping with the first separation structure 103; and
a second grid structure FS1 (Fig. 4B, paragraph 0075) on the second separation structure 103 and vertically overlapping with the second separation structure 103;
wherein the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (e.g., in accordance with the claim interpretation).
Kim-1 does not teach that the first grid structure comprises an air gap and N plurality of layers on an external side surface of the air gap, wherein each of the N plurality of layers extends in a first direction, wherein the second grid structure comprises M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure and extending in the first direction, wherein the N and M are integers, wherein the N is different from the M
Kim teaches (Figs. 4-5i) a grid structure between color filters of different colors, the grid structure comprises an air gap (AG, paragraph 0042) within a middle portion of the grid structure between two adjacent color filters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to modify the Kim-1 image sensor by adding an air gap into a portion of the first grid structure between adjacent color filters of different colors (such as in a middle of layer 324 of the Kim-1 grid structure (of Figs. 4B and 5A), in order to reduce a crosstalks between these filters within the image sensor (Kim, paragraph 0071). With the above modification, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application that the first grid structure comprises N plurality of layers (N=2) on an external side surface of the air gap (one layer being 324 adjacent to the air gap and another layer being 330, the number is shown in Figs. 5i, paragraphs 0069, 0071), wherein each N layer extends in the first direction (the first direction being a horizontal direction in Fig. 4B). The second grid structure would comprise M plurality of layers on an external side surface of the second grid structure (such as layer 330 of Figs. 5, e.g., M=1) extending in the first direction, where N and M are integers and N is different from the M.
In re Claim 13, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 12 as cited above, wherein the first photoelectric conversion element 110 is, obviously, configured to detect light of a first wavelength (being a wavelength corresponding to the green color, since light of this color passes through a color filter disposed over this element, as Fig. 4 shows), and wherein the second photoelectric conversion element 110 is configured to detect light of a second wavelength (being a wavelength corresponding to the red color, since light of this color passes through the color filter above the photoelectric conversion element) different from the first wavelength.
In re Claim 14, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 13 as cited above, including the first and second groups of photoelectric elements shown for Claim 12.
Kim-1/Kim further teaches an image sensor comprising (Kim-1, Fig. 8, and paragraph 0070): a first single color filter 345a provided on a portion of the first group of photoelectric conversion elements, obviously – only two first photoelectric conversion elements are shown in Fig. 8, since it is impossible to show a portion of a structure in a direction perpendicular to a page surface. However, a plan view of Kim-1’ Fig. 4 shows the first group comprising four first photoelectric conversion elements, and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to create a first single color filter on the entire first group of photoelectric conversion elements, when it is desirable to reduce a number of color filters while not changing the dispositions of the first photoelectric conversion elements in the group. It would have been further obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing the application to use a second single color filter provided on the second group of photoelectric conversion elements – for the same reason that is explained for the first group.
In re Claim 15, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 13 as cited above, including the air gap inserted into layer 324 of Kim-1 (as shown for Claim 12).
Kim-1/Kim further teaches (Kim-1, Fig. 5A and paragraph 0069) that the first grid structure further comprises a barrier layer 322 between the air gap (in the middle of layer 324) and the second surface 100b.
In re Claim 16, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 15 as cited above, wherein the barrier layer 322 (Kim-1, Fig. 4B and paragraph 0069) of the first grid structure comprises a metal material.
In re Claim 17, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 15 as cited above, including the second grid structure 320 over photoelectric conversion elements of the first group and including the second surface 100b of the substrate 100 (as shown for Claim 12).
Kim-1 further teaches that the second grid structure 320 – shown within color filter 345a in Fig. 4B and also shown in Fig. 5A - has a top surface and a bottom surface opposing the top surface, wherein a distance from the top surface of the second grid structure 320 to the second surface 100b is greater than a distance from the bottom surface of the second grid structure 320 to the second surface 100b, wherein the second grid structure does not include a metallic material-containing layer between the bottom surface of the second grid structure and the second surface: the bottom surface of the second grid structure is the lowest surface of the second grid structure – the grid structure cannot contain any layer between its bottom and the second surface of the substrate.
In re Claim 18, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 15 as cited above, including the first grid structure on the first separation structure and the second grid on the second separation structure, as shown for Claim 12.
Kim-1/Kim further teaches (Kim-1, Fig. 4B) that the first grid structure FS2 has a top surface and a bottom surface opposing the top surface, wherein a distance from the top surface of the first grid structure to the second surface 100b is greater than a distance from the bottom surface of the first grid structure FS2 to the second surface, and wherein the distance from the top surface of the first grid structure FS2 to the second surface 100b is substantially the same as the distance from the top surface of the second grid structure FS1 to the second surface 100b.
In re Claim 19, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 15 as cited above, including the at least four microlenses on the first group of the photoelectric conversion elements as shown for Claim 12.
Kim-1 further teaches (Fig. 4A) that the at least four microlenses 353 on the first group of photoelectric conversion elements are arranged in one of matrix of 2x2, 3x3 or 4x4 – Kim-1 teaches the matrix 2x2.
In re Claim 20, Kim-1/Kim teaches the image sensor of Claim 18 as cited above.
Kim-1 further teaches (Figs. 4B and 5, paragraph 0071) a passivation layer 330 on the second surface 100b, wherein the N plurality of layers on the first grid structure include the passivation layer (as shown for Claim 12), and wherein the M plurality of layers on the second grid structure include the passivation layer 330 (as shown for Claim 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
As far as the claims are interpreted, Claim 9 contains allowable subject matter.
Reason for Identification of Allowable Subject Matter
Re Claim 9: The prior arts of record, alone or in combination, fail(s) to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of Claim 9 as: “the first width is equal to or greater than a half of the second width”, in combination with other limitations of Claim 9, and in combination with limitations of Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7, on which Claim 9 depends.
The prior arts of record, in addition to the prior arts cited above, also include at least: Kim et al. (US 2021/0120198), Jeon et al. (US 2023/0064084), Park et al. (US 2023/0017043), and Ryu et al. (US 2023/0282663) – among others.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Lynne Gurley can be reached on 571-272-1670.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300; a fax phone number of Galina Yushina is 571-270-8440.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GALINA G YUSHINA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2811, TC 2800,
United States Patent and Trademark Office
E-mail: galina.yushina@USPTO.gov
Phone: 571-270-7440
Date: 08/11/26