DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10-13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dandurand et al. (hereinafter Dandurand) (US 2022/0406116 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Dandurand discloses receiving one or more source electronic document files, each of which includes content of one or more source documents, each associated with a unique content creator (Fig, 2, elections document 106); causing a print engine of a multifunction print device to print a plurality of verification document sheets (Fig. 2, verification elements 108), each of which: comprises data from at least one of the source documents, and includes a unique identifier (ID) (Fig. 2, verification elements 108); after printing each verification document sheet (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31), causing a scanner of the multifunction device to scan the verification document sheet to capture a digital image of the verification document sheet (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31); and saving the digital images of the verification document sheets to a data store (The processor 120 is further in operable communication with one or more of a database 125 stored in some memory or storage device. The processor 120 access the elections data 124 from the devices 122 and the elections data 124 is organized and stored in the database 125 to configure an elections document 106 such as a ballot, as further described herein., par. 22).
Regarding claim 3: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein the receiving, printing, scanning and saving are done in real time as the one or more source electronic document files are received (Fig. 1 and pars. 21-25).
Regarding claim 7: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses further comprising: before causing the print engine to print one or more of the verification document sheets (Fig. 2, verification elements 108), converting the one or more verification document sheets to a print job, wherein causing the print engine to print the verification document sheets comprises sending the print job to the print engine (The printing device 1046 receives paper formed by the paper manufacturing device 104A and prints the elections document 106 or otherwise applies a print job to the paper article 101 according to any desired specifications. The printing device 104B may be configured to print any elections documents using the paper from the paper manufacturing device 104A such as ballots or other similar elections documents. In some embodiments, the printing device 104B may comprise, by non-limiting examples, any industrial printing device such a OKI version b432, c532, c831, c931, or c9650, or a Lexmark version c4150 or cs923 and the like. Similar to the paper manufacturing device 104A, one or more of the verification elements 108 may be introduced by the printing device 104B for the elections document 106, as further described herein. As further shown in FIG. 1, the elections document 106 may be formed within any combination or type of the verification elements 108 as defined by a predetermined elections document configuration 112. The elections document configuration 112 includes a template, mapping, or any data structure that delineates where and which of the verification elements 108 are implemented with the elections document 106. For instance, one example of an elections document configuration 112 may be used to form an elections document 106 with a first verification element in the upper right-hand corner of a front side of the elections document, and a second verification element in the lower left of the front side. The elections document configuration 112 may be referenced or leveraged by the document manufacturing devices 104 to tailor the elections document 106 accordingly. In some embodiments, the elections document configuration 112 can be dictated or otherwise generated based on specifications and/or rules of a state election, and may be applied using a processor, as further described herein., pars. 20-21).
Regarding claim 10: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein each unique ID (Fig. 2, verification elements 108) comprises or is derived from one or more of the following: a unique ID for the multifunction device; a unique ID for a stack that includes the verification document sheets; a unique ID for a container in which the verification document sheets will be stored; a date and/or time at which the verification document sheet was printed; a date and/or time at which the source document was generated or received; a batch ID; a unique ballot card identifier for each source document that is a ballot (In some embodiments, documents such as ballots generated by the system 100 via instructions provided by the processor 120 can be tailored to certain elections and/or precincts. For example, the elections document 106 may be made with a first number and combination of the verification elements 108 for a first voting precinct, and in other instances the elections document 106 may be made with a second number and combination of the verification elements 108 for a different voting precinct. In addition, the documents 106 may be tracked via a file identifier or any such identifier that designates a given jurisdiction or voting precinct., par. 36); or an identifier for the associated unique content creator who provided content contained in the source document.
Regarding claim 11: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein printing the verification document sheets comprises printing content of more than one of the source documents on at least some of the verification document sheets (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31).
Regarding claim 12: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein printing each of the verification document sheets comprises printing the unique ID on each verification document sheet on an area that does not interfere with content from the source document (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31).
Regarding claim 13: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses further comprising printing a plurality of security elements on each of the verification document sheets (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31).
Regarding claim 15: Dandurand discloses a print engine (Fig. 1, printing device 104B); a scanner (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31); a processor (Fig. 1, processor 120); and a memory containing programming instructions that are configured to instruct the processor to (In some embodiments, the document manufacturing devices 104 are configured to function cooperatively with the processor 120 to manufacture and print the elections document 106, according to configurations and parameters defined by the elections data 124. In particular, the document manufacturing devices 104, based upon instructions or commands from the processor 120, cooperatively create the elections document 106 with the plurality of verification elements 108 according to any predetermined elections document configuration 112 so as to improve election document verification, as further described herein., par. 23), in response to receiving one or more source electronic document files, each of which includes content of one or more source documents, each associated with a unique content creator (Fig, 2, elections document 106); causing a print engine of a multifunction print device to print a plurality of verification document sheets (Fig. 2, verification elements 108), each of which: comprises data from at least one of the source documents, and includes a unique identifier (ID) (Fig. 2, verification elements 108); after printing each verification document sheet (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31), causing a scanner of the multifunction device to scan the verification document sheet to capture a digital image of the verification document sheet (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31); and saving the digital images of the verification document sheets to a data store (The processor 120 is further in operable communication with one or more of a database 125 stored in some memory or storage device. The processor 120 access the elections data 124 from the devices 122 and the elections data 124 is organized and stored in the database 125 to configure an elections document 106 such as a ballot, as further described herein., par. 22).
Regarding claim 19: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 15. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 13 are applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dandurand in view of Roger et al. (hereinafter Roger) (US 2014/0263637 A1).
Regarding claim 2: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses each of the source documents
Dandurand fails to specifically address comprises a unique ballot cast by a voter; comprises a set of test answers provided by a person.
Roger discloses comprises a unique ballot cast by a voter (If there are no ballot irregularities or scanning errors (block 118=NO) or the ballot should not be returned to the voter (block 130=NO), the ballot is cast, and at block 120 the tabulation device 10 displays a "thank you for voting" screen on the display 18 informing the voter that his/her voting selections have been tabulated. The "thank you for voting" screen displays a short message (e.g., "Thank you for voting. Your ballot has been counted."). Preferably, the message will be displayed for approximately 3 seconds or until the next ballot is inserted into the ballot insertion tray 16., par. 67); comprises a set of test answers provided by a person (Elections, academic tests, referendums, surveys, gambling schemes, and other endeavors require the accurate analysis of marks made on response sheets. Optical scanners are typically used for this task to increase speed and accuracy. Such scanners obtain am image of the response sheet and analyze predetermined response areas to determine if a user has selected or marked the response areas. However, the image of the response sheet may include some amount of skew and/or distortion, which may occur for a variety of reasons. For example, the image of a response sheet may be skewed if the response sheet does not move straight though the transport system of the optical scanner. This can occur, for example, in cases where the optical scanner is designed to accommodate a variance in the size of the response sheets. Distortion can be caused by misalignment of the image scanner, printing errors (e.g., a response sheet being printed too light, too dark, blurry, or smudged), and dirty or imprecise scanners. These inconsistencies in the images of the response sheets can cause the optical scanners to incorrectly locate and interpret the responses areas on the response sheet so as to record a response area as marked when it is blank/unmarked and vice versa., par. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comprises a unique ballot cast by a voter; comprises a set of test answers provided by a person in order to provide accurate analysis of marks on response sheets as taught by Roger (par. 6).
Regarding claim 5: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses
Dandurand fails to specifically address further comprising causing a conveyor; into a secure container without any human touching; to form a stack; within the secure container.
Roger discloses further comprising causing a conveyor (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68); into a secure container without any human touching (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68); to form a stack (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68); within the secure container (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising causing a conveyor; into a secure container without any human touching; to form a stack; within the secure container in order to tabulate votes and the ballots are dropped into a secure container to provide a secure election as taught by Roger (par. 68).
Regarding claim 17: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 15. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 5 are applicable.
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dandurand in view of Tinney et al. (hereinafter Tinney) (US 2018/0018844 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein: the one or more source electronic document files (Fig, 2, elections document 106)
Dandurand fails to specifically address are generated by one or more electronic devices at a facility that is a polling location or testing location; and the multifunction device is: located at the facility, communicatively connected to the one or more electronic devices via a wired communication network, and communicatively isolated from any external communication networks.
Tilley discloses are generated by one or more electronic devices at a facility that is a polling location or testing location; and the multifunction device is: located at the facility, communicatively connected to the one or more electronic devices via a wired communication network, and communicatively isolated from any external communication networks (As will be discussed in more detail below, data 310 includes data provided from a plurality of voting locations. Receiving host system 320 collects and aggregates the voting data from the plurality of voting locations, and as described below provides the data to election officials in an efficient and usable format. The receiving host system 320 may then package the received voting data for communication to count system 340. The count system 340 may be used to provide final official vote tabulation and counts, election audit mechanisms, archival mechanisms, etc. As shown in FIG. 3, voting data may be communicated from the receiving host system 320 to the count system 340 via a memory drive 330 (in one example a memory stick). As shown, one memory drive 330 is provided, however, the system may be configured to utilize a plurality of memory drives. Use of the memory drive 330 enables the establishment of an “air gap” to be provided between the receiving host system 320 and the count system 340. The air gap may add in isolating the two systems to provide more security and integrity to the overall voting process. Thus, advantageously, the count system may be isolated and segregated from other components of the voting system. Communication may be made to the central election center in a non-isolated manner (for example hardwired network communications or wireless network communications), yet the configuration still provides a mechanism to isolate key central election center systems such as the count system 340. In this manner, another layer of security is provided to the overall voting system. The concepts and techniques described herein, however, are not limited to the use memory drives and other data transmission techniques between the host system 320 and the count system 340 may be utilized., par. 27).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include are generated by one or more electronic devices at a facility that is a polling location or testing location; and the multifunction device is: located at the facility, communicatively connected to the one or more electronic devices via a wired communication network, and communicatively isolated from any external communication networks in order to provide a layer of security to the overall voting process as taught by Tinney (par. 27).
Regarding claim 16: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 15. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 4 are applicable.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dandurand in view of Roger and further in view of Chung et al. (hereinafter Chung) (US 7,635,087).
Regarding claim 6: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses further comprising:
Dandurand fails to specifically address causing a conveyor; onto a stack without any human touching.
Roger discloses causing a conveyor (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68); onto a stack without any human touching (Next, at block 122, the votes are tabulated by the CPU board 52 and stored in one of the removable USB flash drives of USB board 64 (noting, of course, that any contest with irregularities may not be tabulated depending on jurisdictional rules). Then, at block 124, the vote counters are incremented by one to thereby provide confirmation that the ballot has been tabulated. At block 126, the ballot is dropped into the secure ballot receptacle 26 where it is retained for audit purposes, as is known in the art., par. 68).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include causing a conveyor; onto a stack without any human touching in order to tabulate votes and the ballots are dropped into a secure container to provide a secure election as taught by Roger (par. 68).
Dandurand in view of Roger fail to specifically address and binding; with a binding material.
Chung discloses and binding (A method 700 for processing ballots comprises submitting 712 a ballot and a ballot certification by facsimile transmission; receiving 720 the ballot and ballot certification submitted by facsimile transmission at an election computer; binding 722 the received ballot and ballot certification together and associating the bound ballot and ballot certification with a tracking number; and providing 724 the ballot certification and tracking number for authentication. If the ballot certification is not authenticated 730, then rejecting 732 the ballot, and if the ballot certification is authenticated, then providing 734 the tracking number of the authenticated ballot certification to the election computer; and in response to receiving 734 the tracking number, unbinding 740 the ballot for determining and tabulating the votes thereon., col. 31, ln. 19-32); with a binding material (A method 700 for processing ballots comprises submitting 712 a ballot and a ballot certification by facsimile transmission; receiving 720 the ballot and ballot certification submitted by facsimile transmission at an election computer; binding 722 the received ballot and ballot certification together and associating the bound ballot and ballot certification with a tracking number; and providing 724 the ballot certification and tracking number for authentication. If the ballot certification is not authenticated 730, then rejecting 732 the ballot, and if the ballot certification is authenticated, then providing 734 the tracking number of the authenticated ballot certification to the election computer; and in response to receiving 734 the tracking number, unbinding 740 the ballot for determining and tabulating the votes thereon., col. 31, ln. 19-32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dandurand in view of Roger to include and binding; with a binding material in order to associate a bound ballot and ballot certification with a tracking number as taught by Chung (col. 31, ln. 19-32).
Regarding claim 18: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 15. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 6 are applicable.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dandurand in view of Bogasky et al. (hereinafter Bogasky) (US 2006/0041514 A1).
Regarding claim 8: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein: the one or more source electronic document files (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31) 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31) before causing the print device to print the verification document sheets (Fig. 2, verification elements 108) for that source electronic document file (The camera 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31).
Dandurand fails to specifically address are encrypted; decrypting.
Bogasky discloses are encrypted (According to an embodiment of the present invention, the local election office computer gains access to the central hosting facility 110 in a manner similar to that of a voter; namely, through a network 110, such as the Internet, using the roaming digital certificate technology. Through the application processing segment 1020 and the application processes of the local election office 130 a local election office computer includes uploading and downloading capabilities for that local election office's data. Using the application processes 130 of the local election office computer to access the central hosting facility the local election official can access services, such as voter registration, ballot definition, ballot reconciliation, separating encrypted ballots from the voter records to maintain anonymity, and downloading of encrypted ballots. The local election official can also decrypt downloaded ballots and submit them to ballot tabulation and ballot auditing., par. 47); decrypting (According to an embodiment of the present invention, the local election office computer gains access to the central hosting facility 110 in a manner similar to that of a voter; namely, through a network 110, such as the Internet, using the roaming digital certificate technology. Through the application processing segment 1020 and the application processes of the local election office 130 a local election office computer includes uploading and downloading capabilities for that local election office's data. Using the application processes 130 of the local election office computer to access the central hosting facility the local election official can access services, such as voter registration, ballot definition, ballot reconciliation, separating encrypted ballots from the voter records to maintain anonymity, and downloading of encrypted ballots. The local election official can also decrypt downloaded ballots and submit them to ballot tabulation and ballot auditing., par. 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include are encrypted; decrypting in order to maintain anonymity for the voter and allow the ballots to be tabulated and audited as taught by Bogasky (par. 47).
Regarding claim 9: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses wherein: each source document is a ballot (Fig, 2, elections document 106); and each unique ID (Fig. 2, verification elements 108)
Dandurand fails to specifically address comprises or is derived from one or more of the following: a time at which a voter cast the ballot, or a location or machine at which the voter cast the ballot.
Bogasky discloses comprises or is derived from one or more of the following: a time at which a voter cast the ballot (When the central hosting facility receives the completed ballot, it is time stamped in Step 624 and encrypted in Step 626 with the user's symmetric key. A summary of the voter's choices is then transmitted back to the voter in Step 628. This retransmission provides the voter with an opportunity to review their choice set from the ballot and confirm their vote in Step 630. Upon digitally signed confirmation by the voter, the central hosting facility time stamps the ballot in Step 632, encrypts the symmetric key using the local election office's public key in Step 634, and stores the encrypted ballot and associated encrypted symmetric key in the electronic ballot box of the voter's local election office in Step 640, thus ensuring that only the local election office can view the voter's choices., par. 79), or a location or machine at which the voter cast the ballot.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include comprises or is derived from one or more of the following: a time at which a voter cast the ballot, or a location or machine at which the voter cast the ballot in order to provide secure voting as taught by Bogasky (par. 79).
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dandurand in view of Smith (US 2025/0246038 A1).
Regarding claim 14: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Dandurand further discloses further comprising 110C can be implemented to read the machine-readable identifier 108B, the micro-text 108E, and the file identifier 108F. The camera 110C may include any optical device capable of scanning and/or interpreting such content printed along the elections document 106. As described, any of the verification elements 108 may be combined in some form. So, for example, the micro-text 108E can include the file-identifier 108F in some embodiments corresponding to some data, external element, elections parameter, and the like that can be verified by identifying the subject verification elements 108 using the camera 110C or otherwise. The verification elements 108 may further be linked or correspond with one another; e.g., the machine-readable identifier 108B may be scanned by the camera 110C and identify the same text or information printed in the micro-text 108E. Any such combinations or variations of the verification elements 108 are contemplated (non-limiting examples shown in FIGS. 5A-5C)., par. 31),
Dandurand fails to specifically address using a camera to record; directing and sealing steps to a video file.
Smith discloses using a camera to record (In an embodiment that implements optical verification of ballot selections from display 1003, voting station 1001 uses camera 1004 to capture photographs and/or video of ballot selections that are shown on display 1003 when the voter is making or has made ballot selections. The objective of this process is to allow a distinct sealed compute unit 902 and/or application or application service to serve as an independent witness of the voter's ballot selections to provide accountability to other participating sealed compute units 902 and/or applications or application services for the purpose of increasing the likelihood of detecting an unauthorized modification to voter ballot selections. This optical verification creates an additional electronic image and/or interpreted electronic records that become part of the Reliable Opinion Poll protocol, typically including this information in a data package that is sent to at least one Witness WIT 531 where it is included as Chain Content CC in a Witness Chain WC. The ballot selections interpreted from this optical verification process can be compared to a) electronic data in the official cast vote record, b) ballot summary data before it is sent to printer 1005, c) ballot summary data after it is captured by scanner 1006, and/or d) any inter-process communication in which ballot selection data is present., par. 142); directing and sealing steps to a video file (In an embodiment that implements optical verification of ballot selections from display 1003, voting station 1001 uses camera 1004 to capture photographs and/or video of ballot selections that are shown on display 1003 when the voter is making or has made ballot selections. The objective of this process is to allow a distinct sealed compute unit 902 and/or application or application service to serve as an independent witness of the voter's ballot selections to provide accountability to other participating sealed compute units 902 and/or applications or application services for the purpose of increasing the likelihood of detecting an unauthorized modification to voter ballot selections. This optical verification creates an additional electronic image and/or interpreted electronic records that become part of the Reliable Opinion Poll protocol, typically including this information in a data package that is sent to at least one Witness WIT 531 where it is included as Chain Content CC in a Witness Chain WC. The ballot selections interpreted from this optical verification process can be compared to a) electronic data in the official cast vote record, b) ballot summary data before it is sent to printer 1005, c) ballot summary data after it is captured by scanner 1006, and/or d) any inter-process communication in which ballot selection data is present., par. 142).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include using a camera to record; directing and sealing steps to a video file in order to provide optical verification as taught by Smith (par. 142).
Regarding claim 20: Dandurand satisfies all the elements of claim 15. Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 14 are applicable.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
10 June 2026