CTNF 18/767,731 CTNF 75501 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024 and 2/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should avoid phrases that can be implied and should avoid form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). 06-16 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-10 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by WO 2022/056670 (hereinafter Nokia) . Regarding claims 1 and 14 , Nokia discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a first device, based on a receiving beam information, a first sidelink transmission (paragraph 115, in FIG. 7, in an operation 710, the UE 114 may measure a quality of a SL data signal received through the same received beam as the beam through which the SL control 704 is received) ; selecting, based on selection information, a resource set for a second sidelink transmission (FIG. 7, item 712, "Determine Resource Selection"; paragraph 116, "in the operation 712, the UE 114 may determine that reusing the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may result in collision interferences, and thus the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may be excluded by the UE 114 when the UE 114 select radio resources from the resource pool for the SL communication with the UE 116."; paragraph 117, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the UE 114 may transmit a first SL signal 714 to its target UE 116 for example through the transmission beam 124 as illustrated in FIG. 2 by using the radio resources selected in the operation 712, without collision interferences with the SL communication between the UE 110 and UE 112) ; and sending, to a second device, the second sidelink transmission based on transmitting beam information (Fig. 7 item 714, "First SL signal"; see paragraph 117 cited above) , wherein the selection information includes at least one of: a frequency domain index of sidelink positioning reference signal, a delay budget, a number of comb offset to be used for the second sidelink transmission, a panel identification (paragraph 119, the beamformed transmission 802 from the UE 114 to the UE 800 is performed by a front antenna panel of the UE 114 in a beam direction 202 towards the front of the UE 114, while the SL control signal is received by the UE 114 through the rear antenna panel of the UE 114. Then, in the operation 902, the UE 114 may determine that reusing the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 will not result in collision interferences, and thus the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may be reused by the UE 114 when the UE 114 selects radio resources from the resource pool for the SL communication with the UE 116") , a resource pool from which resources are to be reported, a priority, or a resource reservation interval (paragraph 108, "based on the received SL control signal 704, through the operation 706, the UE 114 may determine information for example on radio resources scheduled/reserved by the UE 110 (e.g. for the SL transmission to the UE 112) . Regarding claims 2 and 15 , Nokia discloses wherein at least one of the receiving beam information or the transmitting beam information is obtained from at least one of a sidelink control information (SCI), a SCI indicating SL-PRS (sidelink positioning reference signals), PSSCH, PSCCH, PSSCH, SL-PRS or a downlink control information (paragraph 106: details PSCCH and PSSCH) . Regarding claim 3 , Nokia discloses wherein at least one of the receiving beam information, the transmitting beam information, or the selection information is i) configured or pre-configured or predefined from a higher layer, and wherein the higher layer is at least one of a RRC layer, a SL LPP, a PC5-RRC, a PC5-S, a MAC layer, or an application layer, or ii) from a physical layer, and wherein the physical layer is at least one of a first SCI, a second SCI, DCI3-0, a SCI for SL-PRS, or a MAC CE (paragraph 88 that "the UE may measure either a quality of the PSCCH and/or a quality of the PSSCH as per higher layer signaling configurations) . Regarding claims 4 and 16 , Nokia discloses wherein the transmitting beam information includes information on one or more beams in a transmission beam group and the transmitting beam information is associated with actual transmission beams, wherein the method further comprises: performing a sensing procedure based on sensing related beam information, wherein the sensing related beam information includes i) a beam having a direction that is opposite to and/or same as a transmitting beam in the transmission beam group, or ii) multiple beams included in a reception beam group including a beam having a direction that is opposite to and/or same as the transmitting beam in the transmission beam group (paragraph 111, 112, FIG. 8, 10, 12, 14 disclosing transmissions and sensing in both forward direction and rear direction, the subject matter is an expected design measure) . Regarding claims 5 and 17, Nokia discloses wherein at least one of the transmitting beam information or the receiving beam information is received from the second device or other devices, or wherein the receiving beam information has a relation with the transmitting beam information, or wherein the receiving beam information contains all beam directions received during a sensing window, or partial directions that is a part of all beam directions received during a sensing window (FIG. 7, item 712, "Determine Resource Selection"; paragraph 116, "in the operation 712, the UE 114 may determine that reusing the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may result in collision interferences, and thus the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may be excluded by the UE 114 when the UE 114 select radio resources from the resource pool for the SL communication with the UE 116."; paragraph 117, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the UE 114 may transmit a first SL signal 714 to its target UE 116 for example through the transmission beam 124 as illustrated in FIG. 2 by using the radio resources selected in the operation 712, without collision interferences with the SL communication between the UE 110 and UE 112) . Regarding claims 6 and 18, Nokia discloses performing a sensing procedure based on sensing related beam information, wherein the sensing related beam information includes i) information on one or more receiving beams having particular directions with respect to a transmitting beam included in the transmitting beam information, ii) a beam having a direction that is opposite to and/or same as the transmitting beam, or iii) multiple beams included in a reception beam group including a beam having a direction that is opposite to and/or same as the transmitting beam (paragraph 111, 112, FIG. 8, 10, 12, 14 disclosing transmissions and sensing in both forward direction and rear direction, the subject matter is an expected design measure) . Regarding claims 7 , Nokia discloses wherein the sensing related beam information has a relation with the transmitting beam information, or wherein the sensing related beam information is used for the second sidelink transmission sent to the second device in an additional beam direction included in a transmission beam group including a beam having a direction same as that of the transmitting beam, in a combined beam direction included in a transmission beam group including a beam having a direction same as that of the transmitting beam, or wherein the sensing related beam information is used for another sidelink transmission which is sent to another device in an additional beam direction included in a transmission beam group including a beam having a direction same as that of the transmitting beam or a combined beam direction included in the transmission beam group (paragraph 111, 112, FIG. 8, 10, 12, 14 disclosing transmissions and sensing in both forward direction and rear direction, the subject matter is an expected design measure) . Regarding claims 8 , Nokia discloses performing, by the first device, a sensing procedure based on sensing related beam information; and reporting, by the first device, a selected resource set to a higher layer, and wherein the resource set is selected by selecting beams which are related with a transmitting beam and has a spatial relationship that is same as, opposite to, approximately same as, or approximately opposite to a transmitting beam, wherein the resource set is selected by considering conflicts in time-frequency domain (paragraph 115, in FIG. 7, in an operation 710, the UE 114 may measure a quality of a SL data signal received through the same received beam as the beam through which the SL control 704 is received; FIG. 7, item 712, "Determine Resource Selection"; paragraph 116, "in the operation 712, the UE 114 may determine that reusing the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may result in collision interferences, and thus the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may be excluded by the UE 114 when the UE 114 select radio resources from the resource pool for the SL communication with the UE 116."; paragraph 117, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the UE 114 may transmit a first SL signal 714 to its target UE 116 for example through the transmission beam 124 as illustrated in FIG. 2 by using the radio resources selected in the operation 712, without collision interferences with the SL communication between the UE 110 and UE 112; paragraph 108, "based on the received SL control signal 704, through the operation 706, the UE 114 may determine information for example on radio resources scheduled/reserved by the UE 110 (e.g. for the SL transmission to the UE 112) . Regarding claims 9 , Nokia discloses wherein the resource set is selected by a selecting beam which is unrelated with a transmitting beam obtained from the transmitting beam information and has a spatial relationship that is orthogonal or approximately orthogonal with regard to a transmitting beam, wherein the resource set is selected without considering conflict in time frequency domain (FIG. 7, item 712, "Determine Resource Selection"; paragraph 116, "in the operation 712, the UE 114 may determine that reusing the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may result in collision interferences, and thus the reserved radio resources as indicated by the SL control signal 704 may be excluded by the UE 114 when the UE 114 select radio resources from the resource pool for the SL communication with the UE 116."; paragraph 117, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the UE 114 may transmit a first SL signal 714 to its target UE 116 for example through the transmission beam 124 as illustrated in FIG. 2 by using the radio resources selected in the operation 712, without collision interferences with the SL communication between the UE 110 and UE 112) . Regarding claims 10 , Nokia discloses wherein the sending the second sidelink transmission includes transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) using resources reserved by the receiving beam information or the transmitting beam information depending on a conflict level of time and frequency resources, or wherein the second sidelink transmission corresponds to SL-PRS and wherein the second sidelink transmission is sent based on channel occupancy ratio (CR) and channel busy ratio (CBR) (paragraph 123: "the UE 1000 may obtain information on positions of other UEs (e.g. information on absolute positions of the other UEs such as the longitudes and latitudes of respective UEs, information on relative positions among respective UEs) for example based on information broadcasted (e.g. periodically) from respective UEs which expect to perform SL communications) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of US 2020/0404665 (hereinafter Ryu) . Regarding claims 11 and 19, Nokia does not explicitly teach wherein the resource set for the second sidelink transmission are selected further based on channel occupancy ratio (CR) and channel busy ratio (CBR), or wherein the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and the channel busy ratio (CBR) are defined based on beam information provided by a higher layer or a physical layer, the beam information including the receiving beam information or the transmitting beam information. However, Ryu teaches wherein the resource set for the second sidelink transmission are selected further based on channel occupancy ratio (CR) and channel busy ratio (CBR), or wherein the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and the channel busy ratio (CBR) are defined based on beam information provided by a higher layer or a physical layer, the beam information including the receiving beam information or the transmitting beam information (FIG. 3, 5 and 7, the usage of CBR for determining the transmission over SL) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nokia to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein the resource set for the second sidelink transmission are selected further based on channel occupancy ratio (CR) and channel busy ratio (CBR), or wherein the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and the channel busy ratio (CBR) are defined based on beam information provided by a higher layer or a physical layer, the beam information including the receiving beam information or the transmitting beam information of Ryu with Nokia. Doing so would improve LTE and NR technologies (Ryu, paragraph [0004]). Regarding claims 12 and 20, Nokia does not explicitly teach wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are received from a higher layer, or, wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are obtained from a measuring by the first device, the measuring performed by the first device configured to use receiving a FR2 beam with a certain direction, FR2 beams with certain reception beam group, a FR2 wide beam, or FR2 beams with all directions, or wherein a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window is set based on maximum numbers of transmitting beams and receiving beams that are provided from a higher layer. However, Ryu teaches wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are received from a higher layer, or, wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are obtained from a measuring by the first device, the measuring performed by the first device configured to use receiving a FR2 beam with a certain direction, FR2 beams with certain reception beam group, a FR2 wide beam, or FR2 beams with all directions, or wherein a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window is set based on maximum numbers of transmitting beams and receiving beams that are provided from a higher layer (FIG. 6, item 610) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nokia to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are received from a higher layer, or, wherein the channel occupancy ratio and the channel busy ratio are obtained from a measuring by the first device, the measuring performed by the first device configured to use receiving a FR2 beam with a certain direction, FR2 beams with certain reception beam group, a FR2 wide beam, or FR2 beams with all directions, or wherein a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window is set based on maximum numbers of transmitting beams and receiving beams that are provided from a higher layer of Ryu with Nokia. Doing so would improve LTE and NR technologies (Ryu, paragraph [0004]). Regarding claims 13 , Nokia does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio or the channel busy ratio is defined per a beam, or wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and/or a limit of the CR (CR.sub.limit) have relations with a priority value of at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, SL-PRS, or other RS/CH, and/or has relation with beam directions, or wherein at least one of a list of channel busy ratio (CBR) including multiple CBR measurements or a list of channel occupancy ratio (CR) including multiple measures is configured for the first device. However, Ryu teaches wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio or the channel busy ratio is defined per a beam, or wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and/or a limit of the CR (CR.sub.limit) have relations with a priority value of at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, SL-PRS, or other RS/CH, and/or has relation with beam directions, or wherein at least one of a list of channel busy ratio (CBR) including multiple CBR measurements or a list of channel occupancy ratio (CR) including multiple measures is configured for the first device (FIG. 6, item 610) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nokia to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio or the channel busy ratio is defined per a beam, or wherein at least one of the channel occupancy ratio (CR) and/or a limit of the CR (CR.sub.limit) have relations with a priority value of at least one of PSCCH, PSSCH, SL-PRS, or other RS/CH, and/or has relation with beam directions, or wherein at least one of a list of channel busy ratio (CBR) including multiple CBR measurements or a list of channel occupancy ratio (CR) including multiple measures is configured for the first device of Ryu with Nokia. Doing so would improve LTE and NR technologies (Ryu, paragraph [0004]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Du (US 2025/0016726) details monostatic sensing. Kim (US 2024/0260054) details managing beam in wireless communication system. Zhao (US 11,991,010) details information transmission. Li (US 2024/0098703) details beam management block for sidelink. Liu (US 11,902,801) details intra-slot transmit/receive beam selection for sidelink. Li (US 2024/0015765) details sidelink resource selection. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jasper Kwoh whose telephone number is (408)918-7644. The examiner can normally be reached Tuesday through Friday, 10am to 4pm Pacific. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski can be reached at (571) 270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 2 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 3 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 4 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 5 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 6 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 7 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 8 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 9 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 10 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 11 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 12 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 13 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 14 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/767,731 Page 15 Art Unit: 2415