DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Application
Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Specification
1. The instant disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
In Paragraph [00113], “2 mm ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5 mm” appears to be a typographical error because there should be no unit “mm” for D1/D2 based on the fact that both D1 and D2 are in the same unit of mm designated for the size of one dimension. The recitation should read “2 ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5”, as further evidenced by the instant disclosure Paragraph [00114] “D1/D2=4/3”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because in FIG. 8, the left side k1 pointing to a second hole section which appears to be a typographical error for k2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities.
In claim 9, Ln7, “2 mm ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5 mm” appears to be a typographical error because there should be no unit “mm” for D1/D2 based on the fact that both D1 and D2 are in the same unit of mm designated for the size of one dimension. The recitation should read “2 ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5”, as further evidenced by the instant disclosure Paragraph [00114] “D1/D2=4/3”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
4. Claim 1 recites “wherein the first hole section is configured to accommodate an electrolyte injection nozzle, at least a part of a hole wall fits with an outer wall of the electrolyte injection nozzle to form an overflow prevention zone, and the overflow prevention zone is located above an electrolyte injection port in the electrolyte injection nozzle”. The recitation regarding an electrolyte injection nozzle is not positively claimed to defining “an end cover”, thus as long as the cited prior art has an end cover with a first hole section that is capable of accommodating an electrolyte injection nozzle, it would be considered as reading on the claim.
5. Claim 2 depending from claim 1, as set forth above, the recitations “the outer wall of the electrolyte injection nozzle” and “the electrolyte injection port of the electrolyte injection nozzle” are not positively claimed structures defining “the end cover of claim 1”, thus as long as the cited prior art has an end cover with a first hole section with a hole wall and is capable of accommodating an electrolyte injection nozzle, it would be considered as reading on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-6, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20100159320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an end cover (cap plate 30, [0034] and FIG. 3) applied to a battery cell ([0022] and FIG. 1), wherein the end cover comprises: a cover body having an electrolyte injection hole (33, [0034] and FIG.3) running through two sides in a thickness direction of the cover body, the electrolyte injection hole comprising a first hole section (63 first guide member, [0058] and FIG.5) and a second hole section (62 small diameter opening [0058] and FIG.5), the first hole section and the second hole section being opened top-down in the thickness direction of the cover body, and the first hole section and the second hole section being connected at two ends in close proximity to each other (FIG. 5).
Kim further discloses the electrolyte injection opening enables injecting of the electrolyte solution ([0009]). In light of the claim interpretation set forth above, further in view of FIGs. 4 and 5, the electrolyte injection opening of Kim has hole wall with at least a part of the hole wall would be capable of accommodating an electrolyte nozzle by fitting with an outer wall of the electrolyte injection nozzle, thus Kim is considered capable of conducting the function and possessing the feature as recited “the first hole section is capable to accommodate an electrolyte injection nozzle, at least a part of a hole wall fits with an outer wall of the electrolyte injection nozzle to form an overflow prevention zone, and the overflow prevention zone is located above an electrolyte injection port in the electrolyte injection nozzle”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. In light of the claim interpretation set forth above, Kim further discloses the first hole section has a tilted guide wall (63, FIG. 5) which would be capable of fitting with the outer wall of an electrolyte injection nozzle, thus Kim is considered possessing the feature as recited “the hole wall of the first hole section fully fits with the outer wall of the electrolyte injection nozzle, and the electrolyte injection port of the electrolyte injection nozzle extends into the second hole section”.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein hole diameters of the first hole section gradually decrease from top to bottom (63, FIG. 5), an end of the second hole section connected to the first hole section is a first junction end, and a hole diameter of the first junction end is equal to a minimum hole diameter of the first hole section (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the electrolyte injection hole further comprises a third hole section (large diameter opening 61, [0058] and FIG. 5), the first hole section being connected between the third hole section and the second hole section; wherein an end of the third hole section connected to the first hole section is a second junction end, and a hole diameter of the second junction end is equal to a maximum hole diameter of the first hole section (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses an included angle between the hole wall of the first hole section and the thickness direction of the cover body is a first included angle and the angle appears to be around 45° (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the cover body comprises a cover portion (30, FIG. 5) and an electrolyte injection platform (protruding platform around D1, FIG. 5), the cover portion having a constructional surface (top surface of 30, FIG. 5), the constructional surface facing away from the interior of the battery cell, the electrolyte injection platform protruding from the constructional surface, and the electrolyte injection hole running through the cover portion and the electrolyte injection platform (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses an end cover assembly (FIG. 3) applied to a battery cell (FIG. 1), wherein the end cover assembly comprises: the end cover (30) according to claim 1; a first sealing member (fixing member 72 and second guide member 73, [0059] [0069] and FIG. 5) disposed inside the electrolyte injection hole and sealing the first hole section and the second hole section (FIG. 5); and a second sealing member (sealing member 71, [0059] and FIG. 5) covering a side of the first sealing member facing away from the interior of the battery cell (FIG. 5). Kim further discloses sealing member 71 substantially corresponding to the large diameter opening 61 and fixing member 72 adapted to be inserted into the small diameter opening 62, and the sealing member 71 includes an inner side that contacts the bottom surface 611 of the large diameter opening 61, forming a sealing structure ([0058-0059] and FIG. 5) which teaches the sealing member 71 hermetically connected to the cover body, via the surface contact between sealing member 71 and the bottom surface 611 of the large diameter opening 61 (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses a battery cell (FIG. 2), comprising: a housing enclosing (case 20, [0043] and FIG. 1) an accommodating cavity having an opening (open side, [0043]); an electrode assembly accommodated in the accommodating cavity (FIG. 1); and the end cover assembly according to claim 11; wherein the end cover assembly covers the opening (close and seal [0043] and FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1), as applied to claim 6, in view of Stocchiero (US 4467021 A, IDS 7/9/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses wherein the electrolyte injection platform appears to have a peripheral side wall (outside wall of the protruding platform FIG. 5), the peripheral side wall surrounding an axial direction of the electrolyte injection hole (FIG. 5).
While Kim has concerns that since the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap are respectively formed in the cylindrical shape and the circular shape, a wide interference area may be formed between the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap ([0010] and [0014]), Kim does not explicitly disclose the peripheral side wall being constructed with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole.
Stocchiero, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a ring projected in respect to the electrolyte inlet’s surface acting as a barrier to prevent eventual leaks of overflown electrolyte at recharging , and provides for a perfect seal when the top-cover is put in place (Para3/Col5), and FIG. 10, the enlargement of construction details of the mouth-piece enabling air-tight sealing of the top-cover on the lid without a gasket, the protrusion of 19 shows the claimed feature “the peripheral side wall being constructed with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the peripheral side wall of Kim with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole as taught by Stocchiero, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success in providing a perfect seal between the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. While modified Kim is concerned about welding quality deterioration if the sealing cap is not smoothly fixed ([0012]), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose the cover portion constructed with an avoidance groove, the avoidance groove being recessed toward the interior of the battery cell, and a bottom surface of the avoidance groove serving as the constructional surface.
Stocchiero further teaches an avoidance groove (concave section 15) on the cover portion (cell-lid, Ln57/Col4 and FIG. 9) assuring a perfect seal for the cell-lid welded to the cell-container of the accumulator on the whole surface of its rim (Ln7/Col5); and the avoidance groove being recessed toward the interior of the battery cell, and a bottom surface of the avoidance groove serving as the constructional surface (FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to an ordinary skilled artisan to modify cover portion of Kim with an avoidance groove such that the avoidance groove being recessed toward the interior of the battery cell, and a bottom surface of the avoidance groove serving as the constructional surface, as taught by concave 15 of Stocchiero, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success in assuring a perfect seal and prohibiting welding quality deterioration.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Modified Kim appears to have included D1, D2, and D3 as defined in the claim: a depth of recess of the rolled-edge groove is a first dimension D1, a width of the rolled-edge groove in the thickness direction is a second dimension D2, a side wall of the avoidance groove opposite a groove bottom of the rolled-edge groove is a first side wall, and in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, a distance between the groove bottom of the rolled-edge groove and the first side wall is a third dimension D3.
Modified Kim appears to show a D3 value being more than three times larger than the D1 value (D3 ≥ 3D1), because the length of 15 seems to be more than three times the depth of recess shown as the tip of 19 portion (Stocchiero’s FIG. 9). Further, since the protrusion 19 of Stocchiero seems to be in a tilted angel of 45° (FIG. 10), a skilled artisan would reasonable envisage the D1 value is about the same as D2 in modified Kim, thus D1/D2 would be calculated to be about 1, falling within the range as claimed “2 ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5”.
While modified Kim does not explicitly disclose the claim limitation “the value of D1 ≥ 0.5 mm, D2 ≥ 0.5 mm”, it is considered obvious for being result effective variables selective based on actual demands or the dimensions and features of material being used for constructing a specific battery, which can be varied to have a predictable effect on the final product, absent evidence to the contrary for second consideration. [MPEP 2143.I (D)].
13. Claim 9 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1) in view of Stocchiero (US 4467021 A, IDS of 7/9/2024), as applied to claim 8, further in view of Yamamoto (CN 101083310 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Modified Kim appears to have included D1, D2, and D3 as defined in the claim: a depth of recess of the rolled-edge groove is a first dimension D1, a width of the rolled-edge groove in the thickness direction is a second dimension D2, a side wall of the avoidance groove opposite a groove bottom of the rolled-edge groove is a first side wall, and in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, a distance between the groove bottom of the rolled-edge groove and the first side wall is a third dimension D3.
Modified Kim appears to show a D3 value being more than three times larger than the D1 value (D3 ≥ 3D1), because the length of 15 seems to be more than three times the depth of recess shown as the tip of 19 portion (Stocchiero’s FIG. 9). Further, since the protrusion 19 of Stocchiero seems to be in a tilted angel of 45° (FIG. 10), a skilled artisan would reasonable envisage the D1 value is about the same as D2 in modified Kim, thus D1/D2 would be calculated to be about 1, falling within the range as claimed “2 ≥ D1/D2 ≥ 0.5”.
While modified Kim does not explicitly disclose the claim limitation “the value of D1 ≥ 0.5 mm, D2 ≥ 0.5 mm”, it is considered obvious for being result effective variables selective based on actual demands or the dimensions and features of material being used for constructing a specific battery, which can be varied to have a predictable effect on the final product, absent evidence to the contrary for second consideration. [MPEP 2143.I (D)].
Assuming, arguendo, that modified Kim in view of Stocchiero, for some reason, is not considered to teach the claimed “the value of D1 ≥ 0.5 mm, D2 ≥ 0.5 mm”, as set forth above, the following obviousness rejection is also presented.
Yamamoto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a sealing plug 17 has a disc-shaped head 22 and a cylindrical shaft 23, the top and bottom thickness of the head 22 is 0.5 mm ([0041] and FIG.3).
As shown in FIG. 10 of Stocchiero, a rolled-edge grove (protrusion 19) having a larger value for its depth D1 than the thickness of the empty portion shown above 20 which is supposed to fit in the counter part of a head 22 with a thickness 0.5 mm, taught by Yamamoto. Further since the protrusion 19 is positioned in a tilted angel of about 45° (Stocchiero: FIG. 10), which means the width D2 of the rolled-edge grove of the electrolyte injection platform is also larger than 0.5 mm.
Therefore, in light of Yamamoto’s teaching that the dimension of the head 22 is 0.5 mm, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to prepare the electrolyte injection platform of modified Kim with a rolled-edge grove that has a depth D1 larger than 0.5 mm, and a width D2 larger than 0.5 mm, arriving at the claimed “the value of D1 ≥ 0.5 mm, D2 ≥ 0.5 mm”.
14. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1), as applied to claim 1, in view of Zuo (CN 216120516 U, IDS of 7/9/2024, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. While Kim includes guiding structures (63 and 73, [0034] and FIG. 5), Kim does not explicitly disclose the end cover further comprises a baffle, the baffle being disposed on a side of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell and blocking a flow path of an electrolyte flowing from the electrolyte injection hole to the interior of the battery cell.
Zuo teaches in order to prevent the electrolyte from directly impacting the battery cell during high-pressure liquid injection, thereby preventing electrode material loss ensuring the performance of the battery cell, extending the service life of the battery cell, and preventing short circuits between the positive electrode and negative electrodes of the battery cell, thus improving the safety of the battery cell ([n0005-n0006]), battery cell top cover assembly by setting a guide structure 3 comprising a baffle 31 and a base plate 32 (FIGs. 3 and 4), the baffle 31 being disposed on a side of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell (FIG. 3) such that the electrolyte can flow into the guide space through the inlet 4 and then flow out of the guide space through the outlet 5 at the connection between the baffle 31 and the base plate 32 ([n0040] FIGs. 4 and 5), which teaches the feature of navigating the flow path of an electrolyte away from the positive/negative electrodes, substantially the same as claimed “blocking a flow path of an electrolyte flowing from the electrolyte injection hole to the interior of the battery cell”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to add a baffle disposed on a side of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell and blocking a flow path of an electrolyte flowing from the electrolyte injection hole to the interior of the battery cell, as taught by Zuo, in order to prevent the electrolyte from directly impacting the battery cell during high-pressure liquid injection, thereby preventing electrode material loss ensuring the performance of the battery cell, extending the service life of the battery cell, preventing short circuits between the positive electrode and negative electrodes of the battery cell, and improving the safety of the battery cell.
15. Claims 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1), as applied to claim 11, in view of Guo (CN 205069696 U, IDS of 7/9/2024, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the cover body comprises a cover portion (30, FIG. 5) and an electrolyte injection platform (protruding platform around D1, FIG. 5), the cover portion having a constructional surface (top surface of 30, FIG. 5), the constructional surface facing away from the interior of the battery cell, the electrolyte injection platform protruding from the constructional surface, and the electrolyte injection hole running through the cover portion and the electrolyte injection platform (FIG. 5).
Kim is concerned about welding quality deterioration if the sealing cap is not smoothly fixed ([0012]), and Kim’s second sealing member (71, FIG. 5) has a first sealing portion (central area of bottom surface of 71) covering the top side of the first sealing member (72, FIG. 5) facing away from the interior of the battery cell and a second sealing portion (side edge and bottom surface of 71 surrounding 72) that are interconnected with the first sealing portion (FIG. 5) and the second sealing member (side edge of 71) is bent relative to the first sealing portion toward the interior of the battery cell (FIG. 5) and hermetically connected to an inner side wall of opening 61(FIG. 5) of the electrolyte injection platform, but not hermetically connected to a peripheral side wall of the electrolyte injection platform.
Guo teaches similar concerns of the reliability of the filling hole seal with problems such as incomplete welding or welding microbubbles/cracks that occur due to the relatively long welding path and electrolyte residue on the periphery of the filing hole ([0005]). Guo further teaches a simple and low cost top cover assembly for a secondary battery that can achieve the height and long-lasting sealing of the battery filling hole with improved safety performance and productivity of the battery cell ([0008]), in that the lower part of a sealing cover 3 is turned inward along the protruding ring 114 and engages with the lower edge of 1141 of the protruding ring 114 to achieve a sealing engagement between the sealing cover 3 and the outer wall 112 of the protrusion 11 ([0047]) and FIGs. 14-15), which teaches a second sealing member (sealing cover 3) hermetically connected to a peripheral side wall (outer wall 112) of the electrolyte injection platform (protruding ring 114).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the second sealing member 71 of Kim in the same manner as the sealing cover 3 of Guo with two extending branches as the side edge portions of the second sealing portion of the second sealing member 71 which are turned inwardly along the electrolyte injection platform for a hermetical connection to a peripheral side wall of the electrolyte injection platform, in order to achieve a simple and low cost top cover assembly that can have long-lasting sealing of the battery filling hole with improved safety performance and productivity of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Modified Kim has the peripheral side wall (side wall of opening 61, FIG. 5) surrounds an axial direction of the electrolyte injection hole.
Modified Kim does not explicitly disclose the peripheral side wall is constructed with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole; wherein the second sealing portion comprises a first rolled-edge section and a second rolled-edge section that are interconnected, the first rolled-edge section being connected to the first sealing portion and bent relative to the first sealing portion toward the interior of the battery cell, the first rolled-edge section being hermetically connected to the peripheral side wall, and the second rolled-edge section being bent relative to the first rolled-edge section toward the electrolyte injection hole and being hermetically connected to the rolled-edge groove.
Guo further teaches the peripheral side wall (outer wall 112) of the electrolyte injection platform (protrusion 11) is constructed with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole (FIG. 7) with the second sealing portion (two vertically bent side portions of 3, FIGs. 14-15) comprises a first rolled-edge section and a second rolled-edge section that are interconnected (FIGs. 14-15), the first rolled-edge section being connected to the first sealing portion and bent relative to the first sealing portion toward the interior of the battery cell, the first rolled-edge section being hermetically connected to the peripheral side wall (112, FIGs. 14-15), and the second rolled-edge section being bent relative to the first rolled-edge section toward the electrolyte injection hole and being hermetically connected to the rolled-edge groove (FIGs. 14-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to further modify Kim with the same feature as taught by Guo’s FIGs. 14-15 and arriving at the claimed “the peripheral side wall is constructed with a rolled-edge groove recessed toward the electrolyte injection hole; wherein the second sealing portion comprises a first rolled-edge section and a second rolled-edge section that are interconnected, the first rolled-edge section being connected to the first sealing portion and bent relative to the first sealing portion toward the interior of the battery cell, the first rolled-edge section being hermetically connected to the peripheral side wall, and the second rolled-edge section being bent relative to the first rolled-edge section toward the electrolyte injection hole and being hermetically connected to the rolled-edge groove”, in order to achieve a simple and low cost top cover assembly that can have long-lasting sealing of the battery filling hole with improved safety performance and productivity of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Kim is concerned about welding quality deterioration if the sealing cap is not smoothly fixed ([0012]); and Kim’s the first sealing member (72 and 73, FIG. 5) comprises a main body portion being hermetically connected to the inside of the electrolyte injection hole, (72, FIG. 5).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a positioning portion that is adjacent to the main body portion in the thickness direction located outside the electrolyte injection hole and lapped over a surface of the cover body facing away from the interior of the battery cell; wherein the second sealing member hermetically covers the positioning portion.
Guo teaches similar concerns of the reliability of the filling hole seal with problems such as incomplete welding or welding microbubbles/cracks that occur due to the relatively long welding path and electrolyte residue on the periphery of the filing hole ([0005]). Guo further teaches a simple and low cost top cover assembly for a secondary battery that can achieve the height and long-lasting sealing of the battery filling hole with improved safety performance and productivity of the battery cell ([0008]), in that a sealing plug 2 corresponds to the first sealing member in the claim. Guo’s first sealing member (sealing plug 2) comprises a main body portion (insertion portion 21) and a positioning portion (stop portion 22) ([0050] and FIG. 13). Guo’s FIG. 14 shows the positioning portion adjacent to the main body portion in the thickness direction and located outside the electrolyte injection hole and lapped over a surface of the cover body facing away from the interior of the battery cell; and the second sealing member (sealing cover 3) hermetically covers the positioning portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the first sealing member 72 portion of Kim with an addition of a positioning portion that adjacent to the main body portion in the thickness direction and located outside the electrolyte injection hole and lapped over a surface of the cover body facing away from the interior of the battery cell; and hermetically covered by the second sealing member, in the same manner of the stop portion 22 of the sealing plug 2 as taught by FIG. 14 of Guo, in order to achieve a simple and low cost top cover assembly that can have long-lasting sealing of the battery filling hole with improved safety performance and productivity of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses wherein the first sealing member further comprises a limiting portion (73/73’, FIGs. 5 and 7) located outside the electrolyte injection hole, and the main body portion being connected between the limiting portion and the positioning portion as established in claim 15 by incorporating the positioning portion.
Modified Kim’s limiting portion (73’, FIG. 7) seems to extend downwardly adjacent to a surface of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell sharing a common circular boundary line with the cover body (30, FIG. 5), thus is considered as abutting against a surface of the cover body under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the term “abutting against” to mean being physically touching and sharing a common boundary line.
16. Claim 16 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1) in view of Guo (CN 205069696 U, IDS of 7/9/2024, see machine translation for citation), as applied to claim 15, further in view of Xu (CN 111989801 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses wherein the first sealing member further comprises a limiting portion (73/73’, FIGs. 5 and 7) located outside the electrolyte injection hole, and the main body portion being connected between the limiting portion and the positioning portion as established in claim 15 by incorporating the positioning portion.
Modified Kim’s limiting portion (73’, FIG. 7) seems to extend downwardly adjacent to a surface of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell sharing a common circular boundary line with the cover body (30, FIG. 5), thus is considered as abutting against a surface of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “abutting against” to mean be physically touching and sharing a common boundary line.
Assuming, arguendo, that modified Kim’s 73’, for some reason, is not considered to teach the claimed “abutting against a surface of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell”, as set forth above, the following obviousness rejection is also presented.
Modified Kim is concerned that since the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap are respectively formed in the cylindrical shape and the circular shape, a wide interference area may be formed between the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap ([0010] and [0014]).
Xu teaches the sealing plug 47 includes a fixing part 373 which penetrates the inner portion 91b of the first inlet 291 and is locked on the inner surface around the electrolyte injection port 29, so that the sealing plug 47 can be fixed to the electrolyte injection port 29 ([0118] [0120] and FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the limiting portion 73 of Kim with a fixing part abutting against a surface of the cover body facing the interior of the battery cell, similar to 373 taught by Xu, to fix the first sealing member to the electrolyte injection hole in order to solve the problem of a wide interference area formed between the electrolyte injection opening and the sealing cap.
17. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1), as applied to claim 11, in view of Tada (US 20230198065 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. While Kim is concerned about welding quality deterioration if the sealing cap is not smoothly fixed ([0012]), Kim does not explicitly disclose the second sealing member comprises a hot melt layer and a thermal conductive layer that are stacked, the hot melt layer being located between the thermal conductive layer and the cover body, and the hot melt layer being thermally meltable to hermetically connect the thermal conductive layer and the cover body.
Tada teaches a sealed battery that can suppress the liquid leakage of the electrolyte ([0006]) with a sealing plug 30 including a plate-shaped flange part 34 ([0038] and FIG. 2) stacked on a sealing member 40 arranged between the sealing plate 22 and the flange part 34 ([0040] and FIG. 2); the plate-shaped flange part 34 is a metal member ([0044]) which is considered as thermally conductive by nature; and the sealing member 40 is a material used for sealing with choices such as polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) among the list ([0045]) which means the sealing member 40 is obvious to be a hot melt layer by selecting polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE). FIG. 2 of Tada shows the hot melt layer being located between the thermal conductive layer and the cover body, because the plate-shaped flange part 34 corresponding to a thermal conductive layer made of metal and the sealing member 40 corresponding to a hot melt layer when selecting polypropylene (PP), or polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) from other choices ([0045]); and the sealing plate 22 corresponding to the cover body in the claim. Tada further teaches the sealing member 40 closes the gap between the sealing plug 30 and the sealing plate 22 to inhibit the liquid leakage of the electrolyte ([0040]), which teaches “the hot melt layer being thermally meltable to hermetically connect the thermal conductive layer and the cover body”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify Kim’s second sealing member in the same manner as the plate-shaped flange part 34 being stacked on a sealing member 40 taught by Tada’s, thus arrive at the claimed “the second sealing member comprises a hot melt layer and a thermal conductive layer that are stacked, the hot melt layer being located between the thermal conductive layer and the cover body, and the hot melt layer being thermally meltable to hermetically connect the thermal conductive layer and the cover body” without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success in suppressing the liquid leakage of the electrolyte in a sealed battery.
18. Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20100159320 A1), as applied to claim 17, in view of Lim (US 20200020896 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. While Kim mentions in the background section a large capacity rechargeable battery includes a plurality of unit rechargeable batteries ([0006]), Kim does not explicitly disclose a battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 17.
Lim teaches a battery (battery module 200) that comprising the battery cell (100) with an end cover (30 cap plate, [0031] and FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to prepare a battery module as taught by Lim that comprising the battery cell of claim 17, in order to achieve a large capacity rechargeable battery.
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses all of the limitations set forth above. While Kim mentions in the background section a hybrid vehicle using a large capacity rechargeable battery includes a plurality of unit rechargeable batteries ([0005-0006]), Kim does not explicitly disclose an electric apparatus, comprising the battery according to claim 18, wherein the battery is configured to supply electrical energy.
Lim further teaches an electric apparatus (external device, [0071]) requiring electrical energy may be connected to a bus bar 105 (FIG. 6), which inherently teaches the claimed “an electric apparatus, comprising the battery according to claim 18, wherein the battery is configured to supply electrical energy.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to manufacture an electric apparatus that comprises a battery module of claim 18 as taught by Lim in order to provide sufficiently large capacity of energy to power an electric apparatus.
Conclusion
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/23/2026
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751