DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings filed April 3, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every claim objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed January 20, 2026. Claims 1-7, 10-17, and 20-24 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 10-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant argues the prior art of record did not teach wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Examiner submits Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442) teaches the new limitations, for the reasons detailed below (see Figures 1-2 reproduced below).
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 20-24 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues Storey as modified by Kang does not teach “at least one engaging protrusion, disposed on the first side portion or second side portion, wherein the at least one engaged recess and the at least one engaging protrusion are matching each other, and the at least one engaging protrusion is configured to be engaged with the at least one engaging recess” (Arguments, page 13). Applicant’s arguments are directed at Kang not teaching the cited limitation. Id. However, Examiner submits Storey, not Kang, discloses the cited limitations for the reasons detailed herein, starting on page 22. Kang is cited to teach the separate limitation of “wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, and the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion.”
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed herein, claims 20-24 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US Publication No. 2018/0063302) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a protective pad (support component 40), configured to be disposed on a device body (case 5) having at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32), and the protective pad (40) comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including first support part 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including second support part 43) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including main body part 41 and claw parts 45), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), and the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 6); and at least one second engaging structure (42, 43), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) or the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (32) and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43; see Paragraph [0037]) are matching each other (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0037]), and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) is configured to be engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (32), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45) comprises an engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41), the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43).
Suzuki does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Suzuki to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Paragraph [0034]-[0035] and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein the protective pad (40) comprises two second engaging structures (42, 43), the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (42, 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 6-7, where width/thickness dimension of 42 and 43 protrude inwards, toward AX from different directions).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 3, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein distances from the connecting portion (Figure 6, from center of 41 along AX) to each of the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are identical (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses an electronic device, comprising: a device body (case 5), comprising at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32); and at least one protective pad (support component 40), disposed on the device body (5) and comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (sides of corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), and the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 6-7); and at least one second engaging structure (42, 43), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) or the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (32) and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (32), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45) comprises an engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41), the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43).
Suzuki does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Suzuki to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein the protective pad (40) comprises two second engaging structures (42, 43), the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (42, 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 6-7, where width/thickness dimension of 42 and 43 protrude inwards, toward AX from different directions).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein distances from the connecting portion (Figure 6, from center of 41 long AX) to each of the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are identical (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein the device body (5) further comprises an engaging part (component mounting part 31), and the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) is engaged with the engaging part (31).
Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442).
Regarding claim 1, Storey discloses a protective pad (Figures 10A-10F, comprised of bumpers 3 and hooks 5), configured to be disposed on a device body (chassis 2) having at least one first engaging structure (grooves 6), and the protective pad (comprised of bumpers 3 and hooks 5) comprising: a pad body (3), comprising a first side portion (first side of 3, connected to first side of 2), a second side portion (second side of 2, connected to second side of 2) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 3, connected to corner of 2), wherein the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 3), and the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10C); and at least one second engaging structure (hooks 5), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) or the second side portion (second side of 3), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (6) and the at least one second engaging structure (5) are matching each other (see Figure 10F), and the at least one second engaging structure (5) is configured to be engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (6), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 3) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3).
Storey does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Storey to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Regarding claim 3, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the protective pad (3, 5) comprises two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3), the two second engaging structures (first and second 5) are disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10C).
Regarding claim 10, Storey discloses an electronic device (comprised of device 10 and chassis 2), comprising: a device body (2), comprising at least one first engaging structure (Figure 10, grooves 6); and at least one protective pad (bumpers 3), disposed on the device body (2) and comprising: a pad body (body of 3), comprising a first side portion (first side of 3, connected to first side of 2), a second side portion (second side of 3, connected to second side of 2), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 3, connected to corner of 2), wherein the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 3), and the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10); and at least one second engaging structure (hooks 5), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) or the second side portion (second side of 3), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (6) and the at least one second engaging structure (5) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (5) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (6), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 3) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3).
Storey does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Storey to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Regarding claim 12, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the protective pad (3, 5) comprises two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3), the two second engaging structures (first and second 5) are disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10C).
Regarding claim 17, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the device body (2) further comprises an engaging part (middle 6), and the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) is engaged with the engaging part (middle 6).
In the event Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation of Storey, claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses an electronic device (electronic device 10), comprising: a device body (housing 12), comprising at least one first engaging structure (slots 28); and at least one protective pad (protective gasket 16), disposed on the device body (10) and comprising: a pad body (body of 16), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 16), a second side portion (second arm of 16) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 16), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 16), and the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 4); and at least one second engaging structure (protruding end 26), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 16) or the second side portion (second arm of 16), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (28) and the at least one second engaging structure (26) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (26) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (28) , wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 16) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 16 aligned with and including 48), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 16 aligned with and including 48) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16).
Xu does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Xu to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Xu) wherein the protective pad (16) comprises two second engaging structures (26), the two second engaging structures (26) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (26) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 4).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), and in further view of Ikuta (US Publication No. 2015/0177453).
Regarding claim 5, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Storey as modified by Yokobori to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 14, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Storey as modified by Yokobori to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), and in further view of Kang (US Patent 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 6, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, and the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner piece 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Storey as modified by Yokobori. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 7, Storey in view of Yokobori and Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 6, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 3 in Storey), the protective pad (3) is divided into a first portion (top half of 3) and a second portion (bottom half of 3) via the reference plane (horizontal line through center of 3), and the first portion (top half of 3) and the second portion (second half of 3) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 3).
While Storey suggests engagement parts 5 are in the middle of pad 3, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 5 in Storey and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 3 of Storey to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 15, Storey in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, but does not disclose at least one fastener, wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion, and the at least one fastener is fastened into the at least one fastening hole to fix the at least one protective pad to the device body.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner pieces 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), at least one fastener (Figure 6a-6b, screws), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), and the at least one fastener (screws) is fastened into the at least one fastening hole (742) to fix the at least one protective pad (72) to a device body (71). .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Storey as modified by Yokobori. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 16, Storey in view of Yokobori and Kang teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 3 in Storey), the protective pad (3) is divided into a first portion (top half of 3) and a second portion (bottom half of 3) via the reference plane (horizontal line through center of 3), and the first portion (top half of 3) and the second portion (second half of 3) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 3).
While Storey suggests engagement parts 5 are in the middle of pad 3, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 5 in Storey and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 3 of Storey to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Alternatively, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), and in further view of Ikuta (US Publication No. 2015/0177453).
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, but does not teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Xu as modified by Yokobori to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Alternatively, claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), and in further view of Kang (US Publication 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 15, Xu in view of Yokobori teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, but does not teach at least one fastener, wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion, and the at least one fastener is fastened into the at least one fastening hole to fix the at least one protective pad to the device body.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner pieces 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), at least one fastener (Figure 6a-6b, screws), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), and the at least one fastener (screws) is fastened into the at least one fastening hole (742) to fix the at least one protective pad (72) to a device body (71).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Xu as modified by Yokobori. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Yokobori and Kang teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 16 in Xu), the protective pad (16 in Xu) is divided into a first portion (top half of 16) and a second portion (second half of 16) via the reference plane, and the first portion (top half of 16) and the second portion (second half of 16) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 16).
While Xu suggests engagement parts 26 and 48 are in the middle of pad 16, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 26, 48 in Xu and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 16 of Xu to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421) in view of Kang (US Patent 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 20, Storey discloses a protective pad (Figures 10A-10F, comprised of bumpers 3 and hooks 5), configured to be disposed on a device body (chassis 2) having at least one engaging recess (grooves 6), and the protective pad (3, 5) comprising: a pad body (3, middle 5), comprising a first side portion (first side of 3, connected to first side of 2), a second side portion (second side of 3, connected to second side of 2) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 3, connected to corner of 2), wherein the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 3), and the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 10A-10F); and at least one engaging protrusion (5 connected to first or second side of 3), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) or the second side portion (second side of 3), wherein the at least one engaging recess (6) and the at least one engaging protrusion (5) are matching each other (see Figures 10A-10F), and the at least one engaging protrusion (5) is configured to be engaged with the at least one engaging recess (6).
Storey does not disclose wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, and the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner piece 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Storey. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 22, Storey in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 3 in Storey), the protective pad (3) is divided into a first portion (top half of 3) and a second portion (bottom half of 3) via the reference plane (horizontal line through center of 3), and the first portion (top half of 3) and the second portion (second half of 3) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 3).
While Storey suggests engagement parts 5 are in the middle of pad 3, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 5 in Storey and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 3 of Storey to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 23, Stroey in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 3, including middle 5) comprises an engaging portion (middle 5), and the engaging portion (middle 5) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Kang (US Patent 2003/0147023), and in further view of Suzuki (US Publication No. 2018/0063302).
Regarding claim 21, Storey in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and suggests wherein a length of the first side portion is equal to a length of the second side portion.
However, Suzuki explicitly teaches a protective pad (support component 40), configured to be disposed on a device body (case 5) having at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32), and the protective pad (40) comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including first support part 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including second support part 43) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including main body part 41 and claw parts 45), wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second side portions of Storey as modified by Kang to be equal lengths, as explicitly taught in Suzuki, considering a change in shape has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature is significant, see MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.), and considering the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range because doing so would have created a symmetric pad body (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] in Suzuki).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Kang (US Patent 2003/0147023), and in further view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442).
Regarding claim 24, Storey in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, but does not teach wherein the connecting portion has a through hole.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Storey as modified by Kang to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Alternatively, claims 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS) in view of Kang (US Publication 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses a protective pad (protective gasket 16), configured to be disposed on a device body (electronic device 10) having at least one engaging recess (slot 28), and the protective pad (16) comprising: a pad body (body of 16, including 48), comprising a first side portion (first side of 16), a second side portion (second side of 16) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 16, including 48), wherein the first side portion (first side of 16) and the second side portion (second side of 16) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 16, including 48), and the first side portion (first side of 16) and the second side portion (second side of 16) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 4-5); and at least one engaging protrusion (protruding ends 26), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 16) or the second side portion (second side of 16), wherein the at least one engaging recess (28) and the at least one engaging protrusion (26) are matching each other (see Figures 4-5), and the at least one engaging protrusion (26) is configured to be engaged with the at least one engaging recess (28).
Xu does not disclose wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, and the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner piece 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Xu. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 22, Xu in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 16 in Xu), the protective pad (16 in Xu) is divided into a first portion (top half of 16) and a second portion (second half of 16) via the reference plane, and the first portion (top half of 16) and the second portion (second half of 16) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 16).
While Xu suggests engagement parts 26 and 48 are in the middle of pad 16, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 26, 48 in Xu and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 16 of Xu to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 23, Xu as modified by Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and further teaches (in Xu) wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 16, including 48) comprises an engaging portion (48), and the engaging portion (48) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 16) and the second side portion (second side of 16).
Alternatively, claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Kang (US Publication 2003/0147023), and in further view of Suzuki (US Publication No. 2018/0063302).
Regarding claim 21, Xu in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, and further suggests wherein a length of the first side portion is equal to a length of the second side portion.
However, Suzuki teaches a protective pad (support component 40), configured to be disposed on a device body (case 5) having at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32), and the protective pad (40) comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including first support part 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including second support part 43) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including main body part 41 and claw parts 45), wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second side portions of Xu as modified by Kang to be equal lengths, as explicitly taught in Suzuki, considering a change in shape has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature is significant, see MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.), and considering the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range because doing so would have created a symmetric pad body (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035] in Suzuki).
Alternatively, claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Kang (US Publication 2003/0147023), and in further view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442).
Regarding claim 24, Xu in view of Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 20, but does not teach wherein the connecting portion has a through hole.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Xu as modified by Kang to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Nos. 6655540 7929297 9462890 teach elements of the claimed invention.
US Publication Nos. 20010048586 20100226078 20100296231 teach elements of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841 gsc