DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 10-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments are directed at clarifying the through-hole in the pad body overlaps with a portion of the device body in the thickness direction. While Examiner agreed in the Interview on July 23, 2026 that Figures 1-3 of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442) does not teach the clarifying amendments, Examiner submits Figure 11 of Yokobori could be used to teach the clarifying amendments (see Figure 11 below).
However, after further search and consideration, Examiner submits Chen (US Publication No. D939511) teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures below) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures below) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures below).
Examiner also submits the following references could also be used to teach the clarifying limitations.
Tosh (US Patent No. D888050), see Figure 1 below:
Cheng (US Patent No. D942445), see Figures 14 and 21 below:
Chen (US Publication No. 2021/0026405), see Figure 9 below:
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 1-7 and 10-16 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US Publication No. 2018/0063302) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442) and Chen (US Publication No. D939511).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a protective pad (support component 40), configured to be disposed on a device body (case 5) having at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32), and the protective pad (40) comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including first support part 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including second support part 43) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including main body part 41 and claw parts 45), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) protrudes toward a first direction (see Figures 2 and 6), and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) protrudes toward a second direction (see Figures 2 and 6) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (see Figures 2 and 6); and at least one second engaging structure (42, 43), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) or the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (32) and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43; see Paragraph [0037]) are matching each other (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0037]), and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) is configured to be engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (32), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45) comprises an engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41), the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), and the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) is engaged with an engaging part of the device body (component mounting part 31 of 5).
Suzuki does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Suzuki to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Suzuki in view of Yokobori does not explicitly teach wherein when the engaging portion is engaged to the engaging part, an orthogonal projection of the through hole along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body, and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Chen teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures above) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures above) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the through hole of Suzuki as modified by Yokobori to be arranged within the pad body such that the through-hole overlapped with a portion of the device body, as taught in Chen, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing through-holes within corner pads of an electronic device, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also provided for a more inconspicuous corner pad while still allowing for a tether to be securely attached thereto (see Figures 1-3, 11 and Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] in Yokobori; see Figures 1, 9 in Chen).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Paragraph [0034]-[0035] and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein the protective pad (40) comprises two second engaging structures (42, 43), the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (42, 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 6-7, where width/thickness dimension of 42 and 43 protrude inwards, toward AX from different directions).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 3, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein distances from the connecting portion (Figure 6, from center of 41 along AX) to each of the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are identical (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses an electronic device, comprising: a device body (case 5), comprising an engaging part (component mounting part 31) and at least one first engaging structure (support inserting parts 32); and at least one protective pad (support component 40), disposed on the device body (5) and comprising: a pad body (body of 40), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42), a second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (sides of corner portion of 40, including 41, 45), the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) protrudes toward a first direction (see Figures 2 and 6), and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43) protrudes toward a second direction (see Figures 2 and 6) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (see Figures 2 and 6); and at least one second engaging structure (42, 43), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) or the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (32) and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (42, 43) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (32), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 40, including 41, 45) comprises an engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41), the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), and the engaging portion (corner portion of 40, including 41) is engaged with the engaging part of the device body (component mounting part 31 of 5).
Suzuki does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Suzuki to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Suzuki in view of Yokobori does not explicitly teach wherein when the engaging portion is engaged to the engaging part, an orthogonal projection of the through hole along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body, and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Chen teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures above) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures above) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the through hole of Suzuki as modified by Yokobori to be arranged within the pad body such that the through-hole overlapped with a portion of the device body, as taught in Chen, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing through-holes within corner pads of an electronic device, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also provided for a more inconspicuous corner pad while still allowing for a tether to be securely attached thereto (see Figures 1-3, 11 and Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] in Yokobori; see Figures 1, 9 in Chen).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein a length of the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) is equal to a length of the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43; see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein the protective pad (40) comprises two second engaging structures (42, 43), the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 40, including 42) and the second side portion (second arm of 40, including 43), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (42, 43) protrude toward different directions (see Figures 6-7, where width/thickness dimension of 42 and 43 protrude inwards, toward AX from different directions).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, and further teaches (in Suzuki) wherein distances from the connecting portion (Figure 6, from center of 41 long AX) to each of the two second engaging structures (42, 43) are identical (see Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]).
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442) and Chen (US Publication No. D939511).
Regarding claim 1, Storey discloses a protective pad (Figures 10A-10F, comprised of bumpers 3 and hooks 5), configured to be disposed on a device body (chassis 2) having at least one first engaging structure (grooves 6), and the protective pad (comprised of bumpers 3 and hooks 5) comprising: a pad body (3), comprising a first side portion (first side of 3, connected to first side of 2), a second side portion (second side of 2, connected to second side of 2) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 3, connected to corner of 2), wherein the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 3), the first side portion (first side of 3) protrudes toward a first direction (see Figures 10A-10F) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrudes toward a second direction (see Figure 10A-10F) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (see Figures 10A-10F); and at least one second engaging structure (hooks 5), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) or the second side portion (second side of 3), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (6) and the at least one second engaging structure (5) are matching each other (see Figure 10F), and the at least one second engaging structure (5) is configured to be engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (6), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 3) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), and the engaging portion (middle 6) is engaged with an engaging part (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) of the device body (2).
Storey does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Storey to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Storey in view of Yokobori does not explicitly teach wherein when the engaging portion is engaged to the engaging part, an orthogonal projection of the through hole along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body, and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Chen teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures above) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures above) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the through hole of Storey as modified by Yokobori to be arranged within the pad body such that the through-hole overlapped with a portion of the device body, as taught in Chen, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing through-holes within corner pads of an electronic device, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also provided for a more inconspicuous corner pad while still allowing for a tether to be securely attached thereto (see Figures 1-3, 11 and Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] in Yokobori; see Figures 1, 9 in Chen).
Regarding claim 3, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the protective pad (3, 5) comprises two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3), the two second engaging structures (first and second 5) are disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10C).
Regarding claim 10, Storey discloses an electronic device (comprised of device 10 and chassis 2), comprising: a device body (2), comprising an engaging part (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) and at least one first engaging structure (Figure 10, grooves 6); and at least one protective pad (bumpers 3), disposed on the device body (2) and comprising: a pad body (body of 3), comprising a first side portion (first side of 3, connected to first side of 2), a second side portion (second side of 3, connected to second side of 2), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 3, connected to corner of 2), wherein the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 3), and the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10), the first side portion (first side of 3) protrudes toward a first direction (see Figures 10A-10F) and the second side portion (second side of 3) protrudes toward a second direction (see Figure 10A-10F) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (see Figures 10A-10F); and at least one second engaging structure (hooks 5), disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) or the second side portion (second side of 3), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (6) and the at least one second engaging structure (5) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (5) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (6), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 3) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) extends into a space between the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), and the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 40 aligned with and including middle 5) is engaged with an engaging part (middle 6) of the device body (2).
Storey does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Storey to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Storey in view of Yokobori does not explicitly teach wherein when the engaging portion is engaged to the engaging part, an orthogonal projection of the through hole along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body, and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Chen teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures above) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures above) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the through hole of Storey as modified by Yokobori to be arranged within the pad body such that the through-hole overlapped with a portion of the device body, as taught in Chen, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing through-holes within corner pads of an electronic device, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also provided for a more inconspicuous corner pad while still allowing for a tether to be securely attached thereto (see Figures 1-3, 11 and Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] in Yokobori; see Figures 1, 9 in Chen).
Regarding claim 12, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Storey) wherein the protective pad (3, 5) comprises two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3), the two second engaging structures (first and second 5) are disposed on the first side portion (first side of 3) and the second side portion (second side of 3), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (hooks 5 connected to first and second sides of 3) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 10C).
In the event Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation of Storey, claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS) in view of Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442) and Chen (US Publication No. D939511).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses an electronic device (electronic device 10), comprising: a device body (housing 12), comprising an engaging part (first engaging portion 46) and at least one first engaging structure (slots 28); and at least one protective pad (protective gasket 16), disposed on the device body (10) and comprising: a pad body (body of 16), comprising a first side portion (first arm of 16), a second side portion (second arm of 16) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 16), wherein the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16) are connected to two opposite sides of the connecting portion (corner portion of 16), the first side portion (first arm of 16) protrudes toward a first direction (see Figures 1 and 4-5) and the second side portion (second arm of 16) protrudes toward a second direction (see Figures 1 and 4-5) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (see Figures 1 and 4-5); and at least one second engaging structure (protruding end 26), disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 16) or the second side portion (second arm of 16), wherein the at least one first engaging structure (28) and the at least one second engaging structure (26) are matching each other, and the at least one second engaging structure (26) is engaged with the at least one first engaging structure (28), wherein the connecting portion (corner portion of 16) comprises an engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 16 aligned with and including 48), the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 16 aligned with and including 48) extends into a space between the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16), and the engaging portion (middle of corner portion of 16 aligned with and including 48) is engaged with an engaging part (46) of the device body (2)..
Xu does not disclose wherein the connecting portion has a through hole located on the engaging portion, the through hole has two openings, one of the openings is located closer to the first side portion, and the other of the openings is located closer to the second side portion.
However, Yokobori teaches a protective pad (holder 22) comprising first side portion (first side portion of 22), a second side portion (second side portion of 22), and a connecting portion (corner portion of 22) having an engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), wherein a connecting portion (corner portion of holder 22) has a through hole (aperture 24) located on the engaging portion (corner portion of 22 including aperture 24), the through hole (24) has two openings (first and second side openings of 24), one of the openings (first opening of 24) is located closer to the first side portion (first side arm of 22), and the other of the openings (second side opening of 24) is located closer to the second side portion (second side arm of 22).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging portion of Xu to include the through-hole of Yokobori. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the protective pad by allowing the connecting portion of the protective pad to accommodate a holding strap (see Paragraph [0003] in Yokobori).
Xu in view of Yokobori does not explicitly teach wherein when the engaging portion is engaged to the engaging part, an orthogonal projection of the through hole along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body, and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Chen teaches wherein when an engaging portion (see annotated Figures above) is engaged to an engaging part (portion of notebook engaged with engaging part), an orthogonal projection of the through hole (see annotated Figures above) along a thickness direction at least partially overlaps with the device body (body of notebook computer), and the thickness direction is orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Figures above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the through hole of Xu as modified by Yokobori to be arranged within the pad body such that the through-hole overlapped with a portion of the device body, as taught in Chen, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing through-holes within corner pads of an electronic device, and considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Doing so would have also provided for a more inconspicuous corner pad while still allowing for a tether to be securely attached thereto (see Figures 1-3, 11 and Paragraphs [0025]-[0029] in Yokobori; see Figures 1, 9 in Chen).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, and further teaches (in Xu) wherein the protective pad (16) comprises two second engaging structures (26), the two second engaging structures (26) are disposed on the first side portion (first arm of 16) and the second side portion (second arm of 16), respectively, and the two second engaging structures (26) protrude toward different directions (see Figure 4).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), Chen (US Publication No. D939511), and in further view of Ikuta (US Publication No. 2015/0177453).
Regarding claim 5, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Storey as modified by Yokobori and Chen to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 14, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Storey as modified by Yokobori and Chen to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Storey (US Publication No. 2024/0275421), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), Chen (US Publication No. D939511), and in further view of Kang (US Patent 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 6, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the protective pad according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, and the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner piece 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Storey as modified by Yokobori and Chen. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 7, Storey in view of Yokobori, Chen, and Kang teaches the protective pad according to claim 6, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 3 in Storey), the protective pad (3) is divided into a first portion (top half of 3) and a second portion (bottom half of 3) via the reference plane (horizontal line through center of 3), and the first portion (top half of 3) and the second portion (second half of 3) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 3).
While Storey suggests engagement parts 5 are in the middle of pad 3, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 5 in Storey and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 3 of Storey to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 15, Storey in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, but does not disclose at least one fastener, wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion, and the at least one fastener is fastened into the at least one fastening hole to fix the at least one protective pad to the device body.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner pieces 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), at least one fastener (Figure 6a-6b, screws), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), and the at least one fastener (screws) is fastened into the at least one fastening hole (742) to fix the at least one protective pad (72) to a device body (71).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Storey as modified by Yokobori and Chen. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 16, Storey in view of Yokobori, Chen, and Kang teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 3 in Storey), the protective pad (3) is divided into a first portion (top half of 3) and a second portion (bottom half of 3) via the reference plane (horizontal line through center of 3), and the first portion (top half of 3) and the second portion (second half of 3) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 3).
While Storey suggests engagement parts 5 are in the middle of pad 3, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 5 in Storey and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 3 of Storey to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Alternatively, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), Chen (US Publication No. D939511), and in further view of Ikuta (US Publication No. 2015/0177453).
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 12, but does not teach wherein distances from the connecting portion to each of the two second engaging structures are different.
However, Ikuta teaches a body comprising a first side portion (first arm of 130), second side portion (second arm of 130), a connecting portion (corner portion of 130), and two second engaging structures (comprised of holes 131 and screws 132) disposed on the first side portion (first side of 130) or the second side portion (second side of 130), wherein distances from the connecting portion (corner portion of 130) to each of the two second engaging structures (131, 132) are different (see Figures 13-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two second engaging structures of Xu as modified by Yokobori and Chen to be at different distances from the connecting portion as taught in Ikuta, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Alternatively, claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN Publication No. 203951702, as cited in IDS), Yokobori (US Publication No. 2001/0035442), Chen (US Publication No. D939511), and in further view of Kang (US Publication 2003/0147023).
Regarding claim 15, Xu in view of Yokobori and Chen teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, but does not teach at least one fastener, wherein the pad body has at least one fastening hole, the at least one fastening hole is located on the first side portion or the second side portion, and the at least one fastener is fastened into the at least one fastening hole to fix the at least one protective pad to the device body.
However, Kang teaches a pad body (corner pieces 72) comprising a first side portion (first lateral fixing portion 722), a second side portion (second lateral fixing portion 722) and a connecting portion (corner portion of 72), two second engaging structure (holes 732) disposed on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), at least one fastener (Figure 6a-6b, screws), wherein the pad body (72) has at least one fastening hole (holes 742), and the at least one fastening hole (742) is located on the first side portion (first 722) or the second side portion (second 722), and the at least one fastener (screws) is fastened into the at least one fastening hole (742) to fix the at least one protective pad (72) to a device body (71).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the fastening holes and screws of Kang to the protective pad and device of Xu as modified by Yokobori and Chen. Doing so would have further secured the pad body to the device housing, ensuring a secure connection (see Figures 6a-6b and Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] in Kang).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Yokobori, Chen, and Kang teaches the electronic device according to claim 15, and further teaches wherein a reference plane is defined as passing through a central line of the at least one fastening hole (horizontal, center line through 742 from Kang combined to 16 in Xu), the protective pad (16 in Xu) is divided into a first portion (top half of 16) and a second portion (second half of 16) via the reference plane, and the first portion (top half of 16) and the second portion (second half of 16) are in planar symmetry relative to the reference plane (horizontal, center plane of 16).
While Xu suggests engagement parts 26 and 48 are in the middle of pad 16, and while Kang suggests holes 742 are located in the middle of pad 72, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged engagement parts 26, 48 in Xu and fastening holes 742 from Kang to be located in the middle of pad 16 of Xu to establish a planar symmetry, considering it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc