DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed April 27, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every, claim objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth the Non-final Action mailed January 27, 2026. Claims 1-18 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Willis (US Publication No. 2002/0093797) does not teach the claim amendments. However, Pham (US Publication No. 2021/0410315), not Willis, was previously cited to teach the subject matter of current claim amendments. For the reasons detailed in the rejections below, Examiner submits Pham teaches the claim amendments. Therefore, claim 1-18 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper rear wall component riser portion" in line 19. There is improper antecedent basis for this limitation. A portion of claim 2 has been inserted into claim 1 to provide antecedent basis (see bolded portion in rejection below).
Claim 2, lines 6-8 states, “the upper rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising … a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was previously introduced in claim 1, upon which claim 2 is dependent. Claim 2 also states, in lines 2-3, the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion. However, it is unclear how “the upper wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising a rear wall component riser portion” and “the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion.”
Claim 2, lines 10-11, introduces “a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was introduced in claim 1 and previously in claim 2. It is unclear if this is a third “rear wall component riser portion” or if the limitation should read “the rear wall component riser portion”. The latter portion will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claims 2-6 are also rejected due to their dependency.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the upper rear wall component riser portion" in lines 23-24. There is improper antecedent basis for this limitation. A portion of claim 8 has been inserted into claim 7 to provide antecedent basis (see bolded portion in rejection below).
Claim 8, lines 6-8 states, “the upper rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising … a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was previously introduced in claim 7, upon which claim 8 is dependent. Claim 8 also states, in lines 2-3, states the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion. However, it is unclear how “the upper wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising a rear wall component riser portion” and “the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion.”
Claim 8, lines 10-11, introduces “a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was introduced in claim 7 and previously in claim 8. It is unclear if this is a third “rear wall component riser portion” or if the limitation should read “the rear wall component riser portion”. The latter portion will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claims 8-12 are also rejected due to their dependency.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the upper rear wall component riser portion" in line 24-25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A portion of claim 14 has been inserted into claim 13 to provide antecedent basis (see bolded portion in rejection below).
Claim 14, lines 6-8 states, “the upper rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising … a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was previously introduced in claim 13, upon which claim 14 is dependent. Claim 14 also states, in lines 2-3, that the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion. However, it is unclear how “the upper wall component riser portion comprises an upper riser feature, the upper riser feature comprising a rear wall component riser portion” and “the rear wall component riser portion comprises an upper wall component riser portion.”
Claim 14, lines 10-11, introduces “a rear wall component riser portion.” However, “a rear wall component riser portion” was introduced in claim 13 and previously in claim 14. It is unclear if this is a third “rear wall component riser portion” or if the limitation should read “the rear wall component riser portion”. The latter portion will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claims 14-18 are also rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US Publication No. 2021/0410315) in view of Willis (US Publication No. 2002/0093797).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Pham discloses a rear wall component of a rear wall system for an information handling system, comprising: a center rear wall component portion (Figures 2A, floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), and wherein the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises a rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) extending inwardly from an inside edge of the center rear wall component portion (rear, inner edge of 144), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2) being configured to physically attach to a riser (148A2) of the information handling system.
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis, the left rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the mounting features of Willis to the rear wall and left/right rear wall component portions of Pham. Doing so would have ensured the rear wall component was properly mounted/aligned within the server during the installation process (see Paragraph [0024] in Willis).
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2); the upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 corresponding to riser 148A2) comprises an upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2), the upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2) comprising a rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2A) and a rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2) is substantially L shaped (Figure 2, L-shaped portions of 146A2 along openings in 146A2); and a lower portion of the rear wall riser bracket (L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to a rear wall component riser portion (146A2) and an upper portion of the rear wall riser bracket (upper portion of L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to an upper riser (148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 3, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 4, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 3, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow the lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 5, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers in 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), Pham discloses a chassis for an information handling system comprising: a chassis rear wall (base 108); and, a rear wall system (tray 106), the rear wall system (106) being configured to be mounted to the chassis rear wall (108), the rear wall system (106) comprising a rear wall component (106), the rear wall component (106) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), and wherein the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises a rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) extending inwardly from an inside edge of the center rear wall component portion (rear, inner edge of 144), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2) being configured to physically attach to a riser (148A2) of the information handling system..
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the chassis rear wall component to a right portion of a chassis rear wall of a chassis, the left chassis rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the chassis rear wall of the chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the chassis rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a chassis rear wall of a chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), the left chassis rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the chassis rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the chassis rear wall of the chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the mounting features of Willis to the rear wall and left/right rear wall component portions of Pham. Doing so would have ensured the rear wall component was properly mounted/aligned within the server during the installation process (see Paragraph [0024] in Willis).
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2); the upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 corresponding to riser 148A2) comprises an upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2), the upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2) comprising a rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2A) and a rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2) is substantially L shaped (Figure 2, L-shaped portions of 146A2 along openings in 146A2); and a lower portion of the rear wall riser bracket (L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to a rear wall component riser portion (146A2) and an upper portion of the rear wall riser bracket (upper portion of L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to an upper riser (148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 9, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 10, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 9, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow the lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 11, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers is 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Pham teaches a system comprising: a processor (GPU 150; see Paragraph [0037]); a data bus (cables 152) coupled to the processor (150; see Paragraph [0040]); and, a chassis (node 100), the chassis (100) containing the processor (150) and the data bus (cable 152), the chassis (100) comprising a rear wall system (trays 106), the rear wall system comprising a rear wall component (106), the rear wall component (106) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (144) and wherein the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises a rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) extending inwardly from an inside edge of the center rear wall component portion (rear, inner edge of 144), the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2) being configured to physically attach to a riser (148A2) of the information handling system.
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a right portion of a rear wall of a chassis, the left rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the rear wall of the chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the rear wall component riser portion (146A2) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 connected to riser 148A2); the upper rear wall component riser portion (portion of 146A2 corresponding to riser 148A2) comprises an upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2), the upper riser feature (portion of 146A2 connected to 148A2) comprising a rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2A) and a rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the rear wall riser bracket (see Figure 2) is substantially L shaped (Figure 2, L-shaped portions of 146A2 along openings in 146A2); and a lower portion of the rear wall riser bracket (L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to a rear wall component riser portion (146A2) and an upper portion of the rear wall riser bracket (upper portion of L-shaped portion of 146A2) is physically coupled to an upper riser (148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 15, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 16, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow the lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 17, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers is 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pham (US Publication No. 2021/0410315), Willis (US Publication No. 2002/0093797), and in further view of Hensley (US Publication No. 2012/0156922).
Regarding claim 6, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, but does not disclose a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the handle, grounding mechanism, and grounding kit of Hensley to the server of Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Regarding claim 12, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the rear wall system comprises a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the handle, grounding mechanism, and grounding kit of Hensley to the server of Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Regarding claim 18, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the rear wall system comprises a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the handle, grounding mechanism, and grounding kit of Hensley to the server of Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc