DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference character “712” is mentioned in Paragraphs [0052] and [0054], but not shown in the Drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 3, “a lower riser” should read --the lower riser-- to avoid improper antecedent basis, considering “a lower riser” was introduced in claim 3 upon which claim 4 is dependent.
In claim 7, lines 17-20, “a rear wall” and “the rear wall” should read --the chassis rear wall-- considering “a chassis rear wall” to avoid confusion and improper antecedent basis, considering “a chassis rear wall” was introduced in line 2.
In claim 7, lines 18 and 20, “a server chassis” and “the server chassis” should likely read “the chassis” to avoid confusion and improper antecedent basis, considering a chassis was introduced in line 1.
In claim 13, lines 19 and 21, “a server chassis” and “the server chassis” should likely read “the chassis” to avoid confusion and improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berry (US Publication No. 2003/0002261).
Regarding claim 1, Berry discloses a rear wall component of a rear wall system for an information handling system, comprising: a center rear wall component portion (Figure 3, center of handle 30); a right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30); and a left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30), and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figures 3 and 7), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a right portion of a rear wall (right portion of panel 19) of a server chassis (tray 10), the left rear wall component portion (left 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a left portion of the rear wall (left portion of 19) of the server chassis (10).
Regarding claim 7, Berry discloses a chassis for an information handling system comprising: a chassis rear wall (panel 19); and, a rear wall system (handle 30), the rear wall system (30) being configured to be mounted to the chassis rear wall (19), the rear wall system (30) comprising a rear wall component (30), the rear wall component (30) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (center of 30); a right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30); and a left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figures 3 and 7), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a right portion of a rear wall (right portion of panel 19) of a server chassis (tray 10), the left rear wall component portion (left 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a left portion of the rear wall (left portion of 19) of the server chassis (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pham (US Publication No. 2021/0410315) in view of Willis (US Publication No. 2002/0093797).
Regarding claim 1, Pham discloses a rear wall component of a rear wall system for an information handling system, comprising: a center rear wall component portion (Figures 2A, floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144).
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis, the left rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the mounting features of Willis to the rear wall and left/right rear wall component portions of Pham. Doing so would have ensured the rear wall component was properly mounted/aligned within the server during the installation process (see Paragraph [0024] in Willis).
Regarding claim 2, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the upper rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach to an upper riser (riser 148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 3, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 4, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 3, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow a lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 5, Pham in view of Willis teaches the rear wall component of claim 1, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers is 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Regarding claim 7, Pham discloses a chassis for an information handling system comprising: a chassis rear wall (base 108); and, a rear wall system (tray 106), the rear wall system (106) being configured to be mounted to the chassis rear wall (108), the rear wall system (106) comprising a rear wall component (106), the rear wall component (106) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward (upward, toward middle) from the center rear wall component portion (144).
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis, the left rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the mounting features of Willis to the rear wall and left/right rear wall component portions of Pham. Doing so would have ensured the rear wall component was properly mounted/aligned within the server during the installation process (see Paragraph [0024] in Willis).
Regarding claim 8, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the upper rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach to an upper riser (riser 148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 9, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 10, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 9, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow a lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 11, Pham in view of Willis teaches the chassis of claim 7, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers is 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Regarding claim 13, Pham teaches a system comprising: a processor (GPU 150; see Paragraph [0037]); a data bus (cables 152) coupled to the processor (150; see Paragraph [0040]); and, a chassis (node 100), the chassis (100) containing the processor (150) and the data bus (cable 152), the chassis (100) comprising a rear wall system (trays 106), the rear wall system comprising a rear wall component (106), the rear wall component (106) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (floor 144); a right rear wall component portion (right portion of front cover 142); and, a left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the center rear wall component portion (144), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figure 2A), the center rear wall component portion (144) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) and the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142), the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (144), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (144).
Pham does not disclose the right rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis, the left rear wall component portion being configured to mount the rear wall component to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis.
However, Willis teaches a rear wall component (cage 104) comprising: a right rear wall component portion (right portion of rear cross member 148) being configured to mount (via engagement between prong 122 and slot 124) the rear wall component (104) to a right portion of a rear wall of a server chassis (right portion of base 102 of enclosure 100, corresponding to base 108 of chassis 102 in Pham), the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 148) being configured to mount the rear wall component (104) to a left portion of the rear wall of the server chassis (left portion of 102 of 100).
Regarding claim 14, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the center rear wall component portion (144) comprises an upper rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A2), the upper rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach to an upper riser (riser 148A2) of the information handling system.
Regarding claim 15, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right rear wall component portion (right portion of 142) includes a right lower rear wall component riser portion (bracket 146A1 connected to 142 on right side of middle section 137), the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (riser 148A1) to the information handling system.
Regarding claim 16, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the right lower rear wall component riser portion (146A1) comprises a right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1 accommodating fasteners 176 of 148), the right lower riser guide feature (holes in 146A1) being configured to allow a lower riser (riser 148A1) to be guided into the server chassis (during assembly of 148 to 146).
Regarding claim 17, Pham in view of Willis teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches (in Pham) wherein: the left rear wall component portion (left portion of 142) includes a left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2), the left lower rear wall component riser portion (146A2) being configured to physically attach a lower riser (148A2) to the information handling system (see Figure 4A, where risers is 204A4 are lower risers compared to risers within 204A2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the stacked rear wall components from Figure 4 in Pham to the rear wall components from Figure 2 in Pham as modified by Willis. Doing so would have increased the number of GPUs within the information handling system, increasing the computing power of the system (see Figures 2, 4 and Paragraphs [0018] of Pham).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Berry (US Publication No. 2003/0002261) in view of Hensley (US Publication No. 2012/0156922).
Regarding claim 6, Berry discloses the rear wall component of claim 1, but does not disclose a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the grounding mechanism and grounding kit of Hensley to the server and rear handle of Berry. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Regarding claim 12, Berry discloses the chassis of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the rear wall system comprises a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the grounding mechanism and grounding kit of Hensley to the server and rear handle of Berry. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Berry (US Publication No. 2003/0002261) in view of Heinrichs (US Publication No. 2017/0168975).
Regarding claim 13, Berry discloses a system comprising: a chassis (node 100), the chassis (100) comprising a rear wall system (handle 30), the rear wall system (30) comprising a rear wall component (30), the rear wall component (30) comprising: a center rear wall component portion (center of 30); a right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30); and a left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) being constructed from a single piece of material (see Figures 3 and 7), the center rear wall component portion (center of 30) horizontally extending between the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) and the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the left rear wall component portion (left arm of 30) extending substantially perpendicularly inward from the center rear wall component portion (center of 30), the right rear wall component portion (right arm of 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a right portion of a rear wall (right portion of panel 19) of a server chassis (tray 10), the left rear wall component portion (left 30) being configured to mount the rear wall component (30) to a left portion of the rear wall (left portion of 19) of the server chassis (10).
Berry does not explicitly disclose a processor; a data bus coupled to the processor; and, the chassis containing the processor and the data bus.
However, Heinrichs teaches a system comprising a processor (processors 23); a data bus (circuit board 9) coupled to the processor (23); and, the chassis (chassis 2) containing the processor (23) and the data bus (9).
Because Berry also suggests a similar configuration (see Paragraphs [0002]-[0003] in Berry), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the server components, including the processors and data bus, of Heinrichs to the server chassis of Berry. Doing so would have provided a system capable of receiving, processing, and communicating data/information (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0044] in Heinrichs).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Berry (US Publication No. 2003/0002261), Heinrichs (US Publication No. 2017/0168975), and in further view of Hensley (US Publication No. 2012/0156922).
Regarding claim 18, Berry in view of Heinrichs teaches the system of claim 13, but does not teach wherein: the rear wall system further comprises a ground connection portion, the ground connection portion being configured to physically couple a grounding kit to the server chassis.
However, Hensley teaches a rear wall component (handle 106) comprising a grounding connection portion (tab 112), the ground connection portion (112) being configured to physically couple a grounding kit (grounding mechanism 114) to the server chassis (electronic device 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the grounding mechanism and grounding kit of Hensley to the server and rear handle of Berry as modified by Heinrichs. Doing so would have helped reduce EMI radiation of the rear handle (see Paragraphs [0021]-[0022] in Hensley).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marcade (US Publication No. 2023/0320024), Lu (US Publication No. 2019/0250680), Yuan (US Patent No. 9921616), Chang (US Patent No. 8496210), US Publication No. 2011/0110032), Chen (US Publication No. 2010/0014223), Fan (US Publication No. 2008/0055876), Cooper (US Patent No. 6724640), Chen (US Patent No. 6231144), Liu (US Patent No. 6231145), and Vansant (US Patent No. 5398821) also disclose rear handles similar to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc