DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is responsive to the RCE filed on 04/23/2026.
3. Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-22 are currently pending in this Office action.
Double Patenting
4. The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s decision to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance. Thus, the previously issued double patenting rejection is maintained.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
6. Claims 1, 10 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/659,677. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims are an obvious variation of the instant claims. Claim 1 of the reference application discloses a similar operation as the instant application except it does not disclose the claim limitation of “generating a prompt for a natural language model based on the request and the data; and generating, via the natural language model based on the prompt, the user interface component, wherein the user interface component comprises a structure format interpretable into a graphical form.” However, Molina discloses the features of generating a prompt for an LLM based on the request and the data (figs. 3-5) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Molina in the system of reference application in view of improving the efficiency of building a custom user interface.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 18/659,677
Claim 1. A method for building a user interface comprising:
receiving, in a first section of the user interface, a request to generate a user interface component, wherein the request indicates data usable to populate the user interface component;
generating a prompt for a natural language model based on the request and the data; and
generating, via the natural language model based on the prompt, the user interface component, wherein the user interface component comprises a structure format interpretable into a graphical form
providing, in the first section of the user interface, the user interface component for display;
in response to selection of the user interface component, adding, to a second section of the user interface, the user interface component.
Claim 1. A method comprising:
receiving, from an application, a request, wherein the request includes textual content;
in response to receiving the request, determining a context relating to the textual content;
determining, using a skill mapper application, a set of skills corresponding to the request;
generating, based on (i) the textual content, (ii) the set of skills, and (iii) the context, a prompt for a natural language model by modifying at least one canonical prompt;
transmitting, to the natural language model, the prompt;
receiving, from the natural language model, a response to the prompt, wherein the response includes programmatic commands;
invoking a skill of the set of skills based on the response, wherein invoking the skill comprises executing at least some of the programmatic commands on a computing device associated with the application; and
providing, to the application, further textual content that is based on the response and a result of invoking the skill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2020/0372224 (hereinafter Azmoon) in view of U.S. 2022/0326907 (hereinafter Molina).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 18, Azmoon discloses a method for building a user interface comprising ([0042]; “…the aPaaS system can also build a fully-functional MVC application with client-side interfaces…”):
receiving, in a fist section of the user interface, a request to generate a user interface component, wherein the request indicates data usable to populate the user interface component ([0144-0146]; fig. 7A as shown below; “The dialog region 702 includes a first location 708 at which the conversation between the agent and the user is displayed. As shown, the agent has received a message 710 from the user that reads…”; and “The incident record region 704 includes an incident record. As shown, the incident record includes an incident number, a current owner of the incident (i.e., Agent X), a status of the incident (i.e., Open), a priority level of the incident (i.e., Medium), and a description of the incident (i.e., “User Y has been unable to access Server Z since 8:00 am on Aug. 10, 2017.”)…”);
providing, in the first section of the user interface, the user interface component for display ([0159]; fig. 7E; “FIGS. 7D and 7E depict window 700 in an example scenario in which the user assistance system updates the incident record. As shown in FIG. 7D, location 708 of the dialog region 702 includes a message 730 from the agent to the user indicating that Server Z has been fixed and requesting that the user restart the user's computer…”);
in response to selection of the user interface component, adding, to a second section of the user interface, the user interface component ([0151]; “…To facilitate this, the user assistance system may be configured to include in the incident record region 704 a respective selectable GUI element corresponding to each component. In such embodiments, the user assistance system may highlight the selectable components or otherwise emphasize/indicate the selectable components in some other manner”).
While Azmoon discloses the features of utilizing artificial intelligence (AI) related techniques ([0120]) and structured format ([0060]), the reference does not explicitly disclose the features of generating a prompt for a natural language model based on the request and the data; and generating, via the natural language model based on the prompt, the user interface component, wherein the user interface component comprises a structure format interpretable into a graphical form. However, Molina discloses that “…Thereafter, the message translator 132 may dynamically update one or more GUI components within a GUI display associated with the client application 107 to reflect the data obtained from the database 104 responsive to the conversational user input. Thus, background GUI components or background GUI displays may be dynamically updated substantially in real-time to reflect conversational user input received via an overlying GUI display associated with the conversation session with the chatbot 126. It should be noted that although FIG. 1 depicts the message broker 130 and the message translator 132 as separate components, in practice, the features or functionality of the message translator 132 may be integrated with the message broker 130…” ([0026]). Molina further discloses that “…The chatbot 126 prompts the user for a conversational user input by generating or otherwise providing a list or menu 304 of selectable GUI elements within the chat window 300, with the selectable GUI elements 304 corresponding to different types of objects in the database 104 that the user may like to view or otherwise analyze. The illustrated background GUI display 302 includes a bar chart GUI component 306 and a list view GUI component 308, which may be initially generated by the application platform 124 based on a default set of data maintained in the object tables 110 of the database 104 that are associated with or otherwise accessible to the user.” ([0032]; fig. 3). Furthermore, Molina discloses that “…In this regard, subsequent conversational user inputs may provide attributes, fields, or other information that may be utilized to dynamically filter or otherwise refine the background GUI display. The message broker 130 and/or the message translator 132 query the database 104 to obtain, from the object… generate the updated GUI components 506, 508 based on the retrieved data for the user's opportunities that are generators, and then transmit or otherwise provide, via the network 108, the code, data, and/or other information for rendering the updated GUI components 506, 508 to the client application 107, which, in turn, generates or otherwise renders the updated GUI display 500. In this regard, in response to the conversational user input 514 identifying generators as a field or attribute by which to filter the opportunity objects, the background GUI display presented within the client application 107 behind the chat window 300 may be dynamically updated from the initial GUI display 302 to the updated GUI display 500 substantially in real-time.” ([0036]; fig. 5) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Molina in the system of Azmoon in view of the desire to enhance the Customer Relationship Management operation by dynamically updating graphic user interface resulting in improving the efficiency of creating a custom user interface. Azmoon in view of Morina discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Azmoon: [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein the request includes the data usable to populate the user interface component (Azmoon: [0146]; fig. 7C).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein generating the user interface component based on the prompt comprises generating a plurality of different user interface components based on the prompt, wherein the plurality of different user interface components includes the user interface component (Azmoon: [0158-0159]; fig. 7D) and (Molina: [0032]; figs. 3 and 5). Therefore, the limitations of claims 4 and 19 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1 and 18, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein providing the user interface component for display comprises providing the user interface component for display in a dialog box (Azmoon: figs. 7A-7D).
Regarding claim 6, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein the user interface component is encoded in extensible Markup Language, JavaScript Object Notation, HyperText Markup Language, or Yet Another Markup Language. However, such feature is well known in the art as disclosed by Azmoon ([0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein providing the user interface component for display comprises providing a description of the user interface component in a text string with an adjustable option (Molina: [0014]), the method further comprising:
receiving a further request to generate a further user interface component, wherein the further request indicates further data usable to populate the further user interface component, and wherein the further request is based on a selected value for the adjustable option; generating a further prompt for the natural language model based on the further request and the further data; generating, via the natural language model based on the further prompt, the further user interface component; and providing the further user interface component for display (Azmoon: [0154 and 0159]; figs. 7A-7D) and (Molina: [0032-0033]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method further comprising:
receiving a further request to describe a further user interface component, wherein the further request indicates further data used to populate the further user interface component; generating a further prompt for the natural language model based on the further request and the further data; generating, via the natural language model based on the further prompt, a description of the further user interface component; and providing the description of the further user interface component for display (Azmoon: figs. 7A-7D) and (Molina: [0032-0033]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 11, Azmoon in view of Molina disclose the method wherein the suggested content comprises links to one or more documents or suggestions of further messages (Azmoon: [0146]; fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 12, Azmoon in view of Molina disclose the method wherein the representation of suggested content is provided in a listing of information positioned adjacent to the dialog, and wherein the listing of information is updatable based on messages displayed in the dialog (Azmoon: [0146 and 0152]; figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 13, Azmoon in view of Molina disclose the method wherein at least some of the suggested content is manipulatable into the dialog (Azmoon: [0152-0154]; figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 14, Azmoon in view of Molina disclose the method further comprising:
storing, in a cache, associations between messages of the dialog and corresponding suggested content; and in response to a user interface event involving a change to the messages of the dialog being displayed, updating, from the cache, the suggested content displayed to be those associated with the messages of the dialog being displayed (Azmoon ([0047, 0150 and 0158]).
Regarding claim 15, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein the user interface event is a scrolling event that resulted in the change to the messages of the dialog being displayed (Azmoon: [0146-0147 and 0152]; figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 16, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein updating, from the cache, the suggested content displayed to be those associated with the messages of the dialog being displayed comprises updating the suggested content displayed without providing a further prompt to the natural language model to receive further suggested content (Azmoon: [0155-0156]) and (Molina: [0014]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 10, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 17, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method further comprising: determining that a further message of the dialog refers to an item in a workflow of a task-based application; and providing, for display in the user interface as part of the suggested content, a further representation of the item (Azmoon: [0112 and 0159]) and (Molina: [0025]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of claim 10, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 21, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein the graphical form comprises a chart (Molina: figs. 3 and 5). Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 22, Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the method wherein the first section of the user interface comprises a dialog section [i.e., element 300] and the second section of the user interface comprises a user interface builder section [i.e., elements 506, 508] (Molina: [0036]; fig. 5). Therefore, the limitations of claim 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Azmoon in view of Molina discloses the applicant’s claimed invention as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/MONICA M PYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161