DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada et al. (WO 2022/163420).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 6 (with Figure 6 being upside down), Takada discloses a flexible substrate comprising: an electronic component (20) that has an electrode (35); a base film (26); a conductor circuit (comprising 18, 33, 34) that is formed on a lower side surface of the base film in a vertical direction, and has a first joint region (area including 33, 34, 36) to which the electrode is jointed using a joint material (solder 36); and a coverlay (27) that covers at least a part of a lower side surface of the conductor circuit in the vertical direction, and has a first opening (32) that is exposed to an outside and that exposes the first joint region to the outside (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, in Figure 9 (with Figure 9 being upside down), Takada discloses a flexible substrate comprising: an electronic component (20) that has an electrode (35); a base film (26); a conductor circuit (comprising 18, 33, 34) that is formed on a lower side surface of the base film in a vertical direction, and has a first joint region (area including 33, 34, 36) to which the electrode is jointed using a joint material (solder 36); and a coverlay (27) that covers at least a part of a lower side surface of the conductor circuit in the vertical direction, and has a first opening (32) exposing the first joint region (Figure 6), wherein the first opening is covered with insulating oil (21, insulating liquid resin 21, pg. 7, 3rd paragraph; Figure 9).
Regarding claim 3, Takada discloses a metal plate, wherein the coverlay further covers a part of a lower side surface of the base film in the vertical direction, except for a region exposed to the outside in the first opening, the metal plate is provided on a lower side surface of the coverlay in the vertical direction, and surrounds the electronic component, and a reinforcing plate is not provided on an upper side surface of the base film in the vertical direction (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Takada discloses wherein the conductor circuit has a second joint region to which a part of the metal plate is jointed, and the coverlay has a second opening exposing the second joint region to the outside (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Takada discloses wherein the flexible substrate is included in a bus bar module having a plurality of bus bars each of which electrically connects positive and negative electrode terminals of adjacent single cells, the metal plate is joined to one bus bar among the plurality of bus bars, and the electronic component is electrically connected to the one bus bar via the conductor circuit and the metal plate (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Takada discloses a trunk portion; and a branch portion branching from the trunk portion, wherein the branch portion is folded back so as to intersect with the trunk portion in a plan view, and an end portion of the branch portion has the electronic component, the base film, the conductor circuit, the coverlay, and the metal plate (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Takada discloses wherein the trunk portion is formed in a substantially U-shape, and has a first extension portion, a second extension portion extending in parallel with the first extension portion, and a coupling portion which couples an end portion of the first extension portion and an end portion of the second extension portion, when the branch portion branches in a direction approaching the second extension portion from the first extension portion, the branch portion is folded back in a direction away from the second extension portion so as to intersect with the first extension portion in a plan view, and when the branch portion branches in a direction approaching the first extension portion from the second extension portion, the branch portions is folded back in a direction away from the first extension portion so as to intersect with the second extension portion in a plan view (Figure 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847