DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 and 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “imager” in line 6 should read “image.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim depends from claim 6, and should depend from claim 8 as this is the method claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hull et al. (US Patent No. 5,447,822), hereinafter Hull.
Regarding claim 8, Hull discloses a method of manufacturing a 3D article (stereolithographic part 3) comprising: (I) providing a 3D printing system (e.g. Fig. 1) including:
(a) a vessel (vat 2) configured to contain a photocurable resin (1) (4:55-4:60);
(b) a coating subsystem including a coater blade (doctor or leveling blade) (2:62-3:10; also Figs. 20a-20c; 13:20-13:69);
(c) a build plate (platform 5) coupled to a vertical movement mechanism (elevator 14) (4:61-4:62); and (d) an imaging system (UV light source 6) configured to selectively image the photocurable resin over a build plane or layer (4:67-5:7 describes how the layer is imaged at point 17 upon the working surface);
(II) operating the vertical movement mechanism (elevator 14) to position an upper surface of the build plane or 3D article at the build plane (5:4-5:5); translating a lower edge of the coater blade over the build plane along a scan direction (13:8-13:52; Figs. 20a-20c).
Hull does not explicitly disclose “concurrent with translating the lower edge of the coater blade, operating the imaging system to selectively image the build plane while maintaining an exclusion zone that includes a digital shadow that translates with the coater blade, the digital shadow includes an area of the coater blade and a fluidic wake area that follows the coater blade.” (emphasis added).
However, Hull teaches (13:10-13:20) that “the trapped volume problem may occur in the case when a part being built which encapsulates a trapped volume of uncured resin. In this instance, when a leveling blade is moved over the resin surface, pushing excess liquid resin ahead of it, and leaving a smooth working surface in its wake, when the blade encounters a trapped volume, the excess liquid resin may flow underneath the blade, and disrupt formation of the flat working surface being formed in the wake of the blade.”
Thus, Hull would seem to provide a reasonable motivation for selectively imaging the build plane while maintaining an exclusion zone that does not include the area that is under the blade and the area that includes where the wake of the material would be given the movement of the blade (see Figs. 20a-20c). The reasoning for this is that if the material is solid underneath he blade (“when the blade encounters a trapped volume”), formation of the flat working surface being formed is not smooth due to the issue of having a trapped volume under the blade. Accordingly, in view of these teachings above, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that there is an exclusion zone maintained that includes an area of the coater blade and a wake area as to not cause disruption of the material with a trapped volume.
Regarding claims 9-12, Hull discloses the subject matter of claim 8. One of ordinary skill in the art, from the teachings of Hull above would have recognized that the wake area has a width (W) (inherently) that is at least partially based upon a thickness of the layer of resin (14:57-14:65) and a viscosity of the resin as well as the shape and speed of the knife as the material will flow over and around the knife as it is passed through the material.
Regarding claims 13-14, Hull discloses the subject matter of claim 8, and further discloses that the imaging system includes a laser (15:5-15:6; UV light source 6 is referred to as a laser) and a scanner (10:14-10:30; Fig. 11, 19), and the method includes operating the laser to output an energy beam and operating the scanner (10:14-10:30) as to scan the energy beam over the build plane. These would also read upon the “spatial light modulator” (3:60-3:61) and would include operating the light source to output radiation, that is modulated and focused onto the build plane.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742