DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 5, 14, 16 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 2, 6-10 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Kataigi in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas flow channel structure (guide flow channel structure, second uniform space, para. [0038]) in claims 1-20.
Position limiting ring structure (ring body para. [0050], sleeve structure, para. [0036]) in claims 1-20.
Guide flow channel structure (guide flow channel, gas through-hole, para. [0042]) in claim 2.
First uniform flow channel structure (first curved flow channel, para. [0047]) in claims 8-9.
Second uniform flow channel structure (second curved flow channel, para. [0049]) in claims 10-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 6159299 to Koai.
Claim 1: Koai discloses a carrier device applied to semiconductor processing equipment arranged in a processing chamber (100 [chamber], Fig. 1) of the semiconductor processing equipment (10 [system]) and comprising: a base (150T/280, Fig. 2c) including a connection flow channel (285 [small holes]), a top surface of the base (151 [wafer support surface]) being configured to carry a wafer (190 [wafer]); a carrier element (150B/150M) stacked with the base (150T/280) and located under the base (150T/280), a gas flow structure (182/156/184) being formed between the carrier element (150B/150M) and the base (150T/280, c. 7, l. 1-11);
and a position-limiting ring structure (200 [edge ring assembly]) sleeved at an outer circumference of the base (150T/280) and configured to limit a position of the wafer (190), a gas blow channel (182) and a first uniform flow space (space above 280P1 [inside perimeter]) being formed between an inner circumferential wall of the position-limiting ring structure (inner wall of 200) and an outer circumferential wall of the base (outer wall of 150T/280), the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) communicating with the gas blow channel (182); wherein: the gas flow structure (182/156/184) communicates with the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) via the connection flow channel (285) and is configured to transfer a purge gas to the first uniform flow space via the connection flow channel (285, Fig. 2C); the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) is considered capable to be configured to flow-equalize the purge gas passing by (Fig. 2C); and the gas blow channel (182) is configured to blow the flow-equalized purge gas to purge a bottom surface and a side surface of the wafer (Fig. 2C).
Regarding “flow-equalize the purge gas” the apparatus of Koai is capable of performing as necessary; additionally, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 3: Koai discloses wherein: a volume of the second uniform flow space (volume of 155, Fig. 2c, Koai) is greater than a volume of the first uniform flow space (volume of space above 280P1, see Fig. 2c); or a gas introduction cross-section of the connection flow channel is smaller than gas introduction cross-sections of the first uniform flow space and the second uniform flow space.
Claim 4: Koai discloses wherein the connection flow channel (285, Fig. 2c, Koai) includes: a plurality of flow-limiting holes (holes of 285) passing through the base (150T/280) and arranged uniformly along a circumferential direction of the base (Fig. 2A), two ends of each flow-limiting hole (top and bottom of holes of 285) communicating with the first uniform flow space (285) and the second uniform flow space (155), respectively.
Claim 5: (Withdrawn).
Claim 7: Koai discloses wherein: an annular groove (annular groove of 155, Fig. ) and a plurality of straight grooves (straight grooves of 156) are formed on one of a surface of the carrier element facing the base and a surface of the base facing the carrier element (Fig. 2c), the other one of the surface carrier element facing the base and the surface of the base facing the carrier element cooperating with the annular groove to form the second uniform flow space (155) and cooperate with each straight groove (straight grooves of 156) to form at least one of the guide flow channels (156); or annular grooves and a plurality of straight grooves are formed on both the surface of the carrier element facing the base and the surface of the base facing the carrier element, the annular groove of the carrier element and the annular groove of the base cooperate to form the second uniform flow space, and the plurality of straight grooves of the carrier device cooperate with the plurality of straight grooves of the base to form the guide flow channels.
Claim 13: Koai discloses wherein: the position-limiting ring structure (200, Fig. 2c, Koai) includes a ring body (200); a cover ring (250 [horizontal portion of 240) protruding toward an outer circumferential wall of the base (150T/280) is formed at an inner circumferential wall of the ring body (inner wall of 200); and a gap (182) between the inner circumferential wall of the cover ring (inner wall of 250) and the outer circumferential wall of the base (outer wall of 150T/280) forms the gas blow channel (182).
Claims 14, 16: (Withdrawn).
Claim 15: Koai discloses wherein: the base (150T/280, Fig. 2c, Koai) includes a base body (150T/280); a support ring (interpreted as portion of 280) protruding toward an inner circumferential wall of the ring body (200) is arranged at the outer circumferential wall of the base body (outer wall of 150T/280); an overlap ring (230/220) protruding toward the base body (200) is arranged at the inner circumferential wall of the ring body (inner wall of 200) and below the cover ring (below 250); and the overlap ring (230/220) is stacked on the support ring (interpreted as portion of 280), and a gap (space above 280P1) between the overlap ring (230/220) and the outer circumferential wall of the base body (outer wall of 150T/280) forms the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1).
Claim 17: Koai discloses wherein: a protruded flow-limiting ring (another portion of 280, Fig. 2c, Koai) is formed at the outer referential wall of the base body (outer wall of 150T/280) and located between the support ring (interpreted as portion of 280) and the cover ring (250); a gap (space between another portion of 280 and 250) between the flow-limiting ring (another portion of 280) and the cover ring (250) forms a flow-limiting channel (space between another portion of 280 and 250) configured to communicate the gas blow channel (182) with the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 6159299 to Koai.
Claim 20: Koai discloses Semiconductor processing equipment comprising: a processing chamber (100 [chamber], Fig. 1); and a carrier device arranged in the processing chamber (100) and comprising: a base (150T/280, Fig. 2c) including a connection flow channel (285 [small holes]), a top surface of the base (151 [wafer support surface]) being configured to carry a wafer (190 [wafer]); a carrier element (150B/150M) stacked with the base (150T/280) and located under the base (150T/280), a gas flow structure (182/156/184) being formed between the carrier element (150B/150M) and the base (150T/280, c. 7, l. 1-11);
and a position-limiting ring structure (200 [edge ring assembly]) sleeved at an outer circumference of the base (150T/280) and configured to limit a position of the wafer (190), a gas blow channel (182) and a first uniform flow space (space above 280P1 [inside perimeter]) being formed between an inner circumferential wall of the position-limiting ring structure (inner wall of 200) and an outer circumferential wall of the base (outer wall of 150T/280), the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) communicating with the gas blow channel (182); wherein: the gas flow structure (182/156/184) communicates with the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) via the connection flow channel (285) and is configured to transfer a purge gas to the first uniform flow space via the connection flow channel (285, Fig. 2C); the first uniform flow space (space above 280P1) is configured to flow-equalize the purge gas passing by (Fig. 2C); and the gas blow channel (182) is configured to blow the flow-equalized purge gas to purge a bottom surface and a side surface of the wafer (Fig. 2C).
Regarding “flow-equalize the purge gas” the apparatus of Koai is capable of performing as necessary; additionally, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koai as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 13, 15, 17 above, and further in view of US 20090235866 to Kataigi.
Claims 2, 6: Koai does not disclose (claim 2) wherein the gas flow channel structure includes: a guide flow channel structure; and a second uniform flow space communicating with the guide flow channel structure and communicating with the first uniform flow space via the connection flow channel; wherein: the guide flow channel structure includes a plurality of guide flow channels formed between the carrier element and the base, each of the plurality of guide flow channels having an inlet end and an outlet end, and lengths of the plurality of guide flow channels between respective inlet ends and outlet ends being substantially equal;
(claim 6) wherein the guide flow channel structure is configured to transfer the purge gas to the second uniform flow space; and the second uniform flow space is configured to flow-equalize the purge gas flowing by; the guide flow channel structure includes: at least a gas through-hole passing through the carrier element, the gas through-hole being arranged at or close to a center position of the base, each gas through-hole communicating with an inlet end of at least one of the guide flow channels and being configured to communicate with a purge gas source, outlet ends of the guide flow channels being arranged uniformly along a circumferential direction of the second uniform flow space at intervals and communicate with the second uniform flow space.
However Kataigi discloses (claim 2) wherein the gas flow channel structure (31’s/30, Fig. 3-4) includes: a guide flow channel structure (31’s [branched grooves]); and a second uniform flow space (30 [annular groove]) communicating with the guide flow channel structure (31’s) and communicating with the first uniform flow space (20 [purge groove]) via the connection flow channel (24 [purge holes]); wherein: the guide flow channel structure (31’s) includes a plurality of guide flow channels (31’s) formed between the carrier element (14 [second base]) and the base (12 [first base]), each of the plurality of guide flow channels (31’s) having an inlet end (inlet end of 31) and an outlet end (outlet end of 31), and lengths of the plurality of guide flow channels (31’s) between respective inlet ends and outlet ends being substantially equal (Fig. 3);
(claim 6) wherein the guide flow channel structure (31’s, Fig. 3-4) is configured to transfer the purge gas to the second uniform flow space (30, para. [0060]); and the second uniform flow space (30) is configured to flow-equalize the purge gas flowing by (para. [0061-0065]); the guide flow channel structure (31’s) includes: at least a gas through-hole (32 [penetration hole]) passing through the carrier element (14, para. [0063]), the gas through-hole (32) being arranged at or close to a center position of the base (12, Fig. 3), each gas through-hole (32) communicating with an inlet end of at least one of the guide flow channels (inlet end of 31’s) and being configured to communicate with a purge gas source (para. [0060], “purge source”), outlet ends of the guide flow channels (outlet ends of 31’s) being arranged uniformly along a circumferential direction of the second uniform flow space (30) at intervals and communicate with the second uniform flow space (30). Kataigi discloses this for the purpose of suppressing corrosion at an outer periphery of a substrate mounting surface of a plate (para. [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kataigi with motivation to suppress corrosion at an outer periphery of a substrate mounting surface of a plate.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koai as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 13, 15, 17 above, and further in view of US 20140252710 to Cuvalci.
Claims 8-9: The apparatus of Koai discloses further comprising: a support shaft (164 [shaft], Fig. 1-2a, Koai) located under the carrier element (150B/150M) and configured to support the carrier element (150B/150M).
However the apparatus of Koai does not disclose (claim 8) a first uniform flow channel structure being formed on a surface of the support shaft facing the support element, and the inlet ends of the first uniform flow channel structure communicating with the inlet ends of the gas through-holes and communicating with the purge gas source; (claim 9) wherein the first uniform flow channel structure includes: at least one first curved flow channel extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft and corresponding to two gas through-holes, inlet ends of the two gas through-holes communicating with two ends of the first curved flow channel, and an inlet opening communicating with the purge gas source being arranged at the center position of the first curved flow channel.
Cuvalci discloses (claim 8) a first uniform flow channel structure (418/421 [circular edge purge channels], Fig. 4C) being formed on a surface (408 [top surface] of the support shaft (120/400 [shaft]), Fig. 4A, 4C) facing the carrier element (102 [first plate]), and the inlet ends of the first uniform flow channel structure (inlet ends of 118 [vertical holes]) communicating with the inlet ends of the gas through-holes (end of 118) and communicating with the purge gas source (source at end of 420 [purge line], para. [0054-0062]); (claim 9) wherein the first uniform flow channel structure (418/421) includes: at least one first curved flow channel (418/421) extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft (400/120) and corresponding to two gas through-holes (118), inlet ends of the two gas through-holes (inlet ends of 118) communicating with two ends of the first curved flow channel (418/421), and an inlet opening (422 [first end] of 420) communicating with the purge gas source (source at end of 420) being arranged at the center position of the first curved flow channel (center of 418/421). Cuvalci discloses the above limitations for the purpose of beneficially increasing process uniformity and repeatability (para. [0061]). It is also noted that Cuvalci also teaches that the curved flow channel(s) can have other arrangements and shapes as necessary and not limited to Fig. 4C (para. [0059], [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of curved channel and arrangement as taught by Cuvalci with motivation to beneficially increase process uniformity and repeatability.
Claims 10-12: The apparatus of Koai in view of Cuvalci does not disclose (claim 10) wherein: the base also includes a plurality of first absorption holes passing through the base arranged uniformly along a circumferential direction of the base; the carrier element also includes a plurality of second absorption holes passing through the carrier element, a number of the second absorption holes being same as a number of the first absorption holes, and the plurality of second absorption holes being in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of first absorption holes; a second uniform flow channel structure is further formed on a surface of the support shaft facing the carrier element, and communicates correspondingly with inlet ends of the second absorption holes and a vacuum absorption device;
(claim 11) wherein: the second uniform flow channel structure includes at least one second curved flow channel extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft; each second curved flow channel corresponds to two second absorption holes; inlet ends of two second absorption holes communicate with two ends of the second curved flow channel, respectively; and an inlet opening communicating with the vacuum absorption device is formed at a center position of the second curved flow channel;
(claim 12) wherein: two second curved flow channels are provided and are symmetrically distributed about an axis of the support shaft; the second uniform flow channel structure also includes a third curved flow channel extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft; two ends of the third curved flow channel communicate with two second curved flow channels at center positions of the two second curved flow channels, respectively; and the third curved flow channel communicates with the vacuum absorption device at a center position of the third curved flow channel.
Cuvalci discloses (claim 10) wherein: the base (102, Fig. 2/2A) also includes a plurality of first absorption holes (110a [vacuum passages]) passing through the base (102) arranged uniformly along a circumferential direction of the base (102, Fig. 2); the carrier element (bottom half of 102) also includes a plurality of second absorption holes (110a) passing through the carrier element, a number of the second absorption holes (110a) being same as a number of the first absorption holes (110a), and the plurality of second absorption (110a) holes being in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of first absorption holes (110a); a second uniform flow channel structure (412, Fig. 4C) is further formed on a surface of the support shaft facing the carrier element (408 of 120/400), and communicates correspondingly with inlet ends of the second absorption holes (inlet ends of 110a) and a vacuum absorption device (vacuum source at end of 414 [vacuum line], para. [0057]);
(claim 11) wherein: the second uniform flow channel structure (412, Fig. 4C) includes at least one second curved flow channel (412) extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft (400/120, Fig. 4C); each second curved flow channel (412) corresponds to two second absorption holes (at least 2 110a’s are shown in Fig. 2/2A); inlet ends of two second absorption holes (at least 2 110a’s) communicate with two ends of the second curved flow channel (412, para. [0062]), respectively; and an inlet opening (416 [first end of 414]) communicating with the vacuum absorption device (vacuum source at end of 414) is formed at a center position of the second curved flow channel (412, Fig. 4C);
(claim 12) wherein: two second curved flow channels (2 412’s) are provided and are symmetrically distributed about an axis of the support shaft (400/120); the second uniform flow channel structure (412) also includes a third curved flow channel 413 [vacuum leader channel]) extending along a circumferential direction of the support shaft (400/120, Fig. 4C, para. [0058]); and the third curved flow channel (413) communicates with the vacuum absorption device (vacuum source at end of 414) at a center position of the third curved flow channel (413, para. [0057]).
Cuvalci discloses the above limitations regarding the vacuum lines for the purpose of achieving desirable vacuum characteristics (para. [0038]).
However Cuvalci does not disclose two ends of the third curved flow channel communicate with two second curved flow channels at center positions of the two second curved flow channels, respectively.
Yet Cuvalci discloses that the vacuum lines are not limited to one arrangement and shape or symmetry (para. [0062-0065]) for the purpose of improved uniformity in vacuum formation (para. [0041]) and/or achieving desirable vacuum characteristics (para. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above and optimization of arrangement of the vacuum channels as taught by Cuvalci with motivation to achieving desirable vacuum characteristics.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koai as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 13, 15, 17 above, and further in view of US 20060207509 to Tomita.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Koai does not disclose wherein: a gas introduction cross-section of the position-limiting channel is smaller than a gas introduction cross-section of the gas blow channel; the gas introduction cross-section of the gas blow channel is smaller than the gas introduction cross-section of the first uniform flow space; and the gas introduction cross-section of the connection flow channel is greater than the gas introduction cross-section of the flow-limiting channel.
However Tomita teaches that different heights, and widths, gas providing cross-sections and reservoir portions can be incorporated to the space between the base (11a) and the ring body (20 [gas providing member], Fig. 4, 5, para. [0044]) for the purpose of reducing the turbulence of the gas flow which passes through the gas providing passage (25) to the substrate (2 [substrate], para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of spacing and cross-section requirements as taught by Tomita with motivation to reduce the turbulence of the gas flow which passes through the gas providing passage to the substrate.
Claim 19: The apparatus of Koai does not disclose wherein the base, the carrier element, and the position-limiting ring structure are made of aluminum nitride ceramic.
Tomita discloses wherein a base (11a [upper portion], Fig. 2), a carrier element (plate of 11d [through hole]), and a position-limiting ring structure (21 [body portion]) are made of aluminum nitride ceramic (para. [0028], [0038]), for the purpose of enhancing heating performance of the substrate mounting surface (para. [0038]) and/or providing excellent heat resistance (para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute or incorporate the material requirements for the above structures as taught by Tomita with motivation to enhance heating performance of the substrate mounting surface and/or provide excellent heat resistance.
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718