DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on January 29, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026, with respect to claims 1-5 and 8-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (OYAMA – JP 4933699 B2), in view of (ZHENG – CN 112977595 A) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited prior art fails to meet the limitations “…at least one sensor configured to detect at least one of a shift position of a joystick, mounted on the four-wheel independent steering system, or a driving speed of a vehicle…” and “…control a position of the joystick based on sensing data detected by the at least one sensor…”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that OYAMA discloses at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4) configured to detect at least one of a shift position (Range switching is P range ⇔ R range ⇔ N range ⇔ D 4 Range ⇔ D 3) of a joystick (Joystick 1). Each joystick 1 includes a steering operation force sensor 2, an acceleration / deceleration operation force sensor 3, a range switching operation force sensor 4, a steering motor 5, a throttle actuator 6, a brake actuator 7, and a steering operation reaction force motor 8 ([0015]). The operation force in the left-right rotation direction on the joystick 1 is detected (output) as a voltage by the range switching operation force sensor 4 including a load cell that detects the operation force in the rotation direction of the joystick 1. This operating force is based on the time when the operating force in the left / right rotation direction is not applied to the joystick 1, the operating force to the right rotation side is the range switching operation force to the first speed range side, The operating force is the range switching operating force to the P range side. Then, the range switching operation force sensor 4 {{{{transmits the detected voltage}}} to the control device 14 {{{as a range operation force signal SRN}}} ([0022]).
Accordingly, the Examiner respectfully submits that the cited prior art meets the limitations “…at least one sensor configured to detect at least one of a shift position of a joystick, mounted on the four-wheel independent steering system, or a driving speed of a vehicle…” and “…control a position of the joystick based on sensing data detected by the at least one sensor…” as required in at least claims 1 and 8.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Claims 6-7 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (OYAMA – JP 4933699 B2), in view of (ZHENG – CN 112977595 A).
Regarding claim 1, OYAMA (Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below) discloses:
A control system for a steering system (Steering Device: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below), the control system comprising:
at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below) configured to detect at least one of a shift position (Range switching is P range ⇔ R range ⇔ N range ⇔ D 4 Range ⇔ D 3) of a joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below), mounted on the steering system (Steering Device: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below), or a driving speed of a vehicle; and
a position controller (control device 14 in combination with the range switching operation reaction force motor 10: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below) configured to control a position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below) based on sensing data detected by the at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 below).
Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1
But OYAMA does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) the joystick mounted on a {{{four-wheel independent}}} steering system.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, ZHENG (Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 below) discloses/teaches the following:
A steering control device including a lever that includes joystick (500: Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 below), where the joystick (500) is to be used on a four-wheels independent steering device (800: Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 below).
When the control rod mechanism based on the wire control chassis and the control rod control system are used for {{{four-wheel independent steering four wheels independently driving the automobile}}}, it can control the wire-controlled vehicle to travel along different directions and rotate around the geometric center thereof, {{{improving the mobility of the automobile}}}.
Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the steering control system of OYAMA incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by ZHENG to improve the mobility of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, OYAMA (Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) discloses:
A method of controlling a steering system (Steering Device: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), the method comprising steps of:
detecting, by at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), at least one of a shift position (Range switching is P range ⇔ R range ⇔ N range ⇔ D 4 Range ⇔ D 3) of a joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), mounted on the steering system (Steering Device: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), or a driving speed of a vehicle; and
controlling, by a position controller (control device 14 in combination with the range switching operation reaction force motor 10: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), a position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) based on sensing data detected by the at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above).
But OYAMA does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) the joystick mounted on a {{{four-wheel independent}}} steering system.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, ZHENG (Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 above) discloses/teaches the following:
A steering control device including a lever that includes joystick (500: Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 above), where the joystick (500) is to be used on a four-wheels independent steering device (800: Please see Examiner Annotated ZHENG Figures 1-2 above).
When the control rod mechanism based on the wire control chassis and the control rod control system are used for {{{four-wheel independent steering four wheels independently driving the automobile}}}, it can control the wire-controlled vehicle to travel along different directions and rotate around the geometric center thereof, {{{improving the mobility of the automobile}}}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the steering control system of OYAMA incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by ZHENG to improve the mobility of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, OYAMA as combined above disclose the control system according to claim 1, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) comprises:
at least one of a shift position sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4) configured to detect whether a shift position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) is a D-stage (driving) or an R-stage (reverse); or
a speed sensor ([0036]: “The AT control unit ACU controls the range switching based on the range switching signal DRN generated by the control unit 14. Further, the AT control unit ACU transmits information such as the current range, the engine speed (engine speed), and the vehicle speed as signals to the control unit 14”) configured to measure the driving speed of the vehicle to detect a driving state of the vehicle, wherein the position controller (control device 14 in combination with the range switching operation reaction force motor 10: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) controls the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) to maintain a preset target steering angle via a left-right switching control motor (range switching operation reaction force motor 10) associated with the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) in response to detecting the shift position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) to be the D-stage or the R-stage, or in response to detecting that the vehicle is in the driving state.
Regarding claim 3, OYAMA as combined above disclose the control system according to claim 2, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the preset target steering angle is preset to 0 degree relative to a left-right direction of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, OYAMA as combined above disclose the control system according to claim 2, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) further comprises a position sensor configured to detect a current steering angle ([0062]: “The target rack position setting unit 32 receives the steering operation force signal SSR from the steering operation force sensor 2 and outputs the target rack position signal to the deviation calculation unit 33. The target rack position setting unit 32 searches the steering map based on the steering operation force signal SSR corresponding to the right steering operation force and the left steering operation force, and sets the target rack position signal (see FIG. 9). The steered map is set so that the target rack position moves to the left (the steered wheels W and W are turned to the right as the turning angle) if the right steered operation force increases. If the left steering operation force increases, the target rack position is set to move to the right (left turning as the turning angle of the steered wheels W, W) in accordance with this (see FIG. 9). However, the relationship between the turning operation force signal SSR and the left turning operation force is such that the left turning operation force increases as the output of the turning operation force sensor 2 decreases (FIG. 7B). reference). Therefore, in the turning map, the target rack position moves to the right side from the rack neutral position as the output of the turning operation force sensor 2 decreases from the reference value, and the output of the turning operation force sensor 2 increases from the reference value. The target rack position is set so as to move to the left from the rack neutral position (see FIG. 9). FIG. 9 is a relationship diagram between the output of the steering operation force sensor 2 and the target rack position”) of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) based on a control output of the left-right switching control motor (range switching operation reaction force motor 10) associated with the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above), wherein the position controller (control device 14 in combination with the range switching operation reaction force motor 10: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) controls the position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) by receiving the current steering angle detected via the position sensor as a feedback signal to compensate for a command current applied to the left-right switching control motor.
Regarding claim 5, OYAMA as combined above disclose the control system according to claim 1, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the position controller (control device 14 in combination with the range switching operation reaction force motor 10: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) comprises a proportional-differential (PD) controller and is configured to output a command speed through tuning of a gain of a proportional controller based on the vehicle speed, and a compensated command current by error compensation of a steering angle through tuning of a gain of a non-interfering differential (D) controller of the PD controller based on a steering angle error value resulting from a difference between a current steering angle and a target steering angle of the joystick ([0064]: “The steering motor control signal output unit 34 includes a PID controller, a PWM signal generation unit, and the like. First, the steering motor control signal output unit 34 performs P (proportional), I (integral), and D (differential) control on the deviation signal, and the direction and current of the current supplied to the steering motor 5 to bring the deviation close to zero. A PID control signal indicating the value is generated. Subsequently, the steering motor control signal output unit 34 generates a PWM signal, an ON signal, and an OFF signal corresponding to the direction and current value of the current supplied to the steering motor 5 based on the PID control signal, and generates a steering control signal”).
Regarding claim 9, OYAMA as combined above disclose the method according to claim 8, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the step of detecting comprises at least one of:
detecting, by a shift position sensor of the at least one sensor (range switching operation force sensor 4), whether the shift position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above) is a D-stage (driving) or an R-stage (reverse) (Range switching is P range ⇔ R range ⇔ N range ⇔ D 4 Range ⇔ D 3); or
detecting, by a speed sensor ([0036]: “The AT control unit ACU controls the range switching based on the range switching signal DRN generated by the control unit 14. Further, the AT control unit ACU transmits information such as the current range, the engine speed (engine speed), and the vehicle speed as signals to the control unit 14”) of the at least one sensor, measuring the driving speed of the vehicle to detect a driving state of the vehicle, wherein the step of controlling comprises maintaining a preset target steering angle via a left-right switching control motor associated with the joystick in response to detecting the shift position of the joystick to be the D-stage or the R-stage, or in response to detecting the vehicle is in the driving state.
Regarding claim 10, OYAMA as combined above disclose the method according to claim 8, and further on OYAMA as combined above also discloses:
wherein the step of controlling comprises:
receiving a current steering angle detected via a position sensor as a feedback signal to compensate for a command current applied to a left-right switching control motor (range switching operation reaction force motor 10); and
actuating the left-right switching control motor (range switching operation reaction force motor 10) with the compensated command current to control the position of the joystick (Joystick 1: Please see Examiner Annotated OYAMA Figure 1 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747