DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed July 10, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 14 and 20 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on November 26, 2024. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sethuraman et al. (U.S. 2022/0300197; hereinafter “Sethuraman”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sethuraman discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a host processor (Fig. 2: 120)) configured to:
configure device equalization self-training mode (DESTM) controls using in-band signaling, the DESTM control including at least setting a minimum duration time (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062; timing parameters are adjusted by the RCD, see also page 8, par. 0065);
enable the DESTM controls (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062);
trigger a data buffer to perform a self-training mode (Fig. 5: step 502);
send linear-feedback shift register (LFSR) patterns to the data buffer for the minimum duration time (see page 8, par. 0064); and
wait for a minimum completion time to end before disabling the DESTM (see page 8, par. 0069).
Regarding claim 2, Sethuraman discloses wherein the minimum duration time indicates a time that the self-training mode is active (see page 8, par. 0065).
Regarding claim 3, Sethuraman discloses wherein the minimum duration time is predefined (see page 8, par. 0065).
Regarding claim 4, Sethuraman discloses wherein the host processor enables the DESTM controls by programming a control register (Fig. 1: 144).
Regarding claim 5, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the DESTM controls further include determining decision feedback equalization (DFE) taps, making LFSR selections, and making lane selections.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 6, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the data buffer uses a first rising edge as a first alignment point.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 7, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the data buffer executes the self-training mode within the minimum duration time.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 8, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 7.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the host processor determines whether the self-training mode has been fully completed within the minimum duration time.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 9, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 8.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “if the self-training mode has been fully completed within the minimum duration time, the data buffer is provided with new equalization values.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 10, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 8.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “if the self-training mode has not been fully completed within the minimum duration time, the data buffer restores its original equalization values.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 11, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 10.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “when the data buffers re-enters the self-training mode at a subsequent time, the data buffer continues the self-training mode from where it left off.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 12, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the data buffer performs the self-training mode during a mission mode without accessing sideband signals.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 13, Sethuraman discloses wherein the data buffer is at least one of a registered clock driver and a double data rate (DDR) data buffer (see Abstract).
Regarding independent claim 14, Sethuraman discloses a memory (Fig. 1) comprising:
a data buffer including interface logic and data path logic (Fig. 2: 121 and 140s) configured to:
configure device equalization self-training mode (DESTM) controls using in-band signaling, the DESTM controls including at least setting a minimum duration time (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062; timing parameters are adjusted by the RCD, see also page 8, par. 0065);
enable the DESTM controls (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062);
trigger the data buffer to perform a self-training mode (Fig. 5: step 502);
send linear-feedback shift register (LFSR) patterns to the data buffer for the minimum duration time (see page 8, par. 0064); and
wait for a minimum completion time to end before disabling the DESTM (see page 8, par. 0069).
Regarding claim 15, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 14.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s memory is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the DESTM controls further include determining decision feedback equalization (DFE) taps, making LFSR selections, and making lane selections.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s memory appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 16, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 14.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s memory is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the data buffer uses a first rising edge as a first alignment point.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s memory appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 17, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 14.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s memory is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the data buffer executes the self-training mode within the minimum duration time.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s memory appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 18, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 17.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s memory is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “if the self-training mode has been fully completed within the minimum duration time, the data buffer is provided with new equalization values.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s memory appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 19, Sethuraman discloses the limitations with respect to claim 17.
As discussed above, Sethuraman’s memory is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “if the self-training mode has not been fully completed within the minimum duration time, the data buffer restores its original equalization values.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Sethuraman’s memory appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Sethuraman discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a memory (Fig. 1: 140); and
a host processor (Fig. 2: 120)) in communication with the memory (Fig. 1: 140), the host processor configured to:
configure device equalization self-training mode (DESTM) controls using in-band signaling, the DESTM controls including at least setting a minimum duration time (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062; timing parameters are adjusted by the RCD, see also page 8, par. 0065);
enable the DESTM controls (“send one or more commands over the local I3C bus”, see page 8, par. 0062);
trigger the data buffer to perform a self-training mode (Fig. 5: step 502);
send linear-feedback shift register (LFSR) patterns to the data buffer for the minimum duration time (see page 8, par. 0064); and
wait for a minimum completion time to end before disabling the DESTM (see page 8, par. 0069).
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825