DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,455,048 to Berckmann et al. (hereafter Berckmann).
Regarding independent claim 1, Berckmann teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a processing device, a write command to program data to a block of a memory device (FIG. 1: when host 106 send to memory controller 105 a write command and data to be written, see 4:9-11);
identifying, using a zone write pointer, a wordline of the block that addresses a set of memory cells for writing the data (FIG. 7A: e.g. identifying a starting/ending word line for pointer 742 of fragment 1);
determining whether the identified wordline matches an entry in a data structure (e.g. when a selected word line is identified as bad word line, it is not selected as starting/ending word line for data fragment pointer 742, see 13:31-37); and
responsive to determining that the identified wordline matches the entry in the data structure, updating the zone write pointer to select a new wordline associated with the block (see 13:23-37).
Regarding independent claim 8, Berckmann teaches a system comprising:
a memory device (FIG. 1A: memory chip 102); and
a processing device (FIG. 1: memory controller 105), operatively coupled with the memory device, to perform operations comprising:
receiving a write command to program data to a block of a memory device (FIG. 1: when host 106 send to memory controller 105 a write command and data to be written, see 4:9-11);
identifying, using a zone write pointer, a wordline of the block that addresses a set of memory cells for writing the data (FIG. 7A: e.g. identifying a starting/ending word line for pointer 742 of fragment 1);
determining whether the identified wordline matches an entry in a data structure (e.g. when a selected word line is identified as bad word line, it is not selected as starting/ending word line for data fragment pointer 742, see 13:31-37); and
responsive to determining that the identified wordline matches the entry in the data structure, updating the zone write pointer to select a new wordline associated with the block (see 13:23-37).
Regarding independent claim 15, Berckmann teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving a write command to program data to a block of a memory device (FIG. 1: when host 106 send to memory controller 105 a write command and data to be written into memory chip 102, see 4:9-11);
identifying, using a zone write pointer, a wordline of the block that addresses a set of memory cells for writing the data;
determining whether the identified wordline matches an entry in a data structure; and
responsive to determining that the identified wordline matches the entry in the data structure, updating the zone write pointer to select a new wordline associated with the block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berckmann in view of US 9,570,177 to Choi (hereafter Choi).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Berckmann further teaches responsive to determining that a program fault occurred during a write operation to program the data to the new wordline (FIG. 8B: step 858, see 15:51-59). Berckmann does not teach the remaining limitaitons.
Choi teaches determining a number of wordlines referenced by the data structure that are associated with the block (FIG. 14: bad page count); and responsive to determining that the number of wordlines fails to satisfy a threshold criterion (FIG. 14: step 1420, see 19:60-65, when the count of bad word line(s) < a threshold, see 18:15-28), releasing a spare wordline to be available for write operations (FIG. 12: releasing WLi .. WLi+2 for steps 1430-1450 of FIG. 14, also see 18:15-28 and 19:1-11).
Since Berckmann and Choi are all from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Choi would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Berckmann.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to set the number of failed wordlines to a predetermined threshold as suggested by Choi before considering the block to be a bad block, in order to reduce early block retirement and improve data storage capacity.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Choi teaches responsive to determining that the number of wordlines satisfies the threshold criterion, marking the block in a grown bad block (GBB) data structure (FIG. 14: step 1460, see 18:15-22).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Berckmann teaches responsive to determining that the number of wordlines fails to satisfy the threshold criterion, listing the new wordline in the data structure (see 15:65-16:6).
Regarding dependent claim 5, even though Choi teaches responsive to determining that the number of wordlines satisfies the threshold criterion, marking the block in a grown bad block (GBB) data structure (FIG. 14: step 1460, see 18:15-22) instead of removing all entries associated with the block from the data structure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to realize that when a block is GBB, data structure should be removed because it is no longer need for the GBB.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Choi teaches maintaining a spare wordline data structure, wherein each entry in the spare wordline data structure is associated with an inactive wordline capable of replacing a defective wordline in the block (FIG. 12: e.g. WLi-WLi+2, normal pages not programmed with data are seen as spare wordline, see 19:1-11).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Choi teaches responsive to determining that the identified wordline fails to match the entry in the data structure, programming the data to the wordline (i.e. when the wordline is between the starting and ending wordlines).
Regarding dependent claims 9-14, 16-20, see rejections applied to claims 2-7 above.
Conclusion
December 28, 2025
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824