DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiu et al. (Patent No. US 9,941,216).
As to claim 1, Chiu discloses a circuit structure (fig. 10), comprising:
an insulating layer 222;
a plurality of first circuits 224 disposed on a surface at one side of the insulating layer; and
a plurality of first electrical connection pads P1, each of which has a first extension portion P2 extending toward and electrically connected to one end of a first circuit RL of the first circuits, wherein a width of each of the first electrical connection pads in a direction transverse to the first circuit connected thereto is wider than a width of the first circuit (fig. 10), and a width of the first extension portion gradually decreases toward a junction of the first extension portion and the first circuit connected thereto (figs. 10-10A).
As to claim 2, Chiu discloses that the first extension portion has a first extension angle ϴ1 formed between edges on both sides of the first circuit connected to the first extension portion, and the first extension angle ϴ1 is less than 90° (figs. 10-10A; col. 6 lines 1-6).
As to claim 3, Chiu discloses that an extension path of each of the first circuits differs from a virtual straight line connecting two ends of the first circuit (fig. 10A, see curved portions CV).
As to claim 4, Chiu discloses that a path length of each of the first circuits is greater than a straight-line distance between the two ends of the first circuit (fig. 10A).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0283303).
As to claim 1, Chang discloses a circuit structure (fig. 3C), comprising:
an insulating layer 300;
a plurality of first circuits 320 disposed on a surface at one side of the insulating layer; and
a plurality of first electrical connection pads 321, each of which has a first extension portion extending toward and electrically connected to one end of a first circuit of the first circuits, wherein a width of each of the first electrical connection pads in a direction transverse to the first circuit connected thereto is wider than a width of the first circuit, and a width of the first extension portion gradually decreases toward a junction of the first extension portion and the first circuit connected thereto (figs. 3D-3E).
As to claim 5, Chang discloses a plurality of second circuits disposed on another side of the insulating layer; a plurality of second electrical connection pads, each of which has a second extension portion extending toward and electrically connected to one end of a second circuit of the second circuits, wherein a width of each of the second electrical connection pads in a direction transverse to the second circuit connected thereto is greater than a width of the second circuit, and a width of the second extension portion gradually decreases toward a junction of the second extension portion and the second circuit connected thereto; and a plurality of first conductive vias disposed in the insulating layer and penetrating the insulating layer, wherein two ends of each of the first conductive vias correspond to and electrically connected respectively to one of the first electrical connection pads and one of the second electrical connection pads (fig. 3C shows two circuits being formed on a top and bottom surface of insulation 300; figs. 3A and 3D show the pad shapes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0283303) in view of Chiu et al. (Patent No. US 9,941,216).
As to claim 2, Chang discloses that the first extension portion has a first extension angle ϴ1 formed between edges on both sides of the first circuit connected to the first extension portion (figs. 3D-3E)
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose that the first extension angle ϴ1 is less than 90°.
Chiu discloses that the first extension angle ϴ1 is less than 90° (figs. 10-10A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle be less than 90° as similarly taught by Chiu since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 6, Chang discloses that the second extension portion has a second extension angle ϴ2 formed between edges on both sides of the second circuit connected to the second extension portion.
However, Chang does not disclose that the second extension angle ϴ2 is less than 90°.
Chiu discloses that the first extension angle ϴ1 is less than 90° (figs. 10-10A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle be less than 90° as similarly taught by Chiu since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (Pub. No. US 2006/0108143).
As to claim 1, Hsu discloses a circuit structure (fig. 3A), comprising:
an insulating layer (¶0026);
a plurality of first circuits 302 disposed on a surface at one side of the insulating layer; and
a plurality of first electrical connection pads 322, each of which has a first extension portion extending toward and electrically connected to one end of a first circuit of the first circuits, wherein a width of each of the first electrical connection pads in a direction transverse to the first circuit connected thereto is wider than a width of the first circuit, and a width of the first extension portion gradually decreases toward a junction of the first extension portion and the first circuit connected thereto (fig. 3A).
As to claim 3, Hsu discloses that an extension path of each of the first circuits differs from a virtual straight line connecting two ends of the first circuit (fig. 3A).
As to claim 4, Hsu discloses that a path length of each of the first circuits is greater than a straight-line distance between the two ends of the first circuit (fig. 3A).
As to claim 5, Hsu discloses a plurality of second circuits 304 disposed on another side of the insulating layer; a plurality of second electrical connection pads 342, each of which has a second extension portion extending toward and electrically connected to one end of a second circuit of the second circuits, wherein a width of each of the second electrical connection pads in a direction transverse to the second circuit connected thereto is greater than a width of the second circuit, and a width of the second extension portion gradually decreases toward a junction of the second extension portion and the second circuit connected thereto; and a plurality of first conductive vias 334, 338 disposed in the insulating layer and penetrating the insulating layer, wherein two ends of each of the first conductive vias correspond to and electrically connected respectively to one of the first electrical connection pads and one of the second electrical connection pads (fig. 3A).
As to claim 7, Hsu discloses that the first extension portion of the one of the first electrical connection pads and the second extension portion of the one of the second electrical connection pads connected respectively to the two ends of each of the first conductive vias extend in different directions (fig. 3A).
As to claim 8, Hsu discloses that an extension path of each of the second circuits differs from a virtual straight line connecting two ends of the second circuit (fig. 3A).
As to claim 9, Hsu discloses that a path length of each of the second circuits is greater than a straight-line distance between the two ends of the second circuit (fig. 3A).
As to claim 10, Hsu discloses that the first circuit electrically connected to the one of the first electrical connection pads and the second circuit electrically connected to the one of the second electrical connection pads at the two ends of each of the first conductive vias, respectively, extend along different directions on different surfaces of the insulating layer (fig. 3A).
Conclusion
/AMOL H PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847