DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 and 01/23/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,398,276 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current invention is broader than the issued patent. The current application recites similar limitation as the issued patent such as a decoder comprising a first circuit configured to supply a first voltage to the access line, wherein the first circuit comprises: a first transistor configured to supply the first voltage to the access line based at least in part on the first voltage being applied to a source of the first transistor, a ground voltage being applied to a gate of the first transistor, and a threshold voltage of the first transistor; a second transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the second transistor and the second transistor being isolated from one or more voltage sources; and a third transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the third transistor and the ground voltage being applied to a source of the third transistor.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,051,463 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current invention is broader than the issued patent. The current application recites similar limitation as the issued patent such as a decoder comprising a first circuit configured to supply a first voltage to the access line, wherein the first circuit comprises: a first transistor configured to supply the first voltage to the access line based at least in part on the first voltage being applied to a source of the first transistor, a ground voltage being applied to a gate of the first transistor, and a threshold voltage of the first transistor; a second transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the second transistor and the second transistor being isolated from one or more voltage sources; and a third transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the third transistor and the ground voltage being applied to a source of the third transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanda et al. (US 2007/0201299 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kanda teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory array comprising an access line coupled with a memory cell (Fig. 1, memory array 10); and
a decoder (Fig. 1, Decoder 20) comprising a first circuit configured to supply a first voltage to the access line, wherein the first circuit comprises:
a first transistor configured to supply the first voltage to the access line based at least in part on the first voltage being applied to a source of the first transistor, a ground voltage being applied to a gate of the first transistor, and a threshold voltage of the first transistor (Fig. 16, transistor 152);
a second transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the second transistor and the second transistor being isolated from one or more voltage sources (Fig. 16, second transistor 151); and
a third transistor configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on the ground voltage being applied to a gate of the third transistor and the ground voltage being applied to a source of the third transistor (Fig. 16, third transistor 153).
Regarding claim 3, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first transistor is configured to supply the first voltage to the access line based at least in part on the first voltage at the source of the first transistor exceeding a sum of the ground voltage at the gate of the first transistor and the threshold voltage of the first transistor (¶0228 to ¶0230).
Regarding claim 4, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second transistor is configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on a difference between the first voltage and the ground voltage being less than a threshold voltage of the second transistor (Fig. 4, when signal RAD2 is low and a ground voltage is connected to transistor 151, the transistor 151 will isolate the access line WL).
Regarding claim 5, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second transistor is configured to isolate the access line based at least in part on a source of the second transistor being isolated from the one or more voltage sources (¶0230).
Regarding claim 6, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein: the source of the first transistor of the first circuit is coupled with a first transistor of a second circuit of the decoder, the first transistor of the second circuit is configured to provide the first voltage to the first transistor of the first circuit, the source of the second transistor of the first circuit is coupled with a second transistor of the second circuit of the decoder, and the second transistor of the second circuit is configured to isolate the source of the second transistor of the first circuit from the one or more voltage sources (Fig. 18, the transfer gates are connected to other transfer gates using the common lines RDA1 to RAD3).
Regarding claim 7, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the access line is configured to activate the memory cell based at least in part on being supplied with the first voltage (Fig. 16 or Fig. 18, the word lines WLs are using to active the memory cells).
Regarding claim 8, Kanda further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first circuit is configured to supply the access line with the first voltage in response to a selection operation, and the first voltage is a positive voltage (Fig. 16, during the selection operation for the word line, the inverter 144 will provide a positive voltage to output RAD1, see ¶0198 and ¶0199).
Regarding claims 9-21, the claims have similar limitations as claims 1-8. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection for the same reasoning.
Conclusion
A4ny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHAMDAN N ALROBAIE whose telephone number is (571)270-7099. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Thursday (8AM till 6PM).
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824