DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Claim(s) 1 and 14-15 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting (nsdp) as being unpatentable over claim(s) 13, 13 and 20 of U.S. Patent Number: 11614505. They appear to be commonly owned of different inventive entities. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: said Claim(s) of the instant application are anticipated by species of US 11614505 as illustrated in the chart below (See MPEP §804.03, § 2131.02: "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989)):
Instant Application 18/769295
US Patent 11614505
1. A deployable guard device configured to be coupled to a portable magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device,
the deployable guard device comprising:
a plurality of arms that, when the deployable guard device is in a deployed position, at least partially surround a region within which a magnetic field strength of a magnetic field generated by the portable MRI device equals or exceeds a threshold field strength; and
at least one deployment device configured to generate a force to facilitate moving the deployable guard device from an undeployed position to the deployed position.
13. An apparatus comprising:
a deployable guard device configured to be coupled to a portable magnetic resonance imaging device,
the deployable guard device further configured to,
when deployed, demarcate a boundary within which a magnetic field strength of a magnetic field generated by the portable magnetic resonance imaging device equals or exceeds a given threshold,
wherein: when in a deployed position, the deployable guard device extends radially further from an imaging region of the portable magnetic resonance imaging device than when the deployable guard device is in an undeployed position; and
the deployable guard device is configured to automatically move between the undeployed position and the deployed position in response to application of a force on the deployable guard device.
Claim 14
Same as Claim 13 for NSDP.
Claim 15
Same as Claim 20 for NSDP.
Terminal Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Livni et al. (US 6317618; hereinafter Livni).
Regarding claim 1, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 a deployable guard device configured to be coupled to a portable magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device (abs. – transportable mri), the deployable guard device comprising:
a plurality of arms that (pg. 7 par. 3- arm 5 is inverted-L-shaped, and Is pivotally coupled to a slider block 9 which can be moved and repositioned along a vertical column 10 mounted on a step 13, at the front of the apparatus main housing 7, and supported from its top by cantilever 35; removable RF shield 41,47,49, cage 40, RFI gasket 46; fig. 6), when the deployable guard device is in a deployed position, at least partially surround a region within which a magnetic field strength of a magnetic field (pg. 9 par. 2 - RF shielding means to prevent background or noise signals from interfering with the operation of MRI systems, as the magnetic resonance signal is weak … preferably in the range of 0.1-0.6 Tesla) generated by the portable MRI device equals or exceeds a threshold field strength (pg. 9 par.6 - In order to prevent outside stray signals from Infiltrating the cage at the seams, RFI gasket 46 is provided along the joining lines of the cage and the apparatus. In order to prevent RF signal from entering the cage from underneath, a hard aluminum sheet is placed underneath the cage, prior to the deployment of the cage and throughout the imaging procedure); and
at least one deployment device configured to generate a force to facilitate moving the deployable guard device from an undeployed position to the deployed position (clms. 5-6 : - ferromagnetic metal casing comprises a door that is pivotally connected to a hinge, thereby allowing the door to be opened and closed… the hinge is coupled to a torsion spring that forces the door open when the magnetic structure is in the second position, but allows the door to close when the magnetic structure is in the first position and exerts a magnetic force on the door).
Regarding claim 2, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein the at least one deployment device comprises a torsion spring (clms. 6 - torsion spring).
Regarding claim 3, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein the at least one deployment device comprises a respective deployment device coupled to each of the plurality of arms (pg. 5 par. 3 - two opposite foldable deployable walls 41,49/40).
Regarding claim 4, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein the deployable guard device is radially asymmetrical (cuboid shape of 40).
Regarding claim 10, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of arms comprises at least four arms (41,47,49, 46).
Regarding claim 11, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein at least two arms of the plurality of arms are configured to move from the deployed position to the undeployed position in response to a force on only one of the at least two arms the plurality of arms (pg. 9 par. 1 - arm 5 with magnets 3 suspended on it to be brought to the storing position).
Regarding claim 12, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein at least two arms of the plurality of arms are configured to move from the undeployed position to the deployed position in response to a force on only one of the at least two of the plurality of arms (pg. 9 par. 1 - arm 5 with magnets 3 suspended on it to be brought to the storing position).
Regarding claim 13, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1, wherein the at least one deployment device is configured to automatically return the deployable guard device to the deployed position in response to a force on the deployable guard device towards the undeployed position (pg. 7 par. 3 - deploying and positioning of the magnets is achieved by the following means: lowering or raising of the magnets is achieved by moving slider block 9 up or down vertical column 10, thus raising or lowering arm 5 holding the magnets 3; - pg. 8 par. 4 - wheels may optionally be connected to a motor--possibly an electric pneumatic or hydraulic, to provide an automotive force for the transporting of the apparatus).
Regarding claim 14, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 a system, comprising:
a portable magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device (mri apparatus 1; fig. 6 ) ; and
a deployable guard device (40) coupled to the portable MRI device, the deployable guard device comprising:
a plurality of arms that (pg. 7 par. 3- arm 5 is inverted-L-shaped, and Is pivotally coupled to a slider block 9 which can be moved and repositioned along a vertical column 10 mounted on a step 13, at the front of the apparatus main housing 7, and supported from its top by cantilever 35;removable RF shield 41,47,49, cage 40, RFI gasket 46; fig. 6), when the deployable guard device is in a deployed position, at least partially surround a region within which a magnetic field strength of a magnetic field (pg. 9 par. 2 - RF shielding means to prevent background or noise signals from interfering with the operation of MRI systems, as the magnetic resonance signal is weak … preferably in the range of 0.1-0.6 Tesla) generated by the portable MRI device equals or exceeds a threshold field strength (pg. 9 par.6 - In order to prevent outside stray signals from Infiltrating the cage at the seams, RFI gasket 46 is provided along the joining lines of the cage and the apparatus. In order to prevent RF signal from entering the cage from underneath, a hard aluminum sheet is placed underneath the cage, prior to the deployment of the cage and throughout the imaging procedure); and
at least one deployment device configured to generate a force to facilitate moving the deployable guard device from an undeployed position to the deployed position (clms. 5-6 : - ferromagnetic metal casing comprises a door that is pivotally connected to a hinge, thereby allowing the door to be opened and closed… the hinge is coupled to a torsion spring that forces the door open when the magnetic structure is in the second position, but allows the door to close when the magnetic structure is in the first position and exerts a magnetic force on the door).
Regarding claim 15, Livni discloses in figure(s) 1-6 a method for operating a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device, the MRI device being coupled to a deployable guard device (pg. 3 par. 8 - provide a transportable intraoperative magnetic resonance imaging apparatus provided with a removable magnetic flux suppressor to suppress the magnetic flux of the magnet in its surroundings while the apparatus is being transferred) comprising
a plurality of arms that (pg. 7 par. 3- arm 5 is inverted-L-shaped, and Is pivotally coupled to a slider block 9 which can be moved and repositioned along a vertical column 10 mounted on a step 13, at the front of the apparatus main housing 7, and supported from its top by cantilever 35;removable RF shield 41,47,49, cage 40, RFI gasket 46; fig. 6), when the deployable guard device is in a deployed position, at least partially surround a region within which a magnetic field strength of a magnetic field (pg. 9 par. 2 - RF shielding means to prevent background or noise signals from interfering with the operation of MRI systems, as the magnetic resonance signal is weak … preferably in the range of 0.1-0.6 Tesla) generated by the portable MRI device equals or exceeds a threshold field strength (pg. 9 par.6 - In order to prevent outside stray signals from Infiltrating the cage at the seams, RFI gasket 46 is provided along the joining lines of the cage and the apparatus. In order to prevent RF signal from entering the cage from underneath, a hard aluminum sheet is placed underneath the cage, prior to the deployment of the cage and throughout the imaging procedure), wherein: the deployable guard device further comprises at least one deployment device configured to generate a force to facilitate moving the deployable guard device from an undeployed position to the deployed position (clms. 5-6 : - ferromagnetic metal casing comprises a door that is pivotally connected to a hinge, thereby allowing the door to be opened and closed… the hinge is coupled to a torsion spring that forces the door open when the magnetic structure is in the second position, but allows the door to close when the magnetic structure is in the first position and exerts a magnetic force on the door), transporting the MRI device from a first location to a second location (12-14; abs. - a transportable platform, provided with a casing made of ferromagnetic metal, and a magnetic resonance imaging system mounted onto said transportable platform); and moving the deployable guard device from the deployed position (RF cage 40 deployed state in fig. 6) to the undeployed position (40 in stored state in fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livni in view of Sayler et al. (US 20200170539).
Regarding claim 5, Livni teaches in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1,
Livni does not teach explicitly wherein the deployable guard device is bilaterally asymmetrical.
However, Sayler teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein the deployable guard device is bilaterally asymmetrical (arms 80, 80f; fig. 6B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Livni by having wherein the deployable guard device is bilaterally asymmetrical as taught by Sayler in order to provide routine design option from a limited possibilities as evidenced by "assemblies for use during image-guided procedures and can include turret arms and/or longitudinally extending and laterally extending cooperating devices for holding surgical tools such as trajectory guides" (abstract of Sayler).
Regarding claim 6, Livni teaches in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1,
Livni does not teach explicitly wherein at least some arms of the plurality of arms are movable to the deployed position while others of the plurality of arms remain in an undeployed position.
However, Sayler teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein at least some arms of the plurality of arms are movable (80f,85; fig. 6B; para. 81 - turret arm 80 using at least one mount member 85 that can slidably move over the turret arm 80 to allow for positional adjustment relative thereto) to the deployed position while others (80,70) of the plurality of arms remain in an undeployed position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Livni by having wherein at least some arms of the plurality of arms are movable to the deployed position while others of the plurality of arms remain in an undeployed position as taught by Sayler in order to provide routine design option from a limited possibilities as evidenced by "assemblies for use during image-guided procedures and can include turret arms and/or longitudinally extending and laterally extending cooperating devices for holding surgical tools such as trajectory guides" (abstract of Sayler).
Regarding claim 7, Livni teaches in figure(s) 1-6 the deployable guard device of claim 1,
Livni does not teach explicitly wherein: the plurality of arms comprises a first arm and a second arm; and the first and second arms at least partially overlap one another in space when the deployable guard device is in the deployed position.
However, Sayler teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein: the plurality of arms comprises a first arm (80, 85; fig. 6B) and a second arm (70, 80f); and the first and second arms at least partially overlap one another in space when the deployable guard device is in the deployed position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Livni by having wherein: the plurality of arms comprises a first arm and a second arm; and the first and second arms at least partially overlap one another in space when the deployable guard device is in the deployed position as taught by Sayler in order to provide routine design option from a limited possibilities as evidenced by "assemblies for use during image-guided procedures and can include turret arms and/or longitudinally extending and laterally extending cooperating devices for holding surgical tools such as trajectory guides" (abstract of Sayler).
Regarding claim 8, Livni in view of Sayler teaches the deployable guard device of claim 7,
Sayler additionally teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein the first (80, 85; fig. 6B) and second arms (70, 80f) are not coupled together at a point where the first and second arms at least partially overlap each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Livni by having wherein the first and second arms are not coupled together at a point where the first and second arms at least partially overlap each other as taught by Sayler in order to provide routine design option from a limited possibilities as evidenced by "assemblies for use during image-guided procedures and can include turret arms and/or longitudinally extending and laterally extending cooperating devices for holding surgical tools such as trajectory guides" (abstract of Sayler).
Regarding claim 9, Livni in view of Sayler teaches the deployable guard device of claim 7,
Sayler additionally teaches in figure(s) 1-11 wherein a first end of the first arm (80, 85; fig. 6B) overlaps a first end of the second arm (70, 80f) when the deployable guard device is in the deployed position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Livni by having wherein a first end of the first arm overlaps a first end of the second arm when the deployable guard device is in the deployed position as taught by Sayler in order to provide routine design option from a limited possibilities as evidenced by "assemblies for use during image-guided procedures and can include turret arms and/or longitudinally extending and laterally extending cooperating devices for holding surgical tools such as trajectory guides" (abstract of Sayler).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858