DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the phrase “Disclosed is a…” can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following item(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
(Claim 4): “a heat dissipation coating material”
(Claim 5): “a waterproof adhesive”
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide (JP 2012004590) in view of Ishibashi, et al. (JP H11147286).
Regarding claim 1, Ide discloses “a bottom housing main body (Fig. 2, ref.# 14)”… “, the bottom housing main body being fastened to a bottom of a dome camera (Fig. 2, ref.# 12, 13), the bottom housing main body comprising a ventilation hole (Fig. 3, location of ref.# 15) formed therein to dissipate heat generated from a system-on-chip (SoC) (Fig. 2, ref.# 26), the SoC being a heat source mounted inside the dome camera; and a bottom housing sub-plate (Fig. 2, ref.# 15) made of metal (page 3 of translation, 1st paragraph: metal), the bottom housing sub-plate being coupled to a bottom of the bottom housing main body”…”as to be exposed to an outside (See Fig. 3), the bottom housing sub-plate comprising a bent portion formed so as to be inserted into the ventilation hole in the bottom housing main body and to be in direct contact with the SoC (See Fig. 3, ref.# 15; page 2 of translation, last paragraph – page 3 of translation, 1st paragraph).”
Ide does not specifically teach the material of the housing other than the plastic cover member (ref.# 12) and the metal plate (ref.# 15: screw hole). Thus, Ide does not specifically teach that the lower case ref. 14 is made of plastic (i.e., “a bottom housing main body (Fig. 1, ref.# 14) made of plastic”). However, camera housings that are made of plastic was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Ishibashi (See page 2 of translation, paragraph 0005: plastics and page 4 of translation, 7th paragraph: housing of electric equipment). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ide such that the lower case (ref.# 14) is made of plastic in order to easily manufacture the housing at a low cost.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Ide teaches all the structure set forth in the claim except (Claim 2) “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is manufactured through press working” and (Claim 3) “wherein the bottom housing main body made of plastic is manufactured through injection molding.”
However, manufacturing metal parts of a housing with press working and plastic part of a housing through injection molding was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Ishibashi (See page 3 of translation, paragraphs 1-3: injection molding & press working). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective fling date of the claimed invention of further modify Ide “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is manufactured through press working” and “wherein the bottom housing main body made of plastic is manufactured through injection molding” in order to manufacture the plastic and metal parts with intricate shapes at a low cost.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ide teaches all the structure set forth in the claim except “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is coated with a heat dissipation coating material in order to increase heat dissipation effect.” However, the use of metal coatings on housing surfaces was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Ishibashi (See page 6 of translation, 2nd paragraph). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ide “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is coated with a heat dissipation coating material in order to increase heat dissipation effect” in order to more efficiently reduce the heat inside the camera housing and thus prevent degradation to the camera image or prevent damage to the camera electronics due to excessive heat.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ide teaches all the structure set forth in the claim except “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is bonded to the bottom of the bottom housing main body made of plastic using a waterproof adhesive in order to provide waterproofness therebetween.” However, the use of an adhesive to attach two components of a housing was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Ishibashi (See page 7 of translation, last paragraph – page 8 of translation, 1st and 2nd paragraphs: adhesive). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ide “wherein the bottom housing sub-plate made of metal is bonded to the bottom of the bottom housing main body made of plastic using a waterproof adhesive in order to provide waterproofness therebetween” in order to make the housing watertight and securely attach the different components together.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yoshida (JP 2022155055), Collryd, et al. (US 10,887,493), Matsuo (EP 3531685), Kim, et al. (KR 20180100897), Shi, et al. (KR 20140131138), Fujino (JP 2013148634) and Morofuji (JP 201303098580) teach a dome camera with a bottom housing.
Hyun (KR 102379515) teaches a heat dissipating coating.
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
February 11, 2026