Drawings
Figures 1 and 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Patent No. 8,575,746), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a chip-on-film packaging structure comprising a chip-on-film package body (Fig. 2, COF type semiconductor package 1, flexible film 11, semiconductor IC chip 18; Col. 4 lines 37-67); and a heat dissipating sheet configured for covering the chip-on-film package body and dissipating heat of a chip contained in the chip-on-film package body (Fig. 2, heating pad 20; Col. 3 line 33 – Col. 4 Line 67), wherein the heat dissipating sheet comprises a main attachment area and a bulge suppression portion, the main attachment area is covered and bonded to an upper surface of the chip, the bulge suppression portion is disposed at an outer periphery of the main attachment area to prevent the heat dissipating sheet at the four corners of the chip from bulging (Figs. 2, 6A, and 6B, heating pad 20, 20C, 20D, Slot 52A, 52B; Col. 4 line 37 – Col. 5 line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Katoh et al. (Pub. No. US 20100290192 A1), hereinafter referred to as Katoh.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the chip-on-film package structure according to claim 1. Lee further teaches the bulge suppression portion comprising a first portion, which are hole lines or kerfs (Figs. 6A, and 6B, heating pad 20C, 20D, Slot 52A, 52B; Col. 4 line 37 – Col. 5 line 10). However, Lee does not explicitly teach the hole lines or kerfs extending outward from two opposite corner portions of the main attachment area, and the bulge suppression portion being in an area defined by extension lines extending outward from long sides and short sides of the main attachment area.
Katoh teaches the hole lines or kerfs extending outward from two opposite corner portions of the main attachment area, and the bulge suppression portion being in an area defined by extension lines extending outward from long sides and short sides of the main attachment area (Figs. 1a-1c, heat dissipating material 7, slits 8, 8a, 8b; ¶61-69).
Lee and Katoh are analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating pad of Lee with the slits of Katoh such that he bulge suppression portion comprises a first portion, which are hole lines or kerfs extending outward from two opposite corner portions of the main attachment area, and the bulge suppression portion is in an area defined by extension lines extending outward from long sides and short sides of the main attachment area. For the purpose of preventing deformation and disconnection of elements in the device due to thermal expansion, as recognized by Katoh.
Regarding claim 3, Lee further teaches the bulge suppression portion further comprising a second portion, which are short-side hole lines overlapping and extending along the short sides of the main attachment area (Figs. 6A, and 6B, heating pad 20C, 20D, Slot 52A, 52B; Col. 4 line 37 – Col. 5 line 10). Lee additionally teaches that the hole lines and kerfs may be of various shapes and sizes (Col. 5 line 1 - 10). However, Lee does not explicitly teach an amount of extension of the second portion from the corner portion is equal to or greater than a height of the chip.
Katoh also teaches the bulge suppression portion further comprising a second portion, which are short-side hole lines overlapping and extending along the short sides of the main attachment area (Fig. 1b, slit 8c; ¶61-69). Katoh additionally teaches that the hole lines and kerfs may be of various sizes. However, Katoh does not explicitly teach an amount of extension of the second portion from the corner portion is equal to or greater than a height of the chip.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of both Lee and Katoh to have an amount of extension of the second portion from the corner portion being equal to or greater than a height of the chip. For the purpose of preventing deformation and disconnection of elements in the device due to thermal expansion or stress, as recognized by both Lee and Katoh.
Regarding claim 4, Lee further teaches the bulge suppression portion comprises a first set of the bulge suppression portions and a second set of the bulge suppression portions which are alternately arranged along a long side direction of the main attachment area, the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are a plurality of hole lines or a plurality of kerfs which are parallel to each other , the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are alternately provided, when viewed from top to bottom along a width direction of the heat dissipating sheet, the heat dissipating sheet sequentially comprises a first area, a third area, and a second area (Figs. 9A&9B, slots 82A, 82B; Col. 5, lines 27-59). However, Lee does not explicitly teach lower portions of the first set of the bulge suppression portions and upper portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are alternately arranged at the third area, and lower portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are arranged at the second area, and the chip is arranged at the first area or the second area.
Katoh teaches the bulge suppression portion comprises a first set of the bulge suppression portions and a second set of the bulge suppression portions which are alternately arranged along a long side direction of the main attachment area, the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are a plurality of hole lines or a plurality of kerfs which are parallel to each other , the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are alternately provided, when viewed from top to bottom along a width direction of the heat dissipating sheet, the heat dissipating sheet sequentially comprises a first area, a third area, and a second area, lower portions of the first set of the bulge suppression portions and upper portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are alternately arranged at the third area, and lower portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are arranged at the second area, and the chip is arranged at the first area or the second area (Figs. 4d and 5d, slit 8g, 8gb, 8gbb, semiconductor element 4; ¶70-75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with the slits of Katoh such that the bulge suppression portion comprises a first set of the bulge suppression portions and a second set of the bulge suppression portions which are alternately arranged along a long side direction of the main attachment area, the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are a plurality of hole lines or a plurality of kerfs which are parallel to each other , the first group of the bulge suppression portions and the second group of the bulge suppression portions are alternately provided, when viewed from top to bottom along a width direction of the heat dissipating sheet, the heat dissipating sheet sequentially comprises a first area, a third area, and a second area, lower portions of the first set of the bulge suppression portions and upper portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are alternately arranged at the third area, and lower portions of the second set of the bulge suppression portions are arranged at the second area, and the chip is arranged at the first area or the second area. For the purpose of preventing deformation and disconnection of elements in the device due to thermal expansion, as recognized by Katoh.
Regarding claim 5, Lee further teaches the plurality of hole lines or the plurality of kerfs of the first set of the bulge suppression portions, and the second set of the bulge suppression portions are perpendicular to the long side direction of the main attachment area (Figs. 4d and 5d, slit 8g, 8gb, 8gbb, semiconductor element 4; ¶70-75).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further teaches a pitch is arranged between the main attachment area and the third area, the pitch is above a height of the chip (Fig. 2, heating pad 20; Col. 4 line 37 – Col. 4 Line 67).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further teaches the heat dissipating sheet comprises a first notch disposed at an outer side of at least one long side of the main attachment area (Fig. 9B, slot 82B; Col. 5, lines 27-59). Lee additionally teaches that notches may be of various shapes, sizes, and locations (Col. 5 lines 27-59). However, Lee does not explicitly teach a second notch opened from the first notch to a direction away from the main attachment area, the first notch has an elongated shape having a length larger than a length of the main attachment area and is disposed along the long side of the main attachment area, the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch and the second notch.
Katoh teaches a second notch opened from the first notch to a direction away from the main attachment area, the first notch has an elongated shape having a length larger than a length of the main attachment area and is disposed along the long side of the main attachment area, the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch and the second notch (Figs. 4b, 4d, 5b, and 5d, slit 8eb, 8g, 8ga, 8gaa, 8gb; ¶70-75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the notches of Lee with the notches of Katoh such that the heat dissipating sheet comprises a first notch disposed at an outer side of at least one long side of the main attachment area; and a second notch opened from the first notch to a direction away from the main attachment area, the first notch has an elongated shape having a length larger than a length of the main attachment area, and is disposed along the long side of the main attachment area, the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch and the second notch. For the purpose of preventing deformation and disconnection of elements in the device due to thermal expansion while maintaining good heat dissipation, as recognized by Katoh.
Regarding claim 8, Lee further teaches a pitch being arranged between the main attachment area and the third area, the pitch being above the height of the chip (Fig. 2, heating pad 20; Col. 4 line 37 – Col. 4 Line 67). Lee additionally teaches that notches may be of various shapes, sizes, and locations (Col. 5 lines 27-59). However, Lee does not explicitly teach in a long side direction of the main attachment area, a width defined by two ends of the first notch that extends beyond the main attachment area is equal to or greater than a height of the chip.
Katoh teaches in a long side direction of the main attachment area, a width defined by two ends of the first notch that extends beyond the main attachment area is equal to or greater than a height of the chip (Figs. 4b, 4d, 5b, and 5d, slit 8eb, 8gb; ¶70-75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the notches of Lee with the notches of Katoh such that in a long side direction of the main attachment area, a width defined by two ends of the first notch that extends beyond the main attachment area is equal to or greater than a height of the chip. For the purpose of preventing deformation and disconnection of elements in the device due to thermal expansion while maintaining good heat dissipation, as recognized by Katoh.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Katoh as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Jung (Pub. No. US 20230080328 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Katoh does not explicitly teach the heat dissipating sheet further comprising two third notches provided at outer sides of two short sides of the main attachment area, and an opening toward a direction away from the main attachment area, the third notches are not communicated with the first notch, and the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch, the second notch and the third notches.
Jung teaches the heat dissipating sheet further comprising two third notches provided at outer sides of two short sides of the main attachment area, and an opening toward a direction away from the main attachment area, the third notches are not communicated with the first notch, and the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch, the second notch and the third notches (Figs. 1, 5, and 8, slits 310; ¶26-54).
Lee, Katoh, and Jung are all analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Katoh to incorporate the notches of Jung such that he heat dissipating sheet further comprises two third notches provided at outer sides of two short sides of the main attachment area, and an opening toward a direction away from the main attachment area, the third notches are not communicated with the first notch, and the bulge suppression portion is configured by at least the first notch, the second notch and the third notches. For the purpose of reducing deformation and stress of the heat dissipating sheet, as recognized by Jung.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Katoh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He et al. (Pub. No. CN 114068437 A), hereinafter referred to as He.
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Katoh does not explicitly teach the bulge suppression portion being an opening, the opening having a shape of any one of a circular hole, an oval hole, and a rectangular hole, and the opening of the bulge suppression portion extending into two ends of the main attachment area, so that an entire short side of the chip is exposed.
He teaches the bulge suppression portion is an opening, the opening has a shape of any one of a circular hole, an oval hole, and a rectangular hole, and the opening of the bulge suppression portion extends into two ends of the main attachment area, so that an entire short side of the chip is exposed (Fig 2B, through holes O).
Lee, Katoh, and He are all analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Katoh to incorporate the openings of He such that the bulge suppression portion is an opening, the opening has a shape of any one of a circular hole, an oval hole, and a rectangular hole, and the opening of the bulge suppression portion extends into two ends of the main attachment area, so that an entire short side of the chip is exposed. For the purpose of reducing stress in the high heat area and improving heat dissipation, as recognized by He.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakagawa et al. (US Patent No. 8,344,486), Jung et al. (Pub. No. US 20190363051 A1), and Ho et al. (US Patent No. 10,163,754).
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/E.A.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2897