DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a data generation unit, a risk determination unit, and a risk reevaluation unit, in claims 1-5.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The limitations “a data generation unit, a risk determination unit, and a risk reevaluation unit are interpreted are interpreted to be part of the processor 24 of the server 2 as disclosed in Paragraph 0035.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “dangerous” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “dangerous” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, therefore, the claim does not provide any rule or criteria to determine what is a dangerous phenomenon and what is not a dangerous phenomenon. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as an accident or a Collison.
With respect to claim 2, the applicant claims “an area” in line 2. It is not clear to the examiner if the limitation “an area” is the “entire target area” or one of the plurality of unit areas” recited in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “the target area” of claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, the applicant claims “subdivides an area determined to have a high traffic risk into individual area”. It is not clear to the examiner what the applicant is trying to convey with said limitation. Subdividing an area should lead to more than one sub area or individual area, not only one as claimed. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “subdivides an area determined to have a high traffic risk into individual areas”
The term “high” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, therefore, the claim does not provide any rule or criteria to determine what is high risk and what is not high risk. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as high risk is when the number of times of occurrence of the dangerous phenomenon is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value.
The term “small” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, therefore, the claim does not provide any rule or criteria to determine what is considered a small area or not a small area. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “wherein the individual area is an area narrower than the unit area”.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected independent claim 1 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) (claim 1) recite(s) generating aggregated data regarding a predetermined dangerous phenomenon from vehicle data acquired in an entire target area including a plurality of unit areas and determining a traffic risk for each of the plurality of unit areas based on the aggregated data.
The limitations of “generating aggregated data and determining a traffic risk”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a data generation unit and a risk determination unit” interpreted to be a processor of the server, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a data generation unit and a risk determination unit” language interpreted to be a processor of the server, “generating and determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking and figuring out a traffic risk of an area using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements “a data generation unit and a risk determination unit” interpreted to be a processor of the server to perform both the generating and determining steps. The processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “a data generation unit and a risk determination unit” interpreted to be a processor of the server to perform both the generating and determining steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-5 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 2 recites “subdividing an area and reevaluating the risk” and that falls under the mental process. The additional element of “a risk reevaluation unit” is analyzed in the same way as “a data generation unit and a risk determination unit” interpreted to be a processor of the server, i.e. apply the exception using a generic computer component that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 3-5 further define the individual area and that falls under the mental process and because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, dependent claims 2-5 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blume et al US 2023/0137142 A1 (hence Blume).
In re claim 1, Blume discloses a method for identifying potential hazard zones in road traffic by vehicles connected to a central computer unit (Abstract) and teaches the following:
A traffic risk estimation device (Fig.1, #2, and Paragraph 0034 “a central computer unit 2”) comprising:
a data generation unit that generates aggregated data regarding a predetermined dangerous phenomenon from vehicle data (Paragraph 0038 “analysis A” and “historical accidents”) acquired in an entire target area (Paragraph 0004 “a digital map”, and “road”) including a plurality of unit areas (Paragraph 0004 “hazard zones” and Paragraph 0025 “potential hazard zones occur in public road traffic”);
and a risk determination unit that determines a traffic risk for each of the plurality of unit areas based on the aggregated data (Paragraph 0040 “In the central computer unit 2, a definition and a mapping M of hotspots first occurs if there are a large number of similar incidents E, with the contextual information K being taken into account via location and time during the analysis A of the hotspots” and Paragraph 0043 “hazard zones are therefore recognized”)
In re claim 2, Blume teaches the following:
a risk reevaluation unit that subdivides an area determined to have a high traffic risk into individual area, and reevaluates a traffic risk of the individual area based on the number of occurrences of the dangerous phenomenon in the individual area (Paragraph 0041 “A comparison V of new hotspots with confirmed hotspots then follows”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blume in view of Huang CN 111885500 A (The examiner is providing an English translation and relying upon, hence Huang).
In re claim 3, Blume discloses the claimed invention as recited above including wherein the individual area is the unit area (Paragraph 0025 “potential hazard zones occur in public road traffic”), but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
when the number of occurrences of the dangerous phenomenon in the unit area is zero, a traffic risk of the unit area is lowered
Nevertheless, Huang discloses obtaining first position information sent by a terminal device, and judging whether the terminal device is close to a dangerous area according to the first position information (Abstract) and teaches the following:
when the number of occurrences of the dangerous phenomenon in the unit area is zero, a traffic risk of the unit area is lowered (Page 7, underlined portion “the range of the danger index is zero to ten”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Blume reference to include a range of danger index between zero to ten, as taught by Huang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to define a low risk area with a low number and a high risk area with a higher number using a danger index (Huang, Page 7).
In re claim 4, Blume discloses the claimed invention as recited above including wherein the individual area is a small area narrower than the unit area (Paragraph 0004 hotspot”), but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
when the number of occurrences of the dangerous phenomenon in the small area is less than a predetermined value, a traffic risk of the small area is lowered (Page 7, underlined portion “the range of the danger index is zero to ten”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Blume reference to include a range of danger index between zero to ten, as taught by Huang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to define a low risk area with a low number and a high risk area with a higher number using a danger index (Huang, Page 7).
In re claim 5, Blume teaches the following:
wherein the small area includes only one intersection (Paragraph 0049 “nears this hotspot, e.g., a crossroads”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al US 2020/0209871 A1 discloses a method including obtaining a location of a first device on which risk analysis is to be performed, determining a first risk area based on a vehicle traveling line corresponding to the location, where the first risk area is an area that affects a driving behavior of a vehicle in which the first device is located, performing filtering for the first risk area, to obtain risk data, and sending the risk data to the first device.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669