Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 07/11/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
4. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Curtis (US 11486929 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, A switch (relay 20, figure 2), comprising: normally open (NO) terminals (elements 23 and 28, figure 2) ; normally closed (NC) terminals (elements 23 and 29); an actuator (test start switch 100 and relay selector switch 110 as shown in figure 2), configured to conduct at least one of the NO terminals and the NC terminals (lines 12-23, column 5); an indicator for a remaining service life of the switch (RED LED 92 and GREEN LED 91, lines; and a controller component (controller element 61, figure 2), configured to: determine the remaining service life of the switch based on a conduct resistance between at least one of the NO terminals and the NC terminals (The cyclic relay test 210 tests
a predetermined number of cycles of energizing the relay 20 and then deenergizing the relay 20, measuring conductivity or resistance between the armature terminal 23, the normally-open terminal 28, and if present, the normally-closed terminal 29, lines 38-42, column 7), and control the indicator to illuminate a corresponding color based on the determined remaining service life of the switch (The relay 20 is energized and deenergized repeatedly, and the remaining leads 120 are tested accordingly, to ensure the relay 20 is functioning properly. If any of the cyclic relay tests 210 fail, the red LED 92 is illuminated and the testing is stopped. Otherwise the green LED 91 is illuminated to indicating a passing relay test 170, lines 1-4, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches the switch according to claim 1.
Curtis (US 11486929 B1) further teaches, wherein to determine the remaining service life of the switch, the controller component is configured to: measure a first contact resistance between the NO terminals in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NO terminals; and determine the remaining service life of the switch based on the first contact resistance (The cyclic relay test 210 tests a predetermined number of cycles of energizing the relay 20 and then deenergizing the relay 20, measuring conductivity or resistance between the armature terminal 23, the normally-open terminal 28, and if present, the normally-closed terminal 29. The cyclic relay test 210 can only be performed once the electric leads 120 that are connected across the relay coil 26 have been determined. In the above steps, any testing round that results in a count of 10 ensures that the two grounded leads 120 are connected across the coil 26. As such, the conductivity or resistance between the armature terminal 23 and the normally-open terminal 28 can be tested when energizing and deenergizing the coil 26 and by setting the electric lead 120 corresponding to the armature terminal 23 to ground. Similarly the conductivity or resistance between the armature terminal 23 and the normally-closed terminal 29, if present, can be tested when energizing and deenergizing the coil 26 and by setting the electric lead 120 corresponding to the armature terminal 23 to ground. With the relay coil 26 in the energized state, initially the normally-open terminal 28 in a working relay 20 will be disconnected from the armature 27 and will show zero voltage drop, or substantially infinite resistance. Once the armature movement time has transpired and the relay 20 has changed state, the normally-open terminal 28 in a working relay 20 will be electrically connected with the armature 27 and will show a voltage drop of the supply voltage Vs, or substantially zero resistance. The relay 20 is energized and deenergized repeatedly, and the remaining leads 120 are tested accordingly, to ensure the relay 20 is functioning properly. If any of the cyclic relay tests 210 fail, the red LED 92 is illuminated and the testing is stopped. Otherwise the green LED 91 is illuminated to indicating a passing relay test 170, (line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches the switch according to claim 1.
Curtis (US 11486929 B1) further teaches, wherein to determine the remaining service life of the switch, the controller component is configured to: measure a second contact resistance between the NC terminals in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NC terminals; and determine the remaining service life of the switch based on the second contact resistance (When determining if the electric terminal 23 connected with the armature 27 is in electrical contact with, for example, the normally-closed terminal 29, the analog-to-digital converters 140 convert a voltage drop across the terminals 23,29 to see if it reads substantially zero volts. However, due to contact wear and carbon build-up on contacts (not shown) in the relay 20, there may be a slight resistance across the terminals 23,29, in which case the voltage read at the normally-closed contact 29 may be slightly above zero volts. As such, a testing threshold voltage V.sub.c may be set such that resistances over a particular value result in a failed test, as though the terminals 23,29 are not in electrical contact even though they are, but for the contact carbon build-up, lines 5-19, column 9).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches the switch according to claim 1.
Curtis (US 11486929 B1) further teaches, wherein the actuator comprises a pin and a bridge fixed on the pin, wherein the bridge is configured to conduct the NO terminals or the NC terminals (an armature terminal 23 electrically connected with a conductive relay armature 27 that connects with the normally-closed terminal 29, if present, when the coil 26 is in a deenergized state 30, or the normally-open terminal 28 when the coil 26 is in an energized state 31, lines 20-24, column 5).
Regarding dependent claim 5 and 6 Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 4.
Curtis further teaches, a guiding element, wherein the pin is configured to move through an aperture of the guiding element, wherein the actuator further comprises a spring positioned adjacent to the pin and configured to facilitate movement of the actuator (an armature terminal 23 electrically connected with a conductive relay armature 27 that connects with the normally-closed terminal 29, if present, when the coil 26 is in a deenergized state 30, or the normally-open terminal 28 when the coil 26 is in an energized state 31, lines 20-24, column 5).
Pin/shaft, spring, guiding element and aperture are inherent in a relay/contactor Evidence: Cho (US 20200144011 A1) teaches, system and method for eliminating or substantially reducing chatter of contacts of a contactor device. Cho teaches contactor including a shaft, actuator, contactor and spring arrangement.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 1.
Curtis further teaches, wherein: the NO terminals comprise a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the actuator conducts the first terminal and the second terminal in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NO terminals (element 23 and 28, figure 2, (line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 7.
Curtis further teaches, further comprising: a first contact electrically connected with the first terminal; and a second contact electrically connected with the second terminal (element 23 and 28, figure 2, (line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 8.
Curtis further teaches, wherein: the actuator conducts the first contact and the second contact in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NO terminals (element 23 and 28, figure 2, (line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 1.
Curtis further teaches, wherein: the NC terminals comprise a third terminal and a fourth terminal, wherein the actuator conducts the third terminal and the fourth terminal in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NC terminals (element 23 and 29, figure 2, line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 10.
Curtis further teaches, further comprising: a third contact electrically connected with the third terminal; and a fourth contact electrically connected with the fourth terminal (figure 2, line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 11.
Curtis further teaches, wherein: the actuator conducts the third contact and the fourth contact in an instance in which the actuator conducts the NC terminals (figure 2, line 38, column 7 – line 4, column 8; lines 58-64, column 8).
Regarding independent claim 13, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, A switch (relay 20, figure 2), comprising: normally open (NO) terminals (elements 23 and 28, figure 2); normally closed (NC) terminals (elements 23 and 29, figure 2); an actuator (test start switch 100 and relay selector switch 110 as shown in figure 2), configured to conduct at least one of the NO terminals and the NC terminals (lines 12-23, column 5); an indicator for a remaining service life of the switch (indicator 90 includes a green LED 91 to indicate a passing relay test 170, as well as a red LED 92 to indicate a failed relay test 180, lines 66-67, column 5); a sensor, configured to detect the actuator in an instance in which the actuator is pressed (the relay selector switch 110 toggling between the two LEDs 93,94 when closed, lines 66-67, Column 5); and a controller component (controller element 61, figure 2), configured to: determine the remaining service life of the switch based on times that the actuator is pressed, and control the indicator to illuminate a corresponding color based on the determined remaining service life of the switch (The relay 20 is energized and de-energized repeatedly, and the remaining leads 120 are tested accordingly, to ensure the relay 20 is functioning properly. If any of the cyclic relay tests 210 fail, the red LED 92 is illuminated and the testing is stopped. Otherwise the green LED 91 is illuminated to indicating a passing relay test 170, lines 1-4, column 8).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and in view of Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 13.
Curtis is silent about, wherein the sensor is an optoelectronic switch.
Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1) teaches, Circuit interrupters with opto-electronic and/or acoustic systems that can measure displacement over time, optionally along with interrupt current measurements, during an opening and closing event with signal data collected when triggered by a “breaker open” or “breaker close” event (abstract and also see paragraphs [0082]-[0088] for further detail).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing an optoelectronic switch working in conjunction with an circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the optical displacement sensor 50 that can be configured to operate using a position sensing device (PSD) for a circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1) teach, the switch according to claim 13.
Curtis is silent about, wherein the sensor comprises: an emitter; and a receiver, wherein the emitter is configured to generate a beam and direct the beam to the receiver, and the receiver is configured to receive the beam and detect an interruption of the beam.
Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1) teaches, Circuit interrupters with opto-electronic and/or acoustic systems that can measure displacement over time, optionally along with interrupt current measurements, during an opening and closing event with signal data collected when triggered by a “breaker open” or “breaker close” event (abstract). [0082] The circuit interrupter 10 includes at least one non-contact (non-physical contact or “touchless”) measurement sensor and/or displacement sensor 50 such as one or both of an optical or acoustic sensor that transmits and receives a sensor signal. As is known to those of skill in the art, a displacement sensor is a device that measures the distance between the sensor and an object by detecting the amount of displacement through a variety of elements and converting it into a distance. Depending on what element is used, there are several types of sensors, such as optical displacement sensors, linear proximity sensors, and ultrasonic displacement sensors. As also known to those of skill in the art, a measurement sensor is a device that measures by converting changes in amount of light into electrical signals when an object interrupts a wide laser beam. See, http://www.ia.omron.com/support/guide/56/introduction.html, the contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference as if recited in full herein.[0083] The sensor 50 can include an emitter source 50s that transmits a sensor signal across a defined space in the circuit interrupter 10, such as a light source or an acoustic source. The emitter source 50s can comprise a laser 50l as an optical source. The emitter source 50s can comprise an ultrasound source 50u as an acoustic source. [0084] The sensor 50 can be an optical displacement sensor 50 that can be configured to operate using a position sensing device (PSD), charged coupled device (CCD) or complementary method oxide semiconductor (CMOS) type device with triangulation measurement methods. [0086] In some embodiments, the sensor 50 can be mounted in the housing 10h and configured to transmit a sensor signal 50b such as a light beam or acoustic waves toward an internal device, optionally the attachment member 40. A receiver sensor 52 can be positioned to receive/detect a transmitted, optionally a reflected, sensor signal 50r such as a reflected light or acoustic signal reflected by an internal device such as the attachment member 40 to provide displacement data useful for assessing erosion of the contact surfaces of the main contacts 16, 17. [0087] The attachment member 40 can be configured to reflect sufficient light or acoustic signal from the emitted respective light beam or acoustic signal 50b to be detectable by the receiver sensor(s) 52. The receiver sensor 52 can be any suitable sensor. [0087] The attachment member 40 can be configured to reflect sufficient light or acoustic signal from the emitted respective light beam or acoustic signal 50b to be detectable by the receiver sensor(s) 52. The receiver sensor 52 can be any suitable sensor. [0088] During OPEN and CLOSE events, the emitter source 50s can be directed to emit a light beam or acoustic waves 50b, optionally in a pulsed manner, to emit pulses of light or acoustic signal such as ultrasound waves, toward the attachment member 40 and the reflection signal is detected by the receiver sensor 52 to provide stroke data “S” (FIG. 4B, 5B) and/or travel curve displacement data (FIG. 13A, 13B). The data can be evaluated by a processor 100 (FIG. 6, 15) of a control circuit 101 (FIG. 6). As a result, as will be discussed further below, during each interruption when the main contacts 16, 17 separate, the distance traveled by stem 15s and/or drive assembly 20 and the time of such travel can be measured (example distance and time/displacement data are shown in FIGS. 13A, 13B). This displacement data may also be translated to velocity (slope of the distance v. time curve).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing an optoelectronic switch working in conjunction with an circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the optical displacement sensor 50 that can be configured to operate using a position sensing device (PSD) for a circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1) teach, the switch according to claim 15.
Curtis is silent about, wherein the interruption of the beam is detected in an instance in which the actuator is pressed.
Ashtekar (US 2020/0194191 A1) teaches, Circuit interrupters with opto-electronic and/or acoustic systems that can measure displacement over time, optionally along with interrupt current measurements, during an opening and closing event with signal data collected when triggered by a “breaker open” or “breaker close” event (abstract and also see paragraphs [0082]-[0088] for further detail).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing an optoelectronic switch working in conjunction with an circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the optical displacement sensor 50 that can be configured to operate using a position sensing device (PSD) for a circuit interrupter as taught by Ashtekar et al (paragraphs [0082]-[0088]).
6. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and in view of Henke et al (US 10727010 B1).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, the switch according to claim 13.
Curtis is silent about, wherein to determine the remaining service life of the switch, the controller component is configured to: record a historical pressing times that the actuator is pressed; and determine the remaining service life of the switch based on the historical pressing times.
Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teaches, A power contact EoL predictor includes a pair of terminals adapted to be connected to a set of switchable contact electrodes of a power contact; a power switching circuit configured to trigger activation of the contact electrodes based on a first logic state signal or deactivation based on a second logic state signal; a contact separation detector determining a time of separation of the switchable contact electrodes of the power contact during the deactivation, and a controller configured to generate the second logic state signal to trigger the deactivation, and determine a stick duration associated with the set of switchable contact electrodes. The stick duration is based on a difference between a time the second logic state signal is generated and the time of separation during the contact cycle. The controller generates an EoL prediction for the contact electrodes based on the determined stick duration for multiple contact cycles (abstract). design and configuration of a power contact EoL
predictor to ensure reliable interlock performance by providing an indication that can be used to determine, e.g., how close to failure the power contact is and whether to replace the power contact. The power contact EoL predictor may provide stand-alone, in-situ, real-time, power contact stick duration measuring and recording, electrode surface degradation/decay detecting, and EoL prediction for the contact. In some aspects, for EoL prediction, only one current switching power contactor or relay may be used. The EoL prediction may be based on power contact stick duration past data collection as well as presently applied discrete power contact stick duration operations, enabling a prediction about a future power contact failure event. In some aspects, the EoL operations calculate the average stick duration within multiple sets of intervals, stacked or sliding sampling windows over a number of contact cycles. As used herein, the term “stick duration” refers to the time difference between coil activation/deactivation (e.g., a relay coil of a relay contact) and power contact activation/deactivation. In some aspects, the discussed EoL operations may be structured so that EoL prediction operations may be configured and executed in microcontrollers and microprocessors without the need for an external/computation apparatus or method. In various examples, the EoL prediction operations do not rely on extensive mathematical and/or calculus operations. In some aspects, the dry contactor may be optional for EoL prediction. The dry contactor may be utilized if high dielectric isolation and extremely low leakage currents are desired (lines 21-50, column 4). EoL Prediction Algorithm: In some aspects, the EoL predictor 1 may use the following stand-alone, in-situ EoL algorithm. Operations may be rolled down operations from present to EoL limit value register. The number of cycles to get there from a present number of cycles is determined. The number of cycles left to reach registered end-of-life limit value is determined. In some aspects, one or more of the following EoL parameters may be determined by the EoL predictor 1 and used for the EoL prediction: power contact stick duration (actual sample stick duration): average power contact stick duration (mean, average, rms, etc.); average speed of power contact electrode stick duration (SoPCESD) increase (contact electrode surface decay): and average acceleration of power contact stick duration increase (speed of decay) (lines 2-34, column 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing EoL predictor as taught by Henke et al (lines 2-34, column 18).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide power contact EoL predictor for reducing or eliminating preventive maintenance program requirements; reducing or eliminating scheduled service calls; reducing or eliminating prophylactic contact, relay or contactor replacements; power contact life degradation/decay detection; power contact EoL prediction; power contact life-left estimator; EoL alerts based on pre-set values, as taught by Henke et al (lines 9-15, column 8).
Regarding independent claim 18, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) teaches, A switch (relay 20, figure 2), comprising: normally open (NO) terminals (elements 23 and 28, figure 2); normally closed (NC) terminals (elements 23 and 29, figure 2); an actuator (test start switch 100 and relay selector switch 110 as shown in figure 2), configured to conduct at least one of the NO terminals and the NC terminals (lines 12-23, column 5); an indicator for a remaining service life of the switch (RED LED 92 and GREEN LED 91); and a controller component (controller element 61, figure 2), configured to: determine the remaining service life of the switch based on times that actuator conducts the NO terminals, and control the indicator to illuminate a corresponding color based on the determined remaining service life of the switch (The relay 20 is energized and deenergized repeatedly, and the remaining leads 120 are tested accordingly, to ensure the relay 20 is functioning properly. If any of the cyclic relay tests 210 fail, the red LED 92 is illuminated and the testing is stopped. Otherwise the green LED 91 is illuminated to indicating a passing relay test 170, lines 1-4, column 8).
Curtis is silent about a counting module, configured to count times that the actuator conducts the NO terminals;
Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teaches, A power contact EoL predictor includes a pair of terminals adapted to be connected to a set of switchable contact electrodes of a power contact; a power switching circuit configured to trigger activation of the contact electrodes based on a first logic state signal or deactivation based on a second logic state signal; a contact separation detector determining a time of separation of the switchable contact electrodes of the power contact during the deactivation, and a controller configured to generate the second logic state signal to trigger the deactivation, and determine a stick duration associated with the set of switchable contact electrodes. The stick duration is based on a difference between a time the second logic state signal is generated and the time of separation during the contact cycle. The controller generates an EoL prediction for the contact electrodes based on the determined stick duration for multiple contact cycles (abstract). design and configuration of a power contact EoL predictor to ensure reliable interlock performance by providing an indication that can be used to determine, e.g., how close to failure the power contact is and whether to replace the power contact. The power contact EoL predictor may provide stand-alone, in-situ, real-time, power contact stick duration measuring and recording, electrode surface degradation/decay detecting, and EoL prediction for the contact. In some aspects, for EoL prediction, only one current switching power contactor or relay may be used. The EoL prediction may be based on power contact stick duration past data collection as well as presently applied discrete power contact stick duration operations, enabling a prediction about a future power contact failure event. In some aspects, the EoL operations calculate the average stick duration within multiple sets of intervals, stacked or sliding sampling windows over a number of contact cycles. As used herein, the term “stick duration” refers to the time difference between coil activation/deactivation (e.g., a relay coil of a relay contact) and power contact activation/deactivation. In some aspects, the discussed EoL operations may be structured so that EoL prediction operations may be configured and executed in microcontrollers and microprocessors without the need for an external/computation apparatus or method. In various examples, the EoL prediction operations do not rely on extensive mathematical and/or calculus operations. In some aspects, the dry contactor may be optional for EoL prediction. The dry contactor may be utilized if high dielectric isolation and extremely low leakage currents are desired (lines 21-50, column 4). EoL Prediction Algorithm: In some aspects, the EoL predictor 1 may use the following stand-alone, in-situ EoL algorithm. Operations may be rolled down operations from present to EoL limit value register. The number of cycles to get there from a present number of cycles is determined. The number of cycles left to reach registered end-of-life limit value is determined. In some aspects, one or more of the following EoL parameters may be determined by the EoL predictor 1 and used for the EoL prediction: power contact stick duration (actual sample stick duration): average power contact stick duration (mean, average, rms, etc.); average speed of power contact electrode stick duration (SoPCESD) increase (contact electrode surface decay): and average acceleration of power contact stick duration increase (speed of decay) (lines 2-34, column 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing EoL predictor as taught by Henke et al (lines 2-34, column 18).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide power contact EoL predictor for reducing or eliminating preventive maintenance program requirements; reducing or eliminating scheduled service calls; reducing or eliminating prophylactic contact, relay or contactor replacements; power contact life degradation/decay detection; power contact EoL prediction; power contact life-left estimator; EoL alerts based on pre-set values, as taught by Henke et al (lines 9-15, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teach, the switch according to claim 18.
Curtis is silent about, wherein to determine the remaining service life of the switch, the controller component is configured to: record a historical conducting times that the actuator is conducting the NO terminals; and determine the remaining service life of the switch based on the historical conducting times.
Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teaches, A power contact EoL predictor includes a pair of terminals adapted to be connected to a set of switchable contact electrodes of a power contact; a power switching circuit configured to trigger activation of the contact electrodes based on a first logic state signal or deactivation based on a second logic state signal; a contact separation detector determining a time of separation of the switchable contact electrodes of the power contact during the deactivation, and a controller configured to generate the second logic state signal to trigger the deactivation, and determine a stick duration associated with the set of switchable contact electrodes. The stick duration is based on a difference between a time the second logic state signal is generated and the time of separation during the contact cycle. The controller generates an EoL prediction for the contact electrodes based on the determined stick duration for multiple contact cycles (abstract). design and configuration of a power contact EoL predictor to ensure reliable interlock performance by providing an indication that can be used to determine, e.g., how close to failure the power contact is and whether to replace the power contact. The power contact EoL predictor may provide stand-alone, in-situ, real-time, power contact stick duration measuring and recording, electrode surface degradation/decay detecting, and EoL prediction for the contact. In some aspects, for EoL prediction, only one current switching power contactor or relay may be used. The EoL prediction may be based on power contact stick duration past data collection as well as presently applied discrete power contact stick duration operations, enabling a prediction about a future power contact failure event. In some aspects, the EoL operations calculate the average stick duration within multiple sets of intervals, stacked or sliding sampling windows over a number of contact cycles. As used herein, the term “stick duration” refers to the time difference between coil activation/deactivation (e.g., a relay coil of a relay contact) and power contact activation/deactivation. In some aspects, the discussed EoL operations may be structured so that EoL prediction operations may be configured and executed in microcontrollers and microprocessors without the need for an external/computation apparatus or method. In various examples, the EoL prediction operations do not rely on extensive mathematical and/or calculus operations. In some aspects, the dry contactor may be optional for EoL prediction. The dry contactor may be utilized if high dielectric isolation and extremely low leakage currents are desired (lines 21-50, column 4). EoL Prediction Algorithm: In some aspects, the EoL predictor 1 may use the following stand-alone, in-situ EoL algorithm. Operations may be rolled down operations from present to EoL limit value register. The number of cycles to get there from a present number of cycles is determined. The number of cycles left to reach registered end-of-life limit value is determined. In some aspects, one or more of the following EoL parameters may be determined by the EoL predictor 1 and used for the EoL prediction: power contact stick duration (actual sample stick duration): average power contact stick duration (mean, average, rms, etc.); average speed of power contact electrode stick duration (SoPCESD) increase (contact electrode surface decay): and average acceleration of power contact stick duration increase (speed of decay) (lines 2-34, column 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing EoL predictor as taught by Henke et al (lines 2-34, column 18).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide power contact EoL predictor for reducing or eliminating preventive maintenance program requirements; reducing or eliminating scheduled service calls; reducing or eliminating prophylactic contact, relay or contactor replacements; power contact life degradation/decay detection; power contact EoL prediction; power contact life-left estimator; EoL alerts based on pre-set values, as taught by Henke et al (lines 9-15, column 8).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Curtis (US 11486929 B1) and Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teach, the switch according to claim 19.
Curtis is silent about, wherein to determine the remaining service life of the switch, the controller component is configured to: record a historical conducting times that the actuator is conducting the NC terminals; and determine the remaining service life of the switch based on the historical conducting times.
Henke et al (US 10727010 B1) teaches, A power contact EoL predictor includes a pair of terminals adapted to be connected to a set of switchable contact electrodes of a power contact; a power switching circuit configured to trigger activation of the contact electrodes based on a first logic state signal or deactivation based on a second logic state signal; a contact separation detector determining a time of separation of the switchable contact electrodes of the power contact during the deactivation, and a controller configured to generate the second logic state signal to trigger the deactivation, and determine a stick duration associated with the set of switchable contact electrodes. The stick duration is based on a difference between a time the second logic state signal is generated and the time of separation during the contact cycle. The controller generates an EoL prediction for the contact electrodes based on the determined stick duration for multiple contact cycles (abstract). design and configuration of a power contact EoL predictor to ensure reliable interlock performance by providing an indication that can be used to determine, e.g., how close to failure the power contact is and whether to replace the power contact. The power contact EoL predictor may provide stand-alone, in-situ, real-time, power contact stick duration measuring and recording, electrode surface degradation/decay detecting, and EoL prediction for the contact. In some aspects, for EoL prediction, only one current switching power contactor or relay may be used. The EoL prediction may be based on power contact stick duration past data collection as well as presently applied discrete power contact stick duration operations, enabling a prediction about a future power contact failure event. In some aspects, the EoL operations calculate the average stick duration within multiple sets of intervals, stacked or sliding sampling windows over a number of contact cycles. As used herein, the term “stick duration” refers to the time difference between coil activation/deactivation (e.g., a relay coil of a relay contact) and power contact activation/deactivation. In some aspects, the discussed EoL operations may be structured so that EoL prediction operations may be configured and executed in microcontrollers and microprocessors without the need for an external/computation apparatus or method. In various examples, the EoL prediction operations do not rely on extensive mathematical and/or calculus operations. In some aspects, the dry contactor may be optional for EoL prediction. The dry contactor may be utilized if high dielectric isolation and extremely low leakage currents are desired (lines 21-50, column 4). EoL Prediction Algorithm: In some aspects, the EoL predictor 1 may use the following stand-alone, in-situ EoL algorithm. Operations may be rolled down operations from present to EoL limit value register. The number of cycles to get there from a present number of cycles is determined. The number of cycles left to reach registered end-of-life limit value is determined. In some aspects, one or more of the following EoL parameters may be determined by the EoL predictor 1 and used for the EoL prediction: power contact stick duration (actual sample stick duration): average power contact stick duration (mean, average, rms, etc.); average speed of power contact electrode stick duration (SoPCESD) increase (contact electrode surface decay): and average acceleration of power contact stick duration increase (speed of decay) (lines 2-34, column 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Curtis by providing EoL predictor as taught by Henke et al (lines 2-34, column 18).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide power contact EoL predictor for reducing or eliminating preventive maintenance program requirements; reducing or eliminating scheduled service calls; reducing or eliminating prophylactic contact, relay or contactor replacements; power contact life degradation/decay detection; power contact EoL prediction; power contact life-left estimator; EoL alerts based on pre-set values, as taught by Henke et al (lines 9-15, column 8).
Closest Prior art
7. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Elmiger et al (US 2021/0098218 A1) teaches, A system may include a relay device. The relay device may include an armature that moves between a first position that electrically couples a first contact to a second contact and a second position that electrically uncouples the first contact from the second contact. The relay device may also include a relay coil that receives a voltage configured to magnetize a relay coil, thereby causing the armature to move from the first position to the second position. The system also includes a control system that receives an indication that the armature is in the second position and sends a signal to an actuator in response to receiving the indication. The signal causes an arm associated with the actuator to move the armature to achieve a gap distance between the first contact and the second contact.
Chao (US 2020/0144011 A1) teaches, A contactor includes a first actuator, a compressive element moveably coupling the first actuator to a rigid portion of the contactor, a shaft configured to move toward the rigid portion when the contactor is in an energized state and to move away from the rigid portion when the contactor is in a de-energized state, a second actuator fixedly coupled to the shaft, and a common contact extending between the first actuator and the second actuator, the common contact being moveable with respect to a first contact, wherein the compressive element is configured to press the first actuator against the common contact, and wherein the first actuator is configured to electrically connect the common contact and the first contact when the contactor is in the de-energized state, and the second actuator is configured to electrically disconnect the common contact and the first contact when the contactor is in the energized state.
Coleman et al (US 5420571 A) teaches, A monitoring device is provided for use in association with a limit switch or similar mechanically actuated device in order to permit its end of life to be predicted. The system uses nonvolatile random access memory to store a count which represents the number of occurrences of one of two alternative events. The first event is the occurrence of a number of switch actuations and the second event is the lapse of a predetermined period of time. When either of these two events occurs, a microprocessor increments a count in the nonvolatile memory unit and clears both the clock and the volatile memory parameter. When the number stored in the nonvolatile memory represents a number of actuations estimated to be appropriately equal to the total life of the switch, this condition can be signaled to a sensor bus by a communication circuit. Alternatively, a light emitting diode can be alternately energized and de-energized to represent the number of actuations having exceeded the predicted end of life total.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 23, 2026