This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 1/27/25. Claims 1-28 are cancelled and claims 29-48 are added. Claims 29-48 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-36,40-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jp 4176505.
For claims 29, 33,40,44,47 Jp 505 discloses a freshness-keeping agent for vegetables. The vegetable includes frozen vegetables. The freshness-keeping agent is added to the vegetable in amount of .025-75% based on the whole vegetable. Additives including xanthan gum, fat and oil can be added to the freshness-keeping agent and the agent can be used in the form of liquid. The freshness-keeping agent can be directly added to the vegetables by spraying or dipping. For claim 34, the freshness-keeping liqud includes contains white pepper extract which can be considered as a seasoning. Furthermore, the additions including sugar, glucose, etc.. can also be considered as seasoning. ( see paragraphs 0014,0018,0019,0020). The liquid freshness-keeping agent is the same as the claimed slurry.
For claims 40-48, Jp505 discloses the vegetables are filled in a polyethylene container and store. This is pre-packaging of the vegetables. ( See paragraphs 0039,0040)
Jp505 does not disclose the amount of polysaccharide and oil by weight of frozen product as in claim 29, the water content of the vegetable as in claims 30,41,48, the vegetable as in claims 31,42, the amount as in claims 32,43, the inclusion of salt and amount as in claims 35,45, the amount of polysaccharide and oil as in claim 36, the amount of polysaccharide and oil in the liquid as in claims 40,46, the amount of food portion as in claim 47.
Jp 505 discloses the xanthan gum and oil are additives that can be added to the freshness-preserving liquid. It would have been within the skill of one in the art to determine amounts of the oil and gum in the liquid and eventually on the vegetable depending on amount of oil wanted to be in the vegetables and the viscosity of the liquid desired. The amounts added to the liquid affect the amounts present of the vegetables because the vegetables are treated with the liquid. The determination of the concentration can readily be carried out without undue experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) Since xanthan gum is a powder, it’s obviously added in dehydrated form and suspended in oil when oil is added. It’s obviously inherent the xanthan gum serves the same function as claimed because the same ingredient is used in the same product. The water content of vegetable varies with the types of vegetable. It would have been an obvious matter of preference to select any vegetable including zucchini depending on the taste, flavor wanted. It would have been obvious to use any amount of vegetable as an obvious matter of choice. It would have been obvious to add salt and pepper and to vary the amount when desiring to affect the taste and seasoning of the frozen vegetable. This parameter can readily be determined by one of skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jp 4176505 in view of Palleschi ( 2013/0230633).
Jp 505 does not disclose adding sauce as in claims 37,38.
Palleschi disclose a sauce added to vegetables. ( see example 5)
Adding sauce to vegetables is known in the art as shown in Palleschi. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sauce when desiring to enhance the taste and flavor of the vegetable. The water content depends on the type of sauce wanted and it would have obvious to vary depending the taste and flavor desired. It would have been obvious to use varying amounts of sauce depending on the taste desired. Claim 39 is included because it depends from claim 38. The amount of food portion is addressed above.
Double Patenting
Claims 29-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12059013. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patent and the application are directed to frozen food product comprising a slurry. The claims of the patent are encompassed in the claims of the application.
Conclusion