DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 7/30/2025 are as filed:
Claims 1 and 12 are amended,
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (US 10,685,900, previously cited).
In regards to claim 1, Singh discloses
A modular energy system (Fig.5) comprising:
a module (10, 110) comprising an energy source (24, col 2, lines 14-15) and converter electronics (60, col 2, lines 27-28), wherein the converter electronics are mounted on a substrate (68) and connected to the energy source (Fig.1);
a heatsink (52) adjacent and thermally coupled to the substrate; and
an enclosure (152, 252) for the module comprising a conduit section (56) configured to pass coolant to cool the module;
wherein the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 2, Singh discloses that the energy source comprises a fuel cell, a battery module, or a capacitor (col.1 lines 16-20, a semiconductor device is disclosed for vehicle applications incorporated into power electronic modules, which include battery modules).
In regards to claim 3, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit section is located within the top portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 4, Singh discloses that the bottom portion of the enclosure also includes the conduit section and the conduit section fluidly couples the top portion of the enclosure and the bottom portion of the enclosure (col.10 lines 54-59).
In regards to claim 5, Singh discloses that the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section in the top portion of the enclosure and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 6, Singh discloses that the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section in the bottom portion of the enclosure and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 7, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a channel having a shape corresponding to a shape of the conduit section, wherein the conduit section is located within the channel (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 8, Singh discloses an interface layer (131) positioned between the conduit section and the heatsink.
In regards to claim 9, Singh discloses that the interface layer is deformable (col.12 lines 37-41).
In regards to claim 10, Singh discloses that the interface layer comprises a thermally conductive polymer (col.12 lines 37-41).
In regards to claim 11, Singh discloses that the conduit section is in contact with the interface layer, the interface layer is in contact with the heatsink, and the heatsink is in contact with the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 12, Singh discloses
A modular energy system (Fig.5) comprising:
a plurality of modules (10, 110), each module of the plurality of modules comprises an energy source and converter electronics connected to the energy source (Figs.1 ang 5);
an enclosure (152, 252) for the plurality of modules, the enclosure comprising a conduit network (56) to pass coolant to cool the plurality of modules, wherein, for each module of the plurality of modules, the converter electronics are positioned between the energy sources and the conduit network (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 13, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit network is located within the top portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 14, Singh discloses that the bottom portion of the enclosure also includes the conduit network and the conduit network fluidly couples the top portion of the enclosure and the bottom portion of the enclosure (col.10 lines 54-59).
In regards to claim 15, Singh discloses that the energy source comprises a fuel cell, a battery module, or a capacitor (col.1 lines 16-20, a semiconductor device is disclosed for vehicle applications incorporated into power electronic modules, which include battery modules).
In regards to claim 16, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit network is located within the bottom portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (US 10,685,900, previously cited).
In regards to claim 1, Singh discloses
A modular energy system (Fig.5) comprising:
a module (10, 110) comprising an energy source and converter electronics mounted on a substrate (68) and connected to the energy source (Fig.1);
a heatsink (52) adjacent and thermally coupled to the substrate; and
an enclosure (152, 252) for the module comprising a conduit section (56) configured to pass coolant to cool the module;
wherein the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 2, Singh discloses that the energy source comprises a fuel cell, a battery module, or a capacitor (col.1 lines 16-20, a semiconductor device is disclosed for vehicle applications incorporated into power electronic modules, which include battery modules).
In regards to claim 3, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit section is located within the top portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 4, Singh discloses that the bottom portion of the enclosure also includes the conduit section and the conduit section fluidly couples the top portion of the enclosure and the bottom portion of the enclosure (col.10 lines 54-59).
In regards to claim 5, Singh discloses that the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section in the top portion of the enclosure and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 6, Singh discloses that the heatsink is positioned between the conduit section in the bottom portion of the enclosure and the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 7, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a channel having a shape corresponding to a shape of the conduit section, wherein the conduit section is located within the channel (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 8, Singh discloses an interface layer (131) positioned between the conduit section and the heatsink.
In regards to claim 9, Singh discloses that the interface layer is deformable (col.12 lines 37-41).
In regards to claim 10, Singh discloses that the interface layer comprises a thermally conductive polymer (col.12 lines 37-41).
In regards to claim 11, Singh discloses that the conduit section is in contact with the interface layer, the interface layer is in contact with the heatsink, and the heatsink is in contact with the substrate (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 12, Singh discloses
A modular energy system (Fig.5) comprising:
a plurality of modules (10, 110), each module of the plurality comprises an energy source (24, col 2, lines 14-15) and converter electronics connected to the energy source (Figs.1 ang 5);
an enclosure (152, 252) for the plurality of modules, the enclosure comprising a conduit network (56) to pass coolant to cool the plurality of modules, wherein the converter electronics of the plurality of modules are positioned between the energy sources and the conduit network (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 13, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit network is located within the top portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
In regards to claim 14, Singh discloses that the bottom portion of the enclosure also includes the conduit network and the conduit network fluidly couples the top portion of the enclosure and the bottom portion of the enclosure (col.10 lines 54-59).
In regards to claim 15, Singh discloses that the energy source comprises a fuel cell, a battery module, or a capacitor (col.1 lines 16-20, a semiconductor device is disclosed for vehicle applications incorporated into power electronic modules, which include battery modules).
In regards to claim 16, Singh discloses that the enclosure comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the conduit network is located within the bottom portion of the enclosure (Fig.5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 4-5) that Singh does not discloses an energy or source of converter electronics. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; Singh teaches the cooling of converters (see col 1, lines 12-25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763