DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of the application with claims 1, 9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,063,685 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because comparing claims 1 and 9 of the application with claims 1, 9, and 12 of the patent, claims 1 and 9 of the application are anticipated by patent claims 1, 9, and 12 in that claim 1, 9, and 12 of the patent contain all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 of the application. Claims 1 and 9 of the application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,399,390 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because comparing claims 1 and 9 of the application with claims 1, 2, 9, 12, and 13 of the patent, claims 1 and 9 of application are anticipated by patent claims 1, 2, 9, 12, and 13 in that claims 1, 2, 9, 12, and 13 of the patent contain all the limitations of claim 1 and 9 of the application. Claims 1 and 9 of the application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0302226 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1 – Kim discloses performing, by a processor of an apparatus implemented in a frame-based equipment (FBE), clear channel assessment (CCA) of a channel, refer to paragraph [0029] - Another exemplary embodiment provides a base station including: at least one processor; a memory, and a radio frequency (RF) unit, wherein at least one processor executes at least one program stored in the memory, also, refer to Figure 4A and paragraph [0103] - Referring to FIG. 4A (FBE), the UE2 is allocated with the uplink resources so as not to perform the CCA for a data transmission at a timing at which the UE1 transmits the data. Therefore, performing CCA and occupying the channel by the UE1 when the UE2 performs the CCA may be prevented, also, Figure 63 and paragraph [0233] - The base station 6310 includes a processor 6311, a memory 6312, and a radio frequency (RF) unit (6313). The memory 6312 may be connected to the processor 6311 and may store a variety of information for driving the processor 6311 or at least one program executed by the processor 6311. The RF unit 6313 may be connected to the processor 6311, and may transmit and receive a wireless signal. The processor 6311 may implement the functions, the processes, or the methods proposed by the exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure. Here, a wireless interface protocol layer in a wireless communication system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by the processor 6311. An operation of the base station 6310 according to an exemplary embodiment may be implemented by the processor 6311.
transmitting, by the processor, during a channel occupancy time (COT) within a fixed frame period (FFP) responsive to the CCA indicating that the channel is clear for transmission, refer to Figure 5A and paragraph [0106] - Referring to FIG. 5A (FBE), since the base station performs the CCA at a fixed position (idle period), the uplink resources need to be allocated to the terminal by considering a timing at which the terminal transmits the data. In FIG. 5A, the UE1 performs the CCA in a next subframe of a subframe in which an uplink data transmission (UL data Tx) of the UE2 occurs.
performing, by the processor, one other CCA of the channel, refer to Figure 6A and paragraph [0109] - Referring to FIG. 6A (FBE), the base station allocates the resources to the terminal by adjusting the channel occupancy time (COT), and the terminal performs the CCA before transmitting the data through the allocated resources. In this case, a first subframe among the COT of the base station of FIGS. 5A and 5B may also be used to allocate the uplink resources in which the UL grant is transmitted.
transmitting, by the processor, during one other COT within one other FFP responsive to the other CCA indicating the channel is clear for transmission, refer to Figure 6A and paragraph [0109] - Referring to FIG. 6A (FBE), the base station allocates the resources to the terminal by adjusting the channel occupancy time (COT), and the terminal performs the CCA before transmitting the data through the allocated resources. In this case, a first subframe among the COT of the base station of FIGS. 5A and 5B may also be used to allocate the uplink resources in which the UL grant is transmitted.
wherein the CCA is performed before the COT, refer to Figure 6A, CCA is performed before COT for UE1 and UE2.
wherein both a duration of the CCA and a duration of the COT are within the FFP, refer to Figure 6A, UE2 or UE1, the duration of the CCA and the duration of the COT are within the FFP.
Regarding claim 2 – Kim discloses claim 1. Kim discloses wherein the duration of the CCA is less than an idle period of the FFP, refer to UE2 in figure 6A.
Regarding claim 9 – Kim discloses An apparatus implemented in a frame-based equipment (FBE), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate with at least a network node, refer to Figures 1A and 2A and paragraph [0094] - FIGS. 1A and 2A are schematic views illustrating a method for allocating resources of an unlicensed band of a frame based equipment (FBE), and FIGS. 1B and 2B are schematic views illustrating a method for allocating resources of an unlicensed band of a load based equipment (LBE). The FBE and the LBE are channel access schemes defined by ETSI EN301.893, 3GPP TR36.889 specification, a basic operation thereof applies a method described in the specification, and it is assumed in an exemplary embodiment that a channel occupancy time is 4 ms. A cross-carrier scheduling refers to a scheduling scheme in which a base station transmits an uplink (UL) grant for an unlicensed component carrier (UCC) to a terminal through a licensed component carrier (LCC). In addition, a self scheduling refers to a scheduling scheme in which the base station transmits the UL grant for the UCC to the terminal through the same UCC.
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising: refer to Figure 63 and paragraph [0234] - The terminal 6320 includes a processor 6321, a memory 6322, and a RF unit 6323. The memory 6322 may be connected to the processor 6321 and may store a variety of information for driving the processor 6321 or at least one program executed by the processor 6321. The RF unit 6323 may be connected to the processor 6321, and may transmit and receive a wireless signal. The processor 6321 may implement the functions, the steps, or the methods proposed by the exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure. Here, a wireless interface protocol layer in a wireless communication system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented by the processor 6321. An operation of the terminal 6320 according to an exemplary embodiment may be implemented by the processor 6321.
performing, via the transceiver, clear channel assessment (CCA) of a channel; see claim 1 for the rejection of this element,
transmitting, via the transceiver, during a channel occupancy time (COT) within a fixed frame period (FFP) responsive to the CCA indicating that the channel is clear for transmission; see claim 1 for the rejection of this element,
performing, via the transceiver, one other CCA of the channel; see claim 1 for the rejection of this element,
transmitting, via the transceiver, during one other COT within one other FFP responsive to the other CCA indicating the channel is clear for transmission, see claim 1 for the rejection of this element,
wherein a position of the COT in the FFP is different than a position of the other COT in the other FFP, refer to Figure 6A and paragraph [0109] - Referring to FIG. 6A (FBE), the base station allocates the resources to the terminal by adjusting the channel occupancy time (COT), and the terminal performs the CCA before transmitting the data through the allocated resources. In this case, a first subframe among the COT of the base station of FIGS. 5A and 5B may also be used to allocate the uplink resources in which the UL grant is transmitted. A method for adjusting the COT of the base station of FIG. 6A (for example, according the method, the COT is ended until the uplink data transmission is started through the allocated resource in the case of the UL grant being transmitted on the first subframe)
wherein the CCA is performed before the COT, and see claim 1 for the rejection of this element, see claim 1 for the rejection of this element,
wherein both a duration of the CCA and a duration of the COT are within the FFP, see claim 1 for the rejection of this element.
Regarding claim 10- Refer to claim 2 for the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
IV Claims 3-8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (same as above) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0314891 A1) hereinafter Li.
Li’s provisional application (62/826,315) filed 29 March 2019 provides support for Li.
Regarding claim 3 – Kim discloses claim 2. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the idle period of the FFP is either a predefined period of time or a predefined percentage of the COT.
Li discloses wherein the idle period of the FFP is either a predefined period of time or a predefined percentage of the COT, refer to paragraph [0179] - In one sub-example, the FFP can be configured from a set of predetermined values in the unit of 1 NR-U symbol, also, refer to paragraph [0184] - In one example, a MCOT value can be fixed in the specification and determined as the maximum duration allowed by regulation, subject to: (1) COT is at most 95% of the FFP; and (2) the idle period is at least 5% of COT with minimum of 100 microseconds, also, refer to paragraph [0181] - which can indicate the chosen FFP value from the set of predefined FFP values, also, refer to paragraph [0193] - In one example, based on the configured fixed frame period and channel occupancy time, the idle period can be determined accordingly as (fixed frame period—actual channel occupancy time), and claim 1.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with wherein the idle period of the FFP is either a predefined period of time or a predefined percentage of the COT.
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to Figure 5A and paragraph [0106] - Referring to FIG. 5A (FBE), since the base station performs the CCA at a fixed position (idle period), the uplink resources need to be allocated to the terminal by considering a timing at which the terminal transmits the data. In FIG. 5A, the UE1 performs the CCA in a next subframe of a subframe in which an uplink data transmission (UL data Tx) of the UE2 occurs.
The benefit being the idle period of the FFP meets the specification standard.
Regarding claim 4 – Kim and Li disclose claim 3. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined period of time is 100us, and wherein the predefined percentage of the COT is 5%.
Li discloses wherein the predefined period of time is 100us, and wherein the predefined percentage of the COT is 5%, refer to paragraph [0163] - The channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a successful LBT check for an FBE operation may be no greater than 95% of the FFP, and the COT may be followed by an idle period until the start of next FFP such that the idle period is at least the max(5% of channel occupancy time, 100 microseconds), also, refer to [0184] - In one example, a MCOT value can be fixed in the specification and determined as the maximum duration allowed by regulation, subject to: (1) COT is at most 95% of the FFP; and (2) the idle period is at least 5% of COT with minimum of 100 microseconds.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with wherein the predefined period of time is 100us, and wherein the predefined percentage of the COT is 5%
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to Figure 5A and paragraph [0106] - Referring to FIG. 5A (FBE), since the base station performs the CCA at a fixed position (idle period), the uplink resources need to be allocated to the terminal by considering a timing at which the terminal transmits the data. In FIG. 5A, the UE1 performs the CCA in a next subframe of a subframe in which an uplink data transmission (UL data Tx) of the UE2 occurs.
The benefit being the idle period of the FFP meets the specification standard.
Regarding claim 5 – Kim discloses claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose prepending the COT with one or more observation slots; and sensing the channel using the CCA during at least one of the one or more observation slots.
Li discloses prepending the COT with one or more observation slots, refer to paragraph [0163] - In the present disclosure, an observation slot refers to the duration for an FBE device to perform LBT, while an NR-U slot refers to a slot of 14 OFDM symbols of the NR-U system, also, refer to Figure 14 and paragraph [0190] - In one instance, the entire NR-U slot that contains the ending position of the configured NR-U FBE MCOT can be allocated to the IDLE period, and the actual COT may include the NR-U slots that comes before this slot within the current FFP, also, refer to paragraph [0208] - In one embodiment, FBE NR-U can utilize the baseline FBE channel access scheme for determining whether the initiating device can obtain channel access in the next FFP, wherein the initiating device performs LBT with energy detection only, immediately before starting transmission on an operating channel at the start of a FFP, for the duration of a single observation slot, and the initiating device can start transmission within COT of the next FFP if the initiating device passes the LBT, also, refer to Figure 24 and paragraph [0280] - FIG. 24 illustrates an example observation slot in idle period 2400 according to embodiments of the present disclosure.
sensing the channel using the CCA during at least one of the one or more observation slots, refer to Figure 20 and paragraph [0262] - In one example, if one observation slot is assigned to the initiating device, the LBT is successful for the initiating device of FBE NR-U if the LBT at the assigned observation slot is successful.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with prepending the COT with one or more observation slots; and sensing the channel using the CCA during at least one of the one or more observation slots.
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to Figure 5A and paragraph [0106] - Referring to FIG. 5A (FBE), since the base station performs the CCA at a fixed position (idle period), the uplink resources need to be allocated to the terminal by considering a timing at which the terminal transmits the data. In FIG. 5A, the UE1 performs the CCA in a next subframe of a subframe in which an uplink data transmission (UL data Tx) of the UE2 occurs.
The benefit being the observation slot can be coordinated between devices to reduce interference.
Regarding claim 6 – Kim discloses claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose dividing a pause period in the FFP into a first number of observation slots; selecting a second number of the observation slots, the second number being different than the first number; and sensing the channel using the CCA after the second number of observation slots and before the COT.
Li discloses dividing a pause period in the FFP into a first number of observation slots, refer to Figure 20 and paragraph [0262] - In one example, if one observation slot is assigned to the initiating device, the LBT is successful for the initiating device of FBE NR-U if the LBT at the assigned observation slot is successful.
selecting a second number of the observation slots, the second number being different than the first number, refer to Figure 22 and paragraph [0266] - In one example, if multiple observation slots are assigned to the initiating device, LBT can be considered as successful if LBT on any one of the assigned observation slots is successful. In one sub-example, if the initiating device performs LBT using different spatial parameter at different assigned observation slot, then the device can utilize the spatial parameter(s) that corresponds to the assigned observation slot(s) that passed LBT during the COT. FIG. 22 provides an illustration of this example, wherein the LBT is successful since (at least) one LBT at an assigned observation slot passes LBT.
sensing the channel using the CCA after the second number of observation slots and before the COT, refer to Figure 20 and paragraph [0262] - In one example, if one observation slot is assigned to the initiating device, the LBT is successful for the initiating device of FBE NR-U if the LBT at the assigned observation slot is successful.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with dividing a pause period in the FFP into a first number of observation slots; selecting a second number of the observation slots, the second number being different than the first number; and sensing the channel using the CCA after the second number of observation slots and before the COT.
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to Figure 5A and paragraph [0106] - Referring to FIG. 5A (FBE), since the base station performs the CCA at a fixed position (idle period), the uplink resources need to be allocated to the terminal by considering a timing at which the terminal transmits the data. In FIG. 5A, the UE1 performs the CCA in a next subframe of a subframe in which an uplink data transmission (UL data Tx) of the UE2 occurs.
The benefit being the multiple observation slots can be assigned to increase success during CCA/LBT.
Regarding claim 7 – Kim and Li disclose claim 6. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second number is in a range of [0, contention window], wherein the contention window is different than a maximum idle period expressed as max(100us, 5% of the COT)/n, and wherein n is 9µs.
Li discloses wherein the second number is in a range of [0, contention window], wherein the contention window is different than a maximum idle period expressed as max(100us, 5% of the COT)/n, and wherein n is 9µs, refer to paragraph [0209] - In one example, the observation slot duration is at least 9 microseconds for 5 GHz unlicensed spectrum. The same observation slot duration constraint can be used for FR1 FBE NR-U.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with dividing a pause period in the FFP into a first number of observation slots; selecting a second number of the observation slots, the second number being different than the first number; and sensing the channel using the CCA after the second number of observation slots and before the COT.
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to paragraph [0026] - The performing of the CCA may include randomly selecting a slot for the CCA from among a plurality of slots in the previous subframe; and performing the CCA in the selected slot.
The benefit being the multiple observation slots can be assigned to increase success during CCA/LBT.
Regarding claim 8 – Kim discloses claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose dividing a pause period in the FFP into a plurality of observation slots; selecting one or more observation slots from the plurality of observation slots by: selecting from a random subset of the plurality of observation slots; or selecting multiple observation slots from the plurality of observation slots in which transmission is likely; and sensing the channel using the CCA during the selected one or more observation slots.
Li discloses dividing a pause period in the FFP into a plurality of observation slots, refer to Figure 20 and paragraph [0262] - In one example, if one observation slot is assigned to the initiating device, the LBT is successful for the initiating device of FBE NR-U if the LBT at the assigned observation slot is successful.
selecting one or more observation slots from the plurality of observation slots by:
selecting from a random subset of the plurality of observation slots; or
selecting multiple observation slots from the plurality of observation slots in which transmission is likely; refer to Figure 20 and paragraph [0262] - In one example, if one observation slot is assigned to the initiating device, the LBT is successful for the initiating device of FBE NR-U if the LBT at the assigned observation slot is successful, refer to Figure 22 and paragraph [0266] - In one example, if multiple observation slots are assigned to the initiating device, LBT can be considered as successful if LBT on any one of the assigned observation slots is successful. In one sub-example, if the initiating device performs LBT using different spatial parameter at different assigned observation slot, then the device can utilize the spatial parameter(s) that corresponds to the assigned observation slot(s) that passed LBT during the COT. FIG. 22 provides an illustration of this example, wherein the LBT is successful since (at least) one LBT at an assigned observation slot passes LBT.
sensing the channel using the CCA during the selected one or more observation slots, refer to paragraph [0163] - In the present disclosure, an observation slot refers to the duration for an FBE device to perform LBT, while an NR-U slot refers to a slot of 14 OFDM symbols of the NR-U system, also, refer to Figure 14 and paragraph [0190] - In one instance, the entire NR-U slot that contains the ending position of the configured NR-U FBE MCOT can be allocated to the IDLE period, and the actual COT may include the NR-U slots that comes before this slot within the current FFP, also, refer to paragraph [0208] - In one embodiment, FBE NR-U can utilize the baseline FBE channel access scheme for determining whether the initiating device can obtain channel access in the next FFP, wherein the initiating device performs LBT with energy detection only, immediately before starting transmission on an operating channel at the start of a FFP, for the duration of a single observation slot, and the initiating device can start transmission within COT of the next FFP if the initiating device passes the LBT, also, refer to Figure 24 and paragraph [0280] - FIG. 24 illustrates an example observation slot in idle period 2400 according to embodiments of the present disclosure.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the filing date of the application to combine Kim with Li and provide Kim with dividing a pause period in the FFP into a plurality of observation slots; selecting one or more observation slots from the plurality of observation slots by: selecting from a random subset of the plurality of observation slots; or selecting multiple observation slots from the plurality of observation slots in which transmission is likely; and sensing the channel using the CCA during the selected one or more observation slots.
The suggestion/motivation to do so is that Kim discloses the Base Station configures the terminal, refer to paragraph [0026] - The performing of the CCA may include randomly selecting a slot for the CCA from among a plurality of slots in the previous subframe; and performing the CCA in the selected slot.
The benefit being the multiple observation slots can be assigned to increase success during CCA/LBT.
Regarding claim 11 – Refer to claim 3 for the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12 – Refer to claim 4 for the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13 – Refer to claim 5 for the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14 – Refer to claim 6 for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15 – Refer to claim 7 for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16 - Refer to claim 8 for the rejection of claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Radulescu et al. (US 11,115,161 B2) discloses transmission diversity for FBE idle period handling.
2. Awadin et al. (US 2023/0035989 A1) discloses FBE in NR-U.
John Pezzlo
6 October 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2429