DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to 05/13/2026 Amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PGPub. 2013/0229858 to Pimbley (hereafter Pimbley).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pimbley teaches a random access memory comprising:
a set of loops of inverters (FIG. 7: e.g. a loop of six inverters for a SRAM cell 700 among SRAM array, also see paragraph [0004]), wherein the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters are implicitly addressable using a set of corresponding addresses (because each SRAM cell is selected with a corresponding address for read/write operation);
a write circuit configured to write a value to a first loop of inverters (part of external circuitry for writing the first SRAM cell of the SRAM array, see paragraph [0039]) by circulating a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) when provided with an inherent corresponding address for the first loop of inverters, wherein the first loop of inverters is in the set of loops of inverters and the corresponding address is in the set of corresponding addresses; and
a read circuit configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters (part of external circuitry for reading the first SRAM cell) by detecting the pattern of pulses circulating in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) when provided with the corresponding address.
Regarding independent claim 15, Pimbley teaches a random access memory comprising:
an array of loops of inverters (FIG. 7: e.g. a loop of six inverters for a SRAM cell 700 among SRAM array, also see paragraph [0004]) wherein the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters are independently readable and independently writable using a set of corresponding addresses (because each SRAM cell is selected with a corresponding address for read/write operation);
at least one write circuit configured to set an oscillation state of the loops of inverters independently (part of external circuitry for writing the first SRAM cell of the SRAM array, see paragraph [0039]) by circulating a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) using the set of corresponding addresses; and
at least one read circuit configured to sense the oscillation state of the loops of inverters independently (part of external circuitry for reading the first SRAM cell) by detecting the pattern of pulses circulating in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) using the set of corresponding addresses.
Regarding independent claim 20, Pimbley teaches a random access memory comprising:
an array of loops of inverters (FIG. 7: e.g. a loop of six inverters for a SRAM cell 700 among SRAM array, also see paragraph [0004]) wherein the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters are independently readable and independently writable using a set of corresponding addresses (because each SRAM cell is selected with a corresponding address for read/write operation);
a means for writing values to the loops of inverters independently (part of external circuitry for writing the first SRAM cell of the SRAM array, see paragraph [0039]) by circulating a pattern of pulses in each loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) using the set of corresponding addresses; and
a means for reading the values from the loops of inverters independently (part of external circuitry for reading the first SRAM cell) by detecting the pattern of pulses circulating in each loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]) using the set of corresponding addresses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,430,083 to Lu et al. (hereafter Lu) in view of Pimbley.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lu teaches a random access memory comprising:
a set of loops of inverters (multi-banked register files of FIG. 8 comprises plurality of register-file cells illustrated in FIG. 4), wherein the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters are addressable using a set of corresponding addresses (see 2:41-47);
an inherent write circuit configured to write a value to a first loop of inverters FIG. 4: inherent write circuit to provide data at write data input 450) when provided with a corresponding address for the first loop of inverters, wherein the first loop of inverters is in the set of loops of inverters and the corresponding address is in the set of corresponding addresses; and
an inherent read circuit configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters FIG. 4: inherent read circuit to receive data at read data output 440) when provided with the corresponding address.
However, Lu does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Pimbley teaches a SRAM cell comprising a loop of inverters, a write/read circuit configured to write/read a value to a first loop of inverters by circulating/detecting a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]).
Since Lu and Pimbley are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Lu.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ SRAM cells of Pimbley as register-file cells of Lu in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Lu teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are formed using a common process flow (see 1:9-25 and 2:16-58).
Pimbley teaches the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors (see FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Lu teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are field effect transistors (see 1:9-25 and 2:16-58).
Pimbley teaches the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors (see FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Pimbley teaches wherein: the inverters in the loops of inverters each comprise two complementary field effect transistors (see FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Pimbley teaches wherein: the write circuit is configured to write the value to the first loop of inverters by forcing the first loop of inverters into an oscillation state; and the read circuit is configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters by detecting the oscillation state of the first loop of inverters (FIG. 7: data write into and read from the SRAM cell is oscillated by series connected inverters as shown).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Pimbley implicitly teaches wherein: the read circuit is configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters by detecting a pattern of pulses on the first loop of inverters (FIG. 7: data read from the SRAM cell is oscillated by series connected inverters as shown).
Regarding independent claim 20, Lu teaches a random access memory comprising:
an array of loops of inverters (multi-banked register files of FIG. 8 comprises plurality of register-file cells illustrated in FIG. 4) wherein the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters are independently readable and independently writable using a set of corresponding addresses (see 2:41-47);
an inherent means for writing values to the loops of inverters independently FIG. 4: inherent write circuit to provide data at write data input 450) using the set of corresponding addresses; and
an inherent means for reading the values from the loops of inverters independently FIG. 4: inherent read circuit to receive data at read data output 440) when provided with the corresponding address.
However, Lu does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Pimbley teaches a SRAM cell comprising a loop of inverters, a write/read circuit configured to write/read a value to a first loop of inverters by circulating/detecting a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]).
Since Lu and Pimbley are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Lu.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ SRAM cells of Pimbley as register-file cells of Lu in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Claims 1-5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,093,135 to Khailany et al. (hereafter Khailany) in view of Pimbley.
Regarding independent claim 1, Khailany teaches a random access memory comprising:
a set of loops of inverters (register file of FIG. 3, which comprises plurality of loops of inverters, each is illustrated in FIG. 2), wherein the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters are addressable using a set of corresponding addresses (see 4:6-15);
a write circuit configured to write a value to a first loop of inverters FIG. 3: e.g. local write bit line driver WDrv 320A) when provided with a corresponding address for the first loop of inverters, wherein the first loop of inverters is in the set of loops of inverters and the corresponding address is in the set of corresponding addresses (FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding write word line); and
a read circuit configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters FIG. 3: e.g. local read bit line driver RDrv) when provided with the corresponding address (FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding read word line).
However, Khailany does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Pimbley teaches a SRAM cell comprising a loop of inverters, a write/read circuit configured to write/read a value to a first loop of inverters by circulating/detecting a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]).
Since Khailany and Pimbley are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Khailany.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ SRAM cells of Pimbley as register-file cells of Khailany in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Khailany teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are formed using a common process flow (see field of the invention, background and FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Khailany teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are field effect transistors (see field of the invention, background and FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Khailany teaches wherein: the inverters in the loops of inverters each inherently comprise two complementary field effect transistors (see FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Khailany teaches wherein the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters each consist of an odd number of inverters (even number of inverters of FIG. 2 and an inverter in the DWrv cell 320A of FIG. 3, see 4:23-31).
Pimbley suggests even number of inverters are used for SRAM cell (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding independent claim 20, Khailany teaches a random access memory comprising:
an array of loops of inverters (register file of FIG. 3, which comprises plurality of loops of inverters, each is illustrated in FIG. 2) wherein the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters are independently readable and independently writable using a set of corresponding addresses (see 4:6-15);
a means for writing values to the loops of inverters independently FIG. 3: e.g. local write bit line driver WDrv 320A) using the set of corresponding addresses (FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding write word line); and
a means for reading the values from the loops of inverters independently FIG. 3: e.g. local read bit line driver RDrv) using the set of corresponding addresses (FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding read word line).
However, Khailany does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Pimbley teaches a SRAM cell comprising a loop of inverters, a write/read circuit configured to write/read a value to a first loop of inverters by circulating/detecting a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]).
Since Khailany and Pimbley are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Khailany.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ SRAM cells of Pimbley as register-file cells of Khailany in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pimbley in view of US 11,887,002 to Park et al. (hereafter Park).
Pimbley teaches, as applied in prior rejection of claim 1, all claimed subject matter except further limitations set forth in the following claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Park teaches an encoding neural network that forms part of the write circuit; and a decoding neural network that forms part of the read circuit (FIG. 4: latent vector layer 420 between encoder 410 as input and decoder 430 as output. It is seen that the latent vector layer 420 is register layer).
Since Pimbley and Park are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Park.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use SRAM cells of Pimbley for neural network of Park in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khailany in view of Pimbley.
Regarding independent claim 15, Khailany teaches a random access memory comprising:
an array of loops of inverters (register file of FIG. 3, which comprises plurality of loops of inverters, each is illustrated in FIG. 2) wherein the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters are independently readable and independently writable using a set of corresponding addresses (see 4:6-15);
at least one write circuit (FIG. 3: e.g. local write bit line driver WDrv 320A) configured to set an FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding write word line); and
at least one read circuit (FIG. 3: e.g. local read bit line driver RDrv) configured to sense the FIG. 3: e.g. when the storage cell is selected by corresponding read word line).
However, Khailany does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Pimbley teaches a SRAM cell comprising a loop of inverters, a write/read circuit configured to write/read a value to a first loop of inverters by circulating/detecting a pattern of pulses in the first loop of inverters (see paragraphs [0030]-[0040]).
Since Khailany and Pimbley are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Pimbley would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Khailany.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ SRAM cells of Pimbley as register-file cells of Khailany in order to reduce faults of failures during operation (see paragraphs [0006]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Khailany teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are formed using a common process flow (see field of the invention, background and FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Khailany teaches wherein: the random access memory is integrated with a processor; the processor conducts computations using a set of logic transistors; the loops of inverters are formed by a set of inverter transistors; and the set of logic transistors and the set of inverter transistors are field effect transistors (see field of the invention, background and FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Khailany teaches wherein: the inverters in the loops of inverters each comprise two complementary field effect transistors (see FIG. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Khailany teaches wherein: the loops of inverters in the array of loops of inverters each consist of an odd number of inverters (even number of inverters of FIG. 2 and an inverter in the DWrv cell 320A of FIG. 3, see 4:23-31).
Pimbley suggests even number of inverters are used for SRAM cell (see paragraph [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to dependent claim 8: wherein: the read circuit is configured to read the value from the first loop of inverters by measuring a pulse width of a pulse from the loop of inverters.
With respect to dependent claim 12: a memory array voltage regulator that provides a memory supply voltage to the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters; wherein the random access memory is integrated with a processor having logic transistors, and a supply voltage for the logic transistors of the processor is greater than the memory supply voltage.
With respect to dependent claim 13: a memory array voltage regulator that provides a memory supply voltage to the loops of inverters in the set of loops of inverters; and a pair of transistors that form part of an inverter in the loops of inverters, wherein the pair of transistors have a pair of threshold voltage; wherein the memory supply voltage is equal to or less than a sum of the pair of threshold voltages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 15, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection, which relies on new reference to Pimbley.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 9, 2026
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824