DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the composition, the bubbling during melting, homogenizing/clarifying, and glass forming and annealing, does not reasonably provide enablement for “the reducing gas makes the molten glass have a redox index of -120 to -5”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the redox index encompasses an atmosphere coefficient that is defined as the change value of the redox index. The specification discloses sufficient information for one of ordinary skill in the art to sufficiently calculate the redox index. However, the specification does not provide direction on how to calculate or determine the change value of the redox index. At the time of filing, the state of the art was such that the inventor’s define their redox index and atmosphere coefficient based on the change value of the redox index. There is no example regarding a nominal atmosphere coefficient nor a nominal change in redox index. Thus, the disclosed nominal definition does not bear a reasonable correlation to the full scope of the claim. Taking these factors into account, undue experimentation would be required by one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of claim(s) 1 (and dependent claims 2-8).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards
as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the reducing gas makes the molten glass have a redox index of -120 to -5”. Wherein the specification defines the redox index as:
[AltContent: textbox (S=KRTwherein K is an atmosphere coefficient, i.e., a change value of the redox index of the molten glass after 1 L of the reducing gas is introduced into the molten glass;R is a flow rate of the reducing gas introduced into the molten glass per unit time; and
T is the time during which the reducing gas is introduced into the molten glass)]
Per the definition, claim 1 requires the introduction of the atmosphere coefficient, a flow rate of the reducing gas, and a time for the process. Each of these are lacking antecedent basis in the claim and are required for the context of the redox index. Dependent claims 2-8 are rejected because they depend from and thus include all the limitations of claim 1 and do not solve the deficiencies thereof. Incorporation of claim 4 to claim 1 would partially remedy this rejection.
Claim 1 inherently recites “K is an atmosphere coefficient, i.e., a change value of the redox index”. As such, the change of the redox index is thus required to define the redox index. The term is recursively defined and is thus indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “glass forming and annealing”. It is not clear if this refers to the molten glass and results in the optical glass. The step should be elaborated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims are being interpreted as best as the Examiner understands in view of the 112(a) and 112(b) rejection above:
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US-20040145815-A1) and further in view of Carman (US-4504302-A)
Regarding claims 1, Endo (US-20040145815-A1) teaches the composition in the preparation step [0024] and the forming and annealing [0089-91]. Endo teaches of homogenizing/clarifying the molten glass and forming in a reduced/non-oxidizing atmosphere [0086, 98] but does not elaborate on the atmosphere composition. In the same field of endeavor, Carman (US-4504302-A) teaches melting glass raw materials (Col. 4 Line 1-5) and bubbling the molten glass with an inert gas and a reducing gas (Col. 3 Line 57-65) wherein the inert gas has a specific gravity greater than that of air (argon), the gas has a flow (Col. 6 Line 24-44). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the flow rate of the bubbling inert and reducing gas to increase the efficiency of homogenization (Col. 6 Line 37-44). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Endo teaches of melting occurs in a platinum-containing container and is stirred [0102]. Endo does not expressly teach a platinum-stirrer. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Endo has a stirrer to accomplish their stirring operation and the material of the stirrer is platinum-containing as a known compatible material to interact with molten glass. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2-3, depending from claim 1, modified Endo relies on Carman which teaches of using argon and hydrogen inert gas and reducing gas respectively (Col. 3 Line 57-65; Col. 6 Line 24-44).
Regarding claim 5, depending from claim 1, Endo teaches broader ranges that overlap the instantly claimed range [0028, 82]. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the B2O3 and TiO2 percentages that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, depending from claim 1, Endo teaches broader ranges that overlap the instantly claimed range [0034, 41]. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the ZrO2 and Ta2O5 percentages that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), 35 U.S.C. 112(b), or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-7, a primary reason why it is deemed novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record to Endo (US-20040145815-A1) and further in view of Carman (US-4504302-A) is that Endo teaches the melting temperature and the melting time period changes the 5% and 70% transmittance wavelength [0059] which may influence the coloring of the resulting glass but does not expressly teach the time and temperature to do so; Carman does not expressly teach the flow rate of the gas per liter of the molten glass. Lineman et al (WO-2012148411-A1) teaches of a purging gas (argon) for a platinum melting vessel operated between 2.5 L/min. Hoyer et al (US-20020026811-A1) teaches of a reducing gas mixture of hydrogen and water operated at 0.1-2 L/min to protect platinum electrodes. Hirose (WO-2011007840-A1) teaches a broader purging gas during clarification operated at 5 L/min.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20180230038-A1, US-20240067557-A1 teaches the glass composition, forming, and annealing (possible primary reference substitutes)
US-20020174688-A1 teaches a platinum stirrer
US-3320045-A, US-3387961-A teach the hydrogen and argon atmosphere
JPWO-2008093580-A1, WO-2011007840-A1 teach the inert gas and reducing gas combination
CN-101289276-B, CN-115321815-A teaches the same glass composition components
US-20150203397-A1, US-20160214881-A1 teaches the same glass composition components melted in a reduced gas environment
/STEVEN S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741