Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 31 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 2 engagement unit which has been interpreted as set forth in the specification and drawings as a lower surface of the second shower head unit as illustrated in Fig. 5 and set forth in the specification at page 9.
Claim 1 shower head unit has not been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph as shower head is considered sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0052833 to Hanawa et al.
Regarding claim 1: Hanawa et al. disclose a triple electrode device, comprising: an electrode cover (e.g. Fig. 5, 258) to which power may be applied (e.g. via 527); a first shower head unit (e.g. 276) provided with the electrode cover at an upper part thereof, provided with a first gas supply section (e.g. 212A and 212B) into which a first gas is introduced, and provided with a plurality of nozzle stems (246) protruding from a lower part thereof through which the first gas capable of being diffused in the first gas supply section is capable of being exhausted; a second shower head unit (e.g. 277) coupled to the lower part of the first showerhead unit provided with a second gas supply section (e.g. at bottom of 245) into which a second gas is introduced, and formed with through holes (e.g. 245) into which the nozzle stems are respective inserted and a plurality of exhaust holes (e.g. end of 245 at 305B) through which the second gas diffused in the second gas supply section is exhausted, wherein the triple-electrode device further comprises: a third shower head unit (278) capable of being selectively assembled to a lower part of the second shower head unit and allow the first gas and the second gas to be mixed and then exhausted.
With respect to claim 2, in Hanawa et al., the second shower head unit further comprises: an engagement unit (i.e. lower surface) into which the third shower head unit is fitted and fixed along an outer circumferential edge thereof. See, e.g., Fig. 5.
With respect to claim 3, in Hanawa et al., the electrode cover further comprises: a first gas supply port (e.g. 259) through which the first gas is injected; a second gas supply port (e.g. 258) through which the second gas is injected; and a first baffle e.g. 255) for diffusing the first gas injected through the first gas supply port to the first gas supply section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanawa et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0133650 to Kim.
Hanawa et al. discloses the triple-electrode device substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Hanawa et al. fail to disclose the first gas supply port is a contact point to which the RF power is applied.
Kim discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein a first gas supply port (Fig. 2, 142c) of an electrode cap (142) is a contact point to which the RF power is applied (e.g. via 150) for the purpose of supplying power to the substrate processing apparatus. Additionally, it is noted that the courts have ruled the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Hanawa et al. the first gas supply port is a contact point to which the RF power is applied in order to supply to power to the triple-electrode device provided as part of a substrate processing apparatus as taught by Kim.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Hanawa et al., Hanawa et al. disclose the first baffle is provided at a center of the electrode cover (see, e.g., Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanawa et al. as applied to claims 1-3 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0067971 to Byun et al.
Hanawa et al. discloses the triple-electrode device substantially as claimed and as set forth above.
However, Hanawa et al. fail to disclose the first shower head unit further comprises a second baffle for diffusing the second gas supplied through the second gas supply port to the second gas supply section.
Byun et al. teach providing a first showerhead unit of a device comprising a second baffle – a cooling baffle (Fig. 6, 30) – for diffusing a second gas supplied through a second gas supply port (e.g., in 20) to a second gas supply section (below 30 where second gas and a first gas can be mixed) for the purpose keeping the temperature of the device in a proper range (see, e.g., para. 43-46).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Hanawa et al. the first shower head unit further comprises a second baffle for diffusing the second gas supplied through the second gas supply port to the second gas supply section in order to keep the temperature of the triple-electrode device in a proper range as taught by Byun et al.
With respect to claim 7, in modified Hanawa et al., Byun et al. teach centering shower head units and the second baffle with respect to one another such that the second baffle would be provided at a center of the first shower head unit in modified Hanawa et al., wherein Hanawa also teaches centering baffles and showerhead units with respect to one another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP Pubs. 2002/0129769; 2015/0083042; 2024/0136607 WO 2008143404 disclose showerheads.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716