CTNF 18/770,295 CTNF 80578 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements filed on 7/11/2024 and 11/7/2024 have been considered. Drawings The drawings filed on 7/11/2024 are accepted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-08 AIA Regarding claim s 3 and 9 , the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Loehr et al. (US-9,756,594 hereinafter, Loehr) . Regarding claim 1, Loehr teaches an apparatus for a terminal device (Fig. 1 [UE]), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (Col. 112 lines 15-36), and at least one memory storing instructions that (Col. 112 lines 37-44), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to: determine first information characterizing a difference (Col. 82 lines 37-41) between a first timing advance value associated with a first radio cell that is at least temporarily provided to the determine device by a first device (Col. 82 lines 6-18) and a second timing advance value associated with a second radio cell that is at least temporarily provided to the terminal device by a second device (Col. 82 lines 6-18 “ A separated timer may be maintained by the mobile terminal for each timing advance value (each associated to either an individual uplink cell or a group of uplink cells)” & “the mobile terminal resets and starts the timer each time it (i) applies a calculated timing advance (step 2 d ) or (ii) performs a RACH procedure (step 3 c ) or (iii) applies a received timing advance value for uplink transmissions on the respective PCell or SCell for which the timer is maintained”), and transmit the first information to a network device associated at least with the first radio cell. (Col. 83 lines 25-26) Regarding claim 2, Loehr teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a) the first timing advance value and the second timing advance value, b) the difference between the first timing advance value and the second timing advance value. (Col. 82 lines 37-41) Regarding claim 3, Loehr teaches wherein each of the first device and the second device may be any one of the following: a) a spacecraft, for example a satellite, b) a high altitude platform system, HAPS, c) a terrestrial device. (Fig. 2 [eNB] i.e. primary cell and second cell, see Col. 7 lines 35-39) Regarding claim 4, Loehr teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform at least one of: a) determining the first timing advance value, (Col. 17 lines 8-17) and/or b) determining the second timing advance value (Col. 26 lines 7-12), and/or c) determining the first information. (Col. 82 lines 37-41) Regarding claim 5, Loehr teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform a switching procedure from the first radio cell provided by the first device to the second radio cell provided by the second device (Col. 58 lines 53-67), to determine the second timing advance value prior to performing the switching procedure (Col. 60 lines 1-9 as opposed to Col. 59 lines 41-67), and to transmit the first information to the network device associated at least with the first radio cell prior to performing the switching procedure. (Col. 68 lines 52-64) Regarding claim 6, Loehr teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform at least one of: a) transmitting second information to the network device, the second information indicating a point in time from which on the second timing advance value may be used by the terminal device, and/or b) receiving an indication from the network device instructing the terminal device when to use the second timing advance value. (Col. 94 lines 38-50) Regarding claims 7-12, the limitations of claims 7-12 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 1-6. Regarding claim 13, Loehr teaches an apparatus for a network device (Fig. 2 [eNB]), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor, (Col. 112 lines 15-36), and at least one memory storing instructions that (Col. 112 lines 37-44), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device to: receive from a terminal device first information characterizing a difference (Col. 82 lines 37-41) between a first timing advance value associated with a first radio cell that is at least temporarily provided to the determine device by a first device (Col. 82 lines 6-18) and a second timing advance value associated with a second radio cell that is at least temporarily provided to the terminal device by a second device. (Col. 82 lines 6-18 “ A separated timer may be maintained by the mobile terminal for each timing advance value (each associated to either an individual uplink cell or a group of uplink cells)” & “the mobile terminal resets and starts the timer each time it (i) applies a calculated timing advance (step 2 d ) or (ii) performs a RACH procedure (step 3 c ) or (iii) applies a received timing advance value for uplink transmissions on the respective PCell or SCell for which the timer is maintained”) Regarding claim 14, Loehr teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device to receive second information indicating a point in time from which on the second timing advance value may be used by the terminal device. (Col. 90 lines 31-38) Regarding claim 15, Loehr teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device to transmit an indication to the terminal device instructing the terminal device when to use the second timing advance value. (Col. 94 lines 38-50) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-2008/0084849 to Wang et al. discloses a method for uplink synchronization during handover by calculating a timing advance value for a target eNB based on a timing advance value of the serving eNB. US-2014/0029586 to Loehr et al. which discloses a propagation delay difference reporting for multiple component carriers Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW C SAMS whose telephone number is (571)272-8099. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached at (571)272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 5 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 6 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/770,295 Page 7 Art Unit: 2646