DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao in their publication “Growth of 2-Inch V-Doped Bulk 6H-SiC with High Semi-Insulating Yield”.
Regarding Claim 1-4: Hao teaches the creation of a silicon carbide material, comprising a wafer (See results and discussion, first paragraph). Hao teaches that the wafers are 2 inches in diameter and the resistivity is determined over the whole surface of the wafer. Hao teaches the creation of 9 different wafers (See Table I) and teaches that in wafer 14 to 18 the resistivity of the whole wafer was larger than 1012 Ω cm (See Results and Discussion; paragraph 2; Table I). As Hao teaches that the whole wafer has a resistivity of greater than 1012 Ω cm, the part of the wafer with an average resistivity greater than 1010 (or 5*1010, or 1011, or 5*1011; Re: Claims 2-4) Ω cm occupies 100% of an area of the wafer.
Regarding Claim 5: Hao does not teach that any portion of the wafer is damaged and the entire surface of the wafer has a high resistivity (See Figure 2 and Table I). Thus the damage rate of the wafer is considered to be 0%. The specification characterizes regions that have a resistivity of less than 1010 Ω cm with crystal damage leading to a damage rate (See Paragraph 44-45). As the wafer of Hao has 0% of these regions, the damage rate would be 0%.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12276043. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to an overlapping range of materials. The patented claims are drawn to a silicon carbide ingot, which is a crystal of silicon carbide. The ingot of the patented claims has two ends being a seed end and a dome end, wherein the portion of each end with a resistivity higher than 1012 Ω cm occupies 100% of the area of said end (See patented claim 2-3). As the crystal is composed of said ends and 100% of the area of each end has a resistivity of greater than 1012 Ω cm, the average resistivity of said crystal is greater than 1012 Ω cm and the part of the crystal with such an average occupies 100% of an area of said crystal (Re: Claims 1-4). The patented claims do not teach the incorporation of damaged portions of said crystal. As damaged portions are not included, the damage rate of the crystal of the patented claim would be the same as that which is claimed or 0% (Re: Claim 5). The specification characterizes regions that have a resistivity of less than 1010 Ω cm with crystal damage leading to a damage rate (See Paragraph 44-45). As the patented ingot has 0% of these regions, the damage rate would also be 0%.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12612713. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to an overlapping range of materials. The patented claim is drawn to a silicon carbide wafer. The wafer of the patented claim has a resistivity of greater than 1012 Ω cm in an area representing 100% of the entire wafer area. As this is the case, the average resistivity of the wafer must also be greater than 1012 Ω cm. The part of the wafer with an average resistivity greater than 1012 Ω cm occupies 100% of an area of the wafer. The patented claim does not teach the incorporation of damaged portions of said crystal. As damaged portions are not included, the damage rate of the crystal of the patented claim would be the same as that which is claimed or 0% (Re: Claim 5). The specification characterizes regions that have a resistivity of less than 1010 Ω cm with crystal damage leading to a damage rate (See Paragraph 44-45). As the patented wafer has 0% of these regions, the damage rate would also be 0%.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734