Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 and 02/08/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
The verb "have", appearing . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koizumi et al. teaches a light-emitting element array substrate (element array 40) comprising:
a temporary base (FIG. 1, reproduced and annotated below: mounting substrate 30) having a first (upper) surface and a second (lower) surface opposite (FIG. 1) to each other;
an adhesive layer ([0073], a conductive bonding material at surface of 30) disposed on the first surface of the temporary base;
a plurality of light-emitting elements (elements 40a to 40c) disposed on the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer is located between (FIG. 1) the light-emitting elements and the temporary base; and
at least one support member (mounting support substrate 32) disposed on the second surface of the temporary base.
FIG. 1 of Koizumi et al., oriented upside down; depicting the first (upper) surface between the adhesive layer and second (lower) surface of mounting substrate 30, and the second (lower) surface between the support member and first (upper) surface of 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1) in view of Meng et al. (CN-112133795-A).
Regarding claim 2, Koizumi et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 1. Koizumi et al. in view of Meng et al. does not explicitly teach wherein an elastic recovery ratio of the at least one support member (support structure 109) is greater than or equal to 90%.
However, [0067] in Meng et al. does disclose support structure 109 made of metal alloy AuSn, which is highly ductile and would so be able to return almost substantially to its original height. Thus, it is reasonable to assume an elastic recovery ratio high enough such that it is within the range as claimed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the support structures 109 of Meng et al. to the mounting substrate 30 in the device of Koizumi et al. Support members disposed on the temporary base act as a buffer during pressing and transfer steps, and helps the pressure head apply force more evenly and thus better bonding uniformity.
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1) in view of Yang et al. (CN-115763351-A).
Regarding claim 3, Koizumi et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 1. Yang et al. teaches wherein the first (upper) surface of the temporary base (second carrier plate C2) has a functional area (width of luminous element group LS) and a non-functional area (widths of protective layers PL),
the functional area overlaps (FIG. 10B) the light-emitting elements (light emitting element LD), and the non-functional area is located outside the functional area and staggered with the light-emitting elements (FIG. 10B),
the at least one support member (protective layers PL) comprises: a first support member (FIG. 10B, left side PL), located on the non-functional area of the first surface of the temporary base.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layers PL of Yang et al. as support members on an (non-functional) area outside the functional area which overlaps (light emitting) elements 40a to 40c of Koizumi et al. to Improve edge behavior and thickness control without interfering with active elements.
Regarding claim 4, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 3. Yang et al. teaches wherein the at least one support member (protective layers PL) further comprises: a second support member (FIG. 10B, right side PL), disposed on the second (lower) surface of the temporary base.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have disposed the another one of the protective layers PL of Yang et al. as a support member on the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al. More support members would further ensure the adhesive layer forms with more uniform thickness as the pressure load is buffered and distributed more evenly during pressing and transfer.
Regarding claim 5, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 3. Yang et al. teaches wherein a vertical direction (z direction upwards and out from light-emitting element array substrate 50) is substantially perpendicular (FIG. 10B and 10C) to the temporary base (second carrier plate C2),
a surface of a light-emitting element (upper surface of light emitting element LD) of the light-emitting elements facing away (FIG. 10B) from the temporary base and
the first (upper) surface of the temporary base have a first distance D1 (distance between C2 upper surface and LD upper surface) in the vertical direction,
a surface of the first support member (FIG. 10B, upper surface of left side PL) facing away (FIG. 10B, z direction upwards) from the temporary base and
the first surface of the temporary base have a second distance D2 (AS height, which is also distance between C2 upper surface and PL upper surface) in the vertical direction.
Yang et al. does not explicitly teach D1*90% <= D2 <= D1*110. However, [0075] of Yang et al. recites closed opening O1 of depth DO1 to be 5% to 100% of total thickness TA of adhesive structure AS. Thus, it would be reasonable to adjust DO1 thickness (which includes PL) to reach an AS height (of distance D2) within 10% of LD height (of distance D1). Having D1 and D2 essentially be the same height allows force more evenly applied into the adhesive layer, forming with more uniform thickness.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layers PL of Yang et al. as support members on the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al., such that the height of the light-emitting elements and support member (both measured from the first surface of the temporary base) are substantially the same (within the range as claimed), as the pressure head would contact both evenly to form an adhesive layer with uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 6, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 3. Yang et al. teaches wherein a vertical direction (z direction upwards and out from light-emitting element array substrate 50) is substantially perpendicular (FIG. 10B and 10C) to the temporary base (second carrier plate C2),
a light-emitting element (light emitting element LD) of the light-emitting elements (light emitting element group LS) has a height H1 (lower to upper surface of LD) in the vertical direction,
the adhesive layer (adhesive layer AL) has a thickness T (AL portion of total thickness TA) in the vertical direction, and
the first support member (FIG. 10D, left side PL) has a height H2 (PL portion of TA) in the vertical direction.
Yang et al. does no explicitly teach (H1+T)*90% <= H2 <= (H1+T)*110% . However, [0087] in Yang et al. discloses a closed opening O2 of depth DO2 to be 5% to 100% of total thickness TA of adhesive structure AS. Since [0098] recites a second carrier plate C2 between the distance HU not less than (so equal or greater than) TA to ensure protrusion on the upper surface of LD for smooth connection, it would be reasonable to adjust DO2 to maximum TA such that PL (P2 in FIG. 7D) reaches a height at least as tall as the height of LD and AL combined, which satisfies being 10% within the range as claimed.)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layers PL of Yang et al. as support members on the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al., such that the height of the support members itself would be substantially the same height as the total height of the light-emitting element and adhesive layer combined, as the pressure head would contact evenly to form an adhesive layer with uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 7, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 3. Yang et al. teaches wherein the first support member (FIG. 10D, left side PL) is integrated (FIG. 12C) with the temporary base.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer of Yang et al. in the device of Yang et al., and to have integrated the support member with the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al. as a groove structure, which provides built-in height control and placement precision.
Regarding claim 8, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 7. Yang et al. teaches wherein the first support member (FIG. 7A, left side PL on AS, later formed in FIG. 10A) and the temporary base (second carrier plate C2) define a groove (FIG. 7A, closed opening O2), and the adhesive layer (FIG. 7B, adhesive layer AL of AS, later formed in 10B) and the light-emitting elements (light emitting element LD) are disposed in (FIG. 7B) the groove.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layer of Yang et al. in the device of Yang et al., and to have integrated the support member with the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al. as a groove with the light-emitting elements and adhesive layers disposed in it, as the groove structure provides built-in height control and placement precision.
Regarding claim 9, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 8. Yang et al. teaches wherein a vertical direction (z direction upwards and out from light-emitting element array substrate 50) is substantially perpendicular (FIG. 10B and 10C) to the temporary base (second carrier plate C2),
the groove (FIG. 7D, closed opening O2) has a depth D (depth DO2) in the vertical direction,
a light-emitting element (light emitting element LD) of the light-emitting elements (light emitting element group LS) has a height H1 (lower to upper surface of LD) in the vertical direction, and
the adhesive layer (adhesive layer AL as P1 in FIG. 7D) has a thickness T (height P1 of AS) in the vertical direction.
Yang et al. does not explicitly teach (H1+T)*90% <= D <= (H1+T)*110%. However, [0087] recites closed opening O2 of depth DO2 to be 5% to 100% of total thickness TA of adhesive structure AS. Additionally, [0098] recites distance HU is not less than (so equal or greater than) TA. Thus an O2 of maximum TA must still at least be of a distance HU, which is also the height of H1 and T combined. So it is reasonable to form a deep enough groove depth D of similar height as H1+T within the range as claimed, so that PD1 and PD2 of the LD protrudes and helps form adhesive layer smoothly.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the protective layers PL of Yang et al. as support members on the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al., and to have integrated the support member with the mounting substrate 30 of Koizumi et al. to create a groove, such that the depth of the groove is substantially the same as the total height of the light-emitting elements and adhesive layer combined, as this would allow the pressure head to contact evenly to form an adhesive layer with uniform thickness.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1) in view of Yang et al. (CN-115763351-A) and Meng et al. (CN-112133795-A).
Regarding claim 10, Koizumi et al. in view of Yang et al. teaches the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 8. Meng et al. teaches wherein the at least one support member (supporting structure 109) comprises column portions (FIG. 33 and [0105]) separated from each other or strip portions separated from each other.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protective layers PL of Yang et al. with the supporting structure 109 of Meng et al. A support member comprising column portions tailors support distribution to the substrate area, which ultimately reduce localized deformation, improves adhesive layer thickness uniformity, and suppresses bonding mura.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kober (TW-202314905-A) in view of Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kober teaches a manufacturing method of a light-emitting element array substrate (Claim 13, substrate carrying a pixel on a power supply structure to form a micro light emitting diode array system) comprising:
providing a light-emitting elements supply substrate (growth substrate 400 + thin buffer layer 452), wherein the light-emitting elements supply substrate comprises a temporary base (growth substrate 400) and light-emitting elements (microfunctional elements 450), the temporary base of the light-emitting elements supply substrate has a first (FIG. 4, lower) surface and a second (FIG. 4, upper) surface opposites (FIG. 4, top figure) to each other, and the light-emitting elements are disposed on (FIG. 4, top figure) the first surface of the temporary base of the light-emitting elements supply substrate;
providing a temporary substrate (transfer substrate 250 + adhesive layer 104) wherein the temporary substrate comprises a temporary base (transfer substrate 250) and an adhesive layer (adhesive layer 104) disposed on (FIG. 4, bottom figure) the temporary base;
making the first (FIG. 4, lower) surface of the temporary base (growth substrate 400) of the light-emitting elements supply substrate (growth substrate 400 + thin buffer layer 452) the adhesive layer ([0056], thin buffer layer 452 as a single layer composed of undoped GaN), so that the light-emitting elements (microfunctional elements 450) are disposed between (FIG. 5) the temporary base (growth substrate 400) of the light-emitting elements supply substrate and the adhesive layer (adhesive layer 104) of the temporary substrate (transfer substrate 250 + adhesive layer 104);
using a pressure head (FIG. 5, roller 460 under a pressing force F) to press down the second (upper) surface of the temporary base (growth substrate 400) of the light-emitting elements supply substrate (growth substrate 400 + thin buffer layer 452), so that the light-emitting elements (microfunctional elements 450) are connected to (FIG. 5) the adhesive layer (adhesive layer 104) of the temporary substrate (transfer substrate 250 + adhesive layer 104); and
separating (FIG. 4, top figure from bottom figure) the temporary base (growth substrate 400) of the light-emitting elements supply substrate (growth substrate 400 + thin buffer layer 452) and the light-emitting elements (microfunctional elements 450) so that the light-emitting elements are transferred to (FIG. 5) the adhesive layer (adhesive layer 104) of the temporary substrate (transfer substrate 250 + adhesive layer 104).
Kober does not teach wherein a support member is provided between the pressure head and the second surface of the temporary base of the light-emitting elements supply substrate, and the pressure head presses against the second surface of the temporary base of the light-emitting elements supply substrate through the support member.
However, Koizumi et al. teaches wherein a support member (mounting support substrate 32) is provided between (FIG. 1) the pressure head (mounting table 20) and the second (lower) surface of the temporary base (mounting substrate 30) of the light-emitting elements supply substrate (mounting substrate 30 + conductive bonding material at surface of 30), and the pressure head presses against ([0071]) the second (lower) surface of the temporary base of the light-emitting elements supply substrate through (FIG. 1) the support member.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microstructured component of Kober comprising both the temporary substrate and supply substrate, to have also included the support member of Koizumi et al. between the pressure head and temporary base. A support member between pressure head and substrate would buffer pressing force, allowing for more uniform distribution of pressure and thus reduced mura or misalignment during transfer and adhesive film thickness variation.
FIG. 4 of Kober. top figure; depicting first (lower) and second (upper) surfaces of the temporary base (400), adhesive layer (452), and light-emitting elements (450).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kober (TW-202314905-A) in view of Koizumi et al. (US-20230093241-A1) and Meng et al. (CN-112133795-A).
Regarding claim 12, Kober in view of Koizumi et al. and Meng et al. teaches the manufacturing method of the light-emitting element array substrate according to claim 11. Kober in view of Koizumi et al. and Meng et al. does not explicitly teach wherein an elastic recovery ratio of the at least one support member (support structure 109) is greater than or equal to 90%.
However, [0067] of Meng et al. discloses support structure 109 made of metal alloy AuSn, which is highly ductile and would so be able to return almost substantially to its original height. Thus, it is reasonable to assume an elastic recovery ratio high enough such that it is within the range as claimed.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the support structures 109 of Meng et al. to the temporary substrate of Koizumi et al. or Kober. Support members disposed on the temporary base act as a buffer during pressing and transfer steps, and helps the pressure head apply force more evenly and thus better bonding uniformity.
Conclusion
/JEANNE MYON KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898