DETAILED ACTION
This is the third office action on the merits. This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 12/16/2025. Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19 and cancelled claim 4. Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19 are pending and examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/871,270, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application 17/871,270 has no disclosure of “a recuperating heat exchanger where a first portion of a flow of the working fluid flow exhausted from the bottoming turbine section is in thermal communication with a second portion of a flow of the working fluid exhausted from the bottoming compressor section for heating the second portion of the flow of the working fluid before expansion through the bottoming turbine section” (claim 1, lines 15-19 and claim 12, lines 16-20). Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application filing date.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13: “to cool the working fluid flow from the bottoming turbine” is believed to be in error for --to cool the flow of the working fluid from the bottoming turbine section--
Claim 1, lines 15: “a flow of the working fluid flow” is believed to be in error for --the flow of the working fluid--
Claim 1, line 17: “a flow of the working fluid” is believed to be in error for --the flow of the working fluid--
Claim 1, lines 20-21: “the cryogenic fuel flow” is believed to be in error for --a flow of the cryogenic fuel--
Claim 1, line 22: “the working fluid flow” is believed to be in error for --the flow of the working fluid--
Claim 1, line 25: “the core engine” is believed to be in error for --the energy conversion device-- (see claim 1, line 2)
Claim 12, line 14: “the working fluid flow” is believed to be in error for --a flow of the working fluid--
Claim 12, line 18: “a flow of the working fluid” is believed to be in error for --the flow of the working fluid--
Claim 12, line 21: “the cryogenic fuel flow” is believed to be in error for --a flow of the cryogenic fuel--
Claim 12, line 23: “the combustor core engine” is believed to be in error for --the combustor of the core engine--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "energy conversion device" in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that “energy conversion device” includes “a gas turbine engine” in one embodiment (¶ [0006]), and “a fuel cell” in another embodiment (¶ [0014]). Therefore, “energy conversion device” will be interpreted as “a gas turbine engine” or “a fuel cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staubach (US 11,506,124 B2), in view of Pang (US 2014/0165572 A1) and Sen (US 2019/0249599 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Staubach teaches (Fig. 9) an aircraft propulsion system (Fig. 9 shows a turbofan) comprising:
an energy conversion device (900) that uses a cryogenic fuel (from 942 – see also col. 16, ll. 41-43: “the auxiliary cooling source 942 is a cold fuel tank (e.g., a cryogenic fuel tank)”) and air (from 912) to generate power and thermal energy (from exhaust gas flow to the right of 918);
a bottoming cycle (902) where a working fluid (supercritical CO2 – see col. 17, ll. 16-17) is circulated within a closed circuit (path of 924 → 926 → 954 → 930 → 926 → 932 → 924 is a closed loop) comprising a bottoming compressor section (930) driven by a shaft (evident by the line connecting 930 to 934 and to 924) by a bottoming turbine section (924), wherein the working fluid is compressed in the bottoming compressor section (930) and expanded through the bottoming turbine section (924) to generate shaft power (934);
a primary heat exchanger (932) providing thermal communication of thermal energy (exhaust gas flow) from the energy conversion device (900) to the working fluid (from 926) of the bottoming cycle (902);
a fuel system (940) comprising a cryogenic fuel storage tank (942 – col. 16, ll. 41-43) and a fuel flow path for routing the cryogenic fuel (path of 942 → 954 → 956 → 960 → 914) to the energy conversion device (900), wherein a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger (954) provides thermal communication between the cryogenic fuel (from 942) and a flow of the working fluid (from 926) to cool the working fluid flow from the bottoming turbine (924) to the bottoming compressor section (930);
a recuperating heat exchanger (926) where a first portion of a flow of the working fluid flow exhausted from the bottoming turbine section (924) is in thermal communication with a second portion of a flow of the working fluid (922) exhausted from the bottoming compressor section (930) for heating the second portion of the flow of the working fluid (922) before expansion through the bottoming turbine section (924);
a generator (934 – col. 16, ll. 26-27: “the power output 934 may be connected to a generator”) coupled to the shaft of the bottoming turbine section (924); and
a turbine section (916 and 918) of the energy conversion device (900).
However, Staubach does not teach a fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger aft of the primary heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow is in thermal communication with thermal energy from the energy conversion device and heated after cooling the working fluid flow exhausted from the bottoming turbine section before being communicated to the energy conversion device.
It is noted that Staubach teaches a supplemental heat exchanger (960) downstream of the primary heat exchanger (932) and before the combustor (914) of the energy conversion device (900), wherein the supplemental heat exchanger (960) “can be arranged to provide additional cooling for fluids of the engine or aircraft” (col. 16, ll. 62-64).
Pang teaches (Fig. 1) a similar system comprising:
an energy conversion device (104) that uses a fuel (“Fuel” above 112) and air (“Air” below 103) to generate power and thermal energy (shown by exhaust gas flow 154);
a bottoming cycle (106) where a working fluid (steam/water) is circulated;
a primary heat exchanger (138) providing thermal communication of thermal energy (154) from the energy conversion device (104) to the working fluid of the bottoming cycle (106); and further teaches:
an fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger (comprising 114, 156, 158, and 160, which form a closed cycle) aft of the primary heat exchanger (138) where the fuel flow is in thermal communication with thermal energy (154) from the energy conversion device (104) – (160 is in direct thermal communication with exhaust gas flow 154) before being communicated (via combustor 105) to the energy conversion device (104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staubach by including a fuel/exhaust gas heat exchange (in place of Staubach’s supplemental heat exchanger 960) downstream of the primary heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow is in thermal communication with thermal energy from the energy conversion device and heated before being communicated to the energy conversion device, in order to further raise the temperature of the flow of cryogenic fuel to a level that is higher than the temperature of the cryogenic fuel flow at an outlet of the fuel/working fluid heat exchanger, thereby effectuating a rapid heating of the cryogenic fuel flow during a startup sequence of the gas turbine engine, as taught by Pang (¶ [0030], ll. 13-17 and ¶ [0031], ll. 1-3), therefore providing:
where the cryogenic fuel flow (Staubach, from 942) is in thermal communication with thermal energy (Staubach, to the right of 918) from the energy conversion device (Staubach, 900) after cooling the working fluid flow exhausted from the bottoming turbine section (Staubauch, 924) before being communicated (via Staubach’s combustor 914) to the energy conversion device (Staubach, 900).
It is noted that the above modification results in the fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger being downstream, rather than aft, of the primary heat exchanger (the location of the fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger is at supplemental heat exchanger 960 in Staubach’s Fig. 9, which is downstream of primary heat exchanger 932, but not “aft” of 932). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staubach, in view of Pang, by relocating the supplemental heat exchanger 960, and thus the fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger, to be aft of the primary heat exchanger, since it has been held that mere relocation of an element would not have modified the operation of the device (in this case, Staubach’s Fig. 9 is merely a schematic; therefore, shifting elements to be more aft in a schematic would not modify the operation of the system so long as flow lines are redrawn to maintain the same flow relationship between the elements), In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
However, Staubach, in view of Pang, does not teach an electric motor coupled to an engine shaft of the core engine, wherein the electric motor is operable to receive electric power from the generator and supplement power provided by the turbine section of the energy conversion device.
It is noted that Staubach further teaches “the power output 934 may be connected to a generator (e.g., to generate electricity) or mechanically connected to a fan to drive rotation of the fan (e.g., mechanical work)” (col. 16, ll. 26-29).
Sen teaches (Fig. 3) a similar system comprising a core engine (16) and a bottoming cycle (100); and
an electric motor (132 – see ¶ [0075], ll. 11-12: “the electric machine 132 of the turbomachine 16 may be configured as an electric motor”) coupled to an engine shaft (36) of the core engine (16), wherein the electric motor (132) is operable to receive electric power from a generator (130) and supplement power provided by a turbine section (30) of the energy conversion device (16) – (¶ [0075], ll. 6-10: “when the electric machine 130 of the closed cycle heat engine 100 (configured as an electric generator) generates electrical power, the electric power may be provided to the electric machine 132 of the turbomachine 16 to add power to the turbomachine 16”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staubach, in view of Pang, by including an electric motor coupled to an engine shaft of the core engine, wherein the electric motor is operable to receive electric power from the generator and supplement power provided by the turbine section of the energy conversion device, in order to allow for heat from the core engine, such as waste heat from the core engine, to be extracted, converted to useful work by the bottoming cycle, which may increase an overall efficiency of the core engine by converting waste heat to useful work, as taught by Sen (¶ [0075], ll. 13-19).
Regarding claim 3, Staubach, in view of Pang and Sen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Staubach further teaches (Fig. 9) the energy conversion device (900) comprises a gas turbine engine (900 – see also col. 16, ll. 5-6) comprising a combustor (914) where the cryogenic fuel (from 942) is mixed with compressed air (from 912) and ignited to generate an exhaust gas flow, and the exhaust gas flow is routed through the primary heat exchanger (932) for heating the working fluid (from 926) of the bottoming cycle (902).
Regarding claim 10, Staubach, in view of Pang and Sen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Staubach further teaches (Fig. 9) an accessory component (934, which can be a generator – see col. 16, ll. 26-27) coupled to the shaft (lines between 924, 930, and 934) driven by the bottoming turbine section (924).
Regarding claim 12, Staubach teaches (Fig. 9) a gas turbine engine (as shown in Fig. 9) comprising:
a core engine (900) comprising a combustor (914) where a cryogenic fuel (from 942 – see also col. 16, ll. 41-43: “the auxiliary cooling source 942 is a cold fuel tank (e.g., a cryogenic fuel tank)”) is mixed with compressed air (from 912) and ignited to generate an exhaust gas flow (arrow to the right of 918);
a bottoming cycle (902) where a working fluid (supercritical CO2 – see col. 17, ll. 16-17) is circulated within a closed circuit (path of 924 → 926 → 954 → 930 → 926 → 932 → 924 is a closed loop) comprising a bottoming compressor section (930) driven through a shaft (evident by the line connecting 930 to 934 and to 924) by a bottoming turbine section (924), wherein the working fluid is compressed in the bottoming compressor section (930) and expanded through the bottoming turbine section (924) to generate shaft power (934);
a primary heat exchanger (932) providing communication of thermal energy from the exhaust gas flow (from 918) to a flow of the working fluid (from 926) of the bottoming cycle (902);
a fuel system (940) comprising a cryogenic fuel storage tank (942 – col. 16, ll. 41-43) and a fuel flow path for routing the cryogenic fuel (path of 942 → 954 → 956 → 960 → 914) to the combustor (914) of the core engine (900), wherein a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger (954) provides thermal communication between the cryogenic fuel (from 942) and the working fluid (from 926) to cool the working fluid flow from the bottoming turbine section (924) to the bottoming compressor section (930);
a recuperating heat exchanger (926) where a first portion of the flow of the working fluid exhausted from the bottoming turbine section (924) is in thermal communication with a second portion of a flow of the working fluid (922) exhausted from the bottoming compressor section (930) for heating the second portion of the flow of the working fluid (922) before expansion through the bottoming turbine section (924);
a generator (934 – col. 16, ll. 26-27: “the power output 934 may be connected to a generator”) coupled to the bottoming turbine section (924) by an output shaft (line between 924 and 934); and
a turbine section (916 and 918) of the core engine (900).
However, Staubach does not teach a fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow is heated by the exhaust gas flow after cooling the working fluid exhausted from the bottoming turbine section before being communicated to the combustor core engine.
It is noted that Staubach teaches a supplemental heat exchanger (960) for exchanging heat of the cryogenic fuel before being communicated to the combustor (914) core engine (900), wherein the supplemental heat exchanger (960) “can be arranged to provide additional cooling for fluids of the engine or aircraft” (col. 16, ll. 62-64).
Pang teaches (Fig. 1) a similar system comprising:
an energy conversion device (104) that uses a fuel (“Fuel” above 112) and air (“Air” below 103) to generate power and thermal energy (shown by exhaust gas flow 154);
a bottoming cycle (106) where a working fluid (steam/water) is circulated; and further teaches:
an fuel/exhaust gas heat exchanger (comprising 114, 156, 158, and 160, which form a closed cycle) where the fuel flow is heated by the exhaust gas flow (154) – (160 is in direct thermal communication with exhaust gas flow 154) before being communicated to the combustor (105) core engine (104).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staubach by including a fuel/exhaust gas heat exchange (in place of Staubach’s supplemental heat exchanger 960) where the cryogenic fuel flow is heated by the exhaust gas flow before being communicated to the combustor core engine, in order to further raise the temperature of the flow of cryogenic fuel to a level that is higher than the temperature of the cryogenic fuel flow at an outlet of the fuel/working fluid heat exchanger, thereby effectuating a rapid heating of the cryogenic fuel flow during a startup sequence of the gas turbine engine, as taught by Pang (¶ [0030], ll. 13-17 and ¶ [0031], ll. 1-3), therefore providing:
where the cryogenic fuel flow (Staubach, from 942) is heated by the exhaust gas flow (Staubach, to the right of 918) after cooling the working fluid exhausted from the bottoming turbine section (Staubauch, 924) and before being communicated to the combustor (Staubach, 914) core engine (Staubach, 900).
However, Staubach, in view of Pang, does not teach an electric motor coupled to an engine shaft of the core engine, wherein the electric motor is operable to receive electric power generated by the generator and to supplement power provided by the turbine section of the core engine.
It is noted that Staubach further teaches “the power output 934 may be connected to a generator (e.g., to generate electricity) or mechanically connected to a fan to drive rotation of the fan (e.g., mechanical work)” (col. 16, ll. 26-29).
Sen teaches (Fig. 3) a similar system comprising a core engine (16) and a bottoming cycle (100); and
an electric motor (132 – see ¶ [0075], ll. 11-12: “the electric machine 132 of the turbomachine 16 may be configured as an electric motor”) coupled to an engine shaft (36) of the core engine (16), wherein the electric motor (132) is operable to receive electric power generated by a generator (130) and to supplement power provided by a turbine section (30) of the core engine (16) – (¶ [0075], ll. 6-10: “when the electric machine 130 of the closed cycle heat engine 100 (configured as an electric generator) generates electrical power, the electric power may be provided to the electric machine 132 of the turbomachine 16 to add power to the turbomachine 16”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staubach, in view of Pang, by including an electric motor coupled to an engine shaft of the core engine, wherein the electric motor is operable to receive electric power generated by the generator and to supplement power provided by the turbine section of the core engine, in order to allow for heat from the core engine, such as waste heat from the core engine, to be extracted, converted to useful work by the bottoming cycle, which may increase an overall efficiency of the core engine by converting waste heat to useful work, as taught by Sen (¶ [0075], ll. 13-19).
Regarding claim 19, Staubach, in view of Pang and Sen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 12, and Staubach further teaches (Fig. 9) an accessory component (934, which can be a generator – see col. 16, ll. 26-27) coupled to be driven by the bottoming turbine section (924) through the output shaft (line between 924 and 934).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new limitations in claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. To the extent possible, Applicant's arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections at the appropriate locations.
Applicant’s arguments against the Pang prior art have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “none of the elements 114, 156, 158 and 160 exposes fuel to an exhaust gas flow. Instead, a working fluid flow is used to heat the fuel flow. The exhaust gas flow heats a working fluid within an energy storage charge heat exchanger 160 (See at least paragraph 11 of Pang)”, it is evident from Pang’s Fig. 1 that the exhaust gas 154 goes through HRSG 116 to heat every element within HRSG 116. The remnants of the exhaust gas can be seen on the right-hand side of HRSG 116, which shows “Stack”. While Pang states that a working fluid within the HRSG is used to transfer energy to the thermal storage medium, the working fluid within the HRSG gets all of its thermal energy from exhaust gas 154. As evidenced by ¶ [0033], “thermal storage unit 110 can be in an off-mode where all of the exhaust energy from the gas turbine is applied to heat working fluid (e.g., water/steam) sent from HRSG 116 to steam turbine engine 118 for expansion work”. This shows that when thermal storage unit 110 is in an on-mode, some of the thermal energy from the exhaust gas flow is transferred to the thermal storage medium.
Alternatively, the loop that provides thermal energy to heat exchanger 114 may be reinterpreted as 114 → 156 → 116 → 158 → 114. In this case, the exhaust gas 154 directly heats HSRG 116, which then passes off thermal energy to element 158. This is no different from saying that the exhaust gas 154 directly heats an element (in this case, 160) within HSRG 116, which then passes off thermal energy to element 158.
Conclusion
/HENRY NG/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741