Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention-Group II (i.e. claims 14-20) there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Therefore, claims 1-13 have been examined on the merits in this Office action.
Claim status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-13 have been examined on the merits.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The opening sentence “A system for monitoring a hydraulic cylinder in a work machine is disclosed” is improper.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Line 8 recites, “a hydraulic cylinder” should read, “the hydraulic cylinder” as hydraulic cylinder in recited in the claim before in Line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “calculate a normalized seal damage based on the received pressure signals, the determined piston displacement, and a normalized wear coefficient, determine an estimated degradation rate of the seal from the calculated normalized seal damage, compare the estimated degradation rate to a degradation model, and identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model.” It is not clear from where the normalized wear coefficient found. Is it standard value or how the normalized wear coefficient calculated? It is not clear how the degradation rate is estimated. Is there any formula or steps to estimate the degradation rate from the degradation model? It is not clear from where degradation model is found. The limitation, “identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model” is not clear. It is not clear how the service life is estimated from the seal based on alignment. It is not clear what does it mean by, “based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model”. Therefore, claim limitations are not clear.
For purposes of the present examination the limitation “identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model “and “the connector” is construed to mean as to identify a service life based on the degradation model. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “the normalized wear coefficient is calculated from merged population data of population hydraulic cylinders of the same cylinder type as the hydraulic cylinder.” It is not clear what merged population data means and how the merged population data is calculated and what formula or algorithm is used to determine the merged population data. Therefore, the normalized wear coefficient calculation is also not clear as the merged population of data is not clear.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Hereinafter, “Chen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190257327 A1 in view of ZHANG CHAO (Hereinafter, “Zhang”) in the Publication Number CN 109948295 A (Publication Date 2019-06-28).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a work machine having a system for monitoring a hydraulic cylinder in the work machine (hydraulic cylinders and, more particularly, relates to health monitoring and remaining component life for hydraulic cylinders; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3; a system for monitoring a hydraulic cylinder is provided; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-2; Referring now to FIG. 1, an exemplary hydraulic cylinder constructed in accordance with the present disclosure is generally referred to by reference numeral 10; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-3; Furthermore, in the exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, with continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the hydraulic cylinder 10 and the monitoring system 42; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-3),
the work machine (Figure 6-hydraulic system 88) (The machine 86 includes a hydraulic system 88; Paragraph [0049] Line 12) comprising:
a frame (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows a frame);
a boom [90] in Figure 6 (the boom 90; Paragraph [0049] Line 16) movably attached to the frame (In particular, the hydraulic circuit 36 is utilized to move various components of the hydraulic system 88, such as, but not limited to, the boom 90, the stick 92, and the implement 94, via control of the input device 80, exemplarily illustrated as a joystick; Paragraph [0049] Line 13-18; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows a boom [90] in Figure 6 movably attached to the frame);
an engine [86] (a machine 86 in Figure 6 as the engine) (Furthermore, in the exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, with continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the hydraulic cylinder 10 and the monitoring system 42 are utilized with the hydraulic circuit 36 of a machine 86. Although the machine 86 is exemplarily depicted as an excavator, it is to be understood that the machine 86 may be any type of machine in the construction, agriculture, earth-moving, oil extraction, and mining industries such as, but not limited to wheel loaders, front shovels, backhoes, track-type tractors, dozers, motor graders, drill stations, or other types of mobile or stationary machines well known in the industries; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-12) mounted on the frame (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows an engine mounted on the frame);
an undercarriage supporting the frame (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows an undercarriage supporting the frame);
an implement [94] (the implement 94; Paragraph [0049] Line 16) movably attached to the boom [90] (In particular, the hydraulic circuit 36 is utilized to move various components of the hydraulic system 88, such as, but not limited to, the boom 90, the stick 92, and the implement 94, via control of the input device 80, exemplarily illustrated as a joystick; Paragraph [0049] Line 13-18; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows an implement [94] movably attached to the boom [90]);
Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen below shows
a hydraulic cylinder [10] in Figure 1 operatively associated with the boom [90] (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Chen above shows a hydraulic cylinder [10] in Figure 1 operatively associated with the boom [90]) and including a cylinder barrel [16] in Figure 1, a piston [12] moveably disposed in the cylinder barrel [16] (Referring now to FIG. 1, an exemplary hydraulic cylinder constructed in accordance with the present disclosure is generally referred to by reference numeral 10. The hydraulic cylinder 10 includes a piston 12 and connected to a rod 14, both of which are adapted to reciprocate in a cylinder barrel 16; Paragraph [0017] Line 1-6),
a seal [28, 30, 31] in Figure 1 (a piston seal 28, a rod seal 30 and a wiper 31 as the seal) provided with the hydraulic Cylinder [10] (In order to seal the head space 24 from the rod space 26 a piston seal 28 is provided around the piston 12 and proximate the cylinder barrel 16. Similarly, to seal the rod space 26 from the environment a rod seal 30 is provided around the rod 14 and proximate the rod end 20 of the cylinder barrel 16. A wiper 31 is also provided to seal the cylinder 10; Paragraph [0017] Line 11-17), and
a pressure sensor [44, 46] in Figure 2 (The hydraulic cylinder 10 is in communication with a head end pressure sensor 44, a rod end pressure sensor 46; Paragraph [0020] Line 3-5) configured to monitor a pressure of a fluid in the hydraulic Cylinder [10] (Also in some embodiments, pressure sensor 44 is disposed in the head space 24 of the hydraulic cylinder 10 and is configured to monitor and measure the pressure of the fluid in the head space 24, while the rod end pressure sensor 46 is disposed in the rod space 16 of the hydraulic cylinder 10 and is configured to monitor and measure the pressure of the hydraulic fluid in the rod space 26; Paragraph [0020] Line 8-14); and
an electronic control unit [52] (an electronic control unit 52; Paragraph [0021] Line 3-4),
the electronic control unit [52] in communication with the pressure sensor [44, 46] (Furthermore, the head end pressure sensor 44, the rod end pressure sensor 46, the displacement sensor 48, and the temperature sensor 50 are all in communication with an electronic control unit 52; Paragraph [0021] Line 1-4), the electronic control unit [52] programed to:
receive pressure signals from the pressure sensor [44, 46] (The electronic control unit 52 is configured to receive and process a head end pressure signal 54 and a rod end pressure signal 55 from the head end pressure sensor 44 and the rod end pressure sensor 46, respectively; Paragraph [0021] Line -8),
determine a piston displacement [56] of the piston [12] (Additionally, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to receive and process a piston position signal 56; Paragraph [0021] Line 8-9);
calculate a wear coefficient (In particular, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to calculate the wear volume W of one or all seals, namely piston seal 28, rod seal 30 and wiper 31, which is a factor in measuring and determining the life of the hydraulic cylinder 10. As a method of computation, it may be useful to target on the leakage failure due to the seal failure, including wiper, rod seal, and the piston seal. If one of wiper, rod seal, or piston seal fails, the cylinder will be categorized as a seal failure, and required service will be performed.
The volume of the material removed (W) is proportional to the sliding distance (S), the normal pressure (Pn) and the dimensionless wear coefficient (k), and inversely proportional to the hardness of the surface being worn away (H); Paragraph [0022] Line 1-14).
Chen fails to teach calculate a normalized seal damage based on the received pressure signals, the determined piston displacement, and a normalized wear coefficient, determine an estimated degradation rate of the seal from the calculated normalized seal damage, compare the estimated degradation rate to a degradation model, and identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model.
Zhang teaches reliability evaluation and life prediction of reciprocating seals of moving parts, and particularly relates to a multi-correlation degradation analysis of reciprocating seals and a modeling method for life prediction (Technical field-Line 1-3),
wherein calculate a normalized seal damage based on the received pressure signals, the determined piston displacement, and a normalized wear coefficient (As shown in FIG. 1 , the reciprocating fluid dynamic seal multi-relevant degradation modeling and life prediction method of the present invention specifically includes the following steps:
Step 1: Collect the degradation data of friction and leakage, and calculate the degradation increment ΔXk(t) (k=1, 2) of the two performance degradation data of friction and leakage, and normalize the degradation increment; Page 6 Line 21-25),
determine an estimated degradation rate of the seal from the calculated normalized seal damage (Step 3, a total of N test seals are set for performance degradation test, where Xk(tij) represents the i-th (i=1, 2,...,N) test of the kth (k=1,2) performance degradation index. The amount of degradation of the sample at time tj (j = 1, 2, ..., M), N, M are positive integers. Then, the degradation increment in the time period [tj-1, tj] can be expressed as ΔXk(tij)=Xk(tij)-Xk(ti, j-1). Thus, a multivariate correlation degradation model for reciprocating fluid dynamic seals is established; Page 7 Line 3-7),
compare the estimated degradation rate to a degradation model (Step four, establish a likelihood function. According to the reciprocating fluid dynamic seal multivariate correlation degradation model (6) established in step three, the log-likelihood function; Page 7 Line 12-13), and
identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model (Step six, calculate the seal reliability function and life. After obtaining the values of the unknown parameters (Page 9 Line 16-17) and θ, the binary correlation degradation process model of the reciprocating seal can be obtained according to formula (6).; Page 10 Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to make full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, to apply the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and to obtain the corresponding degradation data, to predict the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, to provide a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, to apply a wider range of fields.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen in view of Zhang, because Zhang teaches to calculate a normalized seal damage based on the received pressure signals, the determined piston displacement, and a normalized wear coefficient to identify a service life makes full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, applies the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and obtains the corresponding degradation data, predicts the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, provides a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, applies a wider range of fields (Page 5 Line 11-17).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which the wear coefficient is calculated for the hydraulic cylinder (In particular, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to calculate the wear volume W of one or all seals, namely piston seal 28, rod seal 30 and wiper 31, which is a factor in measuring and determining the life of the hydraulic cylinder 10. As a method of computation, it may be useful to target on the leakage failure due to the seal failure, including wiper, rod seal, and the piston seal. If one of wiper, rod seal, or piston seal fails, the cylinder will be categorized as a seal failure, and required service will be performed.
The volume of the material removed (W) is proportional to the sliding distance (S), the normal pressure (Pn) and the dimensionless wear coefficient (k), and inversely proportional to the hardness of the surface being worn away (H); Paragraph [0022] Line 1-14).
However, Chen fails to teach a work machine in which the normalized wear coefficient is calculated from merged population data of population hydraulic cylinders of the same cylinder type as the hydraulic cylinder.
Zhang teaches reliability evaluation and life prediction of reciprocating seals of moving parts, and particularly relates to a multi-correlation degradation analysis of reciprocating seals and a modeling method for life prediction (Technical field-Line 1-3),
in which the normalized wear coefficient is calculated from merged population data of population hydraulic cylinders ( (1) The two performance degradation amounts of friction and leakage are subject to the Wiener process. Let
{Xk(t), t≥0} denote the amount of degradation of the kth performance degradation index of the reciprocating seal at time t, k=1, 2 Refers to the friction and leakage performance degradation indicators respectively;
Xk(t)=μkΛ(t)+σkW(Λ(t)), k=1,2 (1)
Where μk represents the drift parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, σk represents the diffusion parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, Λ(t) represents the time scale parameter; Page 3 Line 8-13; Step 3, a total of N test seals are set for performance degradation test, where Xk(tij) represents the i-th (i=1, 2,...,N) test of the kth (k=1,2) performance degradation index. The amount of degradation of the sample at time tj (j = 1, 2, ..., M), N, M are positive integers. Then, the degradation increment in the time period [tj-1, tj] can be expressed as ΔXk(tij)=Xk(tij)-Xk(ti, j-1). Thus, a multivariate correlation degradation model for reciprocating fluid dynamic seals is established; Page 7 Line 3-7). The purpose of doing so is to make full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, to apply the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and to obtain the corresponding degradation data, to predict the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, to provide a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, to apply a wider range of fields.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen in view of Zhang, because Zhang teaches to calculate a normalized wear coefficient makes full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, applies the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and obtains the corresponding degradation data, predicts the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, provides a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, applies a wider range of fields (Page 5 Line 11-17).
The combination of Chen and Zhang teaches plurality of normalized wear coefficient with a set of degradation test however Chen and Zhang does not teach for population of hydraulic cylinders of the same cylinder type.
Chen and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for population of hydraulic cylinders of the same cylinder type. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the same calculation for population of hydraulic cylinders, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which prior to calculating the normalized seal damage, the electronic control unit [52] enables a service life estimate based on one or more of a preset range of the cylinder displacement, cylinder pressure, oil temperature, and operator commands (The algorithm of the electronic control unit is programmed to: responsive to receiving pressure signals from the head end and rod end pressure sensors, a piston position signal for the displacement sensor, and a temperature signal from the temperature sensor determine a wear volume of the at least one seal; and compare the wear volume of the at least one seal to a predetermined threshold wear volume of the at least one seal to determine the remaining useful life of the hydraulic cylinder; Paragraph [0005] Line 20-29).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which after the service life estimate is identified, the electronic control unit [52] configured to display the assigned service life estimate on an external display [64] in Figure 2 (A visual display, such as display 64, is also connected to the interface circuit 78 via the bus 76. The display 64 may be implemented by, for example, one or snore display devices for associated data (e.g., a liquid crystal display, a cathode ray tube display (CRT), etc.); Paragraph [0046] Line 1-5; The electronic control unit 52 is configured to display the calculated remaining useful life RUL, via a display 64 (shown in FIG. 2); in a manner that visually contrasts it with the predetermined remaining useful life threshold RUL.sub.threshold value; Paragraph [0042] Line 6-10; Claim 3. The system of claim 1, further including a display in communication with the electronic control unit, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to output, to the display, the remaining useful life of the hydraulic cylinder).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which the hydraulic cylinder further includes a displacement sensor [48] in Figure 2 in the hydraulic cylinder [10] (The hydraulic cylinder 10 is in communication with a head end pressure sensor 44, a rod end pressure sensor 46, a displacement sensor 48; Paragraph [0020] Line 3-6) that sends displacement signals to the electronic control unit [52] for use in determining the piston displacement [56] (Additionally, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to receive and process a piston position signal 56 and a temperature signal 58 from the displacement sensor 48; Paragraph [0021] Line 8-9).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which the electronic control unit [52] makes an estimate of the piston travel distance for the determined piston displacement (As a result, during operation the fluid levels within the head space 24 and rod space 26 may each be increased or decreased to define an operational travel range 40 of the piston 12. As used herein, the operational travel range 40 refers to the desired travel displacement of the piston 12 during operation of the hydraulic cylinder 10; Paragraph [0019] Line 13-19; Claim 17. The method of claim 15, further including determining a travel distance of the piston and the at least one seal).
Regarding claim 10, Chen fails to teach a work machine, in which the degradation rate is calculated at the end of a predetermined timestep, and the degradation rate includes multiple calculations of the normalized seal damage calculated during the timestep.
Zhang teaches reliability evaluation and life prediction of reciprocating seals of moving parts, and particularly relates to a multi-correlation degradation analysis of reciprocating seals and a modeling method for life prediction (Technical field-Line 1-3),
in which the degradation rate is calculated at the end of a predetermined timestep, and the degradation rate includes multiple calculations of the normalized seal damage calculated during the timestep ((1) The two performance degradation amounts of friction and leakage are subject to the Wiener process. Let
{Xk(t), t≥0} denote the amount of degradation of the kth performance degradation index of the reciprocating seal at time t, k=1, 2 Refers to the friction and leakage performance degradation indicators respectively;
Xk(t)=μkΛ(t)+σkW(Λ(t)), k=1,2 (1)
Where μk represents the drift parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, σk represents the diffusion parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, Λ(t) represents the time scale parameter; Page 3 Line 8-13; Step 3, a total of N test seals are set for performance degradation test, where Xk(tij) represents the i-th (i=1, 2,...,N) test of the kth (k=1,2) performance degradation index. The amount of degradation of the sample at time tj (j = 1, 2, ..., M), N, M are positive integers. Then, the degradation increment in the time period [tj-1, tj] can be expressed as ΔXk(tij)=Xk(tij)-Xk(ti, j-1). Thus, a multivariate correlation degradation model for reciprocating fluid dynamic seals is established; Page 7 Line 3-7). The purpose of doing so is to make full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, to apply the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and to obtain the corresponding degradation data, to predict the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, to provide a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, to apply a wider range of fields.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen in view of Zhang, because Zhang teaches to calculate the degradation rate including multiple calculations of the normalized seal damage calculated during the timestep makes full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, applies the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and obtains the corresponding degradation data, predicts the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, provides a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, applies a wider range of fields (Page 5 Line 11-17).
Regarding claim 11, Chen fails to teach a work machine, in which the timestep is between 50 and 100 hours of operating the work machine.
Zhang teaches reliability evaluation and life prediction of reciprocating seals of moving parts, and particularly relates to a multi-correlation degradation analysis of reciprocating seals and a modeling method for life prediction (Technical field-Line 1-3),
Zhang teaches a multiple calculation of the normalized seal damage calculated during the timestep (Step 3, a total of N test seals are set for performance degradation test, where Xk(tij) represents the i-th (i=1, 2,...,N) test of the kth (k=1,2) performance degradation index. The amount of degradation of the sample at time tj (j = 1, 2, ..., M), N, M are positive integers. Then, the degradation increment in the time period [tj-1, tj] can be expressed as ΔXk(tij)=Xk(tij)-Xk(ti, j-1). Thus, a multivariate correlation degradation model for reciprocating fluid dynamic seals is established; Page 7 Line 3-7). The purpose of doing so is to make full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, to apply the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and to obtain the corresponding degradation data, to predict the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, to provide a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, to apply a wider range of fields.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen in view of Zhang, because Zhang teaches to calculate the degradation rate including multiple calculations of the normalized seal damage calculated during the timestep makes full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, applies the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and obtains the corresponding degradation data, predicts the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, provides a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, applies a wider range of fields (Page 5 Line 11-17).
The combination of Chen and Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for the timestep is between 50 and 100 hours of operating the work machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the timestep between 50 and 100 hours of operating the work machine, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which the service life estimate is a range of work machine operation hours that the seal is estimated to need to be replaced at (The electronic control unit 52 is further configured to, responsive to determining that the remaining useful life RUL is less than the predetermined remaining useful life threshold RUL.sub.threshold, output an alert or notification indicating that the hydraulic cylinder 10 requires maintenance; Paragraph [0042] Line 10-15; Maintenance means to replace or repair any damage; In addition, responsive to determining that the remaining useful life RUL is less than the predetermined remaining useful life threshold RUL.sub.threshold, the electronic control unit 52 outputs the alert or notification to the display 64 indicating that the hydraulic circuit 36 requires maintenance. Moreover, responsive to determining that the hydraulic circuit 36 requires shut down to prevent any negative effects, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to shut down the hydraulic circuit 36. In addition to alerting and notifying an operator in the cab 96, the monitoring system 42 is configured to wirelessly transmit, via the network 84, alerts and notifications to other machines within a fleet of machines at a worksite or otherwise, to a monitoring service center 98, and to any other computing device; Paragraph [0050] Line 5-19; Claim 5. The system of claim 4, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to, responsive to determining that the remaining useful life is less than the predetermined remaining useful life threshold value, output an alert to the display indicating the hydraulic cylinder requires maintenance; service center determines operation hours of the hydraulic cylinder if there any maintenance or replacement is required or not).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches a work machine,
in which the wear coefficient is calculated for the hydraulic cylinder (In particular, the electronic control unit 52 is configured to calculate the wear volume W of one or all seals, namely piston seal 28, rod seal 30 and wiper 31, which is a factor in measuring and determining the life of the hydraulic cylinder 10. As a method of computation, it may be useful to target on the leakage failure due to the seal failure, including wiper, rod seal, and the piston seal. If one of wiper, rod seal, or piston seal fails, the cylinder will be categorized as a seal failure, and required service will be performed.
The volume of the material removed (W) is proportional to the sliding distance (S), the normal pressure (Pn) and the dimensionless wear coefficient (k), and inversely proportional to the hardness of the surface being worn away (H); Paragraph [0022] Line 1-14).
However, Chen fails to teach a work machine in which the normalized seal damage is calculated from merged population data of population hydraulic cylinders of the same hydraulic cylinder type, and the merged population data includes mean pressure data and mean piston displacement data collected from the population hydraulic cylinders.
Zhang teaches reliability evaluation and life prediction of reciprocating seals of moving parts, and particularly relates to a multi-correlation degradation analysis of reciprocating seals and a modeling method for life prediction (Technical field-Line 1-3),
in which the normalized wear coefficient is calculated from merged population data of population hydraulic cylinders ( (1) The two performance degradation amounts of friction and leakage are subject to the Wiener process. Let
{Xk(t), t≥0} denote the amount of degradation of the kth performance degradation index of the reciprocating seal at time t, k=1, 2 Refers to the friction and leakage performance degradation indicators respectively;
Xk(t)=μkΛ(t)+σkW(Λ(t)), k=1,2 (1)
Where μk represents the drift parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, σk represents the diffusion parameter of the kth performance degradation indicator, Λ(t) represents the time scale parameter; Page 3 Line 8-13; Step 3, a total of N test seals are set for performance degradation test, where Xk(tij) represents the i-th (i=1, 2,...,N) test of the kth (k=1,2) performance degradation index. The amount of degradation of the sample at time tj (j = 1, 2, ..., M), N, M are positive integers. Then, the degradation increment in the time period [tj-1, tj] can be expressed as ΔXk(tij)=Xk(tij)-Xk(ti, j-1). Thus, a multivariate correlation degradation model for reciprocating fluid dynamic seals is established; Page 7 Line 3-7). The purpose of doing so is to make full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, to apply the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and to obtain the corresponding degradation data, to predict the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, to provide a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, to apply a wider range of fields.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen in view of Zhang, because Zhang teaches to calculate a normalized wear coefficient makes full use of degraded data to construct a seal degradation process model, applies the life prediction model constructed by the invention to different pressure, speed or temperature loads, and obtains the corresponding degradation data, predicts the life of the seal, to provide strong flexibility, provides a simple calculation process and does not require a large number of numerical iterative calculations, applies a wider range of fields (Page 5 Line 11-17).
The combination of Chen and Zhang teaches plurality of normalized wear coefficient with a set of degradation test however Chen and Zhang does not teach the merged population data includes mean pressure data and mean piston displacement data collected from the population hydraulic cylinders.
Chen and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for mean pressure data and mean piston displacement data collected from the population hydraulic cylinders. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the same calculation for population of hydraulic cylinders, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Carpenter (US 20160131164 A1) discloses, “System And Method For Estimating Health And Remaining Useful Life Of A Hydraulic Element- [0001] This patent disclosure relates generally to hydraulic elements, and more particularly, to a system and a method for estimating health and remaining useful life of a hydraulic element. [0016] In one aspect of this disclosure, the machine 100 may include a system 101 having a hydraulic element 102, a hydraulic accumulator charge valve 103, an electronic control module (ECM) 104, a hydraulic accumulator 106, a hydraulic load 108, a hydraulic fluid 110, a drain 122, a hydraulic element pressure sensor 114, a hydraulic element speed sensor 116, a hydraulic element temperature sensor 118, a hydraulic accumulator pressure sensor 112, and an output device 120. Although not explicitly illustrated, the machine 100 and/or the system 101 may include other components of a fuel system, a hydraulic system, and/or an oil or fluid circulation system. For example, the machine 100 may include a plurality of fuel injectors, a fuel tank, a common rail, motors, oil and fluid filters, a mechanical load driven by the engine, lubrication fluid circulation system(s), and additional sensors. It will be appreciated that the machine 100 may include other components, including but not limited to, vehicular parts including tires, wheels, engagement mechanisms, transmission, steering system, on-board communication systems, catalytic converters, axles, crankshafts, camshafts, gear systems, clutch systems, batteries, throttles, actuators, suspension systems, cooling systems, exhaust systems, chassis, ground engaging tools, imaging systems, power trains, and the like (not shown). In one aspect of this disclosure, the system 101 may be configured to or used for estimating health and remaining useful life of the hydraulic element 102, as discussed herein. [0039] Referring to FIG. 2, the method 200 for estimating the remaining useful life (RUL) of the hydraulic element 102 is illustrated, in accordance with an aspect of this disclosure. FIG. 2 presents the method 200 as a flow diagram, although the method 200 may be understood using other types of presentations such as process diagrams, graphs, flowcharts, equations, etc. In one aspect, one or more processes or operations in the method 200 may be carried out by the ECM 104 inside the machine 100. For example, the one or more processes or operations may be carried out by the processor 134 inside the ECM 104, using data in the pressure signal 156, the speed signal 158, the temperature signal 160, the charging signal 150 and the discharging signal 152 received from the hydraulic element pressure sensor 114, the hydraulic element speed sensor 116, the hydraulic element temperature sensor 118, and/or the hydraulic accumulator pressure sensor 112, respectively. The pressure signal 156, the speed signal 158, the temperature signal 160, the charging signal 150 and/or the discharging signal 152 may be processed by the processor 134 and the computer executable instructions 144 stored in the memory 136 of the ECM 104 may be executed by the processor 134. As discussed, the data from the hydraulic element pressure sensor 114, the hydraulic element speed sensor 116, the hydraulic element temperature sensor 118, and/or the hydraulic accumulator pressure sensor 112 may be received at the ECM 104 and processed by the processor 134 while the machine 100 is in use-However Carpenter does not disclose calculate a normalized seal damage based on the received pressure signals, the determined piston displacement, and a normalized wear coefficient, determine an estimated degradation rate of the seal from the calculated normalized seal damage, compare the estimated degradation rate to a degradation model, and identify a service life estimate to the seal based on the alignment of the estimated degradation rate within the degradation model.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858