DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sichuan (CN106743232). Regarding claim 1, Sichuan discloses a precast structure handling system (a refrigerator vertical box transfer machine for handling a foamed refrigerator body in refrigerator production; Abstract; Paras. [0004], [0006]), comprising: at least two vertically parallel members having top ends and bottom ends, the top ends are configured for mechanically coupling with a longitudinal rail at a bottom of a horizontal member (clamping and turning mechanisms 5 and 6 having clamping arms 501 and 601 respectively each with bottom ends and top ends coupled with moving plates 403, 404 riding in a sliding rail 402 of a clamping rack 401 at the bottom of a horizontal moving trolley 2; Figs. 2, 6, 7; Paras. [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0040]); at least two adjustable gripper units coupled with opposite bottom ends of the at least two vertically parallel members, each adjustable gripper unit comprising a suction pad configured for coupling with a surface of a precast structure based on a pressure difference generated by a vacuum system (clamping arms 501 and 601 including a rotating plate 502 and 602 respectively, each including suction cups 10 for coupling to the refrigerator box by generating sufficient vacuum with a pneumatic control system; Fig. 7; Paras. [0040]-[0041], [0046]); and a control system configured for controlling a plurality of systems to handle the precast structure based on a plurality of settings in alignment with properties of the precast structure (an MES system for controlling a motion control system and pneumatic control system according to the lengths and widths of various refrigerator boxes; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Sichuan discloses that the plurality of systems comprises at least the vacuum system and a power system configured for handling the precast structure, wherein the vacuum system is driven by a controller of a lifting system (the transfer machine includes a plurality of servo mechanisms 302, 303, 405 for controlling the horizontal trolley 2, a lifting trolley 9, and the clamping and centering mechanism 4, as well as air cylinders 503, 603 for controlling the rotating plates 502, 602 and suction cups 10 thereon, each are driven by the motion controller for handling the refrigerators; Paras. [0037]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Sichuan discloses the precast structure handling system according to claim 2, wherein the at least two adjustable gripper units are controlled by the power system based on a width of the precast structure (the rotating plates 502, 602 are driven together and apart by the clamping servo 405 and driven to rotate by the air cylinders 503, 603 according to the width of the refrigerators; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Sichuan discloses the precast structure handling system according to claim 2, wherein a rotation of the at least two adjustable gripper units is controlled by the power system at a defined angular rotation (the rotating plates are controlled to rotate synchronously through 90°; Paras. [0039]-[0040], [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Sichuan discloses the precast structure handling system according to claim 2, wherein the at least two vertically parallel members are controlled by the power system to slidably adjust along the longitudinal rail at the bottom of the horizontal member (the arms 501, 601 are attached to the moving plates 403, 404 which slide along the rail 402 controlled by the motor 405; Para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Sichuan discloses the precast structure handling system according to claim 1, wherein the precast structure corresponds to a hollow prefabricated volumetric structure (a hollow foamed refrigerator box; Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Sichuan discloses the precast structure handling system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is further configured to: receive precast structure data from one or more sources; and control, based on the received precast structure data, the at least two vertically parallel members to slidably adjust towards each other by a first calibrated movement along the longitudinal rail according to a width between outer surfaces of opposite walls of the precast structure (based upon uploaded data to the MES system including refrigerator specifications controlling the servo 405 to drive the arms 501, 601 towards each other along the rail 402 according to the width of the refrigerator box; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sichuan, as applied to claim 8 above. Sichuan discloses all of the claimed subject matter except that the hollow prefrabricated volumetric structure is made of fiber reinforced concrete. The hollow prefrabricated volumetric structure is made of fiber reinforced concrete is being treated as an intended use (See MPEP 2115 Material or Article Worked Upon by Apparatus). The inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claim. Thus, it would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use handling system of Sichuan on a hollow prefrabricated volumetric structure made of fiber reinforced concrete for the purposes of providing a handling system which can be applied to various materials with differing surface roughness.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sichuan, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Vidal et al. (20240001565). Regarding claim 6, Sichuan discloses that the at least two adjustable gripper units are adaptable to bear a load of the precast structure (the plates 502, 602 and suction cups 10 adapted to bear the load of the refrigerator box; Paras. [0045]-[0047]). Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first part of the load is borne by a plurality of friction pads affixed at a surface of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, wherein a second part of the load is borne by a resilient member running along a boundary of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, and wherein a load distribution between the plurality of friction pads and the resilient member is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member.
Vidal et al. teaches for crushable suction cups for vacuum gripping (abstract), and that (claim 6) a first part of the load is borne by a plurality of friction pads affixed at a surface of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, wherein a second part of the load is borne by a resilient member running along a boundary of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, and wherein a load distribution between the plurality of friction pads and the resilient member is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member (a vacuum gripper 10 includes a set of cleats 16 having barbs 18 for registering with a surface and increasing friction with the vacuum gripper, as well as a crushable open-pore wall 15 around the periphery of the gripper, the load carried by the wall 15 relative to the load carried by the cleats will depend on how much the wall can be crushed; Paras. [0065]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sichuan such that a first part of the load is borne by a plurality of friction pads affixed at a surface of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, wherein a second part of the load is borne by a resilient member running along a boundary of the suction pad of each adjustable gripper unit, and wherein a load distribution between the plurality of friction pads and the resilient member is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member as taught by Vidal et al. for the purposes of improving adhesion of known suction cups for longer, and with less power (Vidal et al. Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads.
Vidal et al. teaches for crushable suction cups for vacuum gripping (abstract) and that (claim 7) a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads (the height of the wall is substantially greater than the height of the cleats 16; Figs. 2, 2A; ).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sichuan such that a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads as taught by Vidal et al for the purposes of improving adhesion of known suction cups for longer, and with less power (Vidal et al. Para. [0001]).
Claims 11, 12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sichuan, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Quan (CN112141873). Regarding claim 11, Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control system is further configured to control, based on the received precast structure data, the at least two adjustable gripper units to finely adjust by a second calibrated movement according to the width between the outer surfaces of the opposite walls of the precast structure.
Quan teaches for wooden cabinet transfer equipment (Abstract), and that (claim 11) the control system is further configured to control, based on the received precast structure data, the at least two adjustable gripper units to finely adjust by a second calibrated movement according to the width between the outer surfaces of the opposite walls of the precast structure (a wooden cabinet transfer apparatus includes a clamping assembly 20 having a clamping plate 21 with suction cups 27, the clamping plate mounted with a slider block 23 for large movements and including a hydraulic cylinder 24 for small adjustment of the suction cups toward the cabinet bod; Figs. 1, 6; Para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sichuan such that the control system is further configured to control, based on the received precast structure data, the at least two adjustable gripper units to finely adjust by a second calibrated movement according to the width between the outer surfaces of the opposite walls of the precast structure as taught by Quan for the purposes of providing secondary center gripping which improves the nimbleness and flexibility of the transfer apparatus (Quan Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Sichuan discloses a precast structure handling method, comprising: receiving, by a control system, precast structure data from one or more sources (receiving uploaded data with an MES system; Para. [0016]); controlling, by the control system and based on the precast structure data, a first calibrated movement of at least two vertically parallel members (sending motion instructions through the MES system and a motion control system to and controlling clamping arms 501 and 601 to move toward each other on rails 402 according to a width of a refrigerator box; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0038]); and controlling, by the control system and based on the precast structure data, handling of a precast structure with a plurality of settings in alignment with properties of the precast structure (controlling a rotation of the refrigerator and vacuum degree of suction cups 10 based on the specifications of the refrigerator; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0038], [0044]-[0050]). Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose a second calibrated movement of at least two adjustable gripper units attached with the at least two vertically parallel members.
Quan teaches for wooden cabinet transfer equipment (Abstract), and (claim 12) a second calibrated movement of at least two adjustable gripper units attached with the at least two vertically parallel members (a wooden cabinet transfer apparatus includes a clamping assembly 20 having a clamping plate 21 with suction cups 27, the clamping plate mounted with a slider block 23 for large movements and including a hydraulic cylinder 24 for small adjustment of the suction cups toward the cabinet bod; Figs. 1, 6; Para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sichuan with the teaching of Quan for the purposes of providing secondary center gripping which improves the nimbleness and flexibility of the transfer apparatus (Quan Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Sichuan further comprises controlling, by the control system, the second calibrated movement of the at least two adjustable gripper units based on a width of the precast structure (the rotating plates 502, 602 are driven together and apart by the clamping servo 405 and driven to rotate by the air cylinders 503, 603 according to the width of the refrigerators; Paras. [0016], [0020], [0038]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sichuan discloses that the handling of the precast structure includes lifting or lowering of the precast structure gripped by the at least two adjustable gripper units of a precast structure handling system (lifting the refrigerator gripped by the suction cups 10; Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Sichuan discloses that the handling of the precast structure includes rotation of the precast structure gripped by the at least two adjustable gripper units at a defined angular rotation (rotating the refrigerator through 90°; Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Sichuan discloses that the precast structure corresponds to a hollow prefabricated volumetric structure (a hollow foamed refrigerator box; Para. [0004]). Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hollow prefabricated volumetric structure is made of fiber reinforced concrete. The hollow prefrabricated volumetric structure made of fiber reinforced concrete is being treated as an intended use (See MPEP 2115 Material or Article Worked Upon by Apparatus). The inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claim. Thus, it would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use handling system of Sichuan on a hollow prefrabricated volumetric structure made of fiber reinforced concrete for the purposes of providing a handling system which can be applied to various materials with differing surface roughness.
Regarding claim 20, modified Sichuan further comprises controlling, by the control system, the precast structure handling system, the power system connected to the precast structure handling system, and a vacuum system attached with the at least two adjustable gripper units (the transfer machine includes a plurality of servo mechanisms 302, 303, 405 for controlling the horizontal trolley 2, a lifting trolley 9, and the clamping and centering mechanism 4, as well a pneumatic control system having air cylinders 503, 603 for controlling the rotating plates 502, 602 and suction cups 10 thereon, each are driven by the motion controller for handling the refrigerators; Paras. [0037]-[0040]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sichuan and Quan, as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Vidal et al. Regarding claim 13, modified Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein a load distribution of the precast structure between a plurality of friction pads and a resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member
Vidal et al. teaches for crushable suction cups for vacuum gripping (abstract), and that (claim 13) a load distribution of the precast structure between a plurality of friction pads and a resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member (a vacuum gripper 10 includes a set of cleats 16 having barbs 18 for registering with a surface and increasing friction with the vacuum gripper, as well as a crushable open-pore wall 15 around the periphery of the gripper, the load carried by the wall 15 relative to the load carried by the cleats will depend on how much the wall can be crushed; Paras. [0065]- [0071])
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Sichuan such that a load distribution of the precast structure between a plurality of friction pads and a resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units is based on an elasticity factor of the resilient member as taught by Vidal et al. for the purposes of improving adhesion of known suction cups for longer, and with less power (Vidal et al. Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first part of a load of the precast structure is borne by the plurality of friction pads at the at least two adjustable gripper units, and wherein a second part of the load is borne by the resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units.
Vidal et al. teaches that (claim 14) a first part of a load of the precast structure is borne by the plurality of friction pads at the at least two adjustable gripper units, and wherein a second part of the load is borne by the resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units (a load will first be borne by the wall 15 until it is sufficiently crushed for the cleats 16 to bear on the surface; Paras. [0065]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Sichuan such that a first part of a load of the precast structure is borne by the plurality of friction pads at the at least two adjustable gripper units, and wherein a second part of the load is borne by the resilient member at the at least two adjustable gripper units as taught by Vidal et al. for the purposes of improving adhesion of known suction cups for longer, and with less power (Vidal et al. Para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sichuan fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads.
Vidal et al. teaches for crushable suction cups for vacuum gripping (abstract), and that (claim 15) a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads (the height of the wall is substantially greater than the height of the cleats 16; Figs. 2, 2A).
It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sichuan such that a first height of the resilient member that is transversal to a plane of the suction pad is substantially greater than a second height of the plurality of friction pads as taught by Vidal et al. for the purposes of improving adhesion of known suction cups for longer, and with less power (Vidal et al. Para. [0001]).
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other structure handling systems with grippers for hollow structures.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
August 13, 2026