DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claims 1 and 11 cite a ratio of thickness to current density, but do not cite the measurement units used to calculate the ratio. Differing ratios would result using different measurement units. As the metes and bounds of the claims are not set forth, the claims are properly rejected as being indefinite. Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected as being dependent on rejected independent Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (CN 115548187A).
With respect to Claim 1, Gao et al discloses a light emitting device comprising an epitaxial unit having a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other, and including a first semiconductor layer, an active layer and a second semiconductor layer (Abstract, Figure 2 and corresponding text) that are disposed sequentially in such order in a direction from said first surface to said second surface, said active layer including a quantum well structure that has n periodic units, each of which includes a well layer and a barrier layer that are sequentially disposed (page 3, lines 1-20), said second semiconductor layer including a cladding layer (Figure 2, 105) and a current spreading layer (Figure 2, 106). Moreover, Gao et al disclose overlapping thicknesses of the current spreading layer (page 9, lines 1-10), current densities (page 6, last 20 lines) and optimization of the ratio to improve efficiency of the light emitting device (page 2, last 20 lines).
Gao et al do not explicitly disclose “wherein a ratio of a thickness of said current spreading layer to a current density of said light-emitting device ranges from 0.6 to 4”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed ratio as where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Moreover, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Furthermore, discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
With respect to Claims 2-10, Gao et al discloses overlapping ranges of ratios, thicknesses and current densities as discussed above with respect to Claim 1. Moreover, Gao et al discloses overlapping ranges of units, and doping concentrations. See page 3, lines 1-10 and page 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed ratio as where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Moreover, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Furthermore, discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
With respect to Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 1. Moreover, Gao et al discloses the use of a driving unit. See last 20 lines of page 3.
With respect to Claims 12-20, Claims 12-20 are rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claims 2-10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
June 25, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812