DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0024349 (Cok).
Cok discloses
1. (Currently Amended) A component structure, comprising:
a substrate 10 having a substrate surface 12;
one or more cavity walls 24E extending from the substrate surface 12, the one or more cavity walls 24E at least partially defining a cavity 20 over the substrate 12, wherein the substrate 10 defines a bottom 22 of the cavity 20; and
a component 30 suspended by a component support 32 that connects to at least one side of the component 30,
wherein the component support 32 is disposed on the one or more cavity walls 24E.
Cok discloses
2. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls 24E comprise a patterned adhesive ([0100]).
Cok discloses
3. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the cavity 20 is at least partially defined by adhesive 48.
Cok discloses
4. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls ([0100], patterned dielectric materials such as silicon dioxide or silicon nitride, or of patterned and cured organic materials such as resins, epoxies, or polyimides, or of semiconductor materials) comprise a material different from a material comprised in the substrate ([0097], a dielectric or semiconductor substrate and can comprise one or more particular layers, for example oxide, nitride, or seed layer(s)).
Cok discloses
5. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising a structure tether 31 / 91 extending from the component support 32.
Cok discloses
6. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 5, wherein the structure tether 91 is a broken or separated tether.
Cok discloses
7. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 5, wherein the structure tether 91 is exterior to the cavity 10.
Cok discloses
8. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls 24 have a cavity wall perimeter that at least partially surrounds the cavity 20.
Cok discloses
9. (Original) The component structure of claim 8, wherein the cavity wall perimeter completely surrounds the cavity 20.
Cok discloses
10. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 8, wherein the cavity wall perimeter forms a rectangle ([0168]).
Cok discloses ([0142], [0165], [0212])
13. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein (i) the one or more cavity walls 24E have a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, (ii) the component support 32 has a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Cok discloses
15. (Original) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the substrate surface 12 enclosed by the one or more cavity walls 24E is substantially planar.
Cok discloses
16. (Original) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the component 30 is disposed over the substrate surface 12 enclosed by the one or more cavity walls 24E.
Cok discloses
17. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the component 30 is disposed at least partially within the cavity 20.
Cok discloses
18. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising a cap 40 disposed over the component 30, wherein the cap encloses the cavity 20.
Cok discloses
19. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 18, wherein the cap 40 is disposed on the substrate surface 12 or is disposed on to the one or more cavity walls 24E or is disposed on the component support 32.
Cok discloses ([0103])
20. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 18, wherein the component support 32 comprises a frame and one or more support portions connecting the frame to the component 30, and wherein the frame is disposed over and adhered to the one or more cavity walls 24E.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 8-12, 15-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0024350 (Dosev).
Dosev discloses
1. (Currently Amended) A component structure, comprising:
a substrate 64 having a substrate surface GS;
one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 extending from the substrate surface GS, the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 at least partially defining a cavity 66 over the substrate 64, wherein the substrate 64 defines a bottom of the cavity 66; and
a component 44 (32) suspended by a component support 42 / 40 that connects to at least one side of the component 44,
wherein the component support 42 / 40 is disposed on the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62.
Dosev discloses
8. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 have a cavity wall perimeter that at least partially surrounds the cavity 66.
Dosev discloses
9. (Original) The component structure of claim 8, wherein the cavity wall perimeter completely surrounds the cavity 66 ([0190]. [0194]).
Dosev discloses
10. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 8, wherein the cavity wall perimeter forms a rectangle ([0190], [0194]).
Dosev discloses
11. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 extend horizontally beyond at least a portion of an outer perimeter of the component support 42 / 40 ([0182], [0204]).
Dosev discloses
12. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 extend horizontally beyond an entirety of the outer perimeter of the component support 42 / 40 in a direction parallel to the substrate surface GS (Fig. 2).
Dosev discloses
15. (Original) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the substrate surface GS enclosed by the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 is substantially planar ([0193], [0194], [0210]).
Dosev discloses
16. (Original) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the component 44 (32) is disposed over the substrate surface GS enclosed by the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62 ([0194], [0210]).
Dosev discloses
17. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the component 44 (32) is disposed at least partially within the cavity 66 ([0194], [0205], [0210]).
Dosev discloses
20. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 18, wherein the component support 42 / 40 comprises a frame 34 and one or more support portions connecting the frame 34 to the component 44, and wherein the frame 34 is disposed over and adhered to the one or more cavity walls 54 / 56 / 58 / 60 / 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cok as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0022603 (Chu).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Cok fails to disclose
11. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls extend horizontally beyond at least a portion of an outer perimeter of the component support.
Dosev fails to disclose
12. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls extend horizontally beyond an entirety of the outer perimeter of the component support in a direction parallel to the substrate surface.
Chu teaches
A component structure comprising:
wherein the one or more cavity walls 126 extend horizontally beyond at least a portion of an outer perimeter of the component support 107 ([0030], [0068]);
wherein the one or more cavity walls 126 extend horizontally beyond an entirety of the outer perimeter of the component support 107 in a direction parallel to the substrate surface ([0030], [0031], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide cavity walls that extend past the outer perimeter of the component support in Dosev. The motivation would be to provide increased structural support and mechanical stability for the suspended component support as taught by Chu ([0021], [0028]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cok as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0090786 (Inaba).
Cok fails to disclose
14. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising an electrode that extends from the substrate surface onto and in contact with a portion of the one or more cavity walls and onto and in contact with a portion of the component support.
Inaba teaches
A component structure comprising:
an electrode 30 that extends from the substrate 10 surface onto and in contact with a portion of the one or more cavity walls 16 and onto and in contact with a portion of the component support 24.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an electrode in contact with the component support in Cok. The motivation would be to provide electrical connection to the support which is well-known in the art as taught by Inaba ([0039]). See MPEP 2144.03.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0096088 (Aimi).
Dosev fails to disclose
2. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls comprise a patterned adhesive.
Dosev fails to disclose
3. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the cavity is at least partially defined by adhesive.
Dosev fails to disclose
4. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein the one or more cavity walls comprise a material different from a material comprised in the substrate.
Aimi teaches
A component structure comprising:
wherein the one or more cavity walls (unlabeled) comprise a patterned (product-by-process) adhesive 42 ([0047]);
wherein the cavity 40 is at least partially defined by adhesive 42;
wherein the one or more cavity walls (unlabeled) comprise a material different from a material (the elastic modulus of the adhesive sheet being lower than the substrate, [0021]) comprised in the substrate 20.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive in Dosev. The motivation would be using a patterned adhesive sheet to seal MEMS devices is well-known in the art because of its properties such as to create a hermetic seal over the topology on the substrate as taught by Aimi ([0004]-[0022], [0042]). See MPEP 2144.03.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu.
Dosev fails to disclose
5. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising a structure tether extending from the component support.
Chu teaches
A component structure comprising:
a structure tether 126 extending from the component support 107.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide structure tether in Dosev. The motivation would be to mechanically retain and support a suspended MEMS structure during fabrication and handling as taught by Chu ([0022]).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cok.
Dosev fails to disclose
6. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 5, wherein the structure tether is a broken or separated tether.
Dosev fails to disclose
7. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 5, wherein the structure tether is exterior to the cavity.
Dosev fails to disclose
13. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, wherein (i) the one or more cavity walls have a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, (ii) the component support has a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Dosev fails to disclose
18. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising a cap disposed over the component, wherein the cap encloses the cavity.
Dosev fails to disclose
19. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 18, wherein the cap is disposed on the substrate surface or is disposed on to the one or more cavity walls or is disposed on the component support.
Cok teaches
A component structure comprising:
wherein the structure tether is a broken or separated tether;
wherein the structure tether is exterior to the cavity;
wherein (i) the one or more cavity walls have a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, (ii) the component support has a height or thickness no greater than 10 microns, or (iii) both (i) and (ii);
a cap disposed over the component, wherein the cap encloses the cavity;
wherein the cap is disposed on the substrate surface or is disposed on to the one or more cavity walls or is disposed on the component support.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a tether, routinely optimize the height of thickness of the elements, and a cap in Dosev. The motivation would be to facilitate release and transfer of the suspended structure from a donor substrate (claims 6, 7); to provide a compact, low-profile cavity structure suitable for MEMS devices (claim 13); to protect and enclose the suspended component within the cavity and provide environmental / mechanical protection (claims 18, 19) as taught by Cok. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Dosev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inaba.
Dosev fails to disclose
14. (Currently Amended) The component structure of claim 1, comprising an electrode that extends from the substrate surface onto and in contact with a portion of the one or more cavity walls and onto and in contact with a portion of the component support.
Inaba teaches
A component structure comprising:
an electrode 30 that extends from the substrate 10 surface onto and in contact with a portion of the one or more cavity walls 16 and onto and in contact with a portion of the component support 24.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an electrode in contact with the component support in Dosev. The motivation would be to provide electrical connection to the support which is well-known in the art as taught by Inaba ([0039]). See MPEP 2144.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2010/0214645 (Sampsell), 2010/0301431 (Ding), 2012/0261809 (Yen), 2016/0023890 (Reinmuth), U.S. Patent No. 5,999,303 (Drake) teach MEMS structure including a cavity, a component support, and an enclosing cap so the component is held in a protected space while remaining mechanically free enough to operate.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893