DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior rejection, filed June 22, 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Tamaki teaches an electronic component mounting board (Fig 1(b); 2), comprising: a printed circuit board (Fig 1(b); 8); an electronic component (Fig 1(b); 9); and a sealing resin (Fig 1(b); 4), wherein the printed circuit board has a main surface (Fig 3(c); first surface 10 of circuit board 8), the electronic component is mounted on the main surface (Fig 4; 9 on 10), the sealing resin is disposed on the main surface to cover the electronic component (Fig 1(b); 4), a groove is formed [[over]] in the main surface of the printed circuit board (Fig 3(c); 13), and the groove extends across a region between a side of the main surface of the printed circuit board and the electronic component in a plan view (Fig 1(a); Tamaki [0088] states “the groove 13 is formed so as to extend from the vicinity of the resin sealing section 28 toward the exposed section 29”).
Regarding Claim 2 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, wherein the sealing resin covers a side surface of the electronic component facing a side of the groove (Figs 1(a-b); 9 sealed within resin sealing section 28, and groove 13 positioned outwardly from the side surface of 9).
Regarding Claim 3 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, wherein the sealing resin is disposed within the groove (Fig 1(b); Tamaki [0202] states “groove being at least partially filled with excess sealing resin” that seeped from resin sealing section 28).
Regarding Claim 14 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of Claim 1, wherein the groove is recessed from the main surface of the printed circuit board (Fig 3(c); 13 is formed by making an opening in 12, thereby forming a difference in level from 10 by the thickness of solder resist 12).
Regarding Claim 15 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of Claim 1, wherein a depth of the groove is less than a thickness of the printed circuit board (Fig 3(c); the depth of groove 13 corresponds to the thickness of 12, while circuit board 8 further includes underlying base material 17).
Regarding Claim 16 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of Claim 1, wherein a bottommost surface of the groove is lower than a bottommost surface of the electronic component (Figs 3(c)-4; the bottommost surface of 13 is the exposed surface of base material 17 below 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1) and in further view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20060266545 A1)
Regarding Claim 4 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the groove extends to surround the electronic component in the plan view.
Takeuchi teaches the groove extends to surround the electronic component in the plan view (Figs 1, 6; 11, 8; Takeuchi [0063] states “the groove 11 is formed around the electronic component mounting portion 8” and [0065] states “the groove 11 around the electronic component mounting portion 8 may… be divided into segments to extend discontinuously therearound”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the groove extends to surround the electronic component in the plan view as taught by Takeuchi because Takeuchi [0017 quoted above] states “preventing the spread of the sealing resin from the groove to the outside thereof”.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1) and in further view of Yu et al. (US 8592997 B2)
Regarding Claim 5 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a through hole is formed in the printed circuit board and extends through the printed circuit board along a thickness direction, the through hole is located at a position overlapping with the sealing resin in the plan view.
Yu teaches a through hole is formed in the printed circuit board and extends through the printed circuit board along a thickness direction, the through hole is located at a position overlapping with the sealing resin in the plan view (Figs 2, 5, 7A, 8a; Yu states “The sealant seals a top surface of the printed circuit board, the semiconductor chip, the at least one resin passage hole, and the at least one resin channel” and “The resin passage hole may be overlapped on the resin channel in the printed circuit board” also states “the resin passage hole 114 is formed at the end of the resin channel 112 and overlapped thereon”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with a through hole is formed in the printed circuit board and extends through the printed circuit board along a thickness direction, the through hole is located at a position overlapping with the sealing resin in the plan view as taught by Yu because Yu states “air in a mold cavity is removed through the resin channels 112, and thus a void defect… can be prevented” and “The extra resin repository 116 collects extra resin to prevent the resin flash”.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1)
Regarding Claim 6 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an adherence strength between the sealing resin and the electronic component is greater than an adherence strength between the sealing resin and the printed circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Tamaki’s electronic component mounting board by using a sealing resin that would adhere to an adherence strength between the sealing resin and the electronic component is greater than an adherence strength between the sealing resin and the printed circuit board since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 7-9, 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1) and in further view of Vazac et al. (US 7372475 B2)
Regarding Claim 7 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; 100, 102, 106, 108, 110, 112; Vazac states “a print head memory disposed within the housing and accessible by the thermal printer”; Fig 3; Vazac states “The print head memory 106 is positioned within the housing”; Vazac also states “he first memory region configured to store a printing profile… and identification data identifying the print head as authorized for use in the printer”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Regarding Claim 8 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; Vazac quoted above).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Regarding Claim 9 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; Vazac quoted above).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Regarding Claim 12 – Tamaki teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; Vazac quoted above).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Regarding Claim 13 – Tamaki teaches an electronic component mounting board (Fig 1(b); 2), comprising: a printed circuit board (Fig 1(b); 8); an electronic component (Fig 1(b); 9); and a sealing resin (Fig 1(b); 4), wherein the printed circuit board has a main surface (Fig 3(c); first surface 10 of circuit board 8), the electronic component is mounted on the main surface (Fig 4; 9 on 10), the sealing resin is disposed on the main surface to cover the electronic component (Fig 1(b); 4), a groove is formed in the main surface of the printed circuit board (Fig 3(c); 13), the groove extending across a region between a side of the main surface and the electronic component in a plan view (Fig 1(a); Tamaki [0088] states “the groove 13 is formed so as to extend from the vicinity of the resin sealing section 28 toward the exposed section 29”).
Tamaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; 100, 102, 106, 108, 110, 112; Vazac states “a print head memory disposed within the housing and accessible by the thermal printer”; Fig 3; Vazac states “The print head memory 106 is positioned within the housing”; Vazac also states “he first memory region configured to store a printing profile… and identification data identifying the print head as authorized for use in the printer”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1) in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20060266545 A1) and in further view of Vazac et al. (US 7372475 B2)
Regarding Claim 10 – Tamaki in view of Takeuchi teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; Vazac quoted above).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki in view of Takeuchi with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20080067699 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 8592997 B2) and in further view of Vazac et al. (US 7372475 B2)
Regarding Claim 11 – Tamaki in view of Yu teaches the electronic component mounting board of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head.
Vazac teaches the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head (Fig 1; Vazac quoted above).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Tamaki in view of Yu with the electronic component mounting board is configured to use for a thermal print head, the electronic component is an IC having a memory, and the memory is operable to store identification information of the thermal print head as taught by Vazac because Vazac states “The printing profiles allows the printer to configure its current output to correspond to the resistance of the print head thereby to improve print quality, extend the operational life time of the print head, and improve the rate of printing” and “The print head memory 106 stores a printing profile for the print head 102”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847