Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the baseline TBC" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be treated as “a baseline TBC”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the operating conditions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be treated as “the operating parameters”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (Li et al., Design of Thermal Barrier Coatings Thickness for Gas Turbine Blade Based on Finite Element Analysis, Hindawi: Mathematical Problems in Engineering, Vol. 2017, Article ID 2147830, pg. 1-13).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a method of manufacturing a component of a gas turbine engine (abstract), comprising: providing a precursor component having at least one internal cooling passage configured to receive a flow of cooling air therethrough (Fig. 1(f)); estimating a predicted temperature profile for the component based on one or more operating parameters of the gas turbine engine, the predicted temperature profile indicating a predicted operating temperature of at least one gas-washed surface of the component (Fig. 6); determining a thermal barrier coating (TBC) configuration for the component based on the predicted temperature profile (3. Design of Top-Coat Thickness for Turbine Blade), comprising setting a TBC thickness to be below a threshold thickness in a region of the at least one surface of the component (“upper limit of TC thickness” 3.1, 4.2 2nd-3rd para.) based on the predicted operating temperature of the at least gas-washed one surface of the component exceeding a threshold temperature (“critical value” 3.1, 4.2 2nd-3rd para.); and applying a TBC to the precursor component according to the TBC configuration (“spray the coatings by dividing the subregions along the vertical direction”).
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches wherein the one or more operating parameters comprise at least one of a parameter relating to a temperature of operation of the gas turbine engine (2.2), a temperature of the component during operation of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 6), or a geometry of the component (Fig. 3 and 8).
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches cooling airflow affects the temperature and required coating thickness (pg. 7 1st full para., Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Li teaches wherein the surface of the component is an external surface (2.2, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches a baseline TBC level wherein the surface is formed by the baseline TBC (2.2 BC layer, TGO layer; 3.1 hl), and determining the predicted operating temperature of the at least one gas-washed surface based on the one or more operating parameters of the gas turbine engine (2.2, typical thermal conditions in turbine engine).
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches wherein determining the TBC configuration comprises adjusting a baseline TBC thickness as defined by the baseline TBC level (hl, 100 microns).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches a threshold temperature is the critical value of the temperature on the superalloy substrate (3.1 6th para.), i.e. based on a material of the component.
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches line-of-sight coating (spraying, 4.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Li et al., Design of Thermal Barrier Coatings Thickness for Gas Turbine Blade Based on Finite Element Analysis, Hindawi: Mathematical Problems in Engineering, Vol. 2017, Article ID 2147830, pg. 1-13), as applied to Claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Duda (US 20070063351 A1).
Regarding Claims 9-10, Li teaches line-of-sight coating (spraying, 4.2). Li does not teach masking or removing applied material; however, Duda teaches masking and grinding are known processes in the art of thermal barrier coatings ([0045-0046]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Li to include masking and/or grinding, as taught in Duda, in order to achieve a coating having the desired location and dimensions.
Conclusion
/TABATHA L PENNY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712