DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 8-10 and 14-16 have been withdrawn from consideration. Species I (Claims 1-7 and 11-13) have been elected for examination. This Non-Final Action is in response to the “Response to Election/Restriction Filed” received on 3/4/2026.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Claims 1-7 and 11-13) in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that other than the differences in the preambles in the independent claims, the inventive concepts of transmitting/receiving power wirelessly that are recited in the claims are generally similar. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the search classes (USPC) should be alike for at least the independent claims… based on the common searches that would be required, Species I and II do not appear to have acquired a separate search status. This is not found persuasive.
The inventive concepts of Species I and II may be related in that Species I is directed towards the apparatus and method for the wireless charging device (for charging a UAV) and Species II is directed towards the apparatus and method for the UAV (to be charged by a wireless charging device). Although they may be related, the species are still independent or distinct because each species require a limitation that is not present in the other (mutually exclusive). Species I is specific to the control method and apparatus of a wireless charging device for charging a UAV by a power transmission coil, while Species II is directed to the control method and apparatus of a UAV for receiving power at a power reception coil. The control method and apparatus for the wireless charging device described in Species I can be used to charge a UAV different from the one in Species II, and the control method and UAV described in Species II can be charged by a charging station different from the one in Species I. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. The examiner maintains that there is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because Species I clearly requires searching for the control method and structure of the wireless charging device while Species II does not. Species II clearly requires searching for the control method and structure of the UAV while Species I does not. These differences would require separate search strategies in separate CPC classes, separate database queries, separate and distinct cited prior art, distinct mapping, and finally separate analysis.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the landing” but should instead recite --a landing--.
Claim 3 recites “a landing” but should instead recite --the landing--.
Claim 11 recites “a landing” but should instead recite --the landing--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naderi (US 2023/0034179 A1, cited in the IDS received 3/12/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Naderi discloses a wireless charging device for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (see at least Figs. 21-24, [0200] - a system 2100 for charging unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs)), the wireless charging device comprising: a power transmission coil configured to transmit power to the UAV (see at least Figs. 21-24, [0200-0204] - induction-based coils for charging the UAV 2103); a plurality of antennas configured to output signals for guiding the UAV to land (see at least [0209-0211] - A secondary layer of localization can explore the use of Wi-Fi based beamforming using Wi-Fi adapters both in the backpack 2113 and the pad 2103); and a controller configured to: control the power transmission coil, the antennas, or a combination thereof; detect whether the UAV has moved to an area for wireless charging; generate a signal to guide the landing of the UAV for wireless charging; and output the generated signal, wherein the generated signal includes at least one of a beamformed frequency signal, a wavelength controlled signal, or a combination thereof (see at least [0209-0211] - A secondary layer of localization can explore the use of Wi-Fi based beamforming using Wi-Fi adapters both in the backpack 2113 and the pad 2103. Classical 802.11ac/ad Wi-Fi devices use beamforming to direct signals to specific receivers, and thus must perform a sector-sweep to lock the optimized direction… In certain embodiments, landing pads may generate a signal or include markings readable by a UAV to allow for the UAV to identify and locate the charging pad and to aid in positioning during landing. In some embodiments, the landing pad may be operable to take over the flight controls of a docking UAV to guide in to the proper landing location for charging. To accomplish this, the landing pad may include one or more of a processor operable to generate commands, a transmitter capable of sending control signals to the UAV and/or receiving information from the UAV (e.g., video signals or location information), and sensors for locating and tracking the UAV during approach (e.g., cameras). When landing, the voltage in fewer but larger coils are affected to different extents when a device is placed in proximity, which allows for more targeted charging.).
Regarding claim 2, Naderi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a plurality of frequency signals or wavelength signals; perform beamforming on the generated frequency signals or wavelength signals; and output the plurality of beamformed signals using the plurality of antennas (see at least [0209-0211] - A secondary layer of localization can explore the use of Wi-Fi based beamforming using Wi-Fi adapters both in the backpack 2113 and the pad 2103.).
Regarding claim 3, Naderi discloses further comprising: a sensor configured to detect whether the UAV has completed a landing (see at least Figs. 21-24, [0201] - The pad 2101 may be foldable along a hinged portion 2105 to provide for easy portability with each half including multiple nested coils that are used both for the sensing of one or more receiver coils of the landed UAV 2103 and to provide charging energy to those receiver coils.).
Regarding claim 5, Naderi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: start wireless charging for the UAV in response to detecting a landing completion of the UAV (see at least Figs. 21-24, [0201] - The pad 2101 may be foldable along a hinged portion 2105 to provide for easy portability with each half including multiple nested coils that are used both for the sensing of one or more receiver coils of the landed UAV 2103 and to provide charging energy to those receiver coils.).
Regarding claim 6, Naderi discloses wherein the UAV includes one or more batteries configured to be charged by power received from the power transmission coil, and wherein the one or more batteries provide power to the UAV (see at least [0204] - At the end of the charging foot 2109, a pad may be located comprising a receiver coil and circuitry to regulate energy received by the coil to a charging voltage level that can be provided to the battery of the UAV. Wiring 2111 may run internally or externally up the leg to the main body of the UAV 2103 or to wherever the battery is located to provide charging current. It will be appreciated that each landing leg of the UAV 2103 could be fitted with a charging foot 2109 which could decrease the charging time of the battery of the UAV as the power would be received by the UAV 2103 through each of the legs. ).
Regarding claim 11, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 11 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 1; therefore, claim 11 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 2, and it has been determined that claim 12 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 2; therefore, claim 12 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naderi.
Regarding claim 4, Naderi does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: stop output of the plurality of beamformed signals in response to detecting a landing completion of the UAV.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the ability to stop outputting the beamformed signals in response to detecting a landing completion into the invention of Naderi with a reasonable expectation of success. Naderi also already discloses detecting a landing completion and also discloses outputting the beamformed signals for the purpose of guiding landing of the UAV, therefore the beamformed signals are not necessary after landing is completed. For these reasons, incorporating this function into Naderi is considered obvious and doing so would yield predictable results. This would improve energy efficiency of the charging station by stopping the beamformed signals from being output when they are no longer needed because the UAV has already landed, preventing the unnecessary waste of energy.
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 4, and it has been determined that claim 13 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 4; therefore, claim 13 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naderi in view of Di Cosola (US 2022/0169401 A1, cited in the IDS received 3/12/2025).
Regarding claim 7, Naderi does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the UAV comprises an Advanced Air Mobility (AAM), an Urban Air Mobility (UAM), or a Regional Air Mobility (RAM).
Di Cosola, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the UAV comprises an Advanced Air Mobility (AAM), an Urban Air Mobility (UAM), or a Regional Air Mobility (RAM) (see at least [0123] – landing pad and charging station 101… Urban Air Mobility (UAM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Di Cosola into the invention of Naderi with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling wireless charging of various types of aerial vehicles, including UAMs, thereby enhancing the applicability of the wireless charging station. Furthermore, applying a known technique (wireless charging as taught by Naderi) to a specific type of aerial vehicle (UAMs) would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-982. The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Eyhorn (US 2018/0357909 A1) is directed to methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on a computer storage medium, for sending a flight plan for execution by a drone, where the flight plan is adapted to a flight controller of the drone. Receiving flight data from the drone while the drone is executing the flight plan. Determining a modification to the flight plan based on the flight data received from the drone. Sending the modification to the flight plan to the drone while the drone is executing the flight plan, such that the drone executes the flight plan as modified by the modification.
/C.R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669