DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “flooded”. This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to what exactly that application process entails, and how it is practiced within the context of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 11555284).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Smith discloses an apparatus and method [Figures 1 & 2] comprising disposing a layer of geotextile material [14, 16] over a layer of soil [12]; disposing a layer of aggregate material [30] over a top portion of the layer of geotextile material; applying a binder [32] to a top portion of the layer of aggregate material, wherein at least some of the aggregate material in the top portion is bound together with the binder, after the layer of aggregate material is disposed over the layer of geotextile material [smaller aggregate material enters the voids of the larger aggregate material “binding” them together frictionally; Column 8, Lines 6-65].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Smith further discloses, the top portion of the aggregate material defines a layer of aggregate and binder extending to a selected depth in the layer of aggregate material, wherein the layer of aggregate and binder is substantially permeable to water flow [Column 8, Lines 6-65].
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Smith further discloses, the binder is adapted to stabilize the aggregate to reduce erosion, migration or movement of the aggregate material or soil when subject to the water flow [Column 8, Lines 6-65].
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Smith further discloses, a region of the aggregate material between the layer of aggregate and binder and the geotextile material, wherein the aggregate is not substantially mixed with the binder in said region [smaller aggregate remains mostly on top; Figure 1; Column 8, Lines 6-65].
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Smith further discloses, the binder is sprayed, poured or flooded onto or over the layer of aggregate material, wherein the binder penetrates or mixes with the aggregate material to a selected depth in the layer of aggregate material [aggregate can be “poured” or “dumped”].
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Smith further discloses, a layer of revetment blocks disposed over the layer of aggregate material, wherein the revetment blocks are configured to reduce erosion, migration or movement of the aggregate material or soil when subject to water flow [36].
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Smith further discloses, at least some of the revetment blocks have a common depth defined between a top surface and a bottom surface along each side thereof, or a domed structure configured to direct water flow, or both [Figures 1 & 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 11555284) alone.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 19 and 20, although Smith is silent as to the specific aggregate material thickness and binder penetration depth, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art re-creating the invention to utilize the disclosed values based on a number of variables including aggregate size/gradation, the subgrade soils, water content, the type of geotextile chosen for the project, the size/type/configuration of the blocks, and the design/intended loading. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 11555284) in view of Sheridan (US 2010/0278594).
Smith fails to disclose the binder is a polymeric binding agent.
Sheridan teaches an erosion control device utilizing granular material and a polymeric binding agent [Abstract].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Smith by substituting the granular binding agent for a polymeric one as described by Sheridan such that it permanently binds to the aggregate while still remaining porous, thereby increasing the load bearing capacity of the device, and subsequently the applicability, and profitability.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 11555284) in view of Hill (US 2018/0087230).
Smith fails to disclose the revetment blocks have a tapered top surface.
Hill teaches an erosion control device comprising revetment blocks with a tapered top surface [Figures 1 & 2].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Smith by adding the tapered top surface as described by Hill to reduce the sharp edges such that impacts would be less likely to result in chips/damage to the block, in addition to increasing safety should a human, dog etc. accidentally step/fall on it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Palmer (US 3990247), Hart (US 2004/0067103) & (US 7168884), Nadeau (US 2017/0081819), and Riccobene, JR. et al. (US 2019/0323178) disclose erosion control devices similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619